Current 4yo Boy Missing Yunta SA

After 9 days mate…. Something doesn’t add up!

It’s not like a huge city with the potential of being taken. He’s on a remote property!

I feel like an accident had happened and they have panicked! I would truly hope this is not the case but I also hope that these resources haven’t been wasted bc of something more sinister
Yep 9 days is a long time

Given the remoteness how long do you reckon a child could potentially vanish before the school system/ GP/centrelink /locals asked hey havent seen Gus around for awhile ?
Weeks, months ?

As you said Percel ‘when there’s nothing else to go on’. .. I don’t think people mean to be cruel, for the most part people are just trying to ‘fathom’.

I’m sure all the suggested scenarios have been examined by the Police ( not much use as investigators if not !)

The issue arises when said comments are Public, and reach the ears of those who are grieving. I think it important that we recognise the ‘scope’ of stuff these days - were not just sitting around a secluded table sharing thoughts with friends ( even though it often seems that way )

I’m interested in your thoughts re this terribly sad situation. I grew up in a remote location (also sheep) with a home ‘settlement’ of 2 houses, various sheds, yards etc.
There was a reasonably long drive from house to high boundary gate (I’m hopeless with distance, but it’d be close to 2 blocks I think) and then a dirt road went L & R for miles !
We kids learnt by correspondence, and in free time would go off with our stick horses & roam the home paddock (never near the dam as that was banned ), we’d play in the sand under the tank stand, mess around in the junk heap for stuff we though useful, gather ‘weeds’ for our pretend vegetable cooking (there were some that look like carrot tops! No doubt a blessing we never ate it !) once we dug a huge hole & buried grass in it - we’d heard something about Silage & thought we were being helpful - Oh the memories !

Apologies for the ramblings. I guess they started due to my concern for & confusion over what has happened to young Gus. .. more so because he is said to be a ‘bush kid’ .

But is he really ?

Grandma noticed him missing.
Dad apparently built the local community centre or something (according to a lady who has asked everyone to lay off their comments because her family & Gus’s go back 5 generations as neighbours) and he was out searching with old mate, who’s adamant that Gus is not on the property ? ?

In short, there’s a thousand places this kid could be and there has already been instances in like situations where bodies are found years later.

I don’t have anywhere enough information to make a considered guess, but until they uncover something even remotely sinister, then it remains a probable tragedy in my mind.

You need strong premise development to build a decent hypothesis, made up of both inductive and deductive logic. There is not enough info out there at the moment.

It’s so easy where there is a lack of information, for people to go down the ill informed simplistic route and just make up whatever suits their rhetoric. I’ve digested and researched as much as the next person and don’t have an answer.

Ex ses volunteer has claimed in his experience the boy is not on the property. There are no birds of pretty around , no foxes to be heard. I believe this guy is a friend of the father who was asked to help find Gus. I don’t want it to be true but this case is starting to look more sinister than just a kid wandering off.

He then backed up it up by saying it’s doubtful he’s there, make your mind up SES friend, people like this should be left out of the news.

Social media doesn’t help either, mediums claiming they’ve had visions of him elsewhere just ends up people believing misinformation and spreading falsity. The speculation online is crazy , the police aren’t going to tell the public every bit of detail of what they’ve done.

So so true 🙏

He then backed up it up by saying it’s doubtful he’s there, make your mind up SES frienpeople like this should be left out of the

So going on lastest threads and info of similar cases

Likeliest to have happened was trapped/hiding on homestead close by possibly deceased to be found at a later date

Next likeliest given there isn’t a shred of physical evidence that he is/was on the homestead in said hours and thereafter?

You only have to look at the Erin Patterson case to see how much information they had that the public wasn’t aware of. Anyway we just have to hope they find him.

Yep 9 days is a long time

Given the remoteness how long do you reckon a child could potentially vanish before the school system/ GP/centrelink /locals asked hey havent seen Gus around for awhile ?
Weeks, months ?
Easy! His disappearance could have happened long before this report went out! That’s why I asked earlier that I’d be interested knowing the last time someone saw him alive beside his family prior to this report

I wouldn't be surprised if He was taken by some kind of bird. It seems likely assuming there wasn't foul play involved.
The largest raptor in that area is the wedge tailed eagle and they are generally carrion feeders rather than live prey from what I believe. A four year old child would most likely be too large a target for it to tackle. They have been known to take lambs but they are much smaller. You rarely hear of any bird of prey attempting to take a small child so I reckon that theory is extremely unlikely. More likely would be to find birds of prey eating a his already passed away body.

There’s so much to this property, homes, sheds other items around.
This might sound silly but if he’s a minions fan they like to find hiding places.
Maybe this isn’t the case but I hope every nook and cranny has been searched.

They need dogs, search and rescue, tracking and cadaver imo.

If they might have already done that.

The largest raptor in that area is the wedge tailed eagle and they are generally carrion feeders rather than live prey from what I believe. A four year old child would most likely be too large a target for it to tackle. They have been known to take lambs but they are much smaller. You rarely hear of any bird of prey attempting to take a small child so I reckon that theory is extremely unlikely. More likely would be to find birds of prey eating a his already passed away body.
Can’t see a wedgie doing it, totally agree.

Kids on the spectrum are usually found very close but totally hidden.
A couple of recent cases where major searches have been police organised and autistic Kids found within 300 metres after days.
Some police searches have amazed.
Is it confirmed he is autistic though? Have seen speculation but nothing official.

We can rule out fowl play, he wasn't taken by a bird
How often do you hear of birds of prey even attempting to take a child. It’s a great theory but highly unlikely. I do like the use of the word fowl play though.

Does anybody know if those outbuildings around the main house are shearing sheds? Do Gus's family grow for wool?

It's sheep shearing season in SA. I wonder how many seasonal/workers they might have there.

Here’s a screenshot of the property from google maps, you can see the dams to the south. The only vegetation appears to be saltbush and maybe the odd tree. It’s hard to believe if he wandered off that the search crews couldn’t find anything given it’s not dense coverage of mallee trees.
IMG_6483.jpeg

Here’s a screenshot of the property from google maps, you can see the dams to the south. The only vegetation appears to be saltbush and maybe the odd tree. It’s hard to believe if he wandered off that the search crews couldn’t find anything given it’s not dense coverage of mallee trees.
View attachment 2448899
Exactly, the area is sparse. As someone said earlier the scrub is barely 2 feet high, and I don’t think it would really conceal a 4yo but it’s not impossible.

They’d have to rule out those dams as well, apart from searching them - it takes roughly 72 hours for a drowned body to resurface.

I really honestly believe he was never there at the time of the report.

In short, there’s a thousand places this kid could be and there has already been instances in like situations where bodies are found years later.

I don’t have anywhere enough information to make a considered guess, but until they uncover something even remotely sinister, then it remains a probable tragedy in my mind.

You need strong premise development to build a decent hypothesis, made up of both inductive and deductive logic. There is not enough info out there at the moment.

It’s so easy where there is a lack of information, for people to go down the ill informed simplistic route and just make up whatever suits their rhetoric. I’ve digested and researched as much as the next person and don’t have an answer.
Agree with this, but if police have given up searching for him on the property, doesn't that imply they are working on an alternative theory or theories? They should be. Because if foul play is a possibility at all, the sooner they rule it in or out, the better for all concerned, especially poor Gus.

I don’t think they have given up searching for him on the property but more they have scaled it back because it is unlikely now with the time that has passed they will find him alive. So those that are still searching are looking for a body. This is where the lack of sighting birds of prey are significant because they would be circling and also flying off from the ground if there is a body.

So many buildings, outbuildings and dams. Plenty of places to hide.

View attachment 2448943
Would all have been searched we have to believe the police and ses aren’t that incompetent to not check these things.

Just saw on Facebook a women claiming to have seen Gus with a man in Norwood at a cafe but police won’t take her seriously.

Just looking at things from a different perspective......

A poster suggested earlier that Gus has autism. I don't think there's any valid or verifiable information confirming he's autistic. As far as l know, he isn't, but we don't know.

Another poster suggested he might have Foetal Alcohol Syndrome. This is far more likely to be the case, given some tell-tale signs in his beautiful little face.

I have worked with children and adults in both the above categories over decades. If Gus has one, or even both, predicting his behaviour or setting rationales will be useless, if we're using "normal child" as a control.

Children with challenges can walk far more kms and in a much shorter time than we could ever imagine. We don't know if Gus was toilet-trained. If he was, there should be evidence somewhere. If he wasn't, he would eventually discard his pants, then proceed without them.

He might have walked in any direction and would have had no idea he was in danger until he was. He may have wandered far beyond predictions. He was possibly very resilient, so when hungry might have eaten whatever was available. I wonder how prolific bush tucker is in the area? Purslain and lce Plant are prolific in the sandy soil in my area. I have personally witnessed a very fit autistic gentleman obsessively live on Purslain alone for a week with hardly any water (probably still does!). It's incredibly nutritious and a dietician's dream. I have also witnessed a four year old with FAS gobble huge amounts of Ice Plant because he was so hungry. It's mostly water but very sustainable.

Sadly, I believe time has expired for finding dear little Gus.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20251007_152456_Google.jpg
    Screenshot_20251007_152456_Google.jpg
    315.8 KB · Views: 15
  • Screenshot_20251007_152319_Google.jpg
    Screenshot_20251007_152319_Google.jpg
    367.1 KB · Views: 16
Just looking at things from a different perspective......

A poster suggested earlier that Gus has autism. I don't think there's any valid or verifiable information confirming he's autistic. As far as l know, he isn't, but we don't know.

Another poster suggested he might have Foetal Alcohol Syndrome. This is far more likely to be the case, given some tell-tale signs in his beautiful little face.

I have worked with children and adults in both the above categories over decades. If Gus has one, or even both, predicting his behaviour or setting rationales will be useless, if we're using "normal child" as a control.

Children with challenges can walk far more kms and in a much shorter time than we could ever imagine. We don't know if Gus was toilet-trained. If he was, there should be evidence somewhere. If he wasn't, he would eventually discard his pants, then proceed without them.

He might have walked in any direction and would have had no idea he was in danger until he was. He may have wandered far beyond predictions. He was possibly very resilient, so when hungry might have eaten whatever was available. I wonder how prolific bush tucker is in the area? Purslain and lce Plant are prolific in the sandy soil in my area. I have personally witnessed a very fit autistic gentleman obsessively live on Purslain alone for a week with hardly any water (probably still does!). It's incredibly nutritious and a dietician's dream. I have also witnessed a four year old with FAS gobble huge amounts of Ice Plant because he was so hungry. It's mostly water but very sustainable.

Sadly, I believe time has expired for finding dear little Gus.
Dropbearess you could be right but I think Gus looks a lot like Grandma. Same features, complexion. Just my observation.

Current 4yo Boy Missing Yunta SA