List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - The Final Countdown

What Is Your Preferred Combination At Picks 3 & 4?

I can't really explain this very well but I'm not sold on Robey. The fact that he's a bolter that has come from the clouds gives me concerns over consistency of performance.
Granted I haven't watched much vision this year compared to last but his ball use looks sub-par more often than not.

I'd prefer Cumming and Grlj. Admittedly, my view carries absolutely no weight this year. Just don't have a good guy feeling on Robey.

Phobia GIF by Studios 2016

Why is a team trading up if the players are all even between 4-17? I’m giving up 2 of those players for 1 for reasons?

This is the most confusing thing that I read about trading up and down here or on wce/bombers/dees boards, no one seems to ask why the other team would do the deal that often only benefits one side?

Blues are the only one who make sense to get ahead of Dean bid.
It's in the eye of the beholder. We might not have Sharp as a clear top-4 selection....but the Bombers might. If we take Robey at #3 but 'have a blanket' over picks 4-7 (let's say Sharp, Cumming, Grjl, Taylor), but Bombers or Demons are desperate to get Sharp as they rate him clearly next best, then a deal of #4 for pick 6 (Bombers) or 7 (Demons) plus something else makes sense for both teams. I don't believe we'd get both their top picks, but one of their picks plus a future 2nd or 1st (in 2027) is not out of the question....if they have for example Sharp as a clearcut #4 and we don't.

If Essendon know we don't rate a player all they have to do is wait.

I can't really explain this very well but I'm not sold on Robey. The fact that he's a bolter that has come from the clouds gives me concerns over consistency of performance.
Granted I haven't watched much vision this year compared to last but his ball use looks sub-par more often than not.

I'd prefer Cumming and Grlj. Admittedly, my view carries absolutely no weight this year. Just don't have a good gut feeling on Robey.
Replace Grlj with Sharp and i agree with you totally

Sharp is a Bonafide 250 game player at a B+ - A level and these players are gold
Mundy/Libba types are what teams are built on along with your A stars

Cumming & Sharp combo for me

Sharp is a Bonafide 250 game player at a B+ - A level and these players are gold

I don’t want a safe, solid contributor with a top 5 pick. We have plenty of battlers on the list. Top picks should be reserved for the players you think are going to be A-graders.

No reason why he cant be an A grader

But you telling me you wouldnt have a Libba or Mundy in our team ?

If Essendon know we don't rate a player all they have to do is wait.

If Essendon really want a player we don’t rate it’ll still have to protect itself against a team trading with us for that player.

As an example, in 2023 it traded a second round pick with Geelong to switch picks (10 and 11) to take Nate Caddy.

Were well into the phase of the draft where it’s more about specific players than a pick, so these sorts of considerations become more of a factor.

Bored sitting at home today due to being off work crook and thought I'd do a first round of the draft the way I'd do things combined with a bit of group think to see how things may play out. Obviously a bit of water to go under the bridge between now and the draft so things could definitely change.

Anyway at least it's something to discuss/criticize/bag/praise or insert * Who gives a shit gif*

1760934883736.png

You’re not getting a 2027 f1. That’s the point I’m making, we’re not getting a future first + a top 10 pick to slide. It’s way too much risk for the club trying to get up. This is not Humphries or someone of that ilk your getting, it’s an unproven kid in a draft with a questionable top 3. As much as I love Robey, he’s at 3 in most rankings as much because of his ceiling as the fact the rest of the class hasn’t made themselves the top 3 pick. You can say the same about cdt.

We’d get a 2nd and then you make sure the guy you were gonna select is still making it to whatever pick you slide too.

Sharp is clearly the best performed player this year. He drags his team over the line when he going gets tough. That is Cotchin like. These guys win you premierships.

He just isn't sexy. Otherwise Sharp is everything you want in top pick.

I don’t get the love in for picking Cumming. Watched a fair few highlights and not overly excited. Rather Grlj or Robey, but totally agree regards Sharp. Should take him if we get the opportunity

Not sold on Robey, sizeable kids dont always translate to AFL because they all of sudden meet their physical match if not stronger even the shorter players. His kicking is suspect very much so but he is super competitive which is good. but for a top 5 pick we need skill and speed and this is where Oskar Taylor and Grilj come into the picture.

Robey is a goal kicking mid, and they are gold in this era of AFL. Agree his kicking looks iffy at times, but he’s a goal kicker and wins the footy.

Sharp is clearly the best performed player this year. He drags his team over the line when he going gets tough. That is Cotchin like. These guys win you premierships.

He just isn't sexy. Otherwise Sharp is everything you want in top pick.
Fair point. I just think we desperately need pace and something different in the middle - especially as Taranto and Hopper still have 4-5 years left.

I'm no draft expert - but from the descriptions, Robey, Grjl, and Cumming seem to fit the bill.

Robey is a goal kicking mid, and they are gold in this era of AFL. Agree his kicking looks iffy at times, but he’s a goal kicker and wins the footy.
Yes TF61 a tantalising prospect indeed for a later pick say around 7-10 range. Also bottom age. Question is the athletic profile for a top 5 pick.

I'd prefer Cumming and Grlj. Admittedly, my view carries absolutely no weight this year. Just don't have a good gut feeling on Robey.

The way I see it, we have 2 picks. I think who ever we get, it will be fine. Our position is pretty perfect. Personally, i want Eagles to pick Duursma & Sharp, leaving CDT on the table, that would make it interesting. I'd love to get Grlj but whether we pull that trigger if Cumming is still on the table (presuming we picked Robey) I'm not sure.

Duursma - Eagles
CDT - Eagles
Robey - Tigers
Cumming - Tigers
Sharp - Ess
X Taylor - Ess
Grlj - Melbourne

Uwland - GC
Patterson - GC
Annable - Bris

I think the only club with a chance to move up would be Essendon, but not sure they would want to give up 5 & 6 to get CDT at 2, if they are also really keen on X Taylor. Can't see Carlton wanting to get ahead of the Dean pick because if they end up in deficit it might impact Walker next year. Reckon Melbourne would also be pretty happy where they sit considering the top talent they have been bringing in the past drafts.

Yes TF61 a tantalising prospect indeed for a later pick say around 7-10 range. Also bottom age. Question is the athletic profile for a top 5 pick.

Athleticism is not a question for Robey and his kicking is equivalent of basically everyone else in this draft class. There are no great kicks.

He is going top 3, there’s a reason he’s 3 (open pool only) in most major rankings and if he’s not 3 he’s 4. Everyone else is ranked anywhere between 4-11.

For what he offers and could be, I think he’s worth a top 4 punt in the draft.
Started the U18 season as a forward and ended up dominating as a mid, in finals too when the pressure was on. Depends fully on what our recruiters have seen of him over the last couple of years and what they think he has the potential to become, rated against other players available at our selection of course.
As I posted previously, the selling point for me is his ability to hit the scoreboard and his ball winning ability.