• Thread starter Thread starter Kaan

Don't do it online mate... its the worst and never works and just takes ages. I know my local safeway is in desperate need of nightfill (they have about 15% of manpower they need) and I put my resume in online and never heard back, and they are still way short of people. And I know heaps of people who say the same thing, and a mate at safeway said its crap as well.

However, I would send it off online, but then print it out and go into safeway when you know it isnt going to be that busy and ask to speak to someone who is in charge of hiring/the area you want to work in (fruit and veg, deli etc etc) and then speak to them and just say 'Hi I am Bacher Houli, I put my resume in online but just wanted to double check that you got it.' Hand him your resume in person.

Nightfill is great pay, but be prepared to not go out on a friday night.. But the pay is well worth it for someone your age. People I know who work there say fruit and veg is pretty darn cruisy.. not much to it.

That online stuff with safeway is crap. Dont bother relying on it.. make sure you go in with your resume as well.

Go online. It means that they can contact you. The fact is if you go and simply ask them with your resume in hand they will most likely bin it.

Say no prior experience but a quick learner, determined etc etc.

Put achievements in and out of school (whether it be playing on the school chess team to captaining your local footy side) etc etc to show you will be comitted.

I think you shouldn't be too picky about the location. Learn to catch public transport and apply to more than one place. Your odds of getting something increases.

It worked for me online. Safeway gave me an intro, got all my details, gave me forms for things I didn't have...it worked out OK.

Do it online. Here's the site http://www.wowcareers.com.au. If you want to get your name right up there for people to look at, apply multiple times. The more you do, the better. I think you MIGHT be right without a resume if you provide your education details and referees.
Things that you would need to bring to the interview would include a birth certificate and a couple of other identification items such as health care cards and, when you eventually get one, a driver's licence, which would have a photo ID, which is one of the requirements. This is something you won't have to worry about for the time being, unless you're successful for a group interview, which is only the 1st stage. Of course, that's how they do it down here, it would probably be similar where you're from.
Speaking of Woolworths, I've got a job interview tomorrow as a nightfill assistant. Would anyone have any ideas about what questions they might ask? I want to be prepared because I always get nervous before the start of a job interview.