2026 Trade / FA Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

Have some people cottoned on yet to the idea that playing for the biggest club in the league isn't always the most attractive prospect? Some people hate that pressure. Houston and Schultz really struggled with it.

If a player can get the same amount of money, the same amount of contract years, at a club that is just as much of a chance (or more) to contend, then why would they want the pressure of 100k+ fans expecting the world of them? To a lot of players footy is their job, some aren't interested in the things a lot of fans imagine to be attractors.

More then happy to get Neale.

But it’s a short term fix.

We need to find someone for the next 8-10 years not just the next 1-2.
I think Wilson would be a good running mate.
Slightly younger and would be elevated into that permanent midfield role.
I also think Swadling is the 3rd Amigo that will come on once given a chance.
I see no issues with Nick being the older of the 3 and can lead that midfield group rather than bringing in a more expensive upgrade such as Bailey or Butters.

We should be in a good position draft wise this year as well to pick reasonably early (maybe 5-8 range) and look at another mid/fwd such as an Edwards, Drever or Teixera. Chapman that elite transitional wing/mid hybrid could also be in play as a POD.

The Cats are also circling Port Adelaide’s Zak Butters, but Western Bulldogs are in the box seat to land the hard nut onballer as part of a blockbuster trade for three first-round draft picks.

Maybe if you got off you backside and watched him as a junior you might be better informed. If there's no evidence he can play how did he go pick 3? Also watched his last game for the Suns where he kicked three and then there are the clubs including us who are trying to get him, not bad for a guy who has provided no evidence he can play.
You’re so funny. Stop being so insecure about your eye for talent and terrified of getting things wrong

Have some people cottoned on yet to the idea that playing for the biggest club in the league isn't always the most attractive prospect? Some people hate that pressure. Houston and Schultz really struggled with it.

If a player can get the same amount of money, the same amount of contract years, at a club that is just as much of a chance (or more) to contend, then why would they want the pressure of 100k+ fans expecting the world of them? To a lot of players footy is their job, some aren't interested in the things a lot of fans imagine to be attractors.
I wouldn't want a player who shies away from the big stage because it's too much pressure.

I am a bit bewildered as to why we are looking at Neale. The guy is clearly a champion. Dual Brownlow Medallist, a dual premiership player and leader. However, as some on here have already mentioned, he is 33 (will be 34 in May 2027) and has quite significant personal issues hanging over him.

It was more than admirable that he was able to recover from a quad tear to play finals, and then he tore his calf but recovered just enough to play on GF Day. However, a 33 year old tearing quads and calves is not a good buy for a team that is probably not going to be in the premiership window next year, with a need to bring in good young players asap. To put it in perspective, only 17 current AFL players are older than Neale (although there are quite a few the same age as him).

Bringing in Tom Mitchell probably won us the flag in 2023, but Lachie Neale is not what we need right now imo. We will already be heading into 2027 with 12 or 13 other 30+ players. Do we need to add a 14th?

Yes, he won't cost us much. Yes, it won't compromise our draft strategy, but he will still be taking a spot from a younger player, and he will be taking a salary we could be using on other 'must keep' players. A two year contract sees him turning 35 early on in season 2028.

I’m not fully up to date with the new draft rules about Academy and FS picks.

Does it mean that if a player gets matched inside the top 5, those clubs who hold a pick just after get a later pick as compensation?

If that is the case, as picks stand now, are we best to trade picks 8 and 26 to Carlton for pick 5?

Would we end up with a better second pick than 26?

1. Port have already said they would match any offer for him, meaning we can kiss goodbye our first rounders for the foreseeable future.

2. Suns indicated the same about King.

3. Bailey is being offered 7x $1.4m by the Crows which is absolutely ludicrous money for a player that is nothing more than good - do you think someone like Nick would be happy with a player like Bailey coming to the club on that kind of deal? Riley Beveridge also reported tonight Brisbane would consider matching and forcing a trade.

4. Bailey Humphrey is contracted for two more years and the Suns are adamant they will seek to hold him to his contract, which indicates a hefty trade price is yet again required to pry him out.

The club has been upfront for the last 12 months it wants to maintain its draft hand. I can be swayed about parting ways with a single first rounder for the right player but all four of those players you have named would cost multiple in any trade.
Agree with you on all counts outside of Bailey. He’s averaging over 20 disposals and a goal this year playing a fwd mid role. There’s only a handful of players who can do that league wide. Would be confident that any club he went to he would end up becoming one of the comps elite attacking mids.
And nick has publicly backed the club to do what they need to do in order to bring in elite talent.

I am a bit bewildered as to why we are looking at Neale. The guy is clearly a champion. Dual Brownlow Medallist, a dual premiership player and leader. However, as some on here have already mentioned, he is 33 (will be 34 in May 2027) and has quite significant personal issues hanging over him.

It was more than admirable that he was able to recover from a quad tear to play finals, and then he tore his calf but recovered just enough to play on GF Day. However, a 33 year old tearing quads and calves is not a good buy for a team that is probably not going to be in the premiership window next year, with a need to bring in good young players asap. To put it in perspective, only 17 current AFL players are older than Neale (although there are quite a few the same age as him).

Bringing in Tom Mitchell probably won us the flag in 2023, but Lachie Neale is not what we need right now imo. We will already be heading into 2027 with 12 or 13 other 30+ players. Do we need to add a 14th?

Yes, he won't cost us much. Yes, it won't compromise our draft strategy, but he will still be taking a spot from a younger player, and he will be taking a salary we could be using on other 'must keep' players. A two year contract sees him turning 35 early on in season 2028.
I can think of multiple positives of bringing in Neale, if you are willing to put the 'age factor' aside which is the crux of your opinion:

- Even if it is for 2 or 3 years, Neale instantly relieves the load that Nick is carrying largely by himself. If nothing else, I reckon it keeps him fresher for longer in season and also alleviates the extra bash n crash this early in his career.

- It gives us that 1-2 punch in the midfield we simply do not have. Its Nick and daylight right now. I reckon with Neale in the centre square, we significantly improve our clearance performance. I dare say that if he were in our team right now, we win those games against Freo, Sydney, Dogs and Hawthorn and sit 3rd on the ladder not 11th

- Neale is also perhaps the closest we can get in terms of a replacement for Pendles; not from the 'on-field coach' perspective because Pendles is unparalleled in that regard, but it gives Nick and a lot of the younger guys that older role model that will help their development.

- Neale would bring in valuable intel around game plan from a team that's been in flag contention for almost 5 years now; am sure Fly & co will take a lesson or two that might help improve our system.

- Speaking about personal issues hanging over him, you only need to see how many games he has missed for Brisbane (none, I believe) and his perfomance in the games he has played (excellent) to know he is the ultimate professional. We have a player with personal issues and he hasn't been sighted at AFL level for a year so... yeah, that's not a relevant argument mate.

- He would be taking salary we could be keeping for other 'must keep' players. The only 'must keep' players in my eyes are Nick, Josh, Quaynor, Bruzzy, Schultz, Cameron, Crisp, Angry and maybe Roan. Pretty sure they will be paid well enough by the club even if Neale were to be on the books.

- Final point, regarding him taking a spot from a younger player. To be frank, I think Neale would be a walk-up start in our line-up for the next 2-3 years, and I would be playing him any day over the likes of Ed Allan who I've seen enough of. There is absolutely no danger of any of our younger brigade banging the door down in the interim.

Honestly, we could do much much worse than bring Lachie Neale into the club. And we have in the past, repeatedly. I just don't know why Neale would pick us though

So you've come up with Cal AhChee and that's it, we're talking about a 20 yo top 3 pick key forward, the mental gymnastics to think the Suns can be levered into accepting less for a premium talent is truly impressive. We can get him for cheap isn't going to fly and neither is walking him into the draft.
Either way, three years in and still a fringe player who barely touches it when he plays - he's lost a lot of value since he was an 18 year old.

Agree with you on all counts outside of Bailey. He’s averaging over 20 disposals and a goal this year playing a fwd mid role. There’s only a handful of players who can do that league wide. Would be confident that any club he went to he would end up becoming one of the comps elite attacking mids.
And nick has publicly backed the club to do what they need to do in order to bring in elite talent.
All fair points!

Alarm bells when the only player we look at the front of the cue to get will be 34 next year.

Happy to get Neale for a year or 2 but if that’s our main target we have seriously dropped the ball.
We're still into Butters, via Gettable. Mind you, he said us last real quick as if trying to sweep it under the rug or thought there's no chance so why are they bothering, it sounded weird.

My point is, there always seems to be some innocuous reason player-after-player chooses to not play for the biggest team in the league. Lynch didn’t come because Balme put in the work 2 years ahead, Cameron because apparently he wanted to live on a farm, now with Butters it’s what? Because the bulldogs training ground is 20 min closer to Darley then ours? Give me a break…
Remember growing up as a kid and finding out everyone who didn't barrack for Collingwood, absolutely hated the Pies? Adults still do.
Think about that then add the other reasons into it and you'll probably find your answer.
Don't forget that not everyone likes the lime light.

Remember growing up as a kid and finding out everyone who didn't barrack for Collingwood, absolutely hated the Pies? Adults still do.
Think about that then add the other reasons into it and you'll probably find your answer.
Don't forget that not everyone likes the lime light.
I remember Medhurst being interviewed during game day coverage soon after joining the Pies. Every moment it felt like he was a long time Pies hater who was now playing for the club. I still smile about his clear emotions. He was amused about where he was.

Believe it or not, not a lot of footy fans want to spend time watching literal kids play football at junior level. They prefer to watch the professional level of the sport. I would not describe watching kids play junior footy as getting off of one's "backside".

Since being drafted, Walter has in fact not proven a whole lot. Junior level does not translate to top level the way you're suggesting. Get a grip mate.
Personally, I find the idea of grown men going to watch other people’s 15 & 14 yo kids play junior footy on the weekends a bit creepy.

It’s just the truth.

If that younger player is Ryan, HDM* or TJ*, I am doubly all for it.

*i know.

More then happy to get Neale.

But it’s a short term fix.

We need to find someone for the next 8-10 years not just the next 1-2.
There’s this thing in November where clubs select the most promising young players from around the country to play for them.

Either way, three years in and still a fringe player who barely touches it when he plays - he's lost a lot of value since he was an 18 year old.
He's 8 months older than Charlie West, and in 5 of his 6 games this season he's kicked multiple goals.

Saying he "barely touches it" is ridiculous when multiple of those touches are goals.

He's kicking more goals per game and basically the same disposals as Dan McStay, so he's not only an immediate upgrade on our leading goal kicker right now, but he's about to turn 21, so has massive scope for improvement.

There's no narrative you can spin that's going to make Jed Walter into a distressed asset that should come cheap.

At this stage, Butters being the only exception (which I don't think we are much of a chance ) we need to hang onto our 1st pick this year.
Clearly need to draft the best mid available at our pick.
If Walter leaves & nominates us, gotta find other options to trade: this year's 2nd, with 2027 1st?
I don't really know.
But I think it's critical we take our 1st to the draft this year.