I'll say it again. OHB is a CAT B rookie.Sonie & Dow are both younger than OHB & both have 100% had better AFL games than Oliver.

BigFooty AFLW Notice Img
AFLW 2025 - AFLW Trade and Draft - All the player moves
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
I'll say it again. OHB is a CAT B rookie.Sonie & Dow are both younger than OHB & both have 100% had better AFL games than Oliver.
And also a developing RUCKMAN. Something we lack on our list.I'll say it again. OHB is a CAT B rookie.
Exactly is why cricket teams have extra wicketkeepers or soccer extra goalkeepers etc even though they're not getting regular games. Specialised positions that you just need cover for, not comparable to a player like Sonsie, who are dime a dozen.And also a developing RUCKMAN. Something we lack on our list.
OHB improved a lot last season, from a very low base granted. Said at the start of last season that he like Ryan was too weak and gets pushed around, but unlike Ryan, that improved markedly over the year. He is backup only, so no big deal.how the **** is Oliver H-B getting re-signed before Sonsie or even Dow. Don't really get it
OHB improved a lot last season, from a very low base granted. Said at the start of last season that he like Ryan was too weak and gets pushed around, but unlike Ryan, that improved markedly over the year. He is backup only, so no big deal.
And we should target a young project ruckman, won't be in the draft because we don't have the picks, but you'd hope via the rookie draft. But that means nothing for next season.Yeah - but we still have Ryan, because the club committed to Ryan.
Based on that, why the **** do we need both of them? If we have Ryan contracted and plan to honor than contract, then thats our guy. Do we really need 2 x 25 year old VFL level ruckman? Would rather use the rookie spot on a fresh talent each year than using a spot for 5 years on developing a player with next to zero AFL fundamentals, which is exactly what we did with Mate Colina.
Between 2014-2019 we got the below blokes through our rookie spots.
Anthony Miles
Jayden Short
Kane Lambert
Marbor Chol
Tyson Stengle
Liam Baker
Ivan Soldo
Jason Castagna
Sydney Stack
Jake Aarts
Instead of using the spots on long term development projects, use it to get short term looks at undrafted talent. Use them to turnover players and get more "looks", not longer looks at guys who really don't appear to have very high ceilings. If we need a mature age ruckman to fill in the gaps for us for a few years, then that sure as **** sounds like something we should be using Free Agency to achieve, not several years of a Rookie list spot to develop. It just seems super inefficient to me
Couldn't agree more. We've developed the habit of focusing on depth role-players and long-term project talls in case we have a bad run of injuries while chasing a gf, and we've kept that habit even though we're now cellar-dwellers.Instead of using the spots on long term development projects, use it to get short term looks at undrafted talent. Use them to turnover players and get more "looks", not longer looks at guys who really don't appear to have very high ceilings.
Probably been clarified many times before and I'm probably wrong- but aren't Category B rookies additional to the normal list + cat A rookie numbers limit?
If so, then don't you generally have 2 Cat B spots to gamble on ex-basketballers or gaelic footballers, etc that can't be used for another Kane Lambert?
We should trade Dow to WCE with Young ... Mini was always a fanI know Dow is gone but if we end up splitting one of our picks reckon Sonsie is gone as well.
Soldo was the only category B rookie there and it took him years to develop.Yeah - but we still have Ryan, because the club committed to Ryan.
Based on that, why the **** do we need both of them? If we have Ryan contracted and plan to honor than contract, then thats our guy. Do we really need 2 x 25 year old VFL level ruckman? Would rather use the rookie spot on a fresh talent each year than using a spot for 5 years on developing a player with next to zero AFL fundamentals, which is exactly what we did with Mate Colina.
Between 2014-2019 we got the below blokes through our rookie spots.
Anthony Miles
Jayden Short
Kane Lambert
Marbor Chol
Tyson Stengle
Liam Baker
Ivan Soldo
Jason Castagna
Sydney Stack
Jake Aarts
Instead of using the spots on long term development projects, use it to get short term looks at undrafted talent. Use them to turnover players and get more "looks", not longer looks at guys who really don't appear to have very high ceilings. If we need a mature age ruckman to fill in the gaps for us for a few years, then that sure as **** sounds like something we should be using Free Agency to achieve, not several years of a Rookie list spot to develop. It just seems super inefficient to me

Plus mini is happy to target Richmond playersWe should trade Dow to WCE with Young ... Mini was always a fan
Certainly someone was, because Dow was hyped up over the 23-24 off-season and touted as our next important midfielder even though Sonsie was playing much better footy in the VFL. I continue to wonder if we'd backed in Sonsie instead if we'd be in this predicament.We should trade Dow to WCE with Young ... Mini was always a fan
Certainly someone was, because Dow was hyped up over the 23-24 off-season and touted as our next important midfielder even though Sonsie was playing much better footy in the VFL. I continue to wonder if we'd backed in Sonsie instead if we'd be in this predicament.
Both have had ample opportunity. Sonsie as a has a high half forward could have gone on to be a Craig Lambert type, it's a pretty good role to play. Graham, another limited footballer has had a good career there. But Sonsie wasn't a good enough runner, skirted around rather than going in and under and his skills have gone backwards.Dow is a relatively limited player, btu always gives his all. Sonsie has a much higher upside, but hasn't always given his all.
However, in 2025 Sonsie was often used as a workhorse. Which didn't suit him. I'd hope we keep him and try to use his skills and quick hands more. We'll see, but the club obviously sees something in him, but not so much they will keep him in any case.
Certainly someone was, because Dow was hyped up over the 23-24 off-season and touted as our next important midfielder even though Sonsie was playing much better footy in the VFL. I continue to wonder if we'd backed in Sonsie instead if we'd be in this predicament.
Dow did get games when Mini took over but Yze been selecting him from day 1 2024 too.We should trade Dow to WCE with Young ... Mini was always a fan
More to do with being shite IMO...Sonsie was stunted because of the recruitment of Hopper and Taranto
Soldo was the only category B rookie there and it took him years to develop.![]()
We don't have any picks left to downgrade this year and we won't trade future picks because of our potential father-sons and NGAs in 2026/27.Yep and we got >60 games out of him. Realistically if the club needs some short-term ruck support, then do a deal like Carlton did and get Reidy. Cost them a downgrade of a few picks & the guy was coming off the back of a B&F for Peel in the WAFL.
Feel like the club is very committed to doing everything that absolute hardest way possible
Sonsie was stunted cause his balls never dropped.Sonsie was stunted because of the recruitment of Hopper and Taranto
Oh yeah Reidy is so good I definitely heard about him before Tuesday.Yep and we got >60 games out of him. Realistically if the club needs some short-term ruck support, then do a deal like Carlton did and get Reidy. Cost them a downgrade of a few picks & the guy was coming off the back of a B&F for Peel in the WAFL.
Feel like the club is very committed to doing everything that absolute hardest way possible
Both have had ample opportunity. Sonsie as a has a high half forward could have gone on to be a Craig Lambert type, it's a pretty good role to play. Graham, another limited footballer has had a good career there. But Sonsie wasn't a good enough runner, skirted around rather than going in and under and his skills have gone backwards.
Dow has very good movement and fast hands but misses a lot of targets for someone with his attributes. Again not a good enough runner and not big enough to play the position he is best at.
It's no big deal. Hotton, Lalor, Campbell etc will easily take their position. Every club has players who almost make it, get 50-60 games in and get overtaken by new talent. Doing better than 95% of footballers out there.
. Dow is playing against the other mids we have, and sits behind them. It's likely that he will be overtaken. he is AFL quality, but at best B grade. Should get a gig at a club that needs mid depth.