2019 Training Reports

• Thread starter Thread starter 88mph

She's long gone now. But even if I was alone in a dark bank vault, 20 stories underneath the earth and encased in meters of lead, steel and concrete, my Grandma still would have somehow found out that I perpetrated such a ghastly and immoral act.

There would have been consequences <shudders>.
That lady in the Pinjarra Golf Club bar...equally shuddering

Forward training would be great this season, probably first time since 2006? God can’t remember this much competition for spots up forward for years.
Normally it’s Pav competing with .. no one.
Tabs will be training hard, stepping it up another level.

How did Conca and Colyer look in terms of their training standards?

Was all running (at least while I was there) for the older guys so I can't comment on the ball work but everyone looked good. I will say, from the side Conca looks a helluva lot like Spurr. I had to do a double take because I thought Spurry was there training.

I will also say that Lobb is huge. I knew he was a big boy but until I was stood near him I didn't realise just how big he is.

Elsleevador said pretty much everything.

5th year players onwards just ran - not much to report on them.

1st to 4th years + Hamling (I must have missed Lobb I didn't see with this group) had a game of footy - half oval, fairly narrow playing area, just using two sticks for the goals, no point posts. The size of the play area lead to quite a congested style of play so it wasn't the prettiest of football - alot of long kicks to contests and big packs waiting for the ball to spill.

Quite a few highlights from the game.
- Considering only a month ago I was arguing with people who were putting Logue in their B22 I am quickly coming around. Everytime I've seen him this preseason he's impressed me. He's very quick off the mark and has good top end speed. He took a few nice contested marks and was happy to leave his man and come in 3rd up if the ball wasn't going to his man. He was on Dixon most of the time though so it's expected that he wins that battle comfortably. He was out of position at one point and was never going to to be in a position to mark the ball. Still made it to the contest though, got a fist to the ball and leveled Dixon in the process. I'll be looking forward to him lining up on Tabs/Hogan/Lobb to see how he's goes.

- North made a lovely dash up the narrow wing closest to the watchers and got on the end of a loose ball, running at full steam he still delivered a nice left kick to the awaiting forward. The very next play almost the exact same thing happened. North got onto a loose ball and tried to sneak down the wing, but this time Hughes had him in his sights. Both at full pace - North tried the stiff arm but Hughes just mowed him down to the applause of all the players.

- Duman had his kicking boots on today - I'd say he's he's in the top echelon of kicks at our club, along with Mundy, Walters, Cerra, SHilly, Wilson, Ryan. I actually saw him down at Cockburn shops a few hours after training and was surprised by his height. He's slightly taller than Cox just under Hamling.

- Speaking of seeing them at the shops - Luke Ryan was also with them - He had a bit of limp and some weird contraption attached to his lower right leg. Hopefully nothing serious.

-Blakely is definitely being geared up to play midfield - he's in the middle at every drill. He's looking in ripping nick and he just seems happy to be there. He's giving 100% every chance he gets. His agility/side stepping in congestion is very good to go with his quick hands he's going to be an asset in the middle for us. He did a few kicks today that I was happy with aswell. Kept the arc of the ball nice and flat. He's not got Stephen Hill level kicking but I'd be confident in saying he's a better field kick than Fyfe.

- I was one calling for Jones' to be delisted. Credit to him though, he's looking in good shape. Lost a bit of weight and it shows in how he's moving around. Took a nice 1v1 mark against Darcy (I think) and was quick with dishing of a handpass through traffic to Giro who fluffed the next kick forward. Darcy, Meek and Jones all actually took a few nice marks. From what I've seen Meek is pushing hard to keep up with Darcy at everything. One area he is probably slightly ahead is speed and defensive pressure, he was running around pressuring the opposition a lot more than the other big guys. He is very similar to Darcy. It's going to be good to see him try to take the mantle off Darcy.

- Sometimes I watch the players and think 'what you see is what you got and it just ain't going to change'. Giro.... boy does he know where to be/go to get the ball. He's always in the right spot, his disposal though just let's him down. How well he's worked over the off-season I imagine he'll leave no stone unturned in trying to improve himself.

- Cox did a few nice things, took a couple good grabs... one thing that irked me though was he had a kick for goal from 15-20m out. He kicked the goal so not really an issue but it was the dinkiest little stab kick off one step, this was a different action to when I watched him kicking a few shots on goal last week. He's looking really confident though in the aerial contests and with ball in hand, looking forward to seeing him battling out for a spot in the forward line.

Walters, Cerra, Bennell all doing their own thing. Walters still with strapping on his knee, Cez a bandage around his lower right leg. Neither boys were hampered kicking the ball or running as they pumped out quite a number of laps so can't be too serious. Bennell looks good, looks focus, fingers crossed.

Overall it was a bit of a nothing session for watchers. The main reason I went was to see the 5th year players and they didn't really do much of anything. The game the 1st to 4th year players did wasn't the greatest spectacle either.

Blakely impressed me the most from what I saw, closely followed by Duman and Logue.

1st to 4th years + Hamling (I must have missed Lobb I didn't see with this group) had a game of footy - half oval, fairly narrow playing area, just using two sticks for the goals, no point posts. The size of the play area lead to quite a congested style of play so it wasn't the prettiest of football - alot of long kicks to contests and big packs waiting for the ball to spill.

- Considering only a month ago I was arguing with people who were putting Logue in their B22 I am quickly coming around. Everytime I've seen him this preseason he's impressed me. He's very quick off the mark and has good top end speed. He took a few nice contested marks and was happy to leave his man and come in 3rd up if the ball wasn't going to his man. He was on Dixon most of the time though so it's expected that he wins that battle comfortably. He was out of position at one point and was never going to to be in a position to mark the ball. Still made it to the contest though, got a fist to the ball and leveled Dixon in the process. I'll be looking forward to him lining up on Tabs/Hogan/Lobb to see how he's goes.

- North made a lovely dash up the narrow wing closest to the watchers and got on the end of a loose ball, running at full steam he still delivered a nice left kick to the awaiting forward. The very next play almost the exact same thing happened. North got onto a loose ball and tried to sneak down the wing, but this time Hughes had him in his sights. Both at full pace - North tried the stiff arm but Hughes just mowed him down to the applause of all the players.

- Duman had his kicking boots on today - I'd say he's he's in the top echelon of kicks at our club, along with Mundy, Walters, Cerra, SHilly, Wilson, Ryan. I actually saw him down at Cockburn shops a few hours after training and was surprised by his height. He's slightly taller than Cox just under Hamling.

- Speaking of seeing them at the shops - Luke Ryan was also with them - He had a bit of limp and some weird contraption attached to his lower right leg. Hopefully nothing serious.

-Blakely is definitely being geared up to play midfield - he's in the middle at every drill. He's looking in ripping nick and he just seems happy to be there. He's giving 100% every chance he gets. His agility/side stepping in congestion is very good to go with his quick hands he's going to be an asset in the middle for us. He did a few kicks today that I was happy with aswell. Kept the arc of the ball nice and flat. He's not got Stephen Hill level kicking but I'd be confident in saying he's a better field kick than Fyfe.

- I was one calling for Jones' to be delisted. Credit to him though, he's looking in good shape. Lost a bit of weight and it shows in how he's moving around. Took a nice 1v1 mark against Darcy (I think) and was quick with dishing of a handpass through traffic to Giro who fluffed the next kick forward. Darcy, Meek and Jones all actually took a few nice marks. From what I've seen Meek is pushing hard to keep up with Darcy at everything. One area he is probably slightly ahead is speed and defensive pressure, he was running around pressuring the opposition a lot more than the other big guys. He is very similar to Darcy. It's going to be good to see him try to take the mantle off Darcy.

- Sometimes I watch the players and think 'what you see is what you got and it just ain't going to change'. Giro.... boy does he know where to be/go to get the ball. He's always in the right spot, his disposal though just let's him down. How well he's worked over the off-season I imagine he'll leave no stone unturned in trying to improve himself.

- Cox did a few nice things, took a couple good grabs... one thing that irked me though was he had a kick for goal from 15-20m out. He kicked the goal so not really an issue but it was the dinkiest little stab kick off one step, this was a different action to when I watched him kicking a few shots on goal last week. He's looking really confident though in the aerial contests and with ball in hand, looking forward to seeing him battling out for a spot in the forward line.

Walters, Cerra, Bennell all doing their own thing. Walters still with strapping on his knee, Cez a bandage around his lower right leg. Neither boys were hampered kicking the ball or running as they pumped out quite a number of laps so can't be too serious. Bennell looks good, looks focus, fingers crossed.

Overall it was a bit of a nothing session for watchers. The main reason I went was to see the 5th year players and they didn't really do much of anything. The game the 1st to 4th year players did wasn't the greatest spectacle either.

Blakely impressed me the most from what I saw, closely followed by Duman and Logue.
Thanks Unique Name, Elsleevador, and all other training reporters. Love your work. Wouldn't survive the off-season without these updates.

That Hughes tackle was a ripper!!
Great report

Tabs was already doing sprints and fitness the day after the GF. The guy definitely isn't going to die wondering

I Ran into Tabs and a couple other Dockers in a tent at Octoberfest(MUNICH) a few months back. We all got along really well and spent the day on the steins. A couple of them were absolute champion blokes. I was incredibly suprised to see him run in the GF sprint only 3-4 days later. Hell of a day on the gas.

It's kinda funny though, so much talent but he really couldn't give a stuff. I suspect he'll draw RTB's fire next preseason and rightfully so.
Im not sure. He definitely trains hard. MIles from being the worst runner in distance as well.

A media report from today;
Fremantle Dockers start pre-season training: 5 things we noticed
https://www.watoday.com.au/sport/af...ning-5-things-we-noticed-20181120-p50h3y.html

A Prestipino piece, but with some input, including the final sentences, from our mate Hackdorn;
" Hagdorn ... said he was mostly impressed with Fremantle's first full training session of the pre-season.
"They had 38 players in training ... they are big numbers, and they've still got four draft picks coming up," he said.
"So the club has only a few players on the sidelines, so a solid early pre-season for most of them should give them every chance to improve on the previous seasons." "