List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

Trading out Marshall, Steele and a Wilkie and we can get access to first round picks now. Tassie doesn't impact that.

For the NAS trade we may simply have no choice but to accept future first rounders from Port. They can't make Bergman or Butters go against their will.

Ultimately, the accepting the rebuild part (Steele, Marshall, Wilkie gone), would generate picks right now.

This is our last chance to put our hand up and admit we need to go full rebuild and get maximum trade value before its too late.

If NAS goes finals are absolutely off the table the next 2-3 years anyway until some of our younger blokes get to 100 games.

Personally, I think people are being far too spooked by Tassie coming into the comp. It is not like they are getting guaranteed access to the 10 best young kids every year into the foreseeable future.

The draft is already compromised. We just have to make lemonade from lemons. The worst thing we should be doing is attempting to let Lyon off the hook by bringing in existing B grade talent instead of picks.
Nas is a half back flanker who is benefiting from players in that position getting huge numbers. Kick outs, first receiver etc. He’s a ripper, I love how he takes the game on but he’s turned it over quite a lot this year and despite one great quarter I’m not convienced he’ll ever be a centre square mid.

Yes obviously I want him to stay but we can replace a h/b from within without too much trouble, Travaglia and Hastie are both going to be very good players. If we flipped Nas into a quality mid imo we’d be in front.

It's negotiating and we would be better off to be willing to get nothing otherwise we will get massive unders like the Dogs did with Smith.

Smith off a knee and huge social issues to deal with. Geelong happy to take a risk knowing that AFL media will never scrutinise them like other clubs.

The only problem with this idea is that the exact same thing happened last time. He was rumored to be heading home in 2023, but agreed to sign a 2-year extension.

Adelaide & Port have had 2 years to position themselves for a trade. Since Nas resigned last time....

• Port traded their 2024 1st round pick for Pick 23 in 2023
  • Port Traded their 2024 2nd round pick for Ivan Soldo in 2023
  • Port bought in Jordan Sweet, Esava Ratugolea & Brandon Zerk-Thatcher
  • Adelaide bought in Alex Neal-Bullen
  • Port bought in Lukosius, Joe Richards and Rory Atkins while trading out their 2025 1st round pick
  • Adelaide traded out their 2025 2nd round pick for James Peatling

There's no signs of any effort to gain trade capital to secure Nas at a fair rate from either side, both have reduced draft hands in 2025. And any future picks a fraught with danger with Tassie getting into the draft soon.
There are so many unknowns to be considered but the easiest one to put forward is why would you change your entire / list draft hand on the possibility of the player maybe wanting to come home. NAS wasn't even close to the player he is now 2 years ago.

Did we plan our entire list / profile on Bing coming down ?

Not sure if he'd leave but if we lose both Cordy and Howard I think we should chase Darcy Gardiner. 31 next year but a premiership player and would bring huge experience. Adding him as depth behind Aleer would be nice coverage

Would rather take Nath Balta. He's totally checked out at Richmond and has a massive long term deal. Take him off their hands cheap because of that. Would be a potential overs for unders type situation.

Reckon his knee is holding him back, and Voss playing him out of position. Also the Blues are diabolical.

He's still a very inconsistent player. His best run of form was early this year. His best looks impressive, his worst is disinterested.

This was C4 who Port get their ITK info from on Tuesday, 8 July 2025. He has good sources:

View attachment 2364853
I’m of the opinion that he would probably like to play for Port Adelaide (not interested in Crows), but his management and probably Port know a deal can’t be done. So instead of causing a circus throughout trade period where a worse case scenario for him is go to West Coast or North in the PSD, he’ll bite the bullet and sign a 2 year deal with us before then, even if that’s not entirely what he wants.

Would rather take Nath Balta. He's totally checked out at Richmond and has a massive long term deal. Take him off their hands cheap because of that. Would be a potential overs for unders type situation.
Gardiner is an unrestricted free agent so we'd get him for no draft capital. Forgot to clarify that in the original post

We need to change our mindset from "we're overpaying a player" to "we're buying a first round draft pick with salary cap space".
correct, this is what its always been about. Pick purchasing in a roundabout way. Get a younger, better player in the same position for free and another first round pick. We have had 2 first round picks the last couple years. This would be three in a row after lacking them 2018-20

I'm just not seeing it with TDK

He's the exact type of ruck we don't need. He's like Marshall in that he dump kicks forward to no-one and is a big leap but not particularly accurate with his tap work. Bizarrely poor mark considering his brother is an insane mark of the ball and not much else. You are absolutely buying on potential and not actual output.

I'd rather Moyle or a good tap man. Young Knobel from GC looks good and so does GWS's kid Nick Madden. Any of them would be good semi developed rucks. Apart from Moyle none would have much value in a trade.

I’m not as end of the world if Nas goes. We would need serious compo and 1 first rounder wouldnt come anywhere near what we need. Having that said I think he stays for the 2.
I still think our stocks are strong if you give the kids time to develop. Pou, Windy, Mitch, Darcy, Trav, Gus Hastie, Viking, Hall, Max K, Dodson. Don’t think there is any need for panic just some calculated list decisions. Out Marshall in TDK, Aleer and a couple of 1st rounders.
Port will not be anywhere near contention over the next 2 years so Nas would need to resign himself to being in the same position or possibly worse. He won’t elevate them into contention but good luck if he does go that way and hope his mates get around him when he finds himself in a list changing and with less development.
Would also suggest that moving from a coach that by all accounts he appears to respect and love to an untried coach he doesn’t know may also have a little sway with him.

Although maybe that’s wishful thinking.

If they're of use to us, use them. If they're not (if we're bottom 4 and they are leaving next year) - play someone else who will benefit with time in the senior team.

If Nas announced today that he's leaving to Port, what benefit does it bring to the team to keep giving him midfield minutes ahead of some other players who will actually be there next year?
How does that help us moving forward?
You're an absolute savage :tearsofjoy:

Put Cordy on the LTI against his wishes...and the rules.

Send Nas back to Sandy if he is leaving.

Look I get where you are coming from with supporter blinkers on, but if we did either of the above, no one would want to join a club that treats their players like sh*t.

There is a bigger picture that trumps nearly all of your recent opinion.

Yeh as an NRL follower (and honestly nearly every other sport internationally) i think the AFL is incredibly immature in this space. It seems clear as day to me its purely about being able to pump up trade radio and sell column inches online.

Which the club would know if he could announce it publically... which youre against being able to happen...

AFL is a weirdly sentimental sport that has always been super tribal and frowned on disloyalty. It's going to be a hard sell changing that. I don't mind it being a unique sport.

I’m of the opinion that he would probably like to play for Port Adelaide (not interested in Crows), but his management and probably Port know a deal can’t be done. So instead of causing a circus throughout trade period where a worse case scenario for him is go to West Coast or North in the PSD, he’ll bite the bullet and sign a 2 year deal with us before then, even if that’s not entirely what he wants.
Exactly

AFL is a weirdly sentimental sport that has always been super tribal and frowned on disloyalty. It's going to be a hard sell changing that. I don't mind it being a unique sport.
I think the only issue with this is that it just isnt that anymore.

Granted it doesnt have the player movement that NRL does but its got a fair bit and clubs arent loyal to players anymore (nor should they be) and the system is so heavily favoured to the players in that regard they really arent either.

I dont really care what the AFL does with it it just seems that trade week and the restriction of contract movement and agreements outside that period is purely done to generate talking points. We have whole segments dedicated weekly on a plethora of shows for nothing more than speculation on player movement.

Meanwhile in the NRL, its gets announced and everyone moves on.

He's still a very inconsistent player. His best run of form was early this year. His best looks impressive, his worst is disinterested.
I’d be disinterested in playing for Carlton too right now.
Probably needs a new lease on life and a new challenge. A lot of players thrive after a change.

We need to change our mindset from "we're overpaying a player" to "we're buying a first round draft pick with salary cap space".

But moving both our picks back also.

I’d be disinterested in playing for Carlton too right now.
Probably needs a new lease on life and a new challenges. A lot of players thrive after a change.

He was the same last year too. Just has a lot of meh games.He looks good doing FA at least. He jumps and moves around a lot.

Gardiner is an unrestricted free agent so we'd get him for no draft capital. Forgot to clarify that in the original post

I'd rather pay something for good players rather than pick up some garbage for free. Gardiner is like finding a 20 year old plasma TV in hard rubbish.

I think the only issue with this is that it just isnt that anymore.

Granted it doesnt have the player movement that NRL does but its got a fair bit and clubs arent loyal to players anymore (nor should they be) and the system is so heavily favoured to the players in that regard they really arent either.

I dont really care what the AFL does with it it just seems that trade week and the restriction of contract movement and agreements outside that period is purely done to generate talking points. We have whole segments dedicated weekly on a plethora of shows for nothing more than speculation on player movement.

Meanwhile in the NRL, its gets announced and everyone moves on.

It's having a bet each way as player managers want a fluid movement. It's still not something the fan bases like. We still expect loyalty and passion like we had in the olden days where you'd represent your local suburb and the guys two street over an arbitrary boundary are mortal enemies.

People have an absolute melt when players smile and hug Josh Battle after a game.

Message for NAS:

I’m done.

Man up, and make a decision.
A career is short, you can move home afterwards.
It’s an hour’s flight ffs.
American sportsmen and Premier league soccer players are expected to move across the country at the drop of a hat.
Some of us packed up leaving family and friends and history behind and moved thousands of kilometres away from home.

I’m aware that a lot of this is probably driven by his manager to try and squeeze everything they can out of us - but don’t hold the club and it’s supporters to ransom.