3AW commentary

Being overseas, I enjoy the radio coverage and have been a pretty constant 3AW listener, up to now largely because of Rex. Friday night they lost me.

To listen to Brian Taylor and Tony Shaw raving on about Collingwood, you would have thought they were entirely in control of the game. Collingwood players mentioned in abundance, highly critical of some easy target Geelong players, while pumping up ordinary performers for the Woods. Summaries were all about Collingwood, but it was the call that peed me off....it was all Collingwood. And when Shane ( whats his name..the primary caller) summed up that he thought Geelong had proved just how much better they were, Taylor and Shaw responded with "turn it up mate...blah blah blah"....

Now I am pretty patient and I understand they are Collingwood through to their bones, but the call was hopelessly biased and didnt "paint a picture of the game" . Shocking!!

I had to switch to KRock to get a dose of alternate bias so as to even things up. :D

Couldnt help but turn back after the game to hear Shaw and Taylor cry in their soup. Poor choice of commentators 3AW....Taylor and Shaw need to lift their game. All they neeeded was McGuire and it would have been a total wank fest.

Re: 3aw

I have almost never listened to 3aw, though more inclined to now that Rex has left. Won't listen to BT or Shaw though. I tend to listen to SEN which I think now has the best team going around (although it depends a bit - Brereton for instance is a flog when it comes to Hawthorn, Geelong and Essendon, and the Ox is lucky to work out who is playing at times let alone understand the game). I avoid MMM like the plague although they've improved a bit - focus a bit more on the game that all the crap they used to go on with.

K-Rock is probably the most entertaining. I don't mind bias, I just hate the pretence of impartiality. Plus K-Rock last year had Josh Hunt's comments which were I thought a very good insight into the team.

i can't stand rex hunt and was ready to switch to 3AW when he went to triple M, but his commentary is so much better now that he's not the star of the show. he just calls it as it is now, no bullshit nicknames or theatrics

I never listen to 3AW.

I usually have SEN on although their "B" commentary teams suck so I'll change to ABC or MMM for the Saturday night and the interstate Sunday games.

I just can't listen to football calls on the radio these days, but in terms of pre-match give me anything with the outstanding Gerard Whately and i'm happy.

ABC Grandstand is pretty reasonable. Mark McClure gives me the pip sometimes but Gerard is good. And I enjoy the Sunday Inquisition with Gerard, Stan and Samantha.

What's more, there are no ads!

ABC usually very good although they can often go for many minutes without saying the scores.

The thing I like about SEN is that they tennd to have a lot of current/recently retired players and coaches. In the past few years they've had Buckley, Lloyd, Wallace, Gaspar, Darcy, Nathan Thompson and (for a couple of games this year) Mick Malthouse. I tend to find very few of the players who've been out of the game for ten or twenty years really have much of a handle.

How Tony Shaw or BT get a gig anywhere has me buggered.

Usually ABC, but SEN are quite reasonable. BT can be ok at times, but as long as he is not doing anything with Collingwood.

Just on K-Rock, while they are obviously biased towards Geelong, they usually have a non-Geelong guy to give perspective. It used to be Ted Whitten, but more recently people like Michael Christian. Also on the rare occasions I listen, I genrally find them more willing to recognise the good play by the opposition then stations you find in places like Adelaide or Perth.

BT has his hand on it when it comes to Leon, guess there wasn't much joy to be had when his love child went AWOL again in a big game.

The ABC's my go. The calling is good and there special comments people are the best in the caper. The most underrated of whom is Aussie Jones.

Taylor should stick to calling. His opinions on footy are about as instructive and relevant as Boof Head Kennett.

BT is the biggest douche bag in all of sports commentary. Absolute waste of airtime. Adds nothing. Distracts with his absolute loathing and hatred of anything Geelong. BT is nothing more than a bay13 flog with airtime.

Usually ABC, but SEN are quite reasonable. BT can be ok at times, but as long as he is not doing anything with Collingwood.

Just on K-Rock, while they are obviously biased towards Geelong, they usually have a non-Geelong guy to give perspective. It used to be Ted Whitten, but more recently people like Michael Christian. Also on the rare occasions I listen, I genrally find them more willing to recognise the good play by the opposition then stations you find in places like Adelaide or Perth.

Loved Teddy on 3GL for all those years. Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't it because Teddy caught all the Geelong games that he picked a relatively unknown G. Ablett for the Big V after only a few games? I have vague memories of Gerard Healy talking about it, asking Teddy who he was. 'Don't worry, son, the kid can play.' Ended up with 8 goals playing on the wing.

Ads shit me to tears, so I go Grandstand whenever possible.

I don't mind SEN though, it's nice to get a 24/7 fix of footy, though frank walker from national tiles and UD trucks do get on my nerves after a while.

i think something needs to be done about biased commentary teams though, particularly when the broadcast leaves its home state. i had to listen to the ABC coverage of the geelong v brisbane game a couple of weeks ago with a commentary team full of ex-lions players who actually tried to sugar-coat an 81 point loss.

Ads shit me to tears, so I go Grandstand whenever possible.

I don't mind SEN though, it's nice to get a 24/7 fix of footy, though frank walker from national tiles and UD trucks do get on my nerves after a while.

What are Bartels stats on the continental stat sheet Huddo?
Well Derm on the continental stats sheet he's had....
Thanks Huddo, those continental stats are interesting.

Drives me insane and I switch over.

How many goals of the day can there really be?

Even better is when Huddo says ' that was almost a clive peters goal of the day' :rolleyes:

However, Francis leach has has huddo covered. He is a walking billboard and even if it is the only stream of a geelong game I will not listen to him.

Mitho is non-Geelong. Even though he lives here. He joins in the banter pretty well on K-Rock and obviously knows his market and tailors his call to suit. Although it must be hard to call when we play the Tigers.