Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

The best part about moving to another state and to a club like Richmond for stack is that he doesnt know or have anybody here apart from his team mates and coaches and everybody around him is involved at the club.

What this means is that you dont have anywhere else to go or anybody else to be with apart from being at the club, So this will hold him to a good level of training and system in his life as well as having People like Rioli , Bolton , Edwards , Higgins , Egg , Chol and others to learn the required level of professionalism from. Once the first 2 years are under his belt he will well and truly have the AFL way of life.

But then there always are the ones that fall through the cracks so lets just have the belief in Stack to become the player he can be.
yeah but when the footy season is over what then....?!?

Forget the bump ... forget the torp ... forget the speky ... look at 1.40 on this vid ...

Grimes spoils ... stack swollowes the ball with one grasp ... inbeween 3 openents ... calmly does a 180 ... waits for Grimsy to clear the pack ... loooooops a perfectly executed handball over a dees players head ... hits Grimsey at full speed on the tit ..and we r away

You can’t train that ... you need to have vision and know how players move and be 3 steps ahead of those around you ...

I hope all goes well for this kid in the future ... seems to have all the traits to make it ...
And the confidence Grimes has in him to run off to receive, SS is surrounded by Dees.

Sydney can hold his head high. Being called out based on so-called IQ or professionalism by an industry with Gil, Robbo and Eddie in leadership positions is the greatest of compliments. They are the stupidest, most unprofessional and incompetent bunch of drongos going around.

Don’t listen to the doubters Syd, and keep doing what you’re doing! :thumbsu:

The best part about moving to another state and to a club like Richmond for stack is that he doesnt know or have anybody here apart from his team mates and coaches and everybody around him is involved at the club.

What this means is that you dont have anywhere else to go or anybody else to be with apart from being at the club, So this will hold him to a good level of training and system in his life as well as having People like Rioli , Bolton , Edwards , Higgins , Egg , Chol and others to learn the required level of professionalism from. Once the first 2 years are under his belt he will well and truly have the AFL way of life.

But then there always are the ones that fall through the cracks so lets just have the belief in Stack to become the player he can be.
And xav Clarke’

The story was that Perth got him a job at a bank mid last season and he lasted 3 days before quitting - cited the job being boring as the reason he left...
I don't imagine a bank would suit him too well.Anyway I don't think that he's done anything wrong at Richmond apart from a few inappropriate txts to the coach.

The person who got him a job at a bank must be either blind or stupid , In all honest just from a far you can easily tell that Stack is not a person thats going to be working in a bank.

Get him a Job in a Gym , Plumber , Landscaping , warehouse but seriously not a bank
He needs to be using his body and hands not stuck behind a counter wearing a tie

As far as I can see he was from a tough background and missed a meeting and didn't show up to work once.Sounds like a lot of 17 to 18 year olds to me. The recruiter who said **You hope it does all hold together because if it’s not footy there is no future for this kid. He’s not going to become a builder or something like that because he lacks the discipline.***
That sounds borderline racist to me.He obviously had the dicipline to get his fitness to the elite AFL level and he hasnt assauluted anyone or pissed on a police station or anything.

Lol. Builders are disciplined. A few of them down my way are crooks!

Sydney can hold his head high. Being called out based on so-called IQ or professionalism by an industry with Gil, Robbo and Eddie in leadership positions is the greatest of compliments. They are the stupidest, most unprofessional and incompetent bunch of drongos going around.

Don’t listen to the doubters Syd, and keep doing what you’re doing! :thumbsu:
Sounds like the recruiters are trying to cover their asses by throwing as much dirt on Stacky as they can.

Richmond’s Sydney Stack making waves in the AFL, ‘calling himself Byron Pickett’

He was overlooked by all 18 clubs during the draft period, “cleaned up” vice-captain Jack Riewoldt at a Sunshine Coast training camp in January and is said to have made himself physically ill multiple times during pre-season as he gave his all to impress Richmond in search of a spot on the club’s list.

Last night, another chapter was written in the remarkable tale of Sydney Stack, who is quickly taking on cult hero status at the Tigers.

1556215088082.png

Stack, who doesn’t turn 19 until Sunday, wore a mouth guard with his last name written on it last night — and it’s lucky he did.

The rookie cleaned up Melbourne co-captain Jack Viney — who weighs in 12kg heavier than Stack — with a bone-crunching bump during the last quarter, which only won him more admirers after an impressive first month of his AFL career.

“He was calling himself Byron Pickett after the game there,” Riewoldt told Fox Footy last night.

“He cleaned me up on the Sunshine Coast, actually.

“He tried to take on Mummy (Greater Western Sydney’s Shane Mumford) in his first game and Mummy sort of chased him for a little bit.

“That (bump on Viney) is obviously a big hit in a big game with a lot of people watching it but it’s nothing new to his game. It’s something we weren’t expecting when we saw him. He’s light of frame.

“All you ask for is them (young players) to come in, put their head over the ball and play their role in the team and those guys (Stack and Jack Ross) are doing it to a T at the moment.”

Western Australia under-18 coach Peter Sumich rated Stack a top-10 draft pick last year and believed the young star’s off-field issues which scared off clubs were “an easy fix”.

Stack eventually won his chance under new pre-season list rules and lived with Richmond coach Damien Hardwick during his audition.

“All the clubs knew he had a few issues off the field but he wasn’t a kid that went out and got drunk and carried on or anything like that,” Sumich said on SEN radio this morning.

“It was just a minor thing in my opinion which the AFL inner sanctum and clubs, it was an easy fix in my opinion because once he was going to be in an AFL club all that would have been fixed up very easily because his attendance and his training and all that would have been an easy one.

“We pushed hard for him to get a job which he quit, or virtually got the sack from, because of his attendance. So his off-field in that area was fairly poor but we were working really hard with him and it wasn’t his fault a lot really because his upbringing, he’d come from Northern which is about an hour and a half north of Perth and no family, living in three or four houses.”

1556215156723.png

Sumich, a two-time West Coast premiership player, said the bump on Viney last night had come as no surprise to him either, rating Stack one of the toughest indigenous players he had ever seen.

“Stephen Michael back over here in Perth, a Western Australian, he was one of the toughest indigenous players ever to go around,” Sumich said.

“I watched him, I was fortunate enough to play one game with him. I rate Sydney on that par in toughness. I’d never seen a kid go through and if it’s a ground ball, he’ll just go through and try and get it and whoever’s in his way he just keeps going.

“Then on top of that he’s got silky skills, which most indigenous players do have.”

Stack’s manager Paul Peos told the Herald Sun this week that Stack had “a real knack for the occasion”.

He wasn’t wrong.

That comment by the recruiter was racist was basically a new version of he’s an abo so went walk about not good enough and also attacking his iq

Funny how the HS can publish an article attacking an 18 year old kid yet dance around subjects like why the umpires are so shit.
Hit the nail on the head here. Sam Edmunds should hang his head in shame. Syd is a promising 4 games into what could and should be a long careers for him. I hope if he reads this it motivates him to stick it to the haters.

Sounds like the recruiters are trying to cover their asses by throwing as much dirt on Stacky as they can.

So much this. These "anonymous recruiters" are trying to stick up for the no good timid private school kids they drafted when their coach comes in asking questions about why they took stack off their draft board.

Aside from making the obvious sh.t comment about his IQ or aptitude for academia it really shows how kids are looked at like cattle or a potential race horse.
I think I read somewhere that it’s less than 4% or registered footy players that make it to an AFL list and if you drill down onnit...50 kids or so at the draft combine half a dozen kids each team for the rookie list every year and academies, father son and that and then if you had a look at who makes it from outside the private school feeder systems it’d be bugger all I reckon.
I get it that recruiters have to make a decision on each and every prospect as efficiently as possible and if there’s a few red flags that make em feel they’re not playing the percentages..no worries, that’s fair enough.
But to publish those comments for Millions of people to read, that’s shithouse and irresponsible.
There’s no merit in that.
Shame on you Sam Edmund...wanka

Ironically two of our best youg guns in Higgins and Stack have both been called out for having low IQ’s
Highlights a big problem with our society and schooling systems that such a meaningless indicator determines if someone is smart or not

Anyone can ace a test if they can have a good memory but you can ace every test at school but it can be meaningless if they have no practical problem solving skills

Seen plenty of young apprentices not make yet who have been very book smart and a lot of who have who aren’t but have huge amount of practical knowledge