News 2025 St. Kilda Media Thread

I’m more haunted by the 14.1 Adelaide kicked after 1/2 time in the 97 GF.

Yes. 14 goals 1 behind.🙄

That didn't happen. That game has been erased from history. The season ended after the Prelim that year. Forget about it. Re: The 'show', I just don't trust marketing people in the 'industry'. you know, the career types that go from club to club. This is not for St Kilda. It is for a 'suitable club'. St Kilda is the mule pulling the cart this time. Not saying it is terrible, but I swear if i can even sniff a wiff of distraction, I will be cussin' 'n spittin' in my fish n chips. Say it gets big ratings , you betcha some players social Media metrics will blow up. No big deal maybe. Hopefully. Cautious. Edit: didn't Hawthorn do one a few years ago? I think it helped them actually. But knowing us...
Bloody hell we took the gas that day. Still gives me nightmares. Notwithstanding the family tragedies that beset Winmar and Loewe on the eve of the game, Adelaide only had a handful of bona fide stars and were missing Ricciuto and Modra. They really were a team full of no names and role players (I mean who the AF were Sampson, Rintoul, Connell, Koster, Ellen, Bond etc, etc?). I reckon Shanahan had 10 kicked on him that day - 5 when Ellen was FF and then another 5 when Jarman was moved to FF in the last Q. Gary Colling vibes on Keddie in the 71 GF for those like me old enough to remember another one that got away. That game (the 1971 GF) was the biggest sliding doors moment in the history of both St. Kilda and Hawthorn. That's a story for another day.

Yea. I reacted poorly after that game. We had guests for dinner but I went to bed and pulled the blankets up over my head.

He's an intense fella. I really enjoy his openness. It gives us a real bond to him. That said I've always been a bit of a romantic and love the guys that have done it the hard way or have to scrap for every bone. He's a massive ball of contradictions too. Absolutely fascinating to get real well thought out insight into a player's life too.

The opposite. For a club that has been in drift along mode for 15 years it will bring energy and focus. Players will push harder with eyes on them and they'll feel like they have something to prove.

I find it interesting how Essendon can barely have a fit player available and put up a competitive performance with who they have left on Anzac Day or a Collingwood side down the ladder can lift in a marquee game. Players knowing how many eyes are on them seem to be able to find a gear.

Our games at empty stadiums on a Sunday arvo are the opposite. They feel like they lack energy or meaning and they play like that. We've built the side, just need to bring the energy now.
Absolutely. And with the opening round match against Collingwood locked and loaded it will act as a major source of motivation over the coming weeks, especially so as the promos amp-up. No player will not want to be running out. Talk about fuel!

The Fixture for the first 15 Games of 2026 has just dropped. And opponents for the whole H&A Season.

I was chaffing at the bit this morning. SEN Sam Edmond and ‘Coons’ were taking calls about the draft and posturing about how good the Nirthern Academies are at the expense of callers who felt genuinely miffed that the Subs get given advantages. It was appalling. I generally have some respect for Edmond but I’m losing it. This was pure posturing.
Caller: AFL are helping Gold Coast win and they won’t stop til they get a flag
Edmond and Coons: disagree - we are getting players up there involved in footy.
What a croc?
Why are we here?
We love our team!
We demand a level playing field!!
These guys just want to create tension - fair enough. But when they spit this kind of tripe - conflating the spread of the game with unfair practice they are really stepping over the line. I hope someone calls them out for it. But I know that controversy never harms them.

I was chaffing at the bit this morning. SEN Sam Edmond and ‘Coons’ were taking calls about the draft and posturing about how good the Nirthern Academies are at the expense of callers who felt genuinely miffed that the Subs get given advantages. It was appalling. I generally have some respect for Edmond but I’m losing it. This was pure posturing.
What a croc?
Why are we here?
We love our team!
These guys just want to create tension - fair enough. But when they spit this kind of tripe - conflating the spread of the game with unfair practice they are really stepping over the line. I hope someone calls them out for it. But I know that controversy never harms them.
Yeah Coons has no idea. Like Josh Jenkins, I don’t know how either have a gig on radio!

What a croc?
Why are we here?
We love our team!

Yep anyone who thinks the AFL executive dont influence results and which clubs achieve the ultimate sucess are kidding themselves! Exponentially the game is growing up there but its at the expense of the traditional state clubs. It has never been an equitable competition and the AFL have no intentions of trying to make it so!

News 2025 St. Kilda Media Thread