Player Watch #40 Tyler Sonsie - Re-Signed For 2026

c'mon he's 22 and taken at pick 28. reasonable game my arse. i see him as a top 15 player in 2026 and top 8 in 2027. another 3-5 kg on that frame and 25% better endurance might see to that. has skillset & polish better than most 10 picks.
It was a reasonable game. You thought he was spectacular? He was dogshit in the first quarter but to his credit put together a solid game after that. Plenty to like but not sure many would share your heightened level of arousal.

I thought Sonsie was a goner, certain delist 2025. He is starting to look a bit more at home, and gaining some confidence. I now think he will likely be given another year, and fair enough. Still think he has a fair way to go before he is going to get picked automatically best 22 even for us, let alone for a successful team. With ball in hand his decision making has to become quite a lot better. He needs to make it count when he gets the ball. 28 disposals including 21 uncontested receives for no score and only 2 score involvements is telling us he couldn't find a way to impact. Just watching the game you can see him turn reasonable opportunities into nothing just that bit too often.

Also think he would need to get a bit more ferocious in contested situations. He got beaten pointless 1 v 1 by I think Quaynor in the first term today on the outer wing. He needs to do better in those contests, to at least halve them or have the opponent disposing of the ball under great pressure.

The club is doing the right thing playing Sonsie and trying to get him into the play. I think he is still just below the curve to make it properly. But he is closing the gap.

I thought Sonsie was a goner, certain delist 2025. He is starting to look a bit more at home, and gaining some confidence. I now think he will likely be given another year, and fair enough. Still think he has a fair way to go before he is going to get picked automatically best 22 even for us, let alone for a successful team. With ball in hand his decision making has to become quite a lot better. He needs to make it count when he gets the ball. 28 disposals including 21 uncontested receives for no score and only 2 score involvements is telling us he couldn't find a way to impact. Just watching the game you can see him turn reasonable opportunities into nothing just that bit too often.

Also think he would need to get a bit more ferocious in contested situations. He got beaten pointless 1 v 1 by I think Quaynor in the first term today on the outer wing. He needs to do better in those contests, to at least halve them or have the opponent disposing of the ball under great pressure.

The club is doing the right thing playing Sonsie and trying to get him into the play. I think he is still just below the curve to make it properly. But he is closing the gap.
To be fair, Quaynor is one of the better one on one players in the comp or at least he was either last year or a couple years ago.
Sonsie has clear deficiencies in his game, but it seems like the way we want to play is starting to lend to his strengths.

I'm sure with more experience, his ability to compete one on one will improve. He is likely always going to be undersized compared to others.

To be fair, Quaynor is one of the better one on one players in the comp or at least he was either last year or a couple years ago.
Sonsie has clear deficiencies in his game, but it seems like the way we want to play is starting to lend to his strengths.

I'm sure with more experience, his ability to compete one on one will improve. He is likely always going to be undersized compared to others.

Quaynor is good at not losing 1 v 1 contests. Not sure where he ranks as far as winning them. But to be a good AFL player you can't get beaten pointless like that in a contest you start with an advantage and allow the player to waltz away unpressured with the ball. Sonsie can probably improve this, but he needs to.

Only played 36 games

another 20 games and he will be more confident and smarter
he is still a baby in AFL terms

Im giving him 2 year deal

Only played 36 games

another 20 games and he will be more confident and smarter
he is still a baby in AFL terms

Im giving him 2 year deal
My goodness. 2 years? You must be joking. I suppose you’d like to sign Dow to 3 years. Ryan to another 3. No need to offer players like these anything more than 1 year max if you want to retain them. No one is steeling them.

Nup Dow delist and dont care what happens with Ryan

Not sure why i need to explain my reasons but i see talent with Sonsie i dont see with Dow

Last 2 weeks have probably been our best ball movement games. We’ve noticeably looked shorter/off the line coming out of D50 and he’s gotten more involved. Normally we bomb it over his head.
He’s actually pretty creative sonz , got super quick hands , occasionally too quick . I agree our ball movement has been best I’ve seen under ooze last fortnight and the emergence of some new midfield options is a factor in that , sonz has played a part , persist with him

Last 2 weeks have probably been our best ball movement games. We’ve noticeably looked shorter/off the line coming out of D50 and he’s gotten more involved. Normally we bomb it over his head.
Great observation. Last week was a little different as WC clearly weren’t competitive and let us do whatever we wanted but it does feel like Yze has taken the training wheels off a little and is backing the players skills far more than previously.

Sonz started out stopping and propping, and then as the game went on started to take the game on. So he went from a negative to a positive.

Couple of times his handballs went straight through our hands. So lots of upside if he can start to turn that into a more attacking attitude and we can take advantage of his his skills.

I've always been a believer. Only now is that starting to look like being reality. IMHO he has a high ceiling. But he needs a lot going on inside his head to improve. once he gets the right attitude I reckon we'll have a good to very good mid here.

Sonz started out stopping and propping, and then as the game went on started to take the game on. So he went from a negative to a positive.

Couple of times his handballs went straight through our hands. So lots of upside if he can start to turn that into a more attacking attitude and we can take advantage of his his skills.

I've always been a believer. Only now is that starting to look like being reality. IMHO he has a high ceiling. But he needs a lot going on inside his head to improve. once he gets the right attitude I reckon we'll have a good to very good mid here.
As much as I’m a not sure with Sonz, I just wish he’d stop playing like a scared rabbit. Needs to take the game on. Against the pies he marked 50 out had space to play on and take a comfortable shot but just froze. No confidence to back himself.

But then as the game went on he started to do that.

When he takes the game on he looks very dangerous. Might be the club knocked the confidence out of him at AFL level. Or whatever.

I reckon/hope he gets his head right. then we will have at least a good B grade mid. He has great skills, good clean hands inside and good vision. All mental with him I reckon.

Last week was the first time I thought he came close to replicating his VFL form.

Again this week.

Something has clicked for him and he is on his way to proving me wrong.

Good on him.

Sonsie has arguably the most class of all our mids ( Lalor excluded) shows he is at the level on occasion but his biggest problem is that he isn’t prepared to get hurt to win the footy. Unfortunately to be an AFL mid you need to that. Twice against giants and once against swans he showed he wasn’t prepared to do so. I hope he develops out of it because shows some good AFL traits. Time is running out for him
Bump. ( Hotton hasn’t played seniors at this stage )!

May have saved himself just in time the next few weeks will decide his future

Nah mate some Eagles peanut on the main board pre season assured me only 3 of our players would get a game at the WC
I see 5-6 Good kids on their list and the rest are late pick speculative players that most likely wont be there in 4 years time
They have 5-6 leaders Baker , Graham , Waterman , Yeo , Duggan , Kelly and 2 of them should be delisted

They are in for a world of hurt but just dont know it

I see 5-6 Good kids on their list and the rest are late pick speculative players that most likely wont be there in 4 years time
They have 5-6 leaders Baker , Graham , Waterman , Yeo , Duggan , Kelly and 2 of them should be delisted

They are in for a world of hurt but just dont know it

How many good kids did you see on Mebourne's list in 2013? Richmond's in 2010? Brisbane's in 2017? Hawthorn's in 2023?

Player Watch #40 Tyler Sonsie - Re-Signed For 2026