Player Watch #3: Dion Prestia - Calf 3-4

Who gives a **** who is right or wrong!
Seriously this whole site is full of every single poster without exception who post stuff that is always right or wrong, this is what it is!
There are those who dredge up old shit to show something they got right which is cringeworthy perhaps more than those who don’t like to admit being wrong, but really who ******* cares?
It’s a discussion board where we are all, every single one of us going to be right sometimes and wrong plenty of other times. Anything that gets brought up from the past to either justify or condemn is best ignored.
Happy New Year RD.

Our midfield was made instantly better about an hour ago.
Welcome Presty.
(get Caddy into the midfield and get Nankervis bashing blokes brains in up forward and who knows?)
=2017 tiger flag

What does that have to do with Miles playing good football? Pray tell me. He played good football and your typical response was 'another mehhh 35 possession game'. It's your view and ability to rate footballers' games that is in question. I don't care if there was zero interest or 17 clubs interested (in fact a few clubs did show interest if you'd care to remember).
Mate, I don't question that you think Ellis has work to do ... it just came after everyone else pointed it out and you chose to jump on board after 50 previous posts staunchly defending your poster boy
Wrong again Goldy. You said Miles played good football, if he played good football he would have been picked for more than a handful of games. Fact is he wasn't and like Ellis he was overlooked for a bunch of first and second year players including rookies and a 3rd round kid who missed most of the year through injury. Hell Townsend won the Liston and it took until Caddy got injured 2 weeks before the finals for him to get a crack and if it wasn't for him kicking 6 goals against Fremantle he probably would have only played one game and be looking at joining Elton and Batchelor at Frankston this year. So you can praise Miles as much as you like, but the fact is he wasn't rated as good enough by our coaches to play more than a handful of games, in fact he played less games than Corey Ellis a kid you've got as being behind another dozen or so players in the VFL, or the list managers/coaches of 17 other clubs to be deemed worthy of picking up even though it would cost them sweet FA to do so.

I dont give a S**T how good a footballer Miles is...we won the Flag without him...

If he cant push into a premiership winning midfield when they’re all fit despit his VFL performances then he’s only really there for injury cover. I’d put him in the same category as Conca in terms of value to the side. If he gets a game you kind of know what you’re going to get. Miles’ pace is his knock, always has been.

What Prestia produced once he started to tag was beyond anything he has previously shown including at junior level.
IMO prior to that point he did not warrant selection over Miles nor did he warrant pick 6. If he can maintain his late season form for the majority of 2018 and 2019 seasons, the club will be in front of keeping pick 6, anything less and I think it starts to become questionable.

Happy New Year to everybody thats on this board that support Richmond Football Club(except 1 flog who is clearly a troll) , Hope our 2018 is just as good as 2017 - What a season to remember and we are all extremely fortunate to have witnessed such a great year.

What Prestia produced once he started to tag was beyond anything he has previously shown including at junior level.
IMO prior to that point he did not warrant selection over Miles nor did he warrant pick 6. If he can maintain his late season form for the majority of 2018 and 2019 seasons, the club will be in front of keeping pick 6, anything less and I think it starts to become questionable.
Don’t agree with this at all. Prestia was bloody good in all three finals and helped win us a premiership. That’s all that matters in my book. His output and freeing up of Cotch and Dusty was crucial to us winning something I was starting to think I’d never see.
Was a crucial trade and for pick six, well worth it, regardless of what happens from hereon

Against a Flag...?!?...no way...

Happy New Year to everybody thats on this board that support Richmond Football Club(except 1 flog who is clearly a troll) , Hope our 2018 is just as good as 2017 - What a season to remember and we are all extremely fortunate to have witnessed such a great year.
Hey stop calling me names....:(

Sorry but this is incorrect, research his GCS career, many many posters who had seen plenty of him were excited. Still has plenty of upside!

Even though his GCS form was good, I was one person who was against giving pick six for Prestia. Luckily I was totally wrong and he as already returned more than I had hoped for. 3 top performances in finals. Could not have wished for more. We will never know who the club would have picked at 6 but I doubt any kid could have produced what Prestia did and will do whilst we are in our window.

I think that’s an important distinction. The club clearly saw a list that was capable of winning a flag and needed to bring in the right player whilst our demographic is in its current window. If we were in re-build mode, I could see why the Prestia trade could be questioned.

The Coach specifically said, in his appearance on the post Grand Final edition of Fox Footy’s On the Couch program, that the reason he said on the same program 12 months previous that we’d have a quick bounce from 13th and play finals was that he had a fair idea at that time that Prestia and Nankervis were coming to the Club.

I could imagine the comments here at that time re the statement, but there’s no doubting that the Coach and the FD knew the missing pieces of the puzzle, of which Prestia was one, sourced them and the rest is history.

Haere Ra

The Coach specifically said, in his appearance post Grand Final on Fox Footy’s On the Couch program, that the reason he said on the same program 12 months previous that we’d have a quick bounce from 13th and play finals was that he had a fair idea at that time that Prestia and Nankervis were coming to the Club.

I could imagine the cooments here at that time re the statement, but there’s no doubting that the Coach and the FD knew the missing pieces of the puzzle, of which Prestia was one, sourced them and the rest is history.

Haere Ra

I think when Dimma made that statement people either thought the list was overrated or he was just wrong. Doesn’t change the fact that’s what the club believed and in that context the trade made perfect sense.

Wrong again Goldy. You said Miles played good football, if he played good football he would have been picked for more than a handful of games. Fact is he wasn't and like Ellis he was overlooked for a bunch of first and second year players including rookies and a 3rd round kid who missed most of the year through injury. Hell Townsend won the Liston and it took until Caddy got injured 2 weeks before the finals for him to get a crack and if it wasn't for him kicking 6 goals against Fremantle he probably would have only played one game and be looking at joining Elton and Batchelor at Frankston this year. So you can praise Miles as much as you like, but the fact is he wasn't rated as good enough by our coaches to play more than a handful of games, in fact he played less games than Corey Ellis a kid you've got as being behind another dozen or so players in the VFL, or the list managers/coaches of 17 other clubs to be deemed worthy of picking up even though it would cost them sweet FA to do so.

Just because a player doesn't switch clubs does not mean there was zero interest in him ... surely even you get this.
Hawthorn and Brisbane both showed interest, it didn't eventuate.

Any of the draftees in that region will have the job ahead to get to Prestias level , the only Q That remains is his longevity , that aside he and lambert are belting the door down to sit amongst our top 4-5 players