Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

he is not wrong

why was stack not drafted? even richmond backed a bunch of plodders iirc ahead of sydney stack - weller...

top5 players in the draft

port adelaide scout dude was onto something

if he went to a private school and had a nanny like walsh would he go in the national draft?

#tikTok

edit: dont get me wrong i am over the moon Stack, Pickett ( and Tom Lynch ) are Richmond players for essentially free

a proud Noongar .... http://www.noongar.org.au/
https://www.smh.com.au/interactive/2016/the-noongar-warriors/

the Noongar nation, the most dominant cultural force in the history of Australian rules football. Most Aboriginal tribes, clans or language groups have only a few members playing in the highest league in the land. Hawthorn champion Shaun Burgoyne, for instance, is the sole man with Warray heritage playing in the AFL. Two Wangkathaa men play in the league right now: Eddie Betts and Daniel Wells. There are four Tiwi. Four Larrakia. Four Palawa. The Narangga in South Australia boast an admirable five players, and the Yorta Yorta from Victoria have six.

But the Noongars are different. They have 25. Enough for an entire team. And a star-studded team at that. Three Hills. Two Yarrans. Two Garletts. Two Jettas. Two Bennells. Two Ah-Chees. How about Paddy Ryder, Michael Walters and Michael Johnson? How about the one and only Lance “Buddy” Franklin?
2016: Of the 73 Indigenous players in the AFL right now, one in three are Noongars.
This is not a recent influx, either. Polly Farmer? Noongar. Barry Cable? Noongar. The Krakouer brothers? Noongar. Derek Kickett, Nicky Winmar, Peter Matera? All Noongars.

Can Sydney Stack make it in this company? Started well ...

he is not wrong

why was stack not drafted? even richmond backed a bunch of plodders iirc ahead of sydney stack - weller...

top5 players in the draft

port adelaide scout dude was onto something

if he went to a private school and had a nanny like walsh would he go in the national draft?

#tikTok

edit: dont get me wrong i am over the moon Stack, Pickett ( and Tom Lynch ) are Richmond players for essentially free
Happy to see good players coming to the club. But a 28 yo in the WAFL, missed being picked several times. Where were we,? Not taking risks like all the other clubs. Maybe it was Tim Kelly model of being an older player? Stacky on a SPP rookie list is low risk too. Going after him with our first pick would have been ballsy. Lynch for no picks is hardly genius either. Just using a mechanism available to all. But given the 2 first round picks you have to give up these days I'm glad Tom wanted to come to Richmond.

I hear you, in that we bypassed these 2 players multiple times. However, we DID pick them up, which sets us apart from the other clubs.

There were reasons clubs passed up on these guys. Some of those reasons been made public, but I'd be surprised if there weren't untold reasons. So yes, I think it was a ballsy move by our footy department to back in our systems to get the best out of their extraordinary talent.

As a club at the moment, we are head and shoulders above the rest - both on the field and off of it. Take off that armour that 37 years of rubbish created.

I hear you, in that we bypassed these 2 players multiple times. However, we DID pick them up, which sets us apart from the other clubs.

There were reasons clubs passed up on these guys. Some of those reasons been made public, but I'd be surprised if there weren't untold reasons. So yes, I think it was a ballsy move by our footy department to back in our systems to get the best out of their extraordinary talent.

As a club at the moment, we are head and shoulders above the rest - both on the field and off of it. Take off that armour that 37 years of rubbish created.
RFC has a great looking playing list, a couple of Sudanese boys, Lebanese muslim, 1/2 Kiwi, 5 indig players, couple of Croats, a wog. Are Aarts Vlas Dutch?. Dimma having Rioli stay was great. Dusty living with Cotchs for a while. Stack trying out through the SPP . Stacky riding in the car with Marlion and the kids on GF day. Stack doing the wardance in Dreamtime game.
Its a joy to watch guys like Cotch & JR enjoy the ultimate success after much waiting. Its great for Gale to see his plan come good & for Dimma to be at the helm in the middle of an era. Our biggest enemy is compplacency. But dropping out early in 2018 should be a reminder.

Are Aarts Vlas Dutch?

Tigger's definitely dutch but don't know about Aarts.

While here:

Jack Riewoldt has German blood.
As well as Prestia, Castagna is also of Italian extraction.

Just watched a compilation of Stack's highlights. Geez it is easy to forget how impressive this kid was last year.
People getting wrapped up in Pickett's debut performance but I reckon Stack was 10 times more impressive.
If he can maintain the mental application I reckon this kid could be something very very special.

To think we have Stack & Graham still to come back into the side from last year's premiership team.
Mind boggling !!!!o_O

Mind bogglingly DELICIOUS......🤩😍😍💛🖤

Thought Stacky was very good today - great courage a couple of times.
Locked into the 22 IMO.
Sec half was good with some trademark moves and a very good mark, quiet first half , is just returning after a nasty injury though

Thought Stacky was very good today - great courage a couple of times.
Locked into the 22 IMO.

That is just an outright lie Roachy. He is locked into our best 2.

Was fair dinkum playing a different sport to everyone else today. Just arrives at contests a million miles per hour, fearless and near impossible to hurt. Not to mention ball skills beyond what most players can ever approach. Anyone who is not sure if he is in our best team is not watching properly. If he is fit enough, get him into the guts Tigers. Would have a real chance at winning the Brownlow, or even some more prestigious awards like the Jack Dyer Medal.

KFC - sign him up as the Australian face of your product, have an advert with him moonwalking into a team meeting carrying a family feast box while munching on an eponymous stacker burger.

Tony Bartuccio - sign him up as a dance instructor for hard men who can’t dance.

Jack Malcolmson - write a song about Sydney please. Sydney Stack that is, not the football club.

Dead set jet.

Was fair dinkum playing a different sport to everyone else today. Just arrives at contests a million miles per hour, fearless and near impossible to hurt. Not to mention ball skills beyond what most players can ever approach. Anyone who is not sure if he is in our best team is not watching properly. If he is fit enough, get him into the guts Tigers. Would have a real chance at winning the Brownlow, or even some more prestigious awards like the Jack Dyer Medal.

KFC - sign him up as the Australian face of your product, have an advert with him moonwalking into a team meeting carrying a family feast box while munching on an eponymous stacker burger.

Tony Bartuccio - sign him up as a dance instructor for hard men who can’t dance.

Jack Malcolmoson - write a song about Sydney please. Sydney Stack that is, not the football club.

Dead set jet.
& the winner is Siderny...

Jack Malcolmoson - write a song about Sydney please. Sydney Stack that is, not the football club.

Dead set jet.
Def found his touch in sec half , didn’t get near it first half but am ok with it coz in an interview he suggested only getting max movement back in his ankle , on the road back