List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Yeh i gotta agree.

I get Port and the crows thought they could get unders on Nas cause he was out of contract and honestly we all sort of assumed as much but theres no correlation to that here.

Wilkie is contracted, still hasnt requested and even if he did is extremely unlikely to go full Zac Merett. No doubt wed tell Wilkie we will look into it since he requested (and probably agree to give him a little bump) but we go into that discussion expecting absolutely ****ing ridiculous overs and nothing less.

Frankly even your suggestion of Sanders and Friejah can **** right off as far as im concerned.
Look I rate Freijah. Stick him on a wing for the next decade and you have a star.

But I can’t see, imagine, or understand for the life of me the bulldogs here.

It would be like us doubling Bonts salary. They are still not going to trade him.

Im mildly suprised theyre not considering Doogs.

I get that A grade talent is the preference but they need literally anything match fit.
He's a good defender if he can get his body right and would compliment Lobb well.

Very happy we can keep him as depth. Hopefully their desire for A grade only leaves them with nothing.

If he was any more outside, he would have had to pay to get in.

Nothing wrong with a finisher in a good side. We have needed 22 work horses to cover for lack of skills for years. In a better side guys that get out in space and convert are a genuine asset. I reckon he was mismanaged out of the AFL. He's not too different to guys like Ginnivan who've made a career out of being an annoying dickhead.

I still have no understanding as to how the dogs actually think this plays out.

Wilkie says yes, make me a pug.

Dogs offer p10 and p28.

We say no.

They offer p10 and F1.

We say no.

We say Sam Darcy.

They say no.

Like wtf 😂
See the quote below

I mean if the Western Bulldogs want to pay him that much to play Fullback for St Kilda, thats fine with me tbh

Everyones forgetting what Ross said on Agenda Setters regarding Nasiah. It was going to get nasty. Some things are not tradeable. We're not a club thats gonna be walked over. Cal can ****ing lump it, or we get Darcy and Freijah in return

View attachment 2429332

If that was what we thought about a player that was out of contract, what do you think we'll do for our contracted vice captain 😂
We wont be a club that is walked over.

We aren't mucking around here.

Is Lyon known as a bullshitter?

I still have no understanding as to how the dogs actually think this plays out.

Wilkie says yes, make me a pug.

Dogs offer p10 and p28.

We say no.

They offer p10 and F1.

We say no.

We say Sam Darcy.

They say no.

Like wtf 😂

We certainly don't need more sub B grade talent either. We need top end quality and ready to play talent. The last thing we need is to dilute what we have already.

They won't be offering their best 10 players so it would be like Jed Busslinger and Khamis and some picks or something which just doesn't even make me want to look up

We certainly don't need more sub B grade talent either. We need top end quality and ready to play talent. The last thing we need is to dilute what we have already.

They won't be offering their best 10 players so it would be like Jed Busslinger and Khamis and some picks or something which just doesn't even make me want to look up
Atleast you can understand our offers to clubs for Ryan Aleer and potentially Flanders and Cmac.

Future pick for the eagles could help them in their rebuild directly or via another trade.

Aleer is OOC. They get a pick or lose him via PSD according to Twomey.

Flanders helps GC with their points.

Cmac helps unlock the Injector trade for Merrett.

Wilkie being traded does absolutely nothing.

EXODUS WATCH

Saints: 0 confirmed, 1 possible (Heath)

Carlton: 2 confirmed (TDK & JSOS, cheers cobberz lol), 2 possible (Curnow, McKay)

Essendon: 1 confirmed (Draper), 17 possible (Merrett, Redman, Ridley, pretty much everyone else looking lol)

Will watch with bated breath to see how this exodus pans out lol

17 LOL

OK so to be clear, I used 'restraint of trade' to mean 'the ability to practice a person's normal occupation'. I said 'virtually unenforceable' as a function of how often employers include purported restraint on performing one's normal occupation vs. how often that particular restraint would be enforceable.

Your comment above raises restraints in the context of non-solicitation and IP protection which are proper and reasonable but that's not what I was talking about. I'm talking about literally the ability to ply your trade. 'Goodwill' implies a business purchase / sale of some sort so wouldn't seem relevant to an AFL player.
Nothing about the AFL is a redtriant of trade or stops any player from plying their trade, they are free to sign a contract and join any competition they like.

Curious to know which components of the AFL system you think constitutes a "restraint of trade"?

We were linked to him in the draft, he looks ok but I’m not sold. He’s contracted for another two years and we’re running short of list spots.

It would be a straight swap for Steele. (I'm catching up on the last 20 pages)
Doubt it.

Would Steele’s exit be used to bring in both of Cmac and Flanders?

I don't think people have caught up with how much he's improved yet either. He's easily our biggest improver apart from Nas and he was coming off a higher base.

I caught on watching highlights of Nas and thinking how many times the hard won footy was Windhager going in like a maniac or dishing it off as he ran past.

I think people are going start to catch on to how much of the absolute grunt work he does soon.
I have to say his game against the pies last season was pretty special. nearly 30 possessions and was playing mid as well. Let's hope his improvement goes up another notch by becoming more damaging when he gets the ball. Towards end of the season, he got a couple of assists by lowering the eyes to hit up targets in the forward line.

Everything is peaches and cream as long as Wilkie doesn't request a trade. That will be a Defcon 1 level disaster. I would hope that the club would then stick to their guns and do what the Swans did with Papley.

I don't think we'd let him go. You'd back in the results of the improving with the incoming players to change his outlook.

Fun fact, Manchester United once nearly lost their goalkeeper on the trade deadline but he couldnt go because their "fax machine broke down"
Mind you this is in 2015 as well.

View attachment 2429360
Didn't we pull that exact maneuver with Heath Black one year? He didn't get back to WA because we couldn't get the fax sent in time?

As I said mate.

They have the pieces that could make a trade happen.

They won’t offer those pieces.

You look at the dogs board and people are saying “finally going all in”.

They ain’t doing shit.
The question Stav is if the Bulldogs were prepared to trade the necessary pieces in a trade would we pull the trigger and do it?

That’s the question we need to ask ourselves.

We need to seriously consider that they will be prepared to eat a shit sandwich to get this done, otherwise they just look sillier and more desperate by the minute.

Presumably the Bulldogs have gamed this out.

The question Stav is if the Bulldogs were prepared to trade the necessary pieces in a trade would we pull the trigger and do it?

We need to seriously consider that they will be prepared to eat a shit sandwich to get this done, otherwise they just look sillier and more desperate by the minute.

If they gave us overs, you'd be crazy not to consider it. But they won't

I think he looks more pure athlete than pure footballer but if anything that increases the upside.

He looked absolutely ****ing terrified with ball in hand a few times last year, im all about him but hes got some work to do.
It’s funny what is a pure athlete vs pure footballer. For someone his size he has a beautiful kick technique and times his spoils as well as anyone.

Depends on what “overs” is.

i'd prefer JUH over May and i really dont like the idea of JUH

May is an absolute flog of a bloke and team mate
It’s funny Steven May came to my club and did a talking event with a mental health group. He came across as super sincere and genuine. Not denying he’s had moments and I’m sure alcohol was involved but was anything but flogging.