Preview 2026 AFL Draft General Discussion

I've been preparing an early list for WA in the usual style as every yearly list. I think I've got the correct WAFL club assigned to each?

Early days of course. Just getting some names out there plus a couple who I assume are below age = ***. I'm sure other can add some more names.

Perth Josh Nathan (P/PSA) - - ---- - Jayden Clarke (P/PSA) - - ---- - Matthew Edgelow (P) - - ---- - Garrison Kenh (P) - - ---- - Alastair Kelly (P) - - ---- - Tyson O'Driscoll (P) - - ---- - East Perth Zack Hately (EP/PSA) - - ---- - Axel Walsh (EP/PSA) - - ---- - Leo Steed (EP/PSA) - - ---- - South Fremantle Jimmy Garlett (SF) - - ---- - McKenna Pringle (SF) - - ---- - Peel Drew Clarke (PT) - - ---- - Austin Lekias (PT) - - ---- - Jayke Cooper (PT) - - ---- - James Whelan (PT) - - ---- - Coen Tuck (PT) - - ---- - Saul McCann (PT) - - ---- - Claremont Kai Bardetta (CL) - - ---- - Sonny Gosling (CL) - - ---- - Heath Mellody (CL/PSA) - - ---- - Fletcher Farr (CL/PSA) - - ---- - Lucas Robinson (CL/PSA) - - ---- - West Perth Sam Hill (WP) - - ---- - Lucas Mannion (WP) - - ---- - Koby Le Cras (WP/PSA) - - ---- - East Fremantle Cooper McMeikan (EF) - - ---- - Corbin Boylson (EF/PSA) - - ---- - Oliver Williams (EF/PSA) - - ---- - Nate Scott (EF) - - ---- - Kye Ormerod (EF) - - ---- - Subiaco Angus Abbonizio*** (S/PSA) - - ---- - Riley Hay (S) - - ---- - Tyrell Pickett (S) - - ---- - Jai Baron-Hay (S) - - ---- - Connor Lally (S) - - ---- - Thatcher Simmons (S) - - ---- - Hurricane Clark (S) - - ---- - Adam Schmechtig (S) - - ---- - Caleb Zloich (S) - - ---- - Liam Deckert (S) - - ---- - Swan Districts Lorenze Cole (SD) - - ---- - Jai Debono (SD) - - ---- - Cooper Dudfield (SD) - - ---- -

Koby Le Cras West Coast F/S?

Yeah it is the same
When I visited Adelaide some years ago I noticed how nice the majority of suburbs were compared to Perth. I couldn't sense a great deal of demographic difference like in Perth....except maybe Elizabeth and Gawler which appeared to have a bit of a migrant British feel. Maybe around the Port was a little different also.

i just try get names that i can find that might be possible draftees from anywhere i can, im no ecxpect by any means haha but here's what i have so far.
would love some input.

ALLIES
Matthew Owen
Thomas Levi
Harry Thomson
Cooper Hodge
Jackson Jervis
Archie Hill
Hugh Taylor
Hamish McPherson
Jesse Borghouts
Jack Newman
Kyran Cole-Manolis
Leon Zammit
Edward Darcy
Zac Withers
Hau-Tze Rock
Tyane Thomas
Brodie Speed
Ted Banks-Smith
SA
Dougie Cochrane
William Cameron
Jermaine Miller
Jack Gordon
Ben Copping
Charlie Bevan
William Attiwill
Hudson Mellor
Kai Sharpe
Eli White
Brodie Bretones
Cain Florence
Kodah Edwards
Lachlan Marshall-Bates
Jed White
Mitchell Harris

VIC
Darcy Harrington
Mitch Toner
Lachlan Hicks
Jordan Knapp
Cody Walker
Jagger Mooney
Jaxon Cooney
Cohen Lake
Kalani White
Ben Crawford
Ayce Buckley
Sam Harris
Levi West
Jack Surkitt
Angus Tippett
Harvey Cooke

WA
Riley Hay
Alastair Kelly
Jayden Clarke
Jai Debono
Kye Ormerod
Adam Schmechtig
Lucas Robinson
Thatcher Simmons
Hurricane Clark
West, Lake and Cooney all dogs father sons 👍

When I visited Adelaide some years ago I noticed how nice the majority of suburbs were compared to Perth. I couldn't sense a great deal of demographic difference like in Perth....except maybe Elizabeth and Gawler which appeared to have a bit of a migrant British feel. Maybe around the Port was a little different also.
Im from SA but live in Perth and i find it the opposite haha

Yeah I dont know how good they are but just have any F/S's i find and chuck them in haha
Haha fair enough, I think West is pretty good but might be an under ager. There is a bit of hype on the dogs board about Cooney but haven't heard much about Lake

Yeah the talent pathway/development squads start at 14 years of age, so yeah all of these guys have represented a WAFL club already. I'm not sure I've got all the names allocated to the correct club by zone but I reckon it's 90% right.

It's good because it get's the player familiar with his local WAFL club in a career that may last 4/5 years at development squad/futures/colts level and who knows how long at senior level if they don't get drafted.

The nine zones each have a very distinct feel/demographic about them, so it's quite tribal at colts level in particular.

So they are zoned and a 14 year old kids can't go and pick another WAFL club, they are locked into the zone by what criteria? Home address? Junior Club? Where they attend school?

Home address only. Country players who attend PSA as boarders are counted by their parents household in the country also.

Moreover every one of the WAFL development managers will have a map with the borders clearly outlined so that when that odd situation turns up where a player lives on "their" side of the road, instead of "our" side, both clubs know who he/she belongs to.

What I like to call the West-Olarenshaw line.

It works mate. We have it in WACA premier cricket also as I'm sure you do with QLD Premier cricket.

EDIT: If only they could give a few of Claremont's suburbs to other clubs. They have an unfair advantage.

Nope, nothing of the sort in footy or cricket to my knowledge.

At what age does a player become a 'free agent?' after they turn 18?

Nope, nothing of the sort in footy or cricket to my knowledge.

At what age does a player become a 'free agent?' after they turn 18?
Last I remember if a WAFL club keeps players aged 18 or above on their protected list of 37 in seniors and/or 28 in colts then any player on that list must apply for a clearance and an agreement may be reached by both WAFL clubs or it may go to arbitration.

I guess if you are 18 and not on that list of 65, you could try out at another club.

i just try get names that i can find that might be possible draftees from anywhere i can, im no ecxpect by any means haha but here's what i have so far.
would love some input.

ALLIES
Matthew Owen
Thomas Levi
Harry Thomson
Cooper Hodge
Jackson Jervis
Archie Hill
Hugh Taylor
Hamish McPherson
Jesse Borghouts
Jack Newman
Kyran Cole-Manolis
Leon Zammit
Edward Darcy
Zac Withers
Hau-Tze Rock
Tyane Thomas
Brodie Speed
Ted Banks-Smith
SA
Dougie Cochrane
William Cameron
Jermaine Miller
Jack Gordon
Ben Copping
Charlie Bevan
William Attiwill
Hudson Mellor
Kai Sharpe
Eli White
Brodie Bretones
Cain Florence
Kodah Edwards
Lachlan Marshall-Bates
Jed White
Mitchell Harris

VIC
Darcy Harrington
Mitch Toner
Lachlan Hicks
Jordan Knapp
Cody Walker
Jagger Mooney
Jaxon Cooney
Cohen Lake
Kalani White
Ben Crawford
Ayce Buckley
Sam Harris
Levi West
Jack Surkitt
Angus Tippett
Harvey Cooke

WA
Riley Hay
Alastair Kelly
Jayden Clarke
Jai Debono
Kye Ormerod
Adam Schmechtig
Lucas Robinson
Thatcher Simmons
Hurricane Clark
Is is possible two Hawk f/s in this list.

Cooper Hodge the obvious, Ben Crawford son of Shane potentially?

Is is possible two Hawk f/s in this list.

Cooper Hodge the obvious, Ben Crawford son of Shane potentially?

Cooper Hodge looks to be certain to be drafted but whether he chooses Hawthorn or Brisbane
Ben Crawford I just added because he is a F/S and I think he’s that year but not sure and not sure how good he is either