List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - The Final Countdown

What Is Your Preferred Combination At Picks 3 & 4?

Fair point. I just think we desperately need pace and something different in the middle - especially as Taranto and Hopper still have 4-5 years left.

I'm no draft expert - but from the descriptions, Robey, Grjl, and Cumming seem to fit the bill.

IMHO you must look at least 5 years ahead with the draft. By then Hopper and TT will be gone, or just about gone. We'll need to fill our midfield out. So Sharp would be perfect as a foil for Lalor and Smillie, and freeing up and feeding our faster players.

But we also need speed and skill.

And we need to fill roles on the flanks etc.

There is a range of things we need for the future.

So for 2025 we need to strengthen the long term squad, in whatever ways give us the best bang for the next decade. That is a balance of risk, potential, role and our future plans. i.e. who we think we will pick up next year will impact this year. e.g. if 2026 has a lot of skilled runners then outside speed is not such a pressing issue. Which FA's we think might be available will impact on who we go for. I would certainly go Sharp if available as he is as close to a certain B+/A grader as you will get. Grilj = run and carry we need. Robey is super high level potential, but does he fill a list hole and how likely do we think he'll be that good?(Footy dept, not BF). Cumming is a really good looking all round mid, but is he as good as Sharp? And, of course, WC might not pick CDT - who is an elite talent.

The 2025 draft might fix some speed problems. But that is not absolutely necessary for the next year or two. What we really need is to build the best talent we can, and then we fill in the holes. Last year we went for the highest level talent for the spine and midfield. This year I wonder if we will still go highest return. That's Robey and Grilj probably - CDT if available. But maybe we will look to safely fill holes to ensure the team will work long term - Sharp and Cumming probably. Then X Taylor is around. interesting year for us.

Bored sitting at home today due to being off work crook and thought I'd do a first round of the draft the way I'd do things combined with a bit of group think to see how things may play out. Obviously a bit of water to go under the bridge between now and the draft so things could definitely change.

Anyway at least it's something to discuss/criticize/bag/praise or insert * Who gives a shit gif*

View attachment 2461464
Not bad as far as order goes WCE would be stoked, but you've used 24 & 25 twice in the bid matching for the Suns.

Bored sitting at home today due to being off work crook and thought I'd do a first round of the draft the way I'd do things combined with a bit of group think to see how things may play out. Obviously a bit of water to go under the bridge between now and the draft so things could definitely change.

Anyway at least it's something to discuss/criticize/bag/praise or insert * Who gives a shit gif*

View attachment 2461464

If WCE walked away with Duursma, Sharp & Cumming they'd be more than happy to cartwheel their way back to Perth in celebration

Not bad as far as order goes WCE would be stoked, but you've used 24 & 25 twice in the bid matching for the Suns.
As bids were matched picks that they had come in so they end up with the same picks twice as a result.

maybe they wont, but thats what it will take to get a trade up this years draft order if there is a player there someone desperately wants.
And that’s why it’s doubtful anybody trades up b

If Essendon know we don't rate a player all they have to do is wait.
wrong...they'd be worried we will trade that pick elsewhere....so if they love Sharp and we don't they'll make a play for pick #4. They did this with Caddy....Geelong had #10, Bombers #11. Bombers swapped 11 for 10 and gave Cats a late 20's pick...because they knew they'd be offering up pick-10 elsewhere. So Cats got a late-20's pick literally for free as they clearly weren't picking Caddy anyway.

You’re not getting a 2027 f1. That’s the point I’m making, we’re not getting a future first + a top 10 pick to slide. It’s way too much risk for the club trying to get up. This is not Humphries or someone of that ilk your getting, it’s an unproven kid in a draft with a questionable top 3. As much as I love Robey, he’s at 3 in most rankings as much because of his ceiling as the fact the rest of the class hasn’t made themselves the top 3 pick. You can say the same about cdt.

We’d get a 2nd and then you make sure the guy you were gonna select is still making it to whatever pick you slide too.
I agree, which i why I said F2 initially. The F1 of 2027 was only due to Tassie, where only the bottom couple of teams will get prime picks. The first rounder for a mid-table team will fall into the 20's.

If RFC took CDT and Cumming it would be a very interesting combination.

for a few reasons
Tell Oh My GIF by Robert E Blackmon

I have warmed significantly toward Sharp. He's a winner and hard as nails. This can't be understated. Cotcho would shift the momentum of so many games with an insanely courageous hit or tackle. We don't have that type on our list currently. I was hoping smillie would be that, but seems to have a different skill set. Future captain written all over him.

Again, speaking as someone who doesn’t follow the draft that closely, but we’ve just seen Ben Hobbs get delisted - a top pick who could only play one position. Does this come into calculations with someone like Sharp? Do you need to have more strings to your bow these days?

To counter my own argument, you could say if you’re good enough then it doesn’t matter - Matt Rowell is pretty limited in terms of where he can play on the field but just won a Brownlow.