Rumour 2023 Rumours and Speculation (Rumours total 37!, 1 (busted) BIG FISH ALERT last October 9th) (9 confirmed! 17 Busted!)

I reckon if they can get Harley Reid then Oliver is out

But it’s only a hunch

It’s going to be a long couple of weeks

Absolutely agree. However I think the big issue is the amount of draft collateral North have to dominate discussion on pick 1 (and 4) which may mean Melbourne just won’t be able to get enough assets together to get pick 1

Between Adelaide and Melbourne they have picks 5, 9, 13 and maybe 5 2nds as well as 2 future 1sts. If they want pick 1 between them they can get it.

Not for a salary dump they don't.

If history has taught us anything, we could be getting Clarry and one of their two first rounders

Further to this, if we got Melbournes pick 5, then used our seconds to secure pick 4 and traded those +pick 9 to get pick 1, a haul of Clarry + Harley Reid would almost be enough for me to forgive Justin Reid for leaving that first round pick number 6 with Hamish

I'll take all the red, navy blue and gold flags he's got, and even say please and thank you for the experience.
Respect to you and 1990crow ; however, we cannot presume getting Oliver guarantees a Flag.
Too many variables, not to mention injury.
A troubled and troublesome individual creates trouble, more often than Flags.
He has 7 million dollars on the line. If he goes to a new club he isn’t throwing that away at least not in the first 2 or 3 years.
He had $7million on the line at the start of 2023 with Melbourne, too, jeopardised by his attitude/behaviour there, unless Adelaide rewards that, fills his wallet and makes him our #1-paid player.

To be fair to Oliver, my opinion is tainted by experience, though not AFL and such a high level.
The Cricket Club I played for threw a bunch of money at an ex-State player, appointing him A-Grade Captain/Coach trying to buy a Premiership. He brought with him a close mate, making a 2/9 division in the team that festered all year, exacerbated by the new Player/Coach's alcoholism, selfishness and I'm-too-good-for-this attitude. He paid NO attention at all to the Club's other teams or players and lasted a single year when we were knocked out in a semi-final (he rolled up for the game smashed).
I just don't like trouble, talented or not.
What did Stenglein do?
Got away from Brouch, cleaned up his act and won a Flag and AA at Geelong. :sneaky:

Respect to you and 1990crow ; however, we cannot presume getting Oliver guarantees a Flag.
Too many variables, not to mention injury.
A troubled and troublesome individual creates trouble, more often than Flags.

He had $7million on the line at the start of 2023 with Melbourne, too, jeopardised by his attitude/behaviour there, unless Adelaide rewards that, fills his wallet and makes him our #1-paid player.

To be fair to Oliver, my opinion is tainted by experience, though not AFL and such a high level.
The Cricket Club I played for threw a bunch of money at an ex-State player, appointing him A-Grade Captain/Coach trying to buy a Premiership. He brought with him a close mate, making a 2/9 division in the team that festered all year, exacerbated by the new Player/Coach's alcoholism, selfishness and I'm-too-good-for-this attitude. He paid NO attention at all to the Club's other teams or players and lasted a single year when we were knocked out in a semi-final (he rolled up for the game smashed).
I just don't like trouble, talented or not.

Got away from Brouch, cleaned up his act and won a Flag and AA at Geelong. :sneaky:
He was taking the piss

Stenglein went back to Perth and played for WC

They would use some of the Oliver money on Ben King, forget pick 1 use Oliver and the other draft capital they have to get Ben King and fix their forward line, their midfield and backline is still great with out Oliver in the side
This is a really good point. Melbournes midfield actually looked good without Oliver for 10 weeks, however their forward line did not. It might actually make sense for them to bring in someone like King and still bring in a Sanders or McKercher to replace Oliver. The NFL sees genuine stars traded all the time to help team balance. The AFL is well behind in this but it will happen more and more as the league gets more professional.

Yeah Melb will need 3x top 10 picks to obtain pick 1.
We need GC’s pick 4.

And we could easily get that pick by blowing all others out of the water with points value.

Step 1, trade Mcadam for 24 and 34.

step 2, Trade Doodee comp (29), 20 (from Norf) 24 (trade Melbourne as part of Mcadam deal, knowing there will be further dealings between clubs) and 45 = 2697 for GCS 4.

Step 3: three way trade with Melb and WCE

We give 4 and 9 to Melb.... we get Oliver.
Melb give 5 and 9 to WCE for pick 1

Overall:

We get Oliver, keep a pick in 20s and call it a day.
Melb get rid of problem child, get in next superstar midfielder and still keep another top 5 pick
West coast move down 4 picks, get their WA kid + another top 10
GCS get their picks to get their academy haul.

Everyone except the AFL and Pear are happy... and isn't that what really matters.

Further to this, if we got Melbournes pick 5, then used our seconds to secure pick 4 and traded those +pick 9 to get pick 1, a haul of Clarry + Harley Reid would almost be enough for me to forgive Justin Reid for leaving that first round pick number 6 with Hamish
Hopefully Clarry be on minimum chips

Ok, I’m gonna do a 4 team mega-trade - assuming McKay lands Nth pick 3 (pushing picks back) and we get pick 20 for Doedee (pushing subsequent picks back further):

Adelaide Give: 10, 20, 23, 26, F1, McAdam
Adelaide Gain: Oliver, Burgess

Melbourne Give: 6, 27, 35, Oliver
Melbourne Gain: 1, 10

GCS Give: 5, Burgess
GCS Gain: F1 ((AFC), 23, 26, 27, 35 (equals ~2,700 points rather than ~2,000)

WC Give: 1
WC Gain: 5, 6, 20

This seems a bit too pro Melbourne and GC, and against WC and AFC. But the basics are there.

We did replaced Milera for Smith after round 8 and he regained his form and you want to move him to the wing? Maybe Hinge but he looked very good playing HB late in the season, would prefer Jones on the wing.
View attachment 1823248
View attachment 1823251

If we got Redman, absolutely. Wouldn't even think twice about shifting one of them. After all, if you recruit elite talent - you don't shuffle them to the periphery.

Hinge in particular stands out as one to move, seeing Milera is a quietly solid defender. At worse you just shuffle Jones to the SANFL.

adelaidecrows your post today about C7 being a news broadcast based on facts and purely reporting the news.

Might want to check out a series on Binge "The Back Side of Television " particularly S2 ep3.

They compare how commercial news services, particularly c7, has changed since the 70/80s to now. The nightly broadcast.

Far more hyperbolic sensational and manipulative now, with less actual reporting of news. Plus the rise of product placement in a news broadcast.

I haven't watched the 6pm news (or any news broadcast on a FTA station) on a commercial network since about 2010. Actually quite jarring seeing how it is now.

An interesting watch.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Thats a pretty bold statement as that boat appears to have sailed.

I am disappointed the MFC did not want to publicly shut it down and the only reason I can think of is that we don’t want Clarry to think he’s off the hook.

His actions moving forward will tell us more, our B & F is tomorrow night should be interesting.

Does it? It seems like Melbourne is doing everything in their power to alienate Oliver at the moment.

As you alluded to, the only things that make this boat appear sailed is if Melbourne shut it down, or more importantly, Oliver - neither happened. In fact, the opposite, where there was a puff piece calling out Olivers lack of professionalism and how he needed to "shape up". On top of you being "open" to retaining him.

I wouldn't be too surprised if Melbourne actual goal here is to get out of his contract and a kings ransom for the privilege. It's all too non-committal for my tastes.

The question for me is around this, which I do not like, at all:
"
It comes as SEN journalist Sam Edmund also reported new details of the ultimatum given to Oliver, suggesting the club was unhappy with the 26-year-old’s “erratic” behaviour.

“Melbourne has hit Clayton Oliver with an ultimatum – shape up or ship off,” Edmund said on SEN.

“Fed-up Demons officials have told their troubled midfielder that they need a commitment from him that he will once again conform to the standards and expectations the club demands.

They have made a series of demands to Oliver that include the need to treat club staff with respect, teammates with respect, prepare the way he should and to turn up to training in the proper condition.” " (News.com)

IF TRUE, all red flags.

Sure, however with stuff like this, I think it comes down to how much you trust Nicks and the surrounding staff. If they're worth their salt, they'll reign Oliver in.

Oliver isn't the first and won't be the last great player to hit a minor speedbump and lose their way a tad.

You dont go releasing that info out if you want to keep someone ,the trust must surely be broken between him and the club

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app
It's certainly a desperate "hail Mary last play".
Unless Oliver is actually on a bender and currently out of his mind, a public shaming is a reconciliation killer.

With respect to you, IF those things are accurate, I wouldn't want the AFC to spend $7million to buy even ONE-from-7 years of trouble from a disrespectful (to Staff and teammates) FIGJAM bighead, elite skills or not.

If Melbourne believed that he was going to change his ways, they'd be fighting tooth'n'nail to keep him.

Look at the discord and damage caused by the likes of Tippett, Lever, McGovern, Gibbs, Brouch, Stenglein.

Like many others, I'm guessing re: Oliver and m-a-y-b-e his relationship with Burgess would be a stabilising influence upon him at the Crows. Who knows?
I have to say I agree with this. Let's face it he is a great player, but he also comes across as a complete flog. I'm not sure I would be prepared to sacrifice the improving culture of the club over one person, no matter how good they are at footy. And let's not pretend the alleged drug issues are just your run of the mill, basic recreational drugs - They are not.

What would be the point of having some of our up and coming players disenfranchised by such a move and end up leaving the following year.
Too many red flags, too much baggage, and too much money. I really couldn't see it ending well for the AFC. Time to move on and focus on realities, not dreams.