List Mgmt. 2026 List management - pt.1

• Thread starter Thread starter akaifu

Yep if do the draft again right now, he's not going on in the top 30. This just feels like another Matt Allison situation where we used a first rounder on an athlete who isn't very good at football.

I think he'll surprise when it finally all clicks. He was very attacking and quick minded in his draft year. I think he'll end up being a good player at least.

Murphy Reid, Sandy Dragons kid, why wouldn’t we just take him and the Viking…

I was a massive fan but for how Lyon wanted to play footy he would have struggled. He was a bit slower and less endurance focussed than others.

30 touches & 10 coaches votes. not bad for a bit part player
I saw the 2nd 1/2, 15 handballs 15 kicks 4 marks 3 clearances, 387m gained. Sorry, I didn't see him as being overly influential.

Sheezle had 40 and I thought he was way worse

Say what ?

Pick 8 for a DMac

Surely you jest

To be fair he was the first player picked in the second round in his draft year. He ended up coming good just as he broke down. Mattress, Hugh Goddard, DMac and Lonie wasn't our greatest haul considering we had three picks in the top 25 including pick 1.

He played some good games at the end but he was no gun not even close

He was the #1 rated winger in the competition in I think it was 2022 before he went down with injury

He didnt rack up the disposals but he was so good in the air and had finally fixed his kicking

I’m very confident Toby will make it, his attack on the football and running power are already afl standard.

I think wing, half back maybe as a part time mid. He’s not super quick and I don’t expect him to dominate games with 35 a game, he’s not that type of player.

He wins contested possession, he’s good in the air, he covers ground and can lock down. I watched some of the vfl game and he was gassed hands on knees looking crook inside the first quarter. I’ve never seen him look like that before, must have been sick.

He’s a lot like hasty, they just need a little time, not everyone is best 23 from day one.

He was warming up before a match last year and looked the cleanest and best skilled in the defender warm up group with Nas, Wilkie, Sincs etc. Was pulling in high marks from balls kicked over his head, scooping up ground balls, raking long hand passes and hitting his kicks. Winning one on ones too.

In the Metro v country match he played HBF and was running out to meet the ball and immediately moving to attack and hitting the ball at pace. Looked like the Lizard. I think he'll be fine.

Daniel McKenzie like for me...
I remember thinking FFS why haven’t we delisted this guy yet!?!……..then all of a sudden he becomes a critically important player. I was a massive fan of his by the end. I’ve got higher hopes for Tobie than a wingman though.

My memory is shit but in my mind he was better than a GOP there for a while. Very possible that I'm adding a bit of mayo onto his career though.

I saw the 2nd 1/2, 15 handballs 15 kicks 4 marks 3 clearances, 387m gained. Sorry, I didn't see him as being overly influential.

Sheezle had 40 and I thought he was way worse
Watched that whole game.

Reid was very good.

His power at stoppage and in traffic really broke it open for west coast and it helped Yeo find his feet.

Didn’t really rate Sheezels game. 40 disposals and only 4 score involvements is wild. 67% of his touches were in the back half and had that huge howler in the last as North were full of run and got the margin to 11 that led to Waterman’s goal.

North fans rave about him and fair enough. But I just don’t think he really hurts the opposition.

Reminds me of a less impactful Dal Santo 20ish years ago.

Both get plenty of back half touches and stroll around. But Dal could tear a game apart if given enough space with his creativity and kicking that led to him being tagged from about 2004 onwards. Sheezel just isn’t at that level yet.

He was the #1 rated winger in the competition in I think it was 2022 before he went down with injury

He didnt rack up the disposals but he was so good in the air and had finally fixed his kicking
You were saying he was a gun, i liked him but he wasn't a gun player

What was his highest finish in any of our B&Fs

Tobie will be a much better player

You were saying he was a gun, i liked him but he wasn't a gun player

What was his highest finish in any of our B&Fs

Tobie will be a much player
I said he was a gun before that final injury - a period of maybe 2 months IIRC. And the stats during that period backed it up. I didn't mean his entire career

Agree on Tobie, I think he'll make it as an inside mid for us

He was warming up before a match last year and looked the cleanest and best skilled in the defender warm up group with Nas, Wilkie, Sincs etc. Was pulling in high marks from balls kicked over his head, scooping up ground balls, raking long hand passes and hitting his kicks. Winning one on ones too.

In the Metro v country match he played HBF and was running out to meet the ball and immediately moving to attack and hitting the ball at pace. Looked like the Lizard. I think he'll be fine.
If you actually look at the path Travaglia has taken, it’s pretty clear he’s not someone who’s been dominating from day one. He’s had to work his way into every level — St Therese’s, Sandhurst, then earning a crack with the Bendigo Pioneers as a 15-year-old and he improved at every level once he settles in.

TT has a pattern:

He needs time to build rather than starts hot
Produces consistent form over time
Ends up getting recognition (B&F, rep sides, All-Australian, etc.)

That’s not the profile of a ready-made AFL player. It’s more the type who develops steadily and gets better with exposure.

He’s got some clear strengths, running power, defensive work rate, and a decent intercept game and you can see why people project him into a Will Day / Brayden Maynard / Hayden Young type role long-term. But those comparisons are more about traits than current output.

Right now, he’s still pretty raw in terms of role and consistency at a higher level. The VFL and Academy games showed he can compete, He has done things in his 12 games that show he has “IT” but that’s a fair way off doing it week-to-week in the AFL.

The main takeaway for me is he probably shouldn’t be rushed. His whole junior career suggests he takes a bit of time to adjust, then improves once he’s comfortable.

He also went from being outside early draft discussions to a top-end prospect, from a futures game player to a best and fairest winner, and from a late Academy call-up to holding his own in a really strong draft crop but none of that happened overnight.

We should be viewing him as a medium-term piece, not someone you throw straight into a big role and expect immediate impact. Let him play and build, for me ideally it would be half-back first, midfield later if it comes.

If he follows the same trajectory he’s shown so far, he’ll improve. But expecting it straight away is probably missing how he’s actually developed to this point

Watched that whole game.

Reid was very good.

His power at stoppage and in traffic really broke it open for west coast and it helped Yeo find his feet.

Didn’t really rate Sheezels game. 40 disposals and only 4 score involvements is wild. 67% of his touches were in the back half and had that huge howler in the last as North were full of run and got the margin to 11 that led to Waterman’s goal.

North fans rave about him and fair enough. But I just don’t think he really hurts the opposition.

Reminds me of a less impactful Dal Santo 20ish years ago.

Both get plenty of back half touches and stroll around. But Dal could tear a game apart if given enough space with his creativity and kicking that led to him being tagged from about 2004 onwards. Sheezel just isn’t at that level yet.
I meant Sheezle was worse than Reid

Yeah the question being, does Lyon underrate footy IQ / natural smarts and overrate running capacity?

Most coaches are heading towards a running game now.

I was a massive fan but for how Lyon wanted to play footy he would have struggled. He was a bit slower and less endurance focussed than others.
not wanting to rehash this forever (as I'm sure we inevitably will) but I reckon he did himself (and us) a disservice by not testing at the combine

his pre-season testing data (see below) was more than solid. of the top Vic prospects he was 0.05sec off the fastest 20m sprint time. equal best yo-yo with FOS (and better than Trav, whose defenders point to his endurance). hasn't missed a game and is getting CBAs in his second year. no issues with his tank at all

the notion of him being slow IMO arose from him usually running around in second/third gear. can do that when you have eyes in the back of your head. he's shown some toe when required

it's looking a bad miss at this stage but we certainly are not alone in that regard. and there are many many years of football ahead and things will change. the frustrating thing is that so many of us could see it (and that is not a hindsight thing, I have a post on here saying I'd take him at pick one and a 50-1 pre-season rising star receipt to prove it). I'd still love to know where he sat on our draft board and why

(no disrespect to Trav, still think it's better than 50/50 he makes it, it's mainly our development of him that has been very poor)

Ashcroft
20m: 2.997
Vertical: 76cm
Agility: 8.708
Yo-yo: 760

Reid:
20m: 3.025
Vertical: 75cm
Agility: 8.390
Yo-yo: 1000

FOS
20m: 3.046
Vertical: 90cm
Agility: 8.117
Yo-yo: 1000

Travaglia
20m: 3.104
Vertical: 77cm
Agility: 8.452
Yo-yo: 920

Jagga Smith
20m: 2.990
Vertical: 75cm
Agility: 8.796
Yo-yo: 840

Smillie:
20m: 3.093
Vertical: 73cm
Agility: 8.501
Yo-yo: 720

Langford
20m: 3.213
Vertical: 72cm
Agility: 8.721
Yo-yo: 720

Lindsay
20m: 2.970
Vertical: 74cm
Agility: 8.718
Yo-yo: 760

Only have pre-season testing data on Vic prospects so nothing on Draper.

I dont know what Lyon is like internally, but listening to his drivel everyday would drive most to despair Id imagine? After watching how disorganised we have been the past 2 weeks Im really starting to wonder if he can still actually coach. Perhaps some players think the same, he always had his favourites, but I guess time will tell.
Steeley Boy, you are legit a meme of a human 😂

Never change 😘