2026 Attendances

Fantastic effort to Dees/Hawks fans. I shat on Dees fans a couple of years ago for not turning up (aware I’m a Dogs fan), but in hindsight who could blame them. They were a chore to watch. This year I really enjoy watching them.

I copped some heat a few pages back for suggesting that Melbourne is a much larger drawing club vs St Kilda, the Dogs and North. I couldn’t see any of those clubs drawing 68k, 67k and 67k vs Haw, Rich and Carl in the first nine rounds. The Dees could end up with half a dozen 65k plus crowds this year.
Put shit on Richmond, Essendon and Carlton all your like. They are going to finish 16th, 17th and 18th and all be in the top 6 attendance pullers of the year.

Yep, we chuck in some putrid crowds every now and then, but god we turn up long term.

It’s very impressive but the fixture is stacked in favour of the Big 4 plus Hawthorn, Melbourne and to a lesser extent Geelong. It’s very hard to draw a large aggregate if you don’t play those blockbuster MCG games in the early rounds. On the flip side those clubs get those blockbuster games because they are the big clubs.

Dreamtime Game
Ticketek have opened up the AFL members sections in the top deck for public sale. This has been actioned whilst from what I gather the below areas haven’t been out on sale, suggesting these will be GA on the night….

Q49-55 (back ~12 rows)
Q1-10 (back 10 rows)

I think this pattern of sales follows the Easter Monday template Hawkk

They haven’t released Q37-39 in the MCC for public sale abd given no GA in the Ponsford Stand likely means this section won’t be crowded on the night.

Feels like a crowd around 70-72k to me. Demand looks to be suggesting 75-78k but I expect a lower Richmond member show rate to some degree.

View attachment 2614855

Dreamtime Game
Ticketek have opened up the AFL members sections in the top deck for public sale. This has been actioned whilst from what I gather the below areas haven’t been out on sale, suggesting these will be GA on the night….

Q49-55 (back ~12 rows)
Q1-10 (back 10 rows)

I think this pattern of sales follows the Easter Monday template Hawkk

They haven’t released Q37-39 in the MCC for public sale abd given no GA in the Ponsford Stand likely means this section won’t be crowded on the night.

Feels like a crowd around 70-72k to me. Demand looks to be suggesting 75-78k but I expect a lower Richmond member show rate to some degree.

Same bays as the Coll v Hawks game too. I suspect this will go north of 75,000. Round 1 aside the vast majority of MCG games have drawn overs. The only draw back is perhaps a clash with the higher drawing Pies v Eagles game the next day. How often do you get 90k and 75k plus b2b?

Highest crowd on record for 17v18? Or 15v16 going further back?

I copped some heat a few pages back for suggesting that Melbourne is a much larger drawing club vs St Kilda, the Dogs and North. I couldn’t see any of those clubs drawing 68k, 67k and 67k vs Haw, Rich and Carl in the first nine rounds. The Dees could end up with half a dozen 65k plus crowds this year.

It’s very impressive but the fixture is stacked in favour of the Big 4 plus Hawthorn, Melbourne and to a lesser extent Geelong. It’s very hard to draw a large aggregate if you don’t play those blockbuster MCG games in the early rounds. On the flip side those clubs get those blockbuster games because they are the big clubs.

I agree to a point, but I think the fixture is nowhere near as stacked in favour of the big Melbourne clubs as people often suggest.

Richmond opened the season against Carlton Football Club in the traditional blockbuster — a fixture that was ironically taken away from them as the official “season opener.”

Yes, Richmond still has Anzac Eve, but it’s worth remembering that only around a decade ago that match was drawing average crowds of about 40,000, nowhere near the marquee event it is today.

This week, Richmond plays Essendon and we’re nearly halfway through the season. Yet they still won’t face Collingwood until Round 16.

Likewise, Essendon has only played Collingwood so far, with Richmond and Carlton still to come.

Collingwood’s fixture also hasn’t been as favourable as many assume. They didn’t have a home game at the MCG between 14 March and 30 April.

If the AFL fixture were designed more strategically and stacked it in their favour, these clubs would play one another much earlier in the season, with return matches scheduled later in the year.

The fixture certainly isn’t perfect, but the reality is more nuanced than the common perception that the major Victorian clubs are handed an easy run.

I agree to a point, but I think the fixture is nowhere near as stacked in favour of the big Melbourne clubs as people often suggest.

Richmond opened the season against Carlton Football Club in the traditional blockbuster — a fixture that was ironically taken away from them as the official “season opener.”

Yes, Richmond still has Anzac Eve, but it’s worth remembering that only around a decade ago that match was drawing average crowds of about 40,000, nowhere near the marquee event it is today.

This week, Richmond plays Essendon and we’re nearly halfway through the season. Yet they still won’t face Collingwood until Round 16.

Likewise, Essendon has only played Collingwood so far, with Richmond and Carlton still to come.

Collingwood’s fixture also hasn’t been as favourable as many assume. They didn’t have a home game at the MCG between 14 March and 30 April.

If the AFL fixture were designed more strategically and stacked it in their favour, these clubs would play one another much earlier in the season, with return matches scheduled later in the year.

The fixture certainly isn’t perfect, but the reality is more nuanced than the common perception that the major Victorian clubs are handed an easy run.

It’s round 10 and Richmond have played 5 games at the MCG and 2 games at Optus Stadium (the two largest stadiums in the AFL). They’ve also played two blockbuster fixtures (top 5-6 in the AFL) with a third (the 2nd or 3rd biggest in the AFL calendar) this week.

By comparison, the W Bulldogs, North and St Kilda have played a combined 2 games at the MCG in the first 10 rounds. Throw in Geelong and it’s 4 total.

If you look at the first half of the season, the fixture is now anchored by Rich v Carl, Ess v Haw, ANZAC Eve and Day, Easter Monday, Dreamtime, Kings Birthday Eve and Kings Birthday. Rich and Ess get three games, Carl, Coll, Haw and Melb get two games and Geelong get one. Those games definitely insulate against poor performance.

It’s round 10 and Richmond have played 5 games at the MCG and 2 games at Optus Stadium (the two largest stadiums in the AFL). They’ve also played two blockbuster fixtures (top 5-6 in the AFL) with a third (the 2nd or 3rd biggest in the AFL calendar) this week.

By comparison, the W Bulldogs, North and St Kilda have played a combined 2 games at the MCG in the first 10 rounds. Throw in Geelong and it’s 4 total.

If you look at the first half of the season, the fixture is now anchored by Rich v Carl, Ess v Haw, ANZAC Eve and Day, Easter Monday, Dreamtime, Kings Birthday Eve and Kings Birthday. Rich and Ess get three games, Carl, Coll, Haw and Melb get two games and Geelong get one. Those games definitely insulate against poor performance.

100% as I said I agree to a point, but it could certainly be stacked far more in their favour.

Hawthorn officially out of Tasmania from next year. No idea what this will do for the future split of MCG and Marvel games (or a third venue).

This is absolutely the right call for the Devils.

Edit: From the media release

While the Club’s focus to this point has been on continuing its presence in Tasmania, the aim will now be to return these games to Melbourne, whilst celebrating the incredible relationship we share with our Tasmanian members and fans across the next 18 months.

So what sort of split will the Hawks get? 9/2 like Collingwood or Richmond or potentially 6/5 like Carlton. The most elegant solution for the AFL (but the worst outcome for the Hawks) is a 6/5 agreement. That way they could give the Hawks, Blues and Dons a 6/5 MCG / Marvel agreement and play more high drawing games at Marvel and the MCG. In effect it would give them three high drawing hybrid tenants at both grounds.

Fair call, but I'll add some clarity. We have played 2 Vic teams out of the 5 at the G. Blues & Dees.

Richmond has had 4 home games at the MCG> V GC, V Port, V Crows. V Dees (Anzac Day eve)
In the game V Freo at Optus, there was a cyclone passing through with heavy rain. Thats why the crowd was 35K, 10K down on Freo's normal home crowds this year.

Hawks have played 5 at the MCG> Bombers, Swans, Cats, Magpies, Demons
Pies have played 6 at the MCG> Saints, Crows, Blues, Bombers, Cats, Hawks
Bombers have played 3 games at the MCG> Hawks, Magpies, Dockers

Fair call, but I'll add some clarity. We have played 2 Vic teams out of the 5 at the G. Blues & Dees.

Richmond has had 4 home games at the MCG> V GC, V Port, V Crows. V Dees (Anzac Day eve)
In the game V Freo at Optus, there was a cyclone passing through with heavy rain. Thats why the crowd was 35K, 10K down on Freo's normal home crowds this year.

Hawks have played 5 at the MCG> Bombers, Swans, Cats, Magpies, Demons
Pies have played 6 at the MCG> Saints, Crows, Blues, Bombers, Cats, Hawks
Bombers have played 3 games at the MCG> Hawks, Magpies, Dockers

My point is those five or six clubs all benefit from the fixture relative to the rest of competition - I’m aware Hawthorn is a major beneficiary of the fixture too.

Its almost impossible for a team like the Dogs or Saints to outdraw an MCG club.

My point is those five or six clubs all benefit from the fixture relative to the rest of competition - I’m aware Hawthorn is a major beneficiary of the fixture too.

Its almost impossible for a team like the Dogs or Saints to outdraw an MCG club.

Some more than others, I get that. Fixture is never going to be entirely fair, and we acknowledge the anomalies in it.

As you stated in a previous post, the bigger clubs do get the blockbuster games, close to guaranteeing the AFL a higher attendance.
If all of North, Dogs, and Saints moved to the MCG, they still wouldn't draw as much as the bigger teams, given the smaller size of their supporter base.

PS: magpiemaniac44 just for you, I removed, I reckon pies get looked after the most 😂

Since the new grandstand opened and raised the capacity to 40k at Kardinia Park, it's been strange to watch how crowds have struggled to crack the 35k mark (even games that have sold-out, like 33k vs Hawthorn). The only two games to crack this mark was 39k vs St Kilda in the opening game of the new stand, and 35k vs Brisbane on their 'White-out' Friday night last year.

Personally I think there are a few things to blame - they've way overpriced most tickets, undersold GA and standing room areas and have no way to redistribute no-show member seats.

That all being said, surely this weekend is the perfect recipe for a 35k+ crowd. Top 4 battle, good time slot, shouldn't be any rain and ticket sales look good. If this game can't get 35k+ then something is seriously wrong and I hope someone at the club is looking into it

With the Hawks having to leave Tassie, I think the below split could work - though perhaps not the preferred outcome for Hawthorn.

Rich - 10 MCG / 1 Marvel or elsewhere
Coll - 9 MCG/ 2 Marvel

Mel - 9 MCG/ 1 Marvel / 1 elsewhere
Carl/Ess/Haw - 6 MCG / 5 Marvel
WB/NM - 9 Marvel / 2 elsewhere
STK - 9 Marvel / 2 MCG
Geel - 10 Kardinia / 1 MCG

The AFL has fixtured 47 home and away games at the G and 45 at Marvel this year, with Marvel increasing due to North also leaving Hobart. I wasn't aware that Richmond got 10 MCG games while Coll/Melb get 9 (not sure if this is a permanent arrangement going forward).

That Marvel number will likely increase with the Hawks coming back. However, it's not clear whether the Hawks will want a similar split to the other main MCG tenants or if the overall MCG number can be increased to allow other clubs a bigger slice of the pie.

If the Hawks do increase their MCG games then Carl/Ess/Stk may be affected and drop back down to 5/4 or 5/1 respectively.

I have no doubt the Hawks could get 6/5 but I doubt the Saints will get a 2nd MCG game (have they ever had 2 in a season?). I could definitely see Carlton and Essendon finding an extra MCG game or two once the long term Essendon deal at Marvel expires though.

After Round 10 (excluding Gather Round).

HOME CROWDS
Club (# of home games played) = Total (Average)
  • Collingwood (3) = 180,721 (60,240)
  • Carlton (5) = 300,413 (60,083)
  • Essendon (5) = 260,464 (52,093)
  • Adelaide (5) = 238,024 (47,605)
  • Fremantle (4) = 188,221 (47,055)
  • West Coast (5) = 235,169 (47,034)
  • Hawthorn (4) = 177,990 (44,498)
  • St Kilda (4) = 174,682 (43,671)
  • Sydney (5) = 203,786 (40,757)
  • Geelong (5) = 197,969 (39,594)
  • Melbourne (5) = 195,700 (39,140)
  • Richmond (4) = 154,426 (38,607)
  • Port Adelaide (4) = 144,850 (36,213)
  • North Melbourne (4) = 133,977 (33,494)
  • Brisbane Lions (5) = 159,256 (31,851)
  • Western Bulldogs (4) = 119,698 (29,925)
  • Gold Coast (6) = 88,390 (14,732)
  • GWS (4) = 47,319 (11,830)

HOME AND AWAY CROWDS
Club (# of games played) = Total (Average)
  • Collingwood (9) = 591,979 (65,775)
  • Carlton (9) = 471,951 (52,439)
  • Hawthorn (9) = 464,860 (51,651)
  • Melbourne (9) = 416,236 (46,248)
  • Richmond (9) = 378,148 (42,016)
  • Adelaide (9) = 375,661 (41,740)
  • Geelong (9) = 372,925 (41,436)
  • Fremantle (9) = 367,966 (40,885)
  • Essendon (9) = 363,754 (40,417)
  • Sydney (9) = 360,133 (40,015)
  • West Coast (9) = 327,952 (36,439)
  • St Kilda (9) = 325,996 (36,222)
  • North Melbourne (9) = 307,609 (34,179)
  • Western Bulldogs (9) = 306,789 (34,088)
  • Port Adelaide (9) = 304,728 (33,859)
  • Brisbane Lions (9) = 302,462 (33,607)
  • GWS (9) = 211,548 (23,505)
  • Gold Coast (9) = 151,408 (16,823)
I was impressed with the Mother's day crowds you posted, any chance you could post the top 20 crowds which don't include milestone games, maquee or public holidays?

any chance you could post the top 20 crowds which don't include milestone games, maquee or public holidays?

The list below is my best guess without interrogating every match for milestones and/or special events I can't think of. I'll edit if I've missed something big.

However, I'm not sure the list should be taken that seriously as every time there's a huge crowd it's generally for big reasons.

For example, number 1 on the list is a game between Essendon and Carlton where Essendon was 19-0 and Carlton had lost once in their last 14 games. That's a never to be repeated set of circumstances that will always trump a public holiday that happens every year for mine. There'll be similar stories of rare and important circumstances behind most of the games listed below.

1779170566908.webp

The list below is my best guess without interrogating every match for milestones and/or special events I can't think of. I'll edit if I've missed something big.

However, I'm not sure the list should be taken that seriously as every time there's a huge crowd it's generally for big reasons.

For example, number 1 on the list is a game between Essendon and Carlton where Essendon was 19-0 and Carlton had lost once in their last 14 games. That's a never to be repeated set of circumstances that will always trump a public holiday that happens every year for mine. There'll be similar stories of rare and important circumstances behind most of the games listed below.

View attachment 2615592
Pretty awsome though thanks for that and very interesting. The Geelong v Carlton, Hawthorn v Geelong and Richmond v Carlton in 1980 stand outs for mine. And of course whenever Collingwood play Carlton👍

View attachment 2615592

I know we won the flag the year before, but I would still include RD 1, 2018 Rich V Carl 90,151
Dusty's 300th i get that its a milestone, 92,311

Pretty awsome though thanks for that and very interesting. The Geelong v Carlton, Hawthorn v Geelong and Richmond v Carlton in 1980 stand outs for mine. And of course whenever Collingwood play Carlton👍

How about 1995, RD 14, Rich v Carl, the crowd was pretty wild that day. Closed the gates :p

I was there the Bradley and Maxfield goals had the stands shaking. But that 1980 Richmond v Carlton for me is more impressive Saturday afternoon 6 games in Melbourne non public holiday etc.. Btw I was a born 79 so I couldn't go 😀

I was impressed with the Mother's day crowds you posted, any chance you could post the top 20 crowds which don't include milestone games, maquee or public holidays?
Thanks mate and happy to post a top 20 list.

What do you mean by ‘marquee’ exactly ?

I was there the Bradley and Maxfield goals had the stands shaking. But that 1980 Richmond v Carlton for me is more impressive Saturday afternoon 6 games in Melbourne non public holiday etc.. Btw I was a born 79 so I couldn't go 😀

The atmosphere that day in 1995 was electric. The chant on both sides echoed around the G.
Yeah, no doubt 6 games played and still able to pull almost 86K

Hawthorn officially out of Tasmania from next year. No idea what this will do for the future split of MCG and Marvel games (or a third venue).

This is absolutely the right call for the Devils.

Edit: From the media release

So what sort of split will the Hawks get? 9/2 like Collingwood or Richmond or potentially 6/5 like Carlton. The most elegant solution for the AFL (but the worst outcome for the Hawks) is a 6/5 agreement. That way they could give the Hawks, Blues and Dons a 6/5 MCG / Marvel agreement and play more high drawing games at Marvel and the MCG. In effect it would give them three high drawing hybrid tenants at both grounds.

As much as I agree and think it’s the right call for the Devils and for the Hawks Melbourne members, god we gotta let clubs decide where they want to play.

god we gotta let clubs decide where they want to play.
Could be pretty tough to fit in 5 games at the MCG every weekend. And the turf might struggle a bit through winter, hey.