Training 2026 Off-Season & Preseason reports and discussion

Bit of a stretch to suggest he can’t play a full season. Consistent niggles and then a bad injury where he was able to reset and spend a big chunk of time playing. Has been great, said himself that it’s the best he’s felt by a mile, in great condition and hasn’t missed a session.

He’s a match winner and star at his best, and he can absolutely get back to that
I didn't say that Lewis "can't" play a full season.

2026 will be his 9th season since his debut.
The most he has played in a season is 15.

It's really strange to me that this is even controversial.
I've been a fan since the day we drafted him, but his record speaks for itself

If we were recruiting Lewis from another team with this track record, what would you be thinking?
Injury prone, unreliable, can't stay on the park, hasn't delivered etc

Screenshot 2026-01-04 at 09.46.31.png

Burgoyne was already an established elite player that had played the majority of each season, for several seasons, prior to his knee injury in 2009.

Meanwhile Lewis has not proven himself yet due to persistent injury issues. He hasn't really had a chance to given he hasn't played a full season to date in the senior side.

Their stories aren't the same and aren't comparable so far - but hopefully Lewis can have a Burgoyne-like second half to his career. He makes such a difference to the side IMO.
Exactly.
Lewis' talent is not in question, and he's the type of big forward that can change the structure of the team.

Glib comparisons are annoying.
Overweight draftee?
"oh I remember we had a fat bloke in the 80s, and he went all right!!!"

Ok mate.

Exactly.
Lewis' talent is not in question, and he's the type of big forward that can change the structure of the team.

Glib comparisons are annoying.
Overweight draftee?
"oh I remember we had a fat bloke in the 80s, and he went all right!!!"

Ok mate.
Doesn’t excuse your rudeness. Why don’t you just say sorry?

If we were recruiting Lewis from another team with this track record, what would you be thinking?

View attachment 2504958
The way you said it suggested he “can’t”. I can understand if you believe given his past that he is unlikely to in your opinion, that is fine.

Think the example of Barrass who hadn’t played over 18-19 games in season and played all of 2025 + finals is a good one.

Lewis has been really unlucky with some annoying injuries, he was finally able to get past that and had a good run of games. It took him fully doing his knee to recover but given he’s also had a full preseason and been flying, he’s well and truly capable of playing a majority of 2026.

As a player everyone is aware how talented he is, capable of being a genuine star forward.

“If we were recruiting Lewis from another team with this track record, what would you be thinking?
Injury prone, unreliable, can't stay on the park, hasn't delivered etc”

Don’t think I’d have that opinion of him, or anyone given he’s shown how very high quality he is, and how unlucky he has been with injury.

The way you said it suggested he “can’t”. I can understand if you believe given his past that he is unlikely to in your opinion, that is fine.

Think the example of Barrass who hadn’t played over 18-19 games in season and played all of 2025 + finals is a good one.

Lewis has been really unlucky with some annoying injuries, he was finally able to get past that and had a good run of games. It took him fully doing his knee to recover but given he’s also had a full preseason and been flying, he’s well and truly capable of playing a majority of 2026.

As a player everyone is aware how talented he is, capable of being a genuine star forward.

“If we were recruiting Lewis from another team with this track record, what would you be thinking?
Injury prone, unreliable, can't stay on the park, hasn't delivered etc”

Don’t think I’d have that opinion of him, or anyone given he’s shown how very high quality he is, and how unlucky he has been with injury.
Lewis is capable of playing all the games next year but history suggests it’s unlikely.

FWIW I’d have Allen in the same category as injury prone with a question mark on continued availability and form despite that he’s averaged over 5 more games a year than Lewis.

Lewis gets a lot of leeway because of his potential but he’s also about to turn 27. It’s getting towards the point where he needs to start delivering consistently. He’s shown signs in 22 and 23 but if his body doesn’t hold up his career will end as one big what if.

View attachment 2504958
Biased numbers though and you really need to read behind the numbers for context.

2018 for example, you can't say his body let him down as the reason why he didn't manage more than 2 games. Only a young key forward at the time, and played strong season at Box Hill, winning a flag and being the leading goal kicker for the side. Wasn't breaking into the AFL side.

As for his injuries, not sure I'm questioning his body for some of it. Like the ACL vs Geelong a few years ago. That's just rotten luck. It's not like he's pinging hammies or calf injuries.

View attachment 2504958
You have to take into account the nature of the injuries. Cyril was injury prone. The hamstring injuries he sustained were done without the input from another player. Lewis' knees have gone out under extreme duress from opposition players. The knee he sustained against Geelong had nothing to do with his condition, anyone would have suffered that injury in that same incident.

Exciting times ahead. Coming off a prelim.

A healthy Lewis. A healthy Day. A healthy Dear. That alone significantly improves us.

Scrimshaw is a gun. He battled niggles all 2025. Fit and healthy he will go to another level in 2026 (basically a full season of what he showed in the finals).

Same can be said for Sicily. If he gets back to his AA best, again we will be even better in 2026.

Moore. Needs to capture his 2024 form. D'Ambrosio too.Imagine.

Newc is still only 24. Imagine with Day back and Ward improving what his ceiling is. That starts at AA mid.

Weddle and Watson to breakout. Could it finally be Crocs year to truly breakout also?

Ginni keeps elevating his game. Ward looks primed.

Battle and Barrass another year in the system. No more ****ing about with Hardwick forward.

We made a prelim in 2025. But it actually feels like it was on the back of hard work and system. Individually I don't think many players produced their best season outside of Battle, Amon, Ward, Ginni and Watson.

We have so much more to come with this group.

sounds like we are missing the footy pretty bad. Doesn’t help the cricket has been average. Hold tight, preseason is just around the corner
Agree with you 4000%.

Except I’d describe the cricket as non-competitive (and no, the dead rubbers don’t count) and deadly dull. Again.

Same as always, if you want to whinge about moderation publicly it will get deleted, and if you continue to do it you'll earn a holiday.
You see a post you don't like, you report it. We'll get to it when we can.

You've got a problem with moderation you raise it via PM. If you think this is out of line or new, read the Board Rules created in 2010, it's not.

No more ****ing about with Hardwick forward.

Praise The Lord Applause GIF

A healthy Lewis. A healthy Day. A healthy Dear. That alone significantly improves us.

Scrimshaw is a gun. He battled niggles all 2025. Fit and healthy he will go to another level in 2026 (basically a full season of what he showed in the finals).

Same can be said for Sicily. If he gets back to his AA best, again we will be even better in 2026.

Newc is still only 24. Imagine with Day back and Ward improving what his ceiling is. That starts at AA mid.

Weddle and Watson to breakout. Could it finally be Crocs year to truly breakout also?

Battle and Barrass another year in the system. No more ****ing about with Hardwick forward.

We made a prelim in 2025. But it actually feels like it was on the back of hard work and system. Individually I don't think many players produced their best season outside of Battle, Amon, Ward, Ginni and Watson.

Beautifully put TTH 👍

I'm absolutely pumped after reading that!

Happy Lets Go GIF by NHL

Only 3 more sleeps until we can stop insulting each other and start bashing perennial whipping boy HMo again! Happy New Year everyone!!!😉
I thought Greeves was our new whipping boy.

It's still HMo?

I really want Lewis to play every game, and have rooted for his success since his draft year, but I no longer expect it.

Barrass had played 18-19 games in 6 of his previous 8 seasons.
It's not the same thing, but I wish Lewis the best in 2026.
We need him.
Not having to fly across the country every second week was a big bonus for Barrass

Love the pump up.

I’ve also been thinking about Butler. He has a lot to offer this team, and this year if fitness allows I think he could provide us with a point of difference in the middle. He’s the one I could picture taking over Worpel’s workload. He brings explosiveness around the ball that we otherwise lack.

Only 3 more sleeps until we can stop insulting each other and start bashing perennial whipping boy HMo again! Happy New Year everyone!!!😉

CJ and Worpel like this post.

Training 2026 Off-Season & Preseason reports and discussion