2026 Attendances

Looking at Carlton Vs Richmond. This match also seems to be selling slower than I’d expected.

Basically all top deck Ponsford still unsold with plenty of Q level seating in both Olympic and Southern Stands available. Richmond’s underwhelming pre season reflected in slower Ponsford Stand sales and probably the main culprit for the seemingly slower pre sales this year?

Last year this drew 80,009. I think on current sales it’s going to fall short of 80,000 this year.

Slower than expected, yep, those steep prices would surely have many thinking twice. Carlton, the home team setting the prices. See below for their very high ticket prices, especially level 1, $110.

Our pre-season form won't have a bearing on whether we attend or not, as it's RD 1, the start of the season, everyone wants to be there.

Due to the cost of living, it's very hard for families, and if supporters dont go, this will be the driving factor.
On the flip side, there will be others who can afford it and will pay.

Most tiger supporters would be buying level 4 (Q sec) at the punt road end. We don't generally like the top deck at the city end. For Ponsford, when we do sit there for away games, it would be more level 1 (cheer squad, surrounding bays)

I took these screenshots in the last few hours.

Carlton would have most of those reserved seat bays on level 1 (southern stand) as the home team. M8 available for public purchasing.

Screenshot 2026-03-02 172211.webp

City end top deck with literally thousands and thousands of seats available. Now will some bite the bullet closer to the game and cough up $55, hopefully so.

Screenshot 2026-03-02 172333.webp

Slower than expected, yep, those steep prices would surely have many thinking twice. Carlton, the home team setting the prices. See below for their very high ticket prices, especially level 1, $110.

Our pre-season form won't have a bearing on whether we attend or not, as it's RD 1, the start of the season, everyone wants to be there.

Due to the cost of living, it's very hard for families, and if supporters dont go, this will be the driving factor.
On the flip side, there will be others who can afford it and will pay.

Most tiger supporters would be buying level 4 (Q sec) at the punt road end. We don't generally like the top deck at the city end. For Ponsford, when we do sit there for away games, it would be more level 1 (cheer squad, surrounding bays)

I took these screenshots in the last few hours.

Carlton would have most of those reserved seat bays on level 1 (southern stand) as the home team. M8 available for public purchasing.

View attachment 2539796

City end top deck with literally thousands and thousands of seats available. Now will some bite the bullet closer to the game and cough up $55, hopefully so.

View attachment 2539802
Ridiculous prices. Good grief!

While crazy, I’d argue the biggest factor is it not actually being the first MCG game of the season.

There’d be a sizeable number in previous years itching for their fist footy game at the G, regardless of if they support Richmond, Carlton or not.

While crazy, I’d argue the biggest factor is it not actually being the first MCG game of the season.

There’d be a sizeable number in previous years itching for their fist footy game at the G, regardless of if they support Richmond, Carlton or not.
I have Melbourne based extended family members who are Dons supporters but always used to go to the Richmond/Carlton season opener, just because it was the season opener. They aren't going to it anymore as it has now lost that aspect.

Reserved seat ticket prices are completely out hand at the G this year. $70+ for level 4 shouldn’t be allowed.

They can tell us all they like that GA tickets cost $27 and have been frozen but the reality is how many people actually buy GA tickets? Either you are a member who will scan in on the day regardless of category of membership or you reserve a seat. Only very few people would buy GA tickets and only for lower demand

non Victorian sides have sold seats at higher prices because the demand is there in two team towns playing in smaller stadiums than the mcg.

Melbourne, Richmond, Carlton and Collingwood are particularly bad now at setting prices and stupidly high prices imo.

The AFL Members has sold the front third of the top deck - about 70% at the moment.

Would be interesting to see how the ticket sales compare for Saints v Collingwood, Blues v Tigers and Dons v Hawks. I presume, Sunday is a fair bit ahead (given it’s Sunday and Collingwood have a massive following in the AFL members).

Wouldn’t surprise me if Tigers v Blues and Dons v Hawks was very close (as they were last year).

I’m not even sure the Thursday night slot actually matters for Richmond and Carlton anymore. I’d imagine it would be a more enjoyable experience for Richmond and Carlton fans if it was a Friday or weekend fixture instead.

The AFL will never walk that fixture back though, especially given Thursday Night games ordinarily draw 15-20 percent less than any other slot (except for Richmond v Carlton in round 1).

I wonder what the pass / fail rate is for the opening round game at the MCG. If it draws 80,000 plus (as it should) does that mean the AFL schedule MCG games before Easter next year?

The MCG and MCC through their website/app used to have a crowd prediction a few days before all MCG games. Don't know why they stopped this or do they still do it?

Have not seen this for a few years now.

Would be interesting to see how the ticket sales compare for Saints v Collingwood, Blues v Tigers and Dons v Hawks. I presume, Sunday is a fair bit ahead (given it’s Sunday and Collingwood have a massive following in the AFL members).

Wouldn’t surprise me if Tigers v Blues and Dons v Hawks was very close (as they were last year).
Saints/Pies - Q22 back.
Blues/Richmond - q17 back
Hawks/Dons - q27 Front.

(q28 is the end of the AFL reserve).

Its not even close.

It’s ironic that opening round was introduced to promote footy in the northern states, but that the game most likely to sell out (public tickets anyway) is Saints v Pies. Around 1k tickets left for all games execpt GWS v Hawks at least 5k (not all tickets on sale yet).

Reserved seat ticket prices are completely out hand at the G this year. $70+ for level 4 shouldn’t be allowed.

They can tell us all they like that GA tickets cost $27 and have been frozen but the reality is how many people actually buy GA tickets? Either you are a member who will scan in on the day regardless of category of membership or you reserve a seat. Only very few people would buy GA tickets and only for lower demand

non Victorian sides have sold seats at higher prices because the demand is there in two team towns playing in smaller stadiums than the mcg.

Melbourne, Richmond, Carlton and Collingwood are particularly bad now at setting prices and stupidly high prices imo.

It is the same at the Gabba (as per your comment) - Only 190 row tickets left for Saturday night.

4x$55, 1 x$73.95, 1 x $88, 29 x$92.15, 144 x $102, 11 x VIP Packaged Seats ($160 to $550).

Families are definitely not making a last minute purchase at that price. Most of 29 x 92.15 are back three rows of the top tier (nose bleeds). Rest are single to three seats spread around the ground, some are re-sales.

Only 34 row tickets left for Easter Thursday (Collingwood), only one ticket available less than $102

Only 155 row tickets left for the Crows (though i think more will be released), tickets start at $75 with good availability in the $75 to $85 range.

I think there is about 1000 left for Carlton, but the cheapest of those is $92. If Carlton win on Thursday night, expect those will disappear very quickly with the huge support for Carlton in SEQ.

We really need a bigger stadium right now, there is a lot of latent capacity (families and casual AFL supporters and ex-Victorians) that is unserviceable due to reserved seat memberships sold out since December and the high cost of the remaining last 300 - 2000 seats. I think there is at least another 15k extra support that would be attending the big games (Coll, Carl, GC, Haw, Syd, ESS) if we have that capacity available now.

It’s ironic that opening round was introduced to promote footy in the northern states, but that the game most likely to sell out (public tickets anyway) is Saints v Pies. Around 1k tickets left for all games execpt GWS v Hawks at least 5k (not all tickets on sale yet).

Swans v Blues has just had more tickets released (or resales put back on) including restricted view after nothing was showing as available for the last week or two. It will probably sell out again.

Bris v Dogs should be selling out, and there's nothing really available apart from the last couple of rows so that's every chance to do so as well.

GWS v Hawks is pretty poor at the moment, but let's not forget that excluding Sydney and Collingwood, GWS have only got to 15k 3 times at the Showgrounds with a best against Hawthorn of 13.7k. If it gets near those figures it's a win.

Likewise with GC v Geelong, the sales look pretty good compared to what that game would get in 'normal' circumstances.

Saints v Pies has now sold out the public sections of the Warne and Northern stands. There's probably under 1k at the back of the Ponsford and around 1.4k in the AFL Members available. What's unknown is how full the MCC will get, but this is where being the opening game in Melbourne might see a boost.

Swans v Blues has just had more tickets released (or resales put back on) including restricted view after nothing was showing as available for the last week or two. It will probably sell out again.

Bris v Dogs should be selling out, and there's nothing really available apart from the last couple of rows so that's every chance to do so as well.

GWS v Hawks is pretty poor at the moment, but let's not forget that excluding Sydney and Collingwood, GWS have only got to 15k 3 times at the Showgrounds with a best against Hawthorn of 13.7k. If it gets near those figures it's a win.

Likewise with GC v Geelong, the sales look pretty good compared to what that game would get in 'normal' circumstances.

Saints v Pies has now sold out the public sections of the Warne and Northern stands. There's probably under 1k at the back of the Ponsford and around 1.4k in the AFL Members available. What's unknown is how full the MCC will get, but this is where being the opening game in Melbourne might see a boost.
Just a gut feeling however, I’m to be convinced the introduction of the Saints / Pies game for Opening Round hasn’t taken some of the air out of what was the traditional MCG ‘opening round’ next weekend. Both the Blues/Tigers and the Bombers/Hawks pre sales are tracking behind last year and I think both crowds are tracking towards 75-78k ranges.

I’m confident if these two fixtures were the opening stanzas in Melbourne like last year, both games pre sales would be slightly better. Just a suspicion however I reckon these games the following week have lost an edge in magic appeal that usually is responsible for an additional walkup of AFL/MCC members (the neutral ones who go like they do a final) at the very least. The crowds will answer some of my suspicion on this.

Predicted home game average attendance ladder

Collingwood...65k
Carlton...49k
Fremantle...48k
Adelaide...47k
Hawthorn...46k
Richmond...45k
West Coast...45k
Melbourne...39k
Essendon...38k
Geelong...37k
Port Adelaide...37k
Sydney...36k
St.Kilda...35k
Bulldogs...34k
Brisbane...32k
North Melbourne...28k
Gold Coast...18k
GWS...13k

Collingwood...65k
Carlton...49k
Fremantle...48k
Adelaide...47k
Hawthorn...46k
Richmond...45k
West Coast...45k
Melbourne...39k
Essendon...38k
Geelong...37k
Port Adelaide...37k
Sydney...36k
St.Kilda...35k
Bulldogs...34k
Brisbane...32k
North Melbourne...28k
Gold Coast...18k
GWS...13k

2025 for reference.

I’d pull back slightly on most. If Richmond maintain over 40K I’d be impressed. The worst is yet to come.

Attachments

• IMG_4654.webp
    IMG_4654.webp
    105.1 KB · Views: 23
It never ceases to confound me the way they release seats at the MCG.

Today, after a few days of 'fully ticketed' selling for StK v Coll and after nearly every single back row seat in the joint has gone they suddenly discover an entire bay (Q2) that they hadn't sold anything in yet and you can all of a sudden get great seats there. Also the front of M11 suddenly became available as well.

Just a gut feeling however, I’m to be convinced the introduction of the Saints / Pies game for Opening Round hasn’t taken some of the air out of what was the traditional MCG ‘opening round’ next weekend. Both the Blues/Tigers and the Bombers/Hawks pre sales are tracking behind last year and I think both crowds are tracking towards 75-78k ranges.

I’m confident if these two fixtures were the opening stanzas in Melbourne like last year, both games pre sales would be slightly better. Just a suspicion however I reckon these games the following week have lost an edge in magic appeal that usually is responsible for an additional walkup of AFL/MCC members (the neutral ones who go like they do a final) at the very least. The crowds will answer some of my suspicion on this.

I think you under estimate how little expectation there is around Carlton, Richmond and Essendon. Given that, 75-78k to both games would be outstanding.

Collingwood...65k
Carlton...49k
Fremantle...48k
Adelaide...47k
Hawthorn...46k
Richmond...45k
West Coast...45k
Melbourne...39k
Essendon...38k
Geelong...37k
Port Adelaide...37k
Sydney...36k
St.Kilda...35k
Bulldogs...34k
Brisbane...32k
North Melbourne...28k
Gold Coast...18k
GWS...13k
Love the optimism. The issue for Hawthorn is that the York Park capacity will be sub 10,000 for each of their four games this year. I’m actually surprised the Tassie government and AFL are happy to allow multiple games to be played at the venue given the outer wing is a building site. Not sure how many tourists will be actually getting to those games!

Last year the Hawks drew 57,500 to their seven Melbourne games and only 13,818 to their four York Park games (41,179 for all home games)

Because of the smaller capacity in Tasmania they’d need to draw 60,000 to the Melbourne games (including a game at Marvel against Port) just to make up the difference on the reduced capacity at York Park.

It wouldn’t surprise me if attendances dropped across the league this year tbh. All it would take is a few interest rate hikes and Collingwood dropping down the ladder. If they miss the eight I can see the Victorian attendances dropping away a fair bit over the course of the season. The last time the Pies were out of contention Richmond made up the shortfall but I can’t see any other club drawing a bit enough crowd or playing enough games at the MCG to make up for a Collingwood drop off…

I think you under estimate how little expectation there is around Carlton, Richmond and Essendon. Given that, 75-78k to both games would be outstanding.

Love the optimism. The issue for Hawthorn is that the York Park capacity will be sub 10,000 for each of their four games this year. I’m actually surprised the Tassie government and AFL are happy to allow multiple games to be played at the venue given the outer wing is a building site. Not sure how many tourists will be actually getting to those games!

Last year the Hawks drew 57,500 to their seven Melbourne games and only 13,818 to their four York Park games (41,179 for all home games)

Because of the smaller capacity in Tasmania they’d need to draw 60,000 to the Melbourne games (including a game at Marvel against Port) just to make up the difference on the reduced capacity at York Park.

It wouldn’t surprise me if attendances dropped across the league this year tbh. All it would take is a few interest rate hikes and Collingwood dropping down the ladder. If they miss the eight I can see the Victorian attendances dropping away a fair bit over the course of the season. The last time the Pies were out of contention Richmond made up the shortfall but I can’t see any other club drawing a bit enough crowd or playing enough games at the MCG to make up for a Collingwood drop off…
At least the AFL were sensible enough to tell the Dogs to move from Ballarat this season to avoid playing in front of less than 5000 people while the renos are going on there.

Hawthorn didn't really have a choice though.

It never ceases to confound me the way they release seats at the MCG.

Today, after a few days of 'fully ticketed' selling for StK v Coll and after nearly every single back row seat in the joint has gone they suddenly discover an entire bay (Q2) that they hadn't sold anything in yet and you can all of a sudden get great seats there. Also the front of M11 suddenly became available as well.
They would have been club member seats that they were keeping for St Kilda members who needed to upgrade after they made it fully ticketed.

Ticket sales for both MCG games next weekend look really slow. I suspect AstuteTiger is right (think it was you!) and the clubs have really misjudged interest levels and have cooked the golden goose believing punters will pay $55 for a Q level Ponsford seat for struggling teams.

I suspect these games might be the moment clubs reassess expectations of fans and take a more realistic expectation before jumping to designated ticket status.

Ticket sales for both MCG games next weekend look really slow. I suspect AstuteTiger is right (think it was you!) and the clubs have really misjudged interest levels and have cooked the golden goose believing punters will pay $55 for a Q level Ponsford seat for struggling teams.

I suspect these games might be the moment clubs reassess expectations of fans and take a more realistic expectation before jumping to designated ticket status.
Carlton tonight aren’t going to help at all