Autopsy 2024 Rd 11 Leaders let Blues down in season defining loss to Giants

Who played well for the Blues in Round 11 vs the Giants? Blues supporters only.

Each week it is a different player succumbing to pressure. This week Weitering. Richmond it was Haynes. It has been McGovern. JSoS has tied that backline together off one season start - crazy that I now feel he is the leader back there.

We play stoppage, contest, stoppage, 90% behind the ball on team defence and then try and use Curnow/Mckay brilliance even if it is a 3 on 1. Sometimes it is a small fwd caught outnumbered on the inside 50 ball. We also play inside 50 hero high ball a lot.

Our opponents play a very different game. They apply pressure on our inside slow mids for the dump kick and then play rebound defensive 50 overlap to easy goal. The transaction is fantastic for them.

We come under extreme pressure on our kicking and decision making playing this contest/stoppage/high ball game...we get a split second to decide/kick.

Contrast that to our opponents who set up behind the ball for the dump/high kick then overlap run buying themselves space and time for decision making and kicking. The GWS players today and Pies another good example play a style that buys their players across the ground an extra second or 2 seconds to dispose of the ball. This helps their kicking efficiency over ours. We don't have their skillsets but the difference is being abused.

Our transition game is overwhelming our players to the point of them losing confidence. Walsh a great example of a player losing more confidence by the week. It totally suits Cripps so people say he can hold his head high. It suits Charlie and Mckay because they get non stop chances flowing their way.

Today GWS went coast to coast either from kickins or from rebound 50s...we are not even close to getting this style of goals under Vossy's stoppage gameplan plus push 90% our side into defence to present a fake strong defensive profile.

We go bash and crash until we run out of ideas late in the game where we look no chance to even score sometimes. Only a magical fluke goal goes in late in the game more than intended goals.

We now get lost and even start blaming the players but it is the game style that precedes the players mistakes and loss of confidence. The style gives them no time unlike the top 4 teams. It builds pressure, and ultimately, pressure and fumbles are a disease. The disease catches (why i wanted Young/Kemp out of our backline quicksmart). Now we see the same players of 23 and finalists cant implement a coast to cast goal at all - until it is 'a one time at band camp thing...not close to repeatable.

Anyway, I'll be watching again next match as this train careers on towards its final destination (bye bye some coaches....). Which ones, not sure but in with some lines coaches or head coaches who understand the current transition landscape.

Vossball is hero ball. For those who want to stick it to the players, remember 2023 and then decide if it came to it...which club would hire Voss as a head coach and which clubs would take our players in a heartbeat repurposing most of them. People deride charlie and mckay both or separately, other clubs would take them and use them in a split second to improve their sides. Same for many players on our list.

It has got the the point that the commentator shouts "and Carlton go inside 50"...and I go "goal to GWS". It is that frustrating to watch...

I sit on the wing in the front row

It was so clear today that they run like they have ankle weights tied down on them

Every overlap or turnover they had 10-15m on every match up on the wing and midfield

Absolutely killed us
Yeah I sit on level 2 on the wing and it was blatantly obvious we were far too slow against the Giants.

The Giants made us look very slow and very disorganised. They sucked our guys inside or into the contest while they kept their shape and then used their far, far superior run to crucify us.

Our skill is still horrific. Skill, and decision making. This, collectively, is the worst group of kickers I can remember. We're ranked no.18 for kicking for a reason, it's almost laughable watching us go inside 50. If I wasn't a Carlton fan I probably would be laughing, just like Sidebottom did on the bench.

How Charlie and Harry won 3x Coleman's between them needs to be studied.

Correct. The review was nothing more than a sham exercise to get rid of Teague and Liddle. If it was a proper review the Lloyd, Austin and Agresta all should have gone too.

Then Sayers backed himself into a corner saying we needed an experienced coach effectively ruling out Kingsley even when he was by all reports more impressive than Voss.

Shambolic, but exactly what you’d expect from an organisation that has been run as poorly as the the Carlton Football Club has been for a very long time.

Not to worry,
I’m sure Robert from Sydney has things well in hand now …

Fair point.

I also don't like Weitering whinging about Young being down back. Like dude, back him in, he's your team mate. Until JSOS gets back, you're stuck with him so suck it up. Reminds me of those Thornton spats from yesteryear, doesn't help team morale one bit. Save the spray during the breaks or after the game.
Weitering stunk it up big time today - the above poll shows him with 2 votes says it all. We missed JSOS today, hopefully he returns in a couple weeks.

On a positive note, great to see Docherty back playing good footy - reports of his demise have been greatly exaggerated.

Also, another very good game from Lord and a promising debut from O’Farrell who looked very comfortable playing at AFL level. Made a strong case for the defence just like his old man does so often at the tribunal… :D

That performance was who we now are. What as a club are we going to do about it?

Some encouraging signs from some of the younger brigade, so something to take away from the game, but not much else.

We're cooked and need a major shake up.

Fair point.

I also don't like Weitering whinging about Young being down back. Like dude, back him in, he's your team mate. Until JSOS gets back, you're stuck with him so suck it up. Reminds me of those Thornton spats from yesteryear, doesn't help team morale one bit. Save the spray during the breaks or after the game.

Weitering kicks sideways and backwards too much.

Big culprit behind our slow ball movement.

I thought Motlops role was a small forward? I was at the game an saw something that was quite funny. At a few stages of the game Leer was on him,Leer would lead for the incoming ball and Motlop was chasing him from behind. What the he'll is that???
Motsy wanted to get his tackle count up when Leer got the ball

Why you ask? Cause it really impresses some folks in here.
It's not about kicking Goals ... it's about how many tackles you have.

^ You serious Bro ^

Fair point.

What kind of a leader does this? I reckon a big part of our on field issues are our leaders.

After round 16, 2024:

Carlton 11 wins 4 losses 118.5%

Since end of round 16, 2024

Carlton 6 wins 13 losses 99.29

We're only a few games off being a complete season of this level.

6/19 wins is a 7.26 win pace. In recent years that's third or forth worst team in the comp.

2 wins have come against West Coast Witches Hats. 2 wins have come against North. We've only beaten Geelong and St. Kilda in our other 15 games.

That doesn't include the final against Brisbane.

Curnow shits me to tears. Just superhero efforts only, never any grit or toughness or willingness to sacrifice for anyone else. Does not do the percentage thing ever.
Compare that to Jeremy Cameron, who kicks bags every week and still has time to get up the ground and play like a midfielder, putting the ball to advantage.

Autopsy 2024 Rd 11 Leaders let Blues down in season defining loss to Giants