2026 Pre-Season Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Ripper

Logan Morris a perfectly fine lead up forward we utilised well last season

All depends on quick ball movement and/or precise kicking

I'd say Logan is more hybrid than lead up. He can be dangerous on lead, on ground, kicking around the corner, dribbles, snaps etc

I also wouldn't call Oscar Allen 1 dimensional. In fact I'm saying we shouldnt be worried about it because our forwardline is so multi-dimensional

This is hard to understand. Not disclosing patella tendon injury which needed to be surgically-repaired? Not important? Crazy.

Any player that complains about injury at WCE is sent by Don Pyke on a collective minds re-education camp, allegedly.

Ermm, I'll temper my expectations then. Our style of play didn't suit Gunston in particular and lead up forwards in general. May be it'll take a year or two for both Oscar and our mids / half forwards to adjust.
Perhaps our style of play (going into the forward line) is a result of the forwards we had at the time. It may not have worked with Gunston because he was a little injured and he was trying to slot into a forward line with Joe Daniher and a firing Charlie Cameron. They only really had half a season to make it work.

We’ve certainly got players with the footskills to hit up a lead-up forward, and there’s definitely a place in the game for this type of player (Gunston had a best ever season in 2025).

After the uncertainities over the third tall or when Hipwood was injured last year Allen is an automatic upgrade even if he doesn't kick more than say 40 goals.

Last year our Marks per I50 ratio was actually third worst in the comp so our system has preference to just get it in there rather than be selective in how it gets there. Allen just needs to help neutralise a contest and the small forwards will do the rest.

Stacked.

We’ve shown how good our depth is, but would be so nice to see our true best 23 play a big chunk of the season together

I wonder if giving Bailey more midfied minutes this year is a bit to try to sweeten him to sign a long term contract. Not that it's a bad move. He's a great outside midf that neale, ashcroft and huey can hit and let him burst into space. Anyway, if so, fingers crossed.

Think it’s more to do with how damn good he was in the midfield later in the year.

I see Bailey getting slightly more wing time (still midfield) over more other midfield minutes.
He may get slightly more minutes off Neale, Dunkley, McCluggage & Will Ashcroft but i can't see it being much.

Both Bailey and Neale may or may not be at the Lions in 2026
Whenever one or both make their intentions known to the club that could change the midfield mix time.

I see Bailey getting slightly more wing time (still midfield) over more other midfield minutes.
He may get slightly more minutes off Neale, Dunkley, McCluggage & Will Ashcroft but i can't see it being much.

Both Bailey and Neale may or may not be at the Lions in 2026
Whenever one or both make their intentions known to the club that could change the midfield mix time.

I reckon the midfield mix will be totally focused on winning this year's flag.

John Ralph and fans listing the teams in order in an Oz article.Rallh picks us No 1.Fans pick us 10th.I expect some fans from other clubs loaed up.

Sorry for changing the topic. Someone else in another forum was mentioning daicos tagging. I know some have their beef with David King for his "Replace Fages with Chris Scott" from 2024, though he does seem to have warmed to us since then. But it reminded me I've always wanted to share these two clips for Lions fans, just in case you get a kick out of it
Here's King happily talking to hinkley in 2019 talking about terrorising neale, along with footage of stuff we alll remember neale got regularly

And now here King lamenting daicos's unfair windhager tag after one match, and how he needs more protection, in 2025:

quite the contrast, ay?

Sorry for changing the topic. Someone else in another forum was mentioning daicos tagging. I know some have their beef with David King for his "Replace Fages with Chris Scott" from 2024, though he does seem to have warmed to us since then. But it reminded me I've always wanted to share these two clips for Lions fans, just in case you get a kick out of it
Here's King happily talking to hinkley in 2019 talking about terrorising neale, along with footage of stuff we alll remember neale got regularly

And now here King lamenting daicos's unfair windhager tag after one match, and how he needs more protection, in 2025:

quite the contrast, ay?

Geez! This makes me bloody angry!

Ermm, I'll temper my expectations then. Our style of play didn't suit Gunston in particular and lead up forwards in general. May be it'll take a year or two for both Oscar and our mids / half forwards to adjust.

I think Oscar being such a big unit compared to Jack will be more likely to attract the attention of the mids and I believe our mids have had time to mature and now scope the field rather than move it on at all costs. Also, Sam Day was getting plenty of looks last year in basically the same role, just his body was past it.

quite the contrast, ay?

Windhager is the perfect tag for Daicos. The big body physical tagger. Daicos hates physicality which is why he began flopping for frees at any contact in that match. I remember it well.

I think Oscar being such a big unit compared to Jack will be more likely to attract the attention of the mids and also, I believe our mids have had time to mature and now scope the field rather than move it on at all costs. Also, Sam Day was getting plenty of looks last year in basically the same role, just his body was past it.
yeah, I think we've got better at looking for and hitting forwards in space in open play, especially Hugh, Neale, Ashcroft, Bailey, and Bruce has a lovely long surgical kick. Kiddy will be the same. I think motty is still a work in progress, and zorks delivery inside 50 is for some reason not as good as his great precise kicking in the corridor.
My beef is when play is stopped, from a free kick or mark outside 50, and the the opposition defence is set up. We so rarely chance hitting a lead, even though I see cameron and kai make a lot of good ones, often creating a gap. To me it just seems to be mostly wasting their time. If our kicker sees an unmarked player they will take advantage, but they so rarely go for the straight leading player. Maybe they've been instructed not to, that the coaching staff think we get a higher percentage when we let the players fly at it in contest, as we're good even when it hits the ground. But I would like to see them chance it just a little more often, if only to reward the effort that kai and charlie put in

yeah, I think we've got better at looking for and hitting forwards in space in open play, especially Hugh, Neale, Ashcroft, Bailey, and Bruce has a lovely long surgical kick. Kiddy will be the same. I think motty is still a work in progress, and zorks delivery inside 50 is for some reason not as good as his great precise kicking in the corridor.
My beef is when play is stopped, from a free kick or mark outside 50, and the the opposition defence is set up. We so rarely chance hitting a lead, even though I see cameron and kai make a lot of good ones, often creating a gap. To me it just seems to be mostly wasting their time. If our kicker sees an unmarked player they will take advantage, but they so rarely go for the straight leading player. Maybe they've been instructed not to, that the coaching staff think we get a higher percentage when we let the players fly at it in contest, as we're good even when it hits the ground. But I would like to see them chance it just a little more often, if only to reward the effort that kai and charlie put in
I think we have a tendency to go long due to good running teams like GWS bouncing it out quicker than it comes in.
So we kick it as long and deep as we can to avoid the quick bounce.
When we kick short to a lead just inside 50 and it goes awry we leave ourselves very open to a quick transition the other way.
There are times when you just have to take the shorter option though and we have got better at knowing when to pull that pin in the last couple of years.

quite the contrast, ay?

The difference can be easily explained: Kingy didn't bet on Lachie to win the brownlow in 2019.

quite the contrast, ay?

You should let him know that on twitter. I am sure he will take it well

I know many of us wouldn't have see a lot of Osca Allen particularly at his best over the last few years - but other people have and they comment and Artificial Intelligence can summarise those comments -

Oscar Allen is known as a highly athletic and versatile tall forward, characterized by intelligent leading patterns, elite endurance for a key position player, and the ability to play as a marking forward or a pinch-hitting ruckman

Key Running Patterns and Playing Style
  • Intelligent Leading Patterns: Allen is noted for his smart leading in the forward 50, often separating from defenders to create space.
  • High-Volume Lead-Up Forward: He often plays as a mobile, high-target forward, utilizing his running capacity to move up the ground and back into the 50.
  • Lateral Movement: Pre-season training has highlighted his focus on lateral, agile movements, allowing him to change direction quickly in tight contests.
  • Endurance and Versatility: He has shown the ability to play in the ruck (spending over 40% of game time there in 2020) and in defence, requiring high-intensity running to cover different roles.
  • Goal-on-the-Run: While predominantly a set-shot kicker (43 of 46 goals in 2023 were from set shots), he has demonstrated "wheels" and acceleration for running goals.
  • Aerial Work: His leading patterns are designed to maximize his ability to mark inside 50, averaging 1.1 marks inside 50 in 2020 and remaining a consistent target

I know many of us wouldn't have see a lot of Osca Allen particularly at his best over the last few years - but other people have and they comment and Artificial Intelligence can summarise those comments -

Oscar Allen is known as a highly athletic and versatile tall forward, characterized by intelligent leading patterns, elite endurance for a key position player, and the ability to play as a marking forward or a pinch-hitting ruckman

Key Running Patterns and Playing Style
  • Intelligent Leading Patterns: Allen is noted for his smart leading in the forward 50, often separating from defenders to create space.
  • High-Volume Lead-Up Forward: He often plays as a mobile, high-target forward, utilizing his running capacity to move up the ground and back into the 50.
  • Lateral Movement: Pre-season training has highlighted his focus on lateral, agile movements, allowing him to change direction quickly in tight contests.
  • Endurance and Versatility: He has shown the ability to play in the ruck (spending over 40% of game time there in 2020) and in defence, requiring high-intensity running to cover different roles.
  • Goal-on-the-Run: While predominantly a set-shot kicker (43 of 46 goals in 2023 were from set shots), he has demonstrated "wheels" and acceleration for running goals.
  • Aerial Work: His leading patterns are designed to maximize his ability to mark inside 50, averaging 1.1 marks inside 50 in 2020 and remaining a consistent target
not a fan of hearing AI opinion on anything. It's like seeing the results of a Big Footy poll. Just a bunch or random internet opinions synthesised into one. I'd rather hear your opinion.

quite the contrast, ay?

Unrelated but the infamous 2019 Port game really showed how important Robbo was for both a young list and our once 'mini-midfield' of Neale, Lyons and Zorko.

Yep, thought so too. a bit like the 80s and earlier where most teams had an enforcer
Though I remember one wet friday night at the mcg, might have been in the same year, or 2020, as it was before covid, I sat in the rain with my kids just to watch us get monstered by that melbourne midfield. was our worse loss of the season, and just thinking all these blokes are great individually, neale, lyon, but we need a bigger body in there.
thank christ we got dunks. To me it was the greatest trade in the last 20 years. Just the best player for exactly what this particular team needed. That was the extra to put us over the top, Freed up lachie a bit too, having dunks put body or the clamps on opposition mids