Training 2026 Pre Season & Training Reports

Problem with north is that our best 23 is rather settled.
Nobody is kicking darling or corr out of a spot if we're trying to win more games than we lose this year.
Leaves 1-2 spots for development players in the team, which I think we've already got in banch, hardeman, Archer and trembath etc.
You'd be praying for injuries for these kids to play
Darling will play Round 1 but Corr is a million miles off a lock - he won't even be in consideration if we have a full list.

Corr once again in the rehab group during preseason. When fit, he is a good player, but coming off an interrupted preseason (which he has done the last three years), he is pus.

How the hell are we playing Darling, Larkey, Trembath, Zurhaar in the same forward line? That’s horrible. Trembath deserves to start round 1 with Larkey.

Training (Arden Street Oval)
Saturday, November 29
8.15am-10am AEDT

Monday, December 1
8.45am-11.15am AEDT

Thursday, December 4
8.45am-11.15am AEDT
Went down today as came down from Sydney to watch the girls get us another premiership.

Quick few takes in the wet:

They were doing a few drills one was kicking into at

Banch looks like he want to be a professional footballer just trying that bit harder than everyone else leading the running and short sprints wish some others would display the same eagerness.
Harvey wasn't in the main group - not sure what the issue is. Stevens still looks on the smaller side. I'm not sure he has an athletic point of difference.
Came down today from Sydney.

Went and watched the boys before the amazing ladies tonight.

Go the girls winners all of them so proud to be a norf support thank you girls my daughter was stoked. Hopefully plays for north one day fingers crossed crossed.

Takes from training this morning.

Best drill was working in a 30m square arc congested with defenders on forwards 4 points kicking it in. Only issue I had was kickers were at a standing start no pressure.

Banch wants to be an afl footballer. As stated before was at some stages 15m in front in 50m drills impressive.

Sausage with his yellow hat missed only one target all day. Weapon if can stay on the park

FOS looks big had a foot issue fingers crossed.

Guys who were noticeably bigger from last year

Hardeman
Goad
Dawson
Archer
Steven’s (missed too many targets not sure)
Dawson problem is disposal looks a bit Ben Mackay and kicking style needs some work

Trenbath is good at football

Simpkin looked not as invested as last year with his enthusiasm but understandable and also worked his arse off running laps. Hopefully keeps his mojo whilst learning how to hit a fu………king target.

Comben looked sore….. back causing him issues.

Reckon this year is the last before making finals there will be some ups and downs. Some of the older players are not good enough sorry watched them at training not going like the need to play afl: fisher, Scott, McDonald only bc doesn’t look like he cares if he wins or loses, Caleb dinky slow kicks, spargo as others stated before looks unfit in upper body….

Last thing Davaston wasnt there which was a shame but Threadgold looked like had balls got up there a few times on the bigger guys with his leap. His kicking looks unorthodox but still hit targets. Also reckon we got a sleeper even though small in Mikuda so fast off the mark beat older players a few times and was tidy as with disposal. M8s kid went to school with him says injuries really screwed with his last 2 seasons…

Go the Roos!!!!! Big day for the club hopefully see you at Arden st at 1pm to celebrate a premiership!!!!

Forward line is going to be really interesting agree with all the comments.

Locks are Larkey, Bull, Curtis,
Near lock Darling
pre season pending- Trembath, JK, Banch, Dovaston, Spargo, RHJ

You never know- Duurs, George, Harvey, Matlock

The other thing to watch is a starting forward spot will likely be taken by a mid. At least 1 of those spots.
If LDU, Wardlaw and Sheez start middle.
Wings Jy and Stephens… maybe Kerch.
Parker Powell maybe FOS could be positioned there to start the game

Team ratings

I found these ratings for last season interesting. We kick less than average but both our kicking and handball efficiency is better than league average, possibly because we make too many safe passes. This tends to be supported by the data showing that we do not progress the ball aggressively (low metres gained) nor move it inside 50 often enough (well below league average).

Adding more running power across the 23 from improved conditioning and more solid defensive foundation freeing up forward runners would help. We also need more (and better) kicking into the 50. Both Spargo and Mikunda share a strength in this area but neither seem a lock to make the 23 let alone the 18 regularly. It will be interesting to see how much work there is during camp focusing across the group on these aspects where we must improve significantly to progress.

I understand there was the option for either 28 or 29 November.

I dunno man, at footy clubs there are generally three types of players.

Group 1: You've got your Harry Sheezels. Which obviously he's a really top tier example of, but they're guys who live and breathe footy, who put in extra work, who understand that there are choices to make to be the best version of yourself. Even if they don't know what the best thing to do is yet, they try. And they buy in to the club. They may or may not have ego, it's not about being a robot, and they may or may not be excellent players, but it's about personal drive.

Group 2: Then there's the blokes happy to put in while they're there. They're not really committed to getting the best out of both themselves and the club, though. They do 'enough', particularly as you go up the levels, but they're the footy club equivalent of the person who gets "satisfactory" on their performance reviews.

Group 3: Then you've got the toxic talented types who don't even put in the minimum but coast on their god given talents.

It's not uncommon for lots of Group 2 and 3 guys to be ahead of Group 1 guys, based on sheer talent. You get a Group 1 bloke with heaps of talent though, and you get your Sheezels, Daicos, etc.

And it's all about proportions. If you don't have enough of the Group 1 guys, you end up putting Group 2 blokes into the culture building caregory. And if you do that, your club culture just isn't going to be the best it can be.

Generally the higher you go up the levels there's proportionately more of Groups 1 and 2 than 3. However I can't help but feel we've given a lot of long, lucrative contracts to the Group 2 types.

I know for a fact blokes like Sam Mitchell get this and it's why they do a lot of character/personality vetting when working out who to pick up.

Team ratings

I found these ratings for last season interesting. We kick less than average but both our kicking and handball efficiency is better than league average, possibly because we make too many safe passes. This tends to be supported by the data showing that we do not progress the ball aggressively (low metres gained) nor move it inside 50 often enough (well below league average).

Adding more running power across the 23 from improved conditioning and more solid defensive foundation freeing up forward runners would help. We also need more (and better) kicking into the 50. Both Spargo and Mikunda share a strength in this area but neither seem a lock to make the 23 let alone the 18 regularly. It will be interesting to see how much work there is during camp focusing across the group on these aspects where we must improve significantly to progress.
This is the biggest issue to score. Hands down, 18th ranked team in the comp.

1764461099056.jpeg

Then you add in Turnover in our forward 3rd of the ground and you can use wheelo to see we are too easy to score against on transition. I believe its how and where we turn the ball over. It shouldn’t happen or if it did happen it shouldn’t be as much. Therefore the team and shape is in an attacking structure and cannot cut off or impact the other way.

I dont know if changing the entire plan to suit players in our team that cant dispose the ball is the right answer but they need to come up with a hybrid set up OR **** the players who have high turnover off and out of the team.

I am seriously eager to look at what the two new coaches are cooking up together because for what its worth, I have a little faith but I trust they have the knowledge to create it.

Group 1: You've got your Harry Sheezels. Which obviously he's a really top tier example of, but they're guys who live and breathe footy, who put in extra work, who understand that there are choices to make to be the best version of yourself. Even if they don't know what the best thing to do is yet, they try. And they buy in to the club. They may or may not have ego, it's not about being a robot, and they may or may not be excellent players, but it's about personal drive.

Group 2: Then there's the blokes happy to put in while they're there. They're not really committed to getting the best out of both themselves and the club, though. They do 'enough', particularly as you go up the levels, but they're the footy club equivalent of the person who gets "satisfactory" on their performance reviews.

Group 3: Then you've got the toxic talented types who don't even put in the minimum but coast on their god given talents.

It's not uncommon for lots of Group 2 and 3 guys to be ahead of Group 1 guys, based on sheer talent. You get a Group 1 bloke with heaps of talent though, and you get your Sheezels, Daicos, etc.

And it's all about proportions. If you don't have enough of the Group 1 guys, you end up putting Group 2 blokes into the culture building caregory. And if you do that, your club culture just isn't going to be the best it can be.

Generally the higher you go up the levels there's proportionately more of Groups 1 and 2 than 3. However I can't help but feel we've given a lot of long, lucrative contracts to the Group 2 types.

I know for a fact blokes like Sam Mitchell get this and it's why they do a lot of character/personality vetting when working out who to pick up.
Great post.

Surely Alastair and Todd inherently understand this considering their long successful backgrounds?!

Watching the first few weeks of training there's a few, to my eye, that have elevated themselves to tier 1 by the way they've presented.

Harry was obviously already there, but McKercher and FOS seem to be cut from the sane cloth. Hardeman is another. Wardlaw is getting there, but he's got some ground to make up.

Just speculating but I think given Clarko's teaching background they back themselves a bit more than most to be able to transform their attitudes.
King Corey I should add that while it's not impossible (see Trembath), I feel like anecdotally it's getting harder and harder to help kids these days have the penny drop. Their brains don't fully develop until age 25 (7 years into their AFL career), but importantly they've grown up with entirely different access to influencers than we had growing up.

When I was young all you really had to role model and idolise were stories and tv segments about guys like Chris Judd, who was always a massive professional, or Gary Ablett Jr who they did the rounds explaining how the penny dropped and he became the best in the game. You grew up with the very flattering stories of AFL players putting in everything they could to make it work, even if it stretched the truth about hard work for some players (not saying this applies to the two blokes I mentioned), there was a general will to cultivate an image of hard work.

Whereas nowadays while kids have their 'grindset' type influencers they all follow, they also have access to a lot of dickheads who don't put in the work but are successful enough regardless and who are happy to cultivate an image of just being naturally gifted and not having to put in the work. Sure they're not as good as they could possibly be, but they're good enough to influence young minds.

Their personalities seem really, really polarized and less malleable compared to when I was growing up. And I say this as someone who myself has previously made some poor decisions growing up.

It's much easier now to equip someone with the right attitude with the right knowledge than to get them open to learning in the first place.

Watching the first few weeks of training there's a few, to my eye, that have elevated themselves to tier 1 by the way they've presented.

Harry was obviously already there, but McKercher and FOS seem to be cut from the sane cloth. Hardeman is another. Wardlaw is getting there, but he's got some ground to make up.
I'm rapt to hear that

The new breed. The obi-wan gang. They are our only hope.

Training 2026 Pre Season & Training Reports