Player Watch #30: Charlie Comben - signed til end '27

• Thread starter Thread starter giantroo

Has he gone backwards. I thought he was showing something for a while, now Im not so sure

He's always had two sides to his game. Round 2 against Melbourne last year is a prime example; was dropping literally everything and coughing up goals at will in the first half, then turned into a brick wall in the second half. Very frustrating player.

Car crash yesterday. You can forgive some of his dropped marks but the decision making under pressure is harder to turn around quickly. He naturally combative but he needs to play with more composure.

Serious question,,,,, do our players spend any meaningful time in one-on-one sessions with a sport's psychologist. Comben and Konstanty really could use some help in that department from what we saw on the weekend. Konstanty going around the corner on his second set shot, just didn't look 1 bit confident, nor did it make any sense from that distance/angle. Comben seemed to try to hard after making mistakes, which compounded into others. those were the two that really stood out on the weekend, and self belief/confidence can be up and down for anyone, (exacerbated by social media and "paid" media".), but gee i reckon would be good for all players to have regular one on one time with a sport psych.

JK reminds me of a guy I used to work with many moons ago. He was in Sales and was so good from client introduction and all the lead up meetings and wine/dine. However when it came time to close the deal and get the client signature, he just had a horrible conversion rate and could not get it done. Behind his back he was known as the “Anti Closer”. The parallels here are very similar. Not sure if my mate ever went to a Sales Shrink.

If we have not explored this with JK and Chom then that is just pure negligence from our Development team.

Someone needs to simplify the game for this bloke. You can see he is in his own head and overthinking the game.

Some players just need to be given very simple instructions and a basic job to carry out. He looks like he fits into that box.

I know the games changed but look at Mick Martyn as the example. Two basic tasks. Defend/spoil and when you get it kick long.

Charlie should be intercept and dish off at every opportunity.

I don’t want this guy trying to execute precise passes in our back half. If he can’t give it to a better ball user then drive it to a contest. Our players should know if Charlie has it and is forced to kick then get to a spot on the ground.

He’s not a high IQ player, so don’t force him to think. Comben is at his best when he purely reacts to the game and plays on instinct.

So want him to succeed but his footy IQ is Magoo-ish. I've never seen a player with a higher proportion of smothered kicks when he looks to go inboard. He not only telegraphs it, he sends a WUPHF. This should be the message from the coaches:
Season 4 Hr GIF by The Office

An it is not helped by his 3 minute ball drop! Just bang it up the line or give it to someone who can use it properly (i.e. not Daniels).

JK reminds me of a guy I used to work with many moons ago. He was in Sales and was so good from client introduction and all the lead up meetings and wine/dine. However when it came time to close the deal and get the client signature, he just had a horrible conversion rate and could not get it done. Behind his back he was known as the “Anti Closer”. The parallels here are very similar. Not sure if my mate ever went to a Sales Shrink.

If we have not explored this with JK and Chom then that is just pure negligence from our Development team.
yeah my young bloke did a fair bit of work with peter clarke from Cricket Australia, really useful, as well as coaches getting high achievers in other sports to come and chat about "champion mindset." Mindset so important in elite sport,....anyway he and his team got a lot out of it.

So want him to succeed but his footy IQ is Magoo-ish. I've never seen a player with a higher proportion of smothered kicks when he looks to go inboard. He not only telegraphs it, he sends a WUPHF. This should be the message from the coaches:
Season 4 Hr GIF by The Office

An it is not helped by his 3 minute ball drop! Just bang it up the line or give it to someone who can use it properly (i.e. not Daniels).

Very nice use of WUPHF.

ps- Ryan was a w***er

Played forward his whole life until 1.5 seasons ago. Learned a defensive strategy that didn't need him to learn to play close 1v1 defence. Now being asked to be a more purest defender, something he's never done before or been asked to do before. Will take time to adjust, but he's got the capability. Being written off way to easily, just needs time to get comfortable - unfortunately his lack of comfort is compounded by us having a whole backline who struggle at times to act as defenders first.

He actually played Ruck/Forward for most of his career - was known for his overhead marking and high vert. Maybe he does need to take a turn at the centre bounce with these new Ruck rules.

His role in defence can only be as a 3rd man up interceptor - he just doesn't have the IQ or the strength to compete against the quality taller/heavier forwards. As for Charlie's ball use - that has always been poor and does not look like improving.

The whole coaching panel seems to be able to sleep at night with his defensive deficiencies even though Whitlock could easily perform that role - oh sorry he is still to young and raw what a load of crock!!
If his whole career is a forward/ruck why are fck are we always straying from the positions that these kids were spotted with?
Chom down back was always a stop gap measure until but somehow people think they could convert him into Sam Taylor which is never going to happen as his instincts will always be attack and present at the ball.

Where is he being written off?

The whole coaching panel seems to be able to sleep at night with his defensive deficiencies even though Whitlock could easily perform that role - oh sorry he is still to young and raw what a load of crock!!
If his whole career is a forward/ruck why are fck are we always straying from the positions that these kids were spotted with?
Chom down back was always a stop gap measure until but somehow people think they could convert him into Sam Taylor which is never going to happen as his instincts will always be attack and present at the ball.
Disagree with a bit of this.

1. As a forward he was as durable as a creme brulee in Fat Bastard's fridge. Claiming we haven't given him a sustained shot at his junior position is a falsehood. We did, and he found new and frightening ways to get injured.

2. When he moved back, we found he could intercept. Could he defend? Not really. But of all defender actions, intercept marks stand out to observers the most. Each team does have a need for an interceptor and he's definitely our best at it.

3. As a forward, he had no idea how to lead. Now, a logical reply to this would be 'Larkey has no idea how to lead either,' and that would be true, but at least Larkey tends not to get in others' way. He has a sufficient grasp of the concept not to make things unduly worse for his partners down there.

I was on the Chom forward train for a long long time but eventually realised the combination of events that would have to go right for him to be effective down there long term was just too unlikely.

Also, Whitlock looks mobile, reasonable above his head, and looks to have a decent kick for goal on him. The pair of them can probably swap the positions that many thought they'd play upon being drafted

Car crash yesterday. You can forgive some of his dropped marks but the decision making under pressure is harder to turn around quickly. He naturally combative but he needs to play with more composure.
Yep. The footy IQ and decision making have always been suspect, as well as the 1v1 defending.
There's not much else to replace him unless Dawson comes on this year and with Thredgold injured.
Whitlock needs to be settled up forward for the time being to get some continuity.
At 24 years old and 48 games, maybe Charlie has to take some lumps and learn from some of these mistakes and on the coaches to work on it. But his strength is as an interceptor.

We need to keep adding to our key back stocks through drafts and SSP to have some better quality depth, then maybe moving on from Charlie with a trade or FA is a conversation when some of the younger guys are ready.
But right now, as frustrating as he is, there's not much else apart from a raw developing Will Dawson and Corr.

Good idea, but unfortunately the sports psychologists are fully booked up until October with the club’s fans.

It's so true.

That ridiculous consensus/predicted Best 23 for Round 1 includes: Daniels, a half-fit McDonalds, A 24 year old 48-game veteran at CHB who can't defend, a SF who can't kick and certainly can't kick snaps from 20m out, a happy-stepping (into trouble scrubber fraud Ex-Skipper) a 34 year FF as our 2nd Ruck, a Skipper who cracks the poos when shit doesn't go his way, a gun ruckman who can't jump and is therefore fairly useless now with the new rules - who's had a wretched preseason. I'm hoping that ain't correct cos if it is, we're no chance of climbing out of the bottom 4. None.

.....The main issue with head doctors is you can be convinced of anything. I'm a big believer in finding a solution rather than focusing on the problem. I spend no time on the problem, only the solution. Right or wrong, I don't care, just be better.

No idea what to do with this guy, he gets drafted as a forward/ruck, then plays forward and struggles with his set shots, we play him in defence and all he can do is intercept whilst struggling with every other aspect of defending.

Has he gone backwards. I thought he was showing something for a while, now Im not so sure
Other clubs have worked out that he needs to be made accountable so they put someone on him to do that. He then has to think about what he is doing rather than just go on instinct which is causing that issue. Having a football brain is not his strong point unfortunately.

That ridiculous consensus/predicted Best 23 for Round 1 includes: Daniels, a half-fit McDonalds, A 24 year old 48-game veteran at CHB who can't defend, a SF who can't kick and certainly can't kick snaps from 20m out, a happy-stepping (into trouble scrubber fraud Ex-Skipper) a 34 year FF as our 2nd Ruck, a Skipper who cracks the poos when shit doesn't go his way, a gun ruckman who can't jump and is therefore fairly useless now with the new rules - who's had a wretched preseason. I'm hoping that ain't correct cos if it is, we're no chance of climbing out of the bottom 4. None.

I'd hate to break it to you, but all of those players are likely to be playing round one. Maybe not McDonald, pending fitness.