2026 Attendances

What would be a pass mark for North v Port today? 20,000? Played each other 11 times at Docklands with two matches being higher than 20k.

Might be just be a touch over, got more goal side covered than some of the wing.

A combination of reasons, but moving Richmond V Carlton from the season opener makes just a Richmond V Carlton game.

Like moving Collingwood V Essendon off Anzac Day makes it just a Collingwood V Essendon game.

Same applies for Hawks V Geelong, Collingwood V Melbourne and all other games that have built over time.

When it looses its season opener or marquee appeal, add on $110 for a level 1 seat and a 6 hour round trip then it becomes very much a I’ll watch on the couch rather than spend $500 on tickets, accom, petrol etc.

All those other games you mentioned are tied to very specific days. Of course if they are moved then the special nature is removed. The essential part of the Richmond/Carlton fixture is you play each other in Round 1 with it being each teams’ first game in Melbourne.

It hasn’t been the actual season opener in 4 of the last 5 seasons after all so I’m still at a loss to understand how Coll/StK affects Richmond or Carlton fans. The economic/ logistical issues I’m in complete agreement with you.

Lowest Collingwood v Adelaide attendance at the MCG since 2022 (and a 5,000 drop on last year).

After Thursday (down 5,000) and Friday (down 9,000) is this a sign attendances are actually sliding a bit? Given the build up from last year, and the fact it's round 1, I’m sure the AFL was hoping this would crack 70,000.

It’s also the 4th highest crowd between the two teams, about 10k larger than any meeting prior to 2023 and Adelaide’s 4th highest H&A crowd ever. So it’s a matter of how you want to look at it.

I am a bit concerned about gather round, the jetfuel shortage is really severe and I could see restrictions on airtravel before then.

It’s also the 4th highest crowd between the two teams, about 10k larger than any meeting prior to 2023 and Adelaide’s 4th highest H&A crowd ever. So it’s a matter of how you want to look at it.

Relative to last year it matters (like Carl v Rich and Ess v Haw). I guess we’ll find out over the next few weeks…

It was still a very decent crowd. Although, judging by what Dillon said on radio earlier in the day, it too came in below expectations.

I was expecting around 65k, so it's slightly unders but not by much. Last year's game was way more hyped up as a top of the table clash and it had a great chance of breaking through the 70k barrier if not for appalling weather.

Time will tell as to the league attendances as a whole, but Collingwood crowds won't be hitting the stratospheric heights of the last few seasons for the obvious reason that we're not going to be as good.

As a measure of how high the bar has been raised lately -

There have been 482 H&A games at the MCG between a Vic team and a non Vic team.

In the first 403 of these games there were just 12 that reached 60k.

Since then Collingwood has reached 60k 13 times in it's last 14 attempts.

Northern stand as full as usual, will look terrible on tv
Yep we're gonna cop it as per usual

The only solution is to swap cameras to the other side for Melbourne games but there's no way that's gonna happen hahahha

It's pretty frustrating as a fan, we definitely cop it more than any other Victorian club does

Yep we're gonna cop it as per usual

The only solution is to swap cameras to the other side for Melbourne games but there's no way that's gonna happen hahahha

It's pretty frustrating as a fan, we definitely cop it more than any other Victorian club does
Why go to the effort just to please the simple minds of the ignorant and ill informed?

If they dont know by now that most of the fans sit same side of the camera, then thats their problem.

Why go to the effort just to please the simple minds of the ignorant and ill informed?

If they dont know by now that most of the fans sit same side of the camera, then thats their problem.
I know I shouldn't care but honestly mate it genuinely annoys me.

I reckon at work, my mates, whoever I talk footy with they talk more about Melbourne's crowd than the team itself lol

44,577 I think at the g. Very good.

Second highest between the two clubs since 2007 behind the 53k they got in 2017.

It’s the 9th highest ever for this matchup, with half the ones above coming more than 50 years ago.

W
All those other games you mentioned are tied to very specific days. Of course if they are moved then the special nature is removed. The essential part of the Richmond/Carlton fixture is you play each other in Round 1 with it being each teams’ first game in Melbourne.

It hasn’t been the actual season opener in 4 of the last 5 seasons after all so I’m still at a loss to understand how Coll/StK affects Richmond or Carlton fans. The economic/ logistical issues I’m in complete agreement with you.

We Are probably both wrong and both right. Agree to disagree 😜