#44 - Matt Crouch

Sorry I think we have over paid here. Hopefully his well documented deficiencies can be ironed out and he can be a decent player for us .

Interesting to see how far he would have slid if we didn't have the bro thing going on

He is a proven ball winner at any level he has played including VFL seniors. The argument is if he is the best in the draft at extracting the ball from a pack and finding a team mate then speed doesn't matter. If we build up his endurance he will have no problems getting to the contest and from their he can get it out to the pacy outside mids like a Dangerfield flying through the centre. The draft is a lottery afterall and no team is perfect in its selections. Crouch could be worse then the 41st pick in this years draft or he could be the 2nd best player from his draft year. Time will tell. All I know is stating we over paid is a highly dumb comment on what is an unknown.

Over the damn moon about this. Did anyone see the photo Brad Crouch put on Instagram?
nwmyhc.png

If the guy has played cricket during the off season that would explain his speed ad stamina.

I can assure you after a couple of preseasons he will be aerobically very good.

Having a football brain is something that you simply can't instil, where to position yourself and read the play is crucial.

The kid averaged f*ing 37 disposals for his club FFS. All those upset about him piss off.

I can appreciate saying why didn't we choose x y or z. But don't rip the kid, give him a chance.

I feel for Vince, the Club will feel vindicated with their trading.

Vince 27 for 17 Crouch. Hmmmmm

No way in hell next year would we have got that next year some astute decision making by the recruiters.

Well having Brad at the club is going to be a huge bonus for Matt. He will know what to expect and what will be required.
Being a brother too, he will go out of his way to get his brother ready for the starting 22.

Being younger I'm sure he will look up to Brad as inspiration.

Sorry I think we have over paid here. Hopefully his well documented deficiencies can be ironed out and he can be a decent player for us .

Interesting to see how far he would have slid if we didn't have the bro thing going on

Disagree, Peter. Any player that can average 38 disposals a game for a season can play in his own right. Watch his highlights package and you just have to love his clearance work at the ball-ups and centre bounces.

A couple of pre-seasons to get his endurance up to that of his brother's and IMO he'll prove what a great get he is for us. :thumbsu:

Disagree, Peter. Any player that can average 38 disposals a game for a season can play in his own right. Watch his highlights package and you just have to love his clearance work at the ball-ups and centre bounces.

A couple of pre-seasons to get his endurance up to that of his brother's and IMO he'll prove what a great get he is for us. :thumbsu:

Crouch will give us a little bit of mogrel that we need although he will need to control his temper. He will give us first use of the ball and allow Brad to become more ofan inside/outside player.

He has the capacity to take over from Thommo in a few years time as a real clearance player.

He has some weaknesees to work on - but in our environment this should not be an issue.

His kicking is not as bad as some state.

He just needs to get more run into his game.

He will be a good selection for our side.

Surely this has to be the feel good story for a s**t year at our club.

Next year time to clean out the cupboard, some players are literally dead men walking.

Mackay, Smack are playing for their AFL futures. I think so is VB to be honest. I

Well this makes the reserves very interesting to watch now. If Crouchie kills it in his first few games and achieves his ball winning standards we could theoretically see him in the side within a few games.
Maybe give him a baptism of fire, first ever showdown at Adelaide oval.

I am happy about this selection. Besides the brotherly love story which in itself is a feel good story I like the looks of his attack on the ball and what looks like his agro attitude. We need a bit of agro in the team. In addition it also helps to cement the brothers to the club. Good selection.

Well this makes the reserves very interesting to watch now. If Crouchie kills it in his first few games and achieves his ball winning standards we could theoretically see him in the side within a few games.
Not a chance - will need 2 pre seasons

Very good pick for 23. We have done well here, and not just the brother factor (romantic I know)

Ranked at 15 on my overall list, he is an inside beast. A specialist. Will bulldoze and power under packs like a drillbit and then fire out that first clearance, usually by hand but can get the quick kick onto his boot. Will suit those wet weather, finals like games very very well when a footballers footballer comes to the fore. Nothing flash, nothing fancy. Has a genuine ballistic appetite for the leather. Will go all day, and will rack up monster numbers of the ball. Sets up plays and can still get involved on the outside. He will need to learn to spread better but given he wins so much of the ball, when he does, he will be a phenomenal player. Could be the type to rack up 40 every week once mature. Kicking is not flash, but is satisfactory for now. Will need to learn to weight his kicks and not kick floaters and learn to be balance when disposing of the footy. Can often bomb the ball blindly to nothing. Usually a result of being under immense pressure when disposing because he is always in such congestion. That can be coached, and I'm sure he will blossom there.

Defensively he can tackle well, but I'd like to see more hunger and want to defend the footy when not in his teams possession. That too can be coached. Has great size, very very good strength and will not be bullied. He will be the bully in time. He will hurt others who try and hit him with his hardness. Overhead he is satisfactory. Endurance is sound but will get better and better with AFL training.

Overall, the most complete inside mid in the draft. Genuine specialist at it. I'd compare him to a smaller version of Mundy or Duncan from the cats but with the inside power of Joel Selwood.

Maybe give him a baptism of fire, first ever showdown at Adelaide oval.

He wont be selected round 1. Our best 22 will be available unless we have a bad run with injuries over pre season. He has doubts over his fitness and will probably struggle with the fitness work load during pre season and will probably be behind the 8 ball as far as his team mates go. But he can turn the tables of the selection team with strong performances with the reserves.

Great to see so much enthusiasm on here. I like this selection and reckon he will repay us in spades. However, let's temper it a bit and give the kid a chance to settle in b4 heaping too much expectation on his young shoulders. If he plays a couple of games toward the end of the year he will have done well. Anything else will be a huge bonus.

You simply cannot ignore a guy who gets than much of the ball at the coal face. His deficiencies can be worked on but a clearance machine can come in very very handy. A full pre season or 2 to get the tank up and fix the kicking a little and we could have a great player on our hands.

Welcome to the club Matt lets hope youre every bit the player most of us think you'll be.

I'm bloody happy we snagged Crouch. I've been reading a lot on here that we have glaring efficiencies with our outside run and carry but I have a different take to it all.

I think someone mentioned it but with drafting an inside player like Crouch and already unearthing Grigg and Lyons we can unleash Dangerfield to use his speed and run and carry with the ball. I reckon Dangerfield's most damaging position would be on the wing, where blokes like Sloane, Grigg and Crouch(x2) can feed it out to him. Sure you'd love another Dangerfield on the bottom of the packs and what not.

Also, I think this year we will see a lot of Brodie Smith in the midfield as that outside runner. With a back 6 in full fitness of Talia, Rutten, Otten, Henderson, Laird, Brown (+ Reilly and/or Hartigan) we can afford to push Smith up the ground and utilize his running ability, speed and kicking skills. Plus if Mackay can get back to his best hes more than usefull on the wings.