Training 2022 Training - pics, reports etc

Thanks to all who have posted training reports. Encouraging that we are training to play a more pressured game style as this is what is required IF we are to move up the ladder.

A huge area of concern for this team is slick ball movement, two-way running and F50 entries. From the reports it looks like we’ve still got a long way to go.

Saad, Williamson, Ed, Dow, Plowman, Cripps, Doc and Cottrell need to take more care/thought when kicking the ball or be told to give it to someone who can dispose of the ball efficiently.

good call. I think Cripps has n particular needs to extract and handball out to more skilful kicks and better runners. Just got a hope he reins it in a bit and not attempt to try and do more than he can chew. Running and kicking is just not his thing I unfortunately.
agree with you but how would you be knowing we were taking a player with pick 13 and "running and kicking is just not his thing"? :oops:

Finally got down to training.

Doc running laps brought a tear to the eye.

Then I realised he looks the best he has ever looked. Has packed on the muscle in the last month.

Would be an amazing story, and genuinely think he can get back to great footy. Just remember how good he was for a few games on ball before the knee.

Could be an outstanding winger for us given his elite ability to read the ball. The backline is chockers, so think he would be an excellent wing option. Not the greatest kick, I admit but reads the play and can run.

Zach W looks a lot fitter (but IMO nowhere near as lean as someone entering the prime of his career should be) and was basically worst on ground during the sim with multiple turnovers leading to shots.

Cripps looks great. Bigger than his slimmed down version but running well.

Tom Willo now has elite athleticism but still just ****s up the footy side of it. Actually won a 200.

TDK not physically ready to be a force yet. Clearly has a bright future but 2+ years away from being dominant.

Charlie looks outstanding. They had one drill where it was clear that want to set up Charlie to get the ball anywhere within 70m no matter what. Slotted a 60m shot easily but then was awful being overly hungry on a few plays burning good leads for long shots.

Harry looks in good nick but going at 70% the whole day. They just need him to stay fit and he'll kick 60.

JSOS is the embodiment of effort. Not overly talented but jeez he tries. Still a best 22.

Saad clearly very limited physically and then hurt his shoulder. Need to get him right. Pivotal to our running game.

Markov on the way but really should just be doing squats and eating KFC all year.

Philp looked better than I've seen him. 2 goals on the end of good play.

Didn't notice Cerra.

Hewett is the perfect get. Low cost 20 disposal player. Hard as. Got fairly smashed in the running. Anyone expecting him to blow up is in for a shock though.

LOB is a hard one. Got burned so many times in good position by players trying (and failing) to go corridor at all costs. When he finally drifted more central was very good. We need to actively seek him out, not burn him.

JW solid as a rock.

Ditto SW.

GOV looks way thinner and fitter. I genuinely expect a huge season down back but he has been so horribly disappointing. Would love a little more lean mass on him for his expected role.

Overall was great to get down and see the boys.

Hoping to see a better year based on better game plan, Cripps being back to himself and Charlie fit. Not convinced we'll have a lot of others go to another level based on what I've seen but that should be good for a 12-14 win season.

Has kicked some pretty damn good goals on the run.
But can rarely kick ‘em off a set shot.
Yeah he’s nailed few terrific on the run goals but I wouldn’t class him as a good general on the run kick. I mean he is nothing like dusty or bont or Petracca or Oliver in that regard. Has other major advantages though eg he is particularly strong, can extract the ball and tackle and has quick hand passes.

It is a flaw but he isn't alone- I think he has the skill set to be a first receiver and quick feeder to runners as a mid-rotation - if he could improve his genuine team play he could be quite a good link man as he has natural evasiveness and should be able to find support. Against this is no great evidence of being able to actually hurt opposition by scoring - as you say he is closed down pretty easily as a small forward because of the no right side thing.
IIRC he had quite a few goal assists last year. Not sure if it was enough.

On SM-F926B using BigFooty.com mobile app

His 2018 season was really encouraging. He's never been the same since he had his leg broken. I'm doubtful he can recapture that 2018 form. I think we have the midfield covered with other options. Other than his first game in the position I don't reckon he has showed much in his small forward role. We'll see if Vossy and Co can put him in a spot where his talents are best utilised. I hope I'm wrong and he thrives in a super competitive Carlton team. We'll see.
For him to be effective and hold a spot, I'd say 2018 needs to be his floor going forward.

has JSOS been doing any training with the mids?

Just on young, the very limited vision I’ve seen from the club I get the impression he isn’t in it mentally. Just going at 60% without any intensity. Is this what you guys are seeing?

Yeah he’s nailed few terrific on the run goals but I wouldn’t class him as a good general on the run kick. I mean he is nothing like dusty or bont or Petracca or Oliver in that regard. Has other major advantages though eg he is particularly strong, can extract the ball and tackle and has quick hand passes.

I agree with you and present Exhibit C. (Attempted) left foot kick on the run vs Essendon. Holy moly!

In hope that you quoted C.Oliver, who improved greatly in 2021 with his kicking, before was a liability of his.

Finally got down to training.

Doc running laps brought a tear to the eye.

Then I realised he looks the best he has ever looked. Has packed on the muscle in the last month.

Would be an amazing story, and genuinely think he can get back to great footy. Just remember how good he was for a few games on ball before the knee.

Could be an outstanding winger for us given his elite ability to read the ball. The backline is chockers, so think he would be an excellent wing option. Not the greatest kick, I admit but reads the play and can run.

Zach W looks a lot fitter (but IMO nowhere near as lean as someone entering the prime of his career should be) and was basically worst on ground during the sim with multiple turnovers leading to shots.

Cripps looks great. Bigger than his slimmed down version but running well.

Tom Willo now has elite athleticism but still just fu**s up the footy side of it. Actually won a 200.

TDK not physically ready to be a force yet. Clearly has a bright future but 2+ years away from being dominant.

Charlie looks outstanding. They had one drill where it was clear that want to set up Charlie to get the ball anywhere within 70m no matter what. Slotted a 60m shot easily but then was awful being overly hungry on a few plays burning good leads for long shots.

Harry looks in good nick but going at 70% the whole day. They just need him to stay fit and he'll kick 60.

JSOS is the embodiment of effort. Not overly talented but jeez he tries. Still a best 22.

Saad clearly very limited physically and then hurt his shoulder. Need to get him right. Pivotal to our running game.

Markov on the way but really should just be doing squats and eating KFC all year.

Philp looked better than I've seen him. 2 goals on the end of good play.

Didn't notice Cerra.

Hewett is the perfect get. Low cost 20 disposal player. Hard as. Got fairly smashed in the running. Anyone expecting him to blow up is in for a shock though.

LOB is a hard one. Got burned so many times in good position by players trying (and failing) to go corridor at all costs. When he finally drifted more central was very good. We need to actively seek him out, not burn him.

JW solid as a rock.

Ditto SW.

GOV looks way thinner and fitter. I genuinely expect a huge season down back but he has been so horribly disappointing. Would love a little more lean mass on him for his expected role.

Overall was great to get down and see the boys.

Hoping to see a better year based on better game plan, Cripps being back to himself and Charlie fit. Not convinced we'll have a lot of others go to another level based on what I've seen but that should be good for a 12-14 win season.
Who is SW?

Hitting targets left and right. We all new he had a penetrating left foot kick but the way in which he was able to find targets inside 50 with pinpoint passes, just showed me how underutilised he was under Teague.

On SM-G930F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hopefully Vossy gets LOB playing the Duursma role and shining.

Fisher's lack of a right foot is the main issue. No matter how much space he gets he's always got to swing back onto the left. Often gets himself into trouble because opposition know this.

Massive issue for a small forward...its a tough role as it is and if you can't kick off your opposite foot it really limits Fishers scoring opportunities and will see good chances go to waste.

He also can't kick set shots from 40m+ out which is another issue with him and Owies, compared to the likes of Papley and Cameron who can kick goals from outside 50m.

Massive issue for a small forward...its a tough role as it is and if you can't kick off your opposite foot it really limits Fishers scoring opportunities and will see good chances go to waste.

He also can't kick set shots from 40m+ out which is another issue with him and Owies, compared to the likes of Papley and Cameron who can kick goals from outside 50m.
Got to say that he was making a concerted effort to kick on his right at training. Hopefully he improves it to "not terrible".

I agree with you and present Exhibit C. (Attempted) left foot kick on the run vs Essendon. Holy moly!

In hope that you quoted C.Oliver, who improved greatly in 2021 with his kicking, before was a liability of his.
yeah was basing on Oliver’s recent form but I wasn’t aware that he was a poor (or not as good) kick prior to 2021.

Training 2022 Training - pics, reports etc