Training 2022 Training Reports

I personally think his best role is a small forward/half forward role based on his performance in his draft year
sorry dude, you may not like it, but I heard the whole interview on 6PR with JLo and out of the horse's mouth, Henry will be (predominantly) playing wing and Clark high half back.

People like to protect Henry from criticism but his attitude is holding him back. I still get the 'show pony' vibes from him but I could be wrong. I do know he has potential it's just about releasing it.
'show pony' vibe ahhaha what does that even mean mate

hes been played in easily the toughest position in footy and for probably the worst club to do so in and hes still shown big glimpses of special talent

sorry dude, you may not like it, but I heard the whole interview on 6PR with JLo and out of the horse's mouth, Henry will be (predominantly) playing wing and Clark high half forward.
That's okay I don't pretend I know more than the coach and back them in to make the right calls. I just think Clark plays like Smith and would be briliant on our wing.

hes been played in easily the toughest position in footy and for probably the worst club to do so in and hes still shown big glimpses of special talent
Show Pony: "a stylish or flamboyant person, especially a performer, who enjoys being in the limelight"

Henry is going to be a star if he plays further upfield and gets 20 touches a game. The trouble when he is getting 8 touches a game is that he forces the issue and tries to make everything spectacular even when there are better options. When he is getting more touches and taking the easy option with some of them he will really shine

The question will be his fitness, aside from that eventually teams will play the McIntosh type on him and try to neutralise him that way. At that point he will have locked his spot in the 22 though.

When he forces the ball he looks like a very average kick, if he can get it 20 times a game and use it well with the occasional surgical delivery he will be a game winner. Let's hope so!

I'm just happy we have all these players to fit into the team, it's a great position to be in. Personally think Henry is best suited to wing but he will have plenty of competition for the spot.

Easily the toughest position? Nah - a player can do a lot with a high work ethic and being willing to put pressure on the opposition. Lachie wouldn't have as much talent as Henry but works his backside off to impact even if he isn't scoring. When he does that he tends to start getting opportunities.

Wing is a notoriously easy position to get lost between the play. There are at least 10 positions harder to play and be average to good than forward pocket.

Last year I thought that almost every touch Henry got upfield was gold; the wing being a little less crowded than the 50m arc really allowed his evasiveness and kicking to stand out, + he's not yet strong enough to smash through hardened defenders

edit: he'll get tagged by the bye, bookmark this post

That's ok if the opposition want to tag Henry.

It means they aren't tagging Brayshaw, Serong etc

Nat looks like Jane but plays like Tarzan. He isn't soft at all.

Yeah but he’s still a show pony. Prances about, does a bit of male modelling ergo who gives a ****? Liam’s played two years. Personally I think we could with a few players with tickets on themselves. I’m pretty confident Liam will mature and I hope he still keeps that self belief

Easily the toughest position? Nah - a player can do a lot with a high work ethic and being willing to put pressure on the opposition. Lachie wouldn't have as much talent as Henry but works his backside off to impact even if he isn't scoring. When he does that he tends to start getting opportunities.

Wing is a notoriously easy position to get lost between the play. There are at least 10 positions harder to play and be average to good than forward pocket.
Defensive small forward is easier to play than as an attacking small forward. At least as a wing you get more options to change it up.

Agree, but neither is the hardest place to play. Which was the point I was replying to.

I would also say as an attacking small forward you also have the opportunity to apply pressure as a way of getting involved in patches.

Yeah but he’s still a show pony. Prances about, does a bit of male modelling ergo who gives a fu**? Liam’s played two years. Personally I think we could with a few players with tickets on themselves. I’m pretty confident Liam will mature and I hope he still keeps that self belief
Dual brownlow medallist doesn't prance about. Playing games with a broken leg. The dude is hard as nails

Agree, but neither is the hardest place to play. Which was the point I was replying to.

I would also say as an attacking small forward you also have the opportunity to apply pressure as a way of getting involved in patches.
Somewhat, but footy can be a numbers game, especially where involvements are concerned and attacking small forwards are probably the hardest to control your involvements. I'd say it'd be even harder at 19yo vs, say, at 23yo. I certainly wouldn't be thinking it's some sort of moral failure that a player's productivity is at rookie levels when he hasn't played two full seasons yet.

No neither would I. In fact I wouldn't see a player not doing well as a moral failure no matter who it was.

Clark is a much better winger and would rather give the position to him.
In terms of managing someone who is coming from what seems to have been a negative experience, it is a good management strategy to allow them to play a role they are most likely to succeed in. The sample size of him playing wing is fairly limited.

I don't have a problem with him playing hbf I have a problem with our list imbalance that seems heavily weighted for that position.

CHF will always be the hardest position imo
oh man so true.

I reckon i've played everywhere. the key position back, the back flanks, wing, key forward, midfield. in all the other positions you have things to do if your not getting the ball such as pressure or defensive stuff or running to crumb the ball.

however, key position forward. you need to identify space and demand the ball or be in the right position to attack the ball in the air (which are all hard skills). key position forward is the hardest. you need to create without having the ball.