Autopsy 3 things you learnt Swans v Eagles

• Thread starter Thread starter RW

Oh dear, people on the main board already saying that Jetta made a "big mistake". Not sure how it's OK for the crowd to boo, but not OK for players to respond. All it means is that footballers are human, this is a good thing. Reminds me of an old episode of Seinfeld where Jerry lost his lost his shit after being heckled at a gig. He then proceeded to go to her office to heckle her to get his revenge. Not surprisingly, she didn't like it too much. The lack of emotional intelligence of some of the people who go to the football these days is astonishing. The crowd can boo, but players can't show passion? Spare me.

1. Sorry to intrude guys but need to contribute to the Heeney love fest. He is something special I'm sure.

2. Also want to add that you need to persist with playing Brandon Jack. Give him a good run in the seniors PLEASE even if it is as a sub. Using him as a sub brings great leg speed later in the game. Hawthorn's use of Puopolo, Riolr and Breust inside 50 has been key to there success in 2013 and 2014 and with Brandon you have a handy 2nd or 3rd small forward. When McGlynn's fitness is AFL level again than Lloyd or Cunningham should make way

3. Zak Jones and Xav Richards. Keep using them throughout 2015 as well. You've got a tall third defensive option in Xavier and it allows Rampe to play as that Malceski type HB rather than needing to worry about an opposition key forward. Zak Jones I really like and has similar combative traits to Nathan. He's the future, Rhyce Shaw is the past.

All the best for the remaining games in 2015. You were undermanned in key areas last night and I'm not writing you guys off as challengers at all.

You know, next few weeks will be interesting.
Tippett, Buddy up forward supported by Heeney, Benny, Rohan - defence Grundy, Richards x 2, Rampe, Shaw, Jones.
Midfield big names have to stand up.

I saw a tackling intensity return yesterday - pleasing.

If we increase intensity week by week, could be well placed by finals.
You don't lose skills overnight.
Expecting a huge bounceback against the Crows.

1. Our players are frightened to make a mistake taking the game on and moving the ball forward, would rather chip, chip sideways and make a mistake in the back-half. Or just handball their way

2. I can't believe I've watched the last 2 games from start to finish...given this game-style is unwatchable & infuriating. Tip: you don't need to buy players for marketability, play some good football and fans will want to watch...we can accept losing if we're playing the right way..no-one wants to watch us try play a 'I hope we don't lose game-plan'.

3. Our skill level is unacceptable, whoever is in charge of that department needs to go.

4. McVeigh and Jack disappear to much to continue to be captains. Kennedy is man, should be captain in 2016..don't care that he's not a NSW boy, forget the romance he's the right man. At least make him a co-captain if we're going to keep using that structure (rather they didn't, captain and vice captain will do)

5. Did I mention how shit the game-plan is, so disgusting it needs to be mentioned again and again. Even watching the reserves, doesn't even work at neafl level. What exactly is supposed to be achieved playing this style, it's not designed for winning football games..it's a gamestyle designed for the last 5 minutes of a match when you're clinging onto a 12 goal lead with 2 men less on the bench.

6. A forward structure would go a long way ffs.

7. Our midfield set-up is bad, our players are always in the wrong spots fighting for the same ball....Dew can go to Carlton tomorrow if he wants.

8. Yeah we're missing a few..about 4 best 22 players (McGlynn, Tippett, Buddy, Rohan)....we should be able to cover 4 frickin' players. The depth is what it is because of list decisions (i.e forcing players out to fit Franklin) and some terrible list management decisions (why were Towers and Derickx given 2 year deals..no-one was going to poach them, yeah give them a year contract..assess them over the year and make a call). Also we've blown too many chances to try and fast track a few players by giving them a game or 2 over the last few years when we've been playing well.

9. What will be the solution to another woeful performance? Bring back an ageing Richards, maybe drop BJ and solve nothing. Enough is enough, some of the out of form seniors need to be sent a message.

10. Mitchell as the sub was a laughable decision, we needed a ball winner and a clearance player to help combat the eagles and we stick one of our main sources and better recent performers in the frickin' green vest.

11. Nankervis and Heeney look good, fast track them..play them the rest of the year, build the depth.

12. The cupboard looks bare...granted have only seen the ressies about 4 times this year but out of the ones yet to debut only Davis, Newman & Rose have even slightly impressed me. Apparently Hewitt, Hiscox are ok after reading stuff on here so even if that's true that's not nearly enough pressure for spots coming from below.
Build the depth and reward the few that do perform, we'll need depth next year if we're going to do anything.. because we're not up to it this year. Buddy and Tippett won't save us because we refuse to kick the ball quickly forward to them and give them a chance to kick us a winning score.
Good post. We won't play in October, that's a given. So what's the point of our timid game plan, and it's so hard to watch as a spectator. Time to throw caution to the wind, play attacking attractive footy, give some fringe players a run so we can assess them.

Coaches - it's better to die on your feet than live on your knees.

Tippett, Buddy up forward supported by Heeney, Benny, Rohan - defence Grundy, Richards x 2, Rampe, Shaw, Jones.

Rohan's another one to come back in yeh. Forward line of Heeney, McGlynn, Rohan, Goodes, Tippett and Franklin.

Just looking through the backs but and you haven't named Nick Smith. Mistake or a message sent?

Are you trolling on you own board? 2nd highest scoring team and playing free flowing footy....

Heeney dead set gun and thought Shaw played a good game.

Swans without Tippett, Franklin, McGlynn and Rohan in the forward line. Pyke on one knee. Richards out of the defence.
We were missing a forward a line so it's no wonder we struggled with an inexperienced line up.

Why you are on this board?
West Coast should have won by a lot more but unlike Hawthorn you don't take the game on.
It was an average win against an undermanned Swans line up.
You play average football and have had soft draw this year.

Oh dear, people on the main board already saying that Jetta made a "big mistake". Not sure how it's OK for the crowd to boo, but not OK for players to respond. All it means is that footballers are human, this is a good thing. Reminds me of an old episode of Seinfeld where Jerry lost his lost his shit after being heckled at a gig. He then proceeded to go to her office to heckle her to get his revenge. Not surprisingly, she didn't like it too much. The lack of emotional intelligence of some of the people who go to the football these days is astonishing. The crowd can boo, but players can't show passion? Spare me.

My only problem with Jetta was look at the scoreboard mate

I didnt even click it was a war dance or what have you, that to me made it more acceptable that it was a response for a team mate.

If Goodes or whatever played is hit by an opponent and Jetta or whoever comes in to fly the flag we applaud

But dont dance in support of being booed

It is a joke

I'd have preferred he didn't do it given that we were being thoroughly outplayed at the time and also given that it only magnifies the media attention on it all but his heart was in the right place.

If he was thinking of going west next year, hopefully the thought of representing those ignorant morons has changed his mind.

It is the same old story in sports though, people want to kill off emotion

Expect these blokes to bash and in give their all, but anyone wants to celebrate or be fired up and react with emotion is automatically vilified

Amplified big time if these flogs can link it back to Goodes.

My only problem with Jetta was look at the scoreboard mate

I didnt even click it was a war dance or what have you, that to me made it more acceptable that it was a response for a team mate.

If Goodes or whatever played is hit by an opponent and Jetta or whoever comes in to fly the flag we applaud

But dont dance in support of being booed

It is a joke

That's it exactly. I'm with you, yeah doing it when we were 8 goals down wasn't a great idea, but the idea that players can't celebrate is stupid.

Australians are controlled by the media, so its not surprise the faux outrage.

The booing is so terrible its actually putting me off from watching this code.

I'd have preferred he didn't do it given that we were being thoroughly outplayed at the time and also given that it only magnifies the media attention on it all but his heart was in the right place.

As you said though, if he was thinking of going west next year, hopefully the thought of representing those ignorant morons has changed his mind.
I liked it !!! i didn't like the booeing myself took the shine off the win for mine, I always thought Jetta just played for himself not his team mates but thought that showed good support for his team especially in front of his home state was a credit to him i thought !!

I dont think its racist behavior anymore, people are just doing it because they can and because people are massive campaigners. They latched on to it because booing opens up a lot of interpretations thus allowing the booer to get away with it. Its typical nasty group think behavior, watch a monty python movie and you will see the same behavior the python ridiculed from the dark and roman times and then you see the same behaviour from AFL fans.

Same as the when the Romans held gladiator contest and the great unwashed used to act in a feral manner, AFL fans are the same. Humans are a POS most times and this is no different. Its disgusting and feral but it seems people just dont care, its their right to boo.

Its sad when you see little kids confused as to why dad and a whole group of people boo in an angry manner, great example set.

That's it exactly. I'm with you, yeah doing it when we were 8 goals down wasn't a great idea, but the idea that players can't celebrate is stupid.

I personally dont care if people boo either, its just the theater of sport (I do not particularly get booing but knock yourself out if it is your bag, preferable to swearing an abuse near kids in the crowd)

Everyone needs to find something else to whinge about

Wheres that main board thread I am in a bad mood, time to answer some flogs

Only problem with your theory is that your assuming we had skills to start with :)

Our disposal skills are a long way short of what they should be. Not so much by hand where generally we are ok (although our handballing skills are well short of the peak they reached in 2012) but mainly by foot, where we butcher the ball time and time again. I believe it was something like 19 turnovers to quarter time - absolutely abysmal from a team that wants to be considered as a premiership contender.

I dont think its racist behavior anymore, people are just doing it because they can and because people are massive campaigners. They latched on to it because booing opens up a lot of interpretations thus allowing the booer to get away with it. Its typical nasty group think behavior, watch a monty python movie and you will see the same behavior the python ridiculed from the dark and roman times and then you see the same behaviour from AFL fans.

Same as the when the Romans held gladiator contest and the great unwashed used to act in a feral manner, AFL fans are the same.

Its sad when you see little kids confused as to why dad and a whole group of people boo in an angry manner, great example set.
It's becoming a bullying act, With all the talk of trying to stop bullying to kids, What do they think when they hear Goodes getting booed every game, Some of my mates say it's because he slides in and play's for frees well what happened to booing the action not the player,

Australians are controlled by the media, so its not surprise the faux outrage.

The booing is so terrible its actually putting me off from watching this code.

Have to agree with this - the booing is really starting to get to me as well. Absolute donkey behaviour from a bunch of idiots, nothing less and nothing more. Whether they are booing because they are part of the flock, or booing because they are racist, it has gotten beyond the pale. I actually turned the sound off completely yesterday after quarter time - in part to not have to hear the booing, and in part to remove the Wet Toast lovefest going on in the commentary box.

Hey folks sorry about the booing of Goodes, it was not all eagles fans just a lot of boofheads who are clueless. I have a deep respect for the Swans and for Goodes. Being from a multicultural background and coloured skin myself, I find it terrible and unacceptable my wife and I were embarrassed about some of the behaviour.

Anyway all the best for the season, your team will be a different side with Buddy, Tippet and Richards.

It's becoming a bullying act, With all the talk of trying to stop bullying to kids, What do they think when they hear Goodes getting booed every game, Some of my mates say it's because he slides in and play's for frees well what happened to booing the action not the player,

Spot on. Especially given that whilst in past seasons, sliding in and playing for frees were unfortunately a visible part of his game - but at least in my view, there has been very little evidence of either this season.

What I learnt:

1. Heeney is a ray of sunshine in a bad run. He only still is getting limited amounts of the ball, but he is going to develop into a superstar. A great mark, a very good kick and hard as nails. Going to love watching this kid develop and do the #5 proud.

2. Our tactics and gameplan continue to stink. How precisely do the coaches think we are going to kick goals when there is no one in the forward line. I liked it when we took the game on late in the 3rd/early in the 4th, but we need to do that all time, in combination with actually playing a proper forward line - you know the ones where you have players in your forward 50, actually waiting to try and kick goals.

3. Our kicking skills are woeful, including those of our co-captains. The highlight of the day in that respect was the patch where McVeigh twice in about 15 seconds managed to miss targets 20 metres dead in front of him. Whoever is our 'skills' coach in terms of kicking the footy should be quietly shown the door at the end of the season, and we should poach someone from one of the clubs where guys can actually kick well. I know part of it is about recruiting players with great skills, but we have gone backwards at a rate of knots this year in terms of skills, with essentially the same cattle.

4. There is hope for life after Teddy. XR had a hard initiation yesterday, but once we shifted the allocations of forwards, he came into his own and had a really decent day overall I felt. Had a number of good 1%ers, and he plays footy in the same committed way as his big brother. Hope we get to see some more of him soon.

5. Rampe is in a patch of really good form - I thought he was fantastic yesterday under severe pressure.