Player Watch 32 Travis Cloke

• Thread starter Thread starter Seedsfan

I reckon Trav has three or four good years left. Sadly it is looking increasingly likely that will be at a different club.
I've thought that previously, but of late I've changed my mind. I think he will say "I've got a contract for 2017, I'm staying"

I reckon Trav has three or four good years left. Sadly it is looking increasingly likely that will be at a different club.
I wish I could see what you see but I can't. I used to think this but now I see just a shell of the player he was. That GWS game gave me hope but it's just looking a bit like a flash in the pan now.

I'm a bit jaded by what I saw on Friday night though. He didn't even offer a contest or have the slightest impact. Compare that to Petrie who has been horribly out of form all year for North but tried his guts out and hit packs, tackles hard.

Maybe Cloke has mentally checked out of the Pies?

If he gets dropped this week it really is his own fault because he doesn't deserve a game on last week's effort.

I wish I could see what you see but I can't. I used to think this but now I see just a shell of the player he was. That GWS game gave me hope but it's just looking a bit like a flash in the pan now.

I'm a bit jaded by what I saw on Friday night though. He didn't even offer a contest or have the slightest impact. Compare that to Petrie who has been horribly out of form all year for North but tried his guts out and hit packs, tackles hard.

If he gets dropped this week it really is his own fault because he doesn't deserve a game on last week's effort.

I caught the end of his interview with Dermie & co on SEN last night.

He was really talking up his love for the game. I think he repeated that line about four times.
Was he trying to get a message across to prospective suitors????

I agree Kirby......Petrie's attack on the player with the ball (how many HTB?) was fantastic.
I think we may have seen the end of Cloke at Pieland.

That game against GWS is what he should be displaying, that performance against North was polar opposite.

Travis was on SEN talking to the run home guys when I jumped in the car yesterday arvo.

He actually sounded very upbeat about footy in general and while admitting the season hadn't gone as planned, he was quite optimistic about the future and how he was desperate to win another flag in his remaining years - he estimated 3-4. Says he looks to Riewoldt for inspiration re longevity at a high level in AFL terms. Didn't come across as sooky for being dropped - copped it on the chin and has tried to work harded as a result
Dermott questioned him about his future and whether it lay with the Pies - he made it pretty clear that while he might consider a move away once his contract was up at the end of 2017 - he loved the pies and was keen to stay.
Said he & his partner were in the midst of constructing a new property (20 acres with horses and the whole magilla) at Kangaroo Ground, so I think it would be highly unlikely he would look at a move interstate if this become an option.

I was impressed that he sounded really positive about his love for footy (notwithstanding the negative social media stuff) and get the impression whatever was dragging his footy down earlier in the year was now behind him.....I put this down to practicing the, 'pants on whilst taking a selfie' option more recently.

I caught the end of his interview with Dermie & co on SEN last night.

He was really talking up his love for the game. I think he repeated that line about four times.
Was he trying to get a message across to prospective suitors????

I agree Kirby......Petrie's attack on the player with the ball (how many HTB?) was fantastic.
I think we may have seen the end of Cloke at Pieland.

That game against GWS is what he should be displaying, that performance against North was polar opposite.

damn!

you're too quick!

damn!

you're too quick!

You explained it better than me mate.

He did say he wouldn't want to go to W.A but if push came to shove he would if it meant playing the game he loves for longer.

He did sound very upbeat I agree.

Offers will be made on Cloke during trade week. He is out of contract at the end of next year and can walk for nothing. A late second round or even early third round will get it done.

Well I'm looking forward to watching the big lug play at Vic Park on Saturday.

What do you base that on?

He appears to be deteriorating fast

I think he is just down on confidence and with the right support could still be a valuable player. Physically he still has the tools.

Travis was on SEN talking to the run home guys when I jumped in the car yesterday arvo.

He actually sounded very upbeat about footy in general and while admitting the season hadn't gone as planned, he was quite optimistic about the future and how he was desperate to win another flag in his remaining years - he estimated 3-4. Says he looks to Riewoldt for inspiration re longevity at a high level in AFL terms. Didn't come across as sooky for being dropped - copped it on the chin and has tried to work harded as a result
Dermott questioned him about his future and whether it lay with the Pies - he made it pretty clear that while he might consider a move away once his contract was up at the end of 2017 - he loved the pies and was keen to stay.
Said he & his partner were in the midst of constructing a new property (20 acres with horses and the whole magilla) at Kangaroo Ground, so I think it would be highly unlikely he would look at a move interstate if this become an option.

I was impressed that he sounded really positive about his love for footy (notwithstanding the negative social media stuff) and get the impression whatever was dragging his footy down earlier in the year was now behind him.....I put this down to practicing the, 'pants on whilst taking a selfie' option more recently.
Cloke of a few years back when he was running hard up the ground I could see extending his career in a manner similar to Riewoldt. If the 15km against GWS is any sort of indication there's still the capacity for Cloke to exert the work ethic required. He'd be very handy in this role, especially if our other forwards can emulate St Kilda and reduce the reliance on Cloke to kick bags.

Problem with Cloke is not whether there is a need for him. When on song, absolutely he has a spot. Question is, can he bring it every week. Too much difference between the highs and lows and the highs are very scarce nowadays. So far the answer is no. In his mind the answer is yes, so there is a bit of discrepancy.

Offers will be made on Cloke during trade week. He is out of contract at the end of next year and can walk for nothing. A late second round or even early third round will get it done.
There is no way we would trade Cloke for a late second round or third pick... Are you serious?

It will be that or lose him for nothing at the end of next year.

after 2 good games he was quiet and he's useless again? geez.
I'd say one very good game and one ok game.

I think the issue from last Friday was that he wasn't just quiet, he was absolutely useless to the point of doing a disappearing act. He was non competitive and I think we supporters are surprised that he could put in such a flat effort when the stakes were high and he has been under the spotlight all year for his poor form.

If he ran around like Petrie did on Friday night having an absolute crack then I reckon no-one would be complaining.

After 2 good games he isn't useless now? geez.
Seems to apply to the coach.
At a united club with a coach that coaches for his players strengths and a good midfield he will be twice the player he has been in recent years.

If that's all they're going to offer, I'd keep him for next year and then pick up a compensation pick of something similar if he leaves as a free agent.
He'll net 400-500k minimum on the free agent market if there's 2 or more clubs vying for his services and the compensation from that would be at least equal to what you're suggesting trading him for.

I wouldn't trade him this year for less than a first round pick and since we're not likely to get that, Cloke will be a Magpie for at least one more year.

Have you actually watched Cloke this year?

Outside of a handful of games most of his performances have been VFL standard and I see no reason he'll be better next year as he gets to 30
Could it possibly be because we dont play to his strength, we just bang it forward and hope for the best . For Cloke to be what he was 2010 circa we need that 2nd and 3rd fwd to take the heat from him . 2010 Cloke Brown Dawes admittedly we also had Didak,Neon and a midfield that had skill :)

Will Moore and Keefe/Reid, Elliot, Sidebottom, be those players next season ?.

My 2cents worth how much would Fasalo be worth?.

Could it possibly be because we dont play to his strength, we just bang it forward and hope for the best . For Cloke to be what he was 2010 circa we need that 2nd and 3rd fwd to take the heat from him . 2010 Cloke Brown Dawes admittedly we also had Didak,Neon and a midfield that had skill :)

Will Moore and Keefe/Reid, Elliot, Sidebottom, be those players next season ?.

My 2cents worth how much would Fasalo be worth?.
We need options and more avenues to goal, Elliott and possibly a very capable crumbing type (Betts prototype).