5 Worst moments....

Thought I would make a new thread that will follow on from the reject team. This one is pretty much for everyone this time, so you might enjoy it more.

I am going t owrite down my five worst moments in my time supporting Melbourne. This has to be Melbourne oriented, other moments do not count. They can be anything to do with Melbourne though, but have to be bad moments.

Anyway, here are mine so you can get an idea of what I mean.

1. - Jeff Farmer going back to WA.
Well, what can I say?? The day I jumped on the net and read that I was heartbroken. You know how I feel about it, so that is enough.

2. - David Schwarz doing his knee against Sydney.
Back in the day when he was my fave player, this was huge for me. When he did it first, I was shattered, but he came back on to the scene so damn quick that it didn't really seem to matter. He played against The Magpies and kicked the first goal. All seemed right again. Until the next game when he turned and his knee gave way. At just 14 years of age (maybe 13) I shed a little tear.

3. - Wooden spoon in 1997.
Was hard to endure and brought about some really bad moments. I stuck up for the Dees all year, but it got bloody harder each week. A year I wish to forget.

4. - Melb vs. Hawks, Rd 22 1996.
This was the last game of the year. It was also the year we were going to merge. I went to the game with my mates and it was close throughout. Eventually, we went down by one measley point. My mates to this day reckon I cried a bit, but I didn't. Until I got home. This would have been first if we had of merged.

5. - Grand Final loss 2000
I didn't really think we would win, but it's never good to lose one. I was escited in the first quarter but it died quick. I was disappointed, but happy we made it. But like I said, never a good thing.

Well, there you go. Look forward to seeing some of yours.

How come no-one replied to this??

I thought it was a good footy thread that everyone could do! :confused: :confused: :(

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
How come no-one replied to this??

I thought it was a good footy thread that everyone could do! :confused: :confused: :(
Sorry CFH I missed the thread!
Hmm the 5 worst moments...

1. Watching the Ox destroy his knee and knowing he wouldn't be back for the rest of the season.

2. The 2nd 3rd and 4th quarters of the 2000 Grand Final - glad I didn't go, lets just say I was getting very "annoyed" at home!

3. The down years, in particular '97, made you wonder why you bothered going at times, but I still did :(

4. Any game where we give up - it just pisses me off so very very much, words could not express it.

5. The number of stuff up's we have made with good draft pics, in particular going after superstarts ****ty brothers!

I don't rate the 2000 G/F in the worst moments category. i was so pleased to make it and I never expected to win. I actually still enjoyed the day:rolleyes:
Worst moment would have to be the fighting between supporters during the merger. To see champions such as Ian Ridley booed and abused really angered me.

Originally posted by dees01
I don't rate the 2000 G/F in the worst moments category. i was so pleased to make it and I never expected to win. I actually still enjoyed the day:rolleyes:
Worst moment would have to be the fighting between supporters during the merger. To see champions such as Ian Ridley booed and abused really angered me.

I could see that. I had the merger part sorta in there, but I didn't really have this bit. I was just happy it never happened.

And thanx for FINALLY replying Deestroy! :D

Got it in one Dees01!

Horrible night, both sides played dirty though, that's politics mate!

Losing the 87 Prelim with a goal after the siren.

Balmey's sacking, reflected very poorly on the club as a whole (he did have to go though! perhaps in hindsight Pre-season?)

Allen Jakovich's career being stopped in it's prime (only himself to blame though)

Ox's knee in pre-season 95, we were so strong at the end of 94 & without him we missed the finals by 1 game, who knows where we'd be now. He only played 1 and a half matches between the end of 94 & the middle of 97.

Originally posted by Deestroy

1. Watching the Ox destroy his knee and knowing he wouldn't be back for the rest of the season.

URGHHHHHHHHHHHH! :( that was bad. and id say it would be my number one as well.

2- the merger debate

3 - 1997

4 - picking up some real dodgies in the draft (as someone has already mentioned) ie the Cockatoo Collins Brothers. (i can see Che got all the talent in that family :rolleyes: :mad: )

5 - i dunno. ill get back to ya on that one.

I planned to reply to this thread like as soon as I saw it but than I had to leave and I tried to reply this morning at school but stupid piece of crap they call a computer in my school shut down for some unknown reason just as I was about to post so yeah... grrrrrrrrrrr :mad:

Anyways I'm gonna base this only on what I have seen in the last 2 or so years.... so here goes nothing:

1- Jeff Farmer leaving- defenetly the most shocking experience, it was so sad to hear he had to leave and although I was never angry at him because I understood his reasons, I was still devestated by the move and the realisation that we lost a legend and a player who was loved by so many was so horrible. I think the fact that so many people around me were affected personally by it at the time made it even worse.

2- 2000 grand final loss- don't get me wrong I was thrilled to have made it but watching the guy's faces at the end of the game was horrible, it was the first grand final loss I've experiened with Melbourne... well the first final loss actually and so it just made it all the more harder to deal with. Neita's speech brought me to tear as did the Simmonds incident. The whole day turned from exciting and magical to bad and devestating.

3- James McDoland doing his knee- Ok I know that it was nothing in comparison to Oxy's multiple knees but as I said I'm only basing it on what I've seen. So yeah well he was doing so well and to see him do his knee was shocking, especially coz we were going so well and we were a sure thing to make it into the finals where Johnno would have been pretty helpfull etc... I remember going to a live taping of DeeTV and watching this video that Junior and Jamie Shanahan made for the boys just before the finals started and it was so sad the way Junior said how he dreamt of being in a grand final since he was a little boy and watching the team making it from the side lines was never in his plans. So yeah that was really sad and made me realise how quickly someone's dreams can shattered.

4- Behind the scenes- Well the whole board saga wasn't exactly a nice moment, what was worse was all the negative media attention we recieved and Gutnick resiging (well for some that was a good thing but I always supported him and I wasn't very pleased to see him go). I could just see the whole club falling apart and combined with the bad season we were having it was defenetly in my top 5 worse moments or memories if you'd like

5- ok well I couldn't really choose but I guess the whole trading period was pretty stressful, especially because I heard all these rumours about Robbo being traded and the whole Farmer thing, it just made me very nervous for 2 weeks or so and I was glad when it was over.... only good thing about it: Grgic going!! :D :p

Ok well thats about it... don't know much more than that and I hope I don't have much more to add to this list in the future... but I guess great success is measured by the obstacles you have passed along the way to achieving it! :)

I don't rate the 2000 G/F in the worst moments category. i was so pleased to make it and I never expected to win.

i was juuuuust about to say that!! and i totally agree!!
but apart from that, i'd agree with all the others. they'd be in my top 5 aswell.

Okay, the 2000 Grannie was good to be there. I had the losing part as my one of my worst bits.

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
Thought I would make a new thread that will follow on from the reject team. This one is pretty much for everyone this time, so you might enjoy it more.

I am going t owrite down my five worst moments in my time supporting Melbourne. This has to be Melbourne oriented, other moments do not count. They can be anything to do with Melbourne though, but have to be bad moments.

Anyway, here are mine so you can get an idea of what I mean.

1. - Jeff Farmer going back to WA.
Well, what can I say?? The day I jumped on the net and read that I was heartbroken. You know how I feel about it, so that is enough.

2. - David Schwarz doing his knee against Sydney.
Back in the day when he was my fave player, this was huge for me. When he did it first, I was shattered, but he came back on to the scene so damn quick that it didn't really seem to matter. He played against The Magpies and kicked the first goal. All seemed right again. Until the next game when he turned and his knee gave way. At just 14 years of age (maybe 13) I shed a little tear.

3. - Wooden spoon in 1997.
Was hard to endure and brought about some really bad moments. I stuck up for the Dees all year, but it got bloody harder each week. A year I wish to forget.

4. - Melb vs. Hawks, Rd 22 1996.
This was the last game of the year. It was also the year we were going to merge. I went to the game with my mates and it was close throughout. Eventually, we went down by one measley point. My mates to this day reckon I cried a bit, but I didn't. Until I got home. This would have been first if we had of merged.

5. - Grand Final loss 2000
I didn't really think we would win, but it's never good to lose one. I was escited in the first quarter but it died quick. I was disappointed, but happy we made it. But like I said, never a good thing.

Well, there you go. Look forward to seeing some of yours.

1. Merger debacle. Nothing comes close. Just cant believe how the members can vote to cease the club before going through every possible alternative.

2. 1992 - 1997 excluding 1994 (The Balme era) The most depressing and frustrating football you could possibly watch, capped off with the merger crap in 96 and a wooden spoon in 97.

3. Recruting Duds/has-beens like Craig Nettlebeck(in favour of Darren Gaspar), Nick Pesch, David Grant, Andy Goodwin, Wayne Henwood, Craig Turley, Dean Irving and Darren O'Brien and thats just off the top of my head.

4. Jeff Farmers move to Freo only weeks after he promised members on Demon Radio he wouldnt go and that Melbourne was his only home :rolleyes:. Made worse by the fact that if Gutnick was there he probably wouldve stayed - IMO. Couldve been/could be just as damaging as the Carey/North incident.

5. Grand Final loss- 2000. I agree with CFH. We were never expected to win, but we went through most of the year not expecting to win and finished off winning something like 12 out of the last 13 games against every team bar Essendon. Going to the game, I gave us a serious chance and the chance was still there half-way through the 2nd quarter. If we just kept up with them in that 2nd quarter I reckon we wouldve given them a real push in the second half especially with our records in 2nd halves in 2000. Bruce, Green and Simmonds were HUGE losses and Ill probably never forgive Michael Long and Dean Wallis for that day. :mad:

Re: Re: 5 Worst moments....

Originally posted by BIG POPPA PUMP

5. Grand Final loss- 2000. I agree with CFH. We were never expected to win, but we went through most of the year not expecting to win and finished off winning something like 12 out of the last 13 games against every team bar Essendon. Going to the game, I gave us a serious chance and the chance was still there half-way through the 2nd quarter. If we just kept up with them in that 2nd quarter I reckon we wouldve given them a real push in the second half especially with our records in 2nd halves in 2000. Bruce, Green and Simmonds were HUGE losses and Ill probably never forgive Michael Long and Dean Wallis for that day. :mad:
I think that is being a bit optimistic. I knew it was over at quarter time. I agree on the Wallis and Long issue. I still hate them both for what they did.
But I would not change Grand Final Week. The media hype, Grand Final Parade, training. Lining up for 8 hours. All exciting times that we don't experience enough.

Grand Final loss- 2000. I agree with CFH. We were never expected to win, but we went through most of the year not expecting to win and finished off winning something like 12 out of the last 13 games against every team bar Essendon. Going to the game, I gave us a serious chance and the chance was still there half-way through the 2nd quarter. If we just kept up with them in that 2nd quarter I reckon we wouldve given them a real push in the second half especially with our records in 2nd halves in 2000. Bruce, Green and Simmonds were HUGE losses and Ill probably never forgive Michael Long and Dean Wallis for that day. :mad:

I agree 100%. It was a good thing making it, but once we were on the ground everyone had hopes we would win and it was a disapointment that we went down the way we did and lost by such a big margin. Brucey not playing was a real disapointment for me, as you can imagine, and I don't think I will ever forget the close up of Simmond's face as he was lying on the ground. I was really proud of them don't get me wrong, but because of that I was so disapointed and devestated for them.

nah, i'm sorry, i still dis-agree. the fact that we made it was fantastic!!! and i'll never put that in a 'worst' catagory.

Re: Re: Re: 5 Worst moments....

Originally posted by dees*gal

nah, i'm sorry, i still dis-agree. the fact that we made it was fantastic!!! and i'll never put that in a 'worst' catagory.

Yeah we are not saying that making it was bad, but watching us lose it was horrible!
I wrote that the grand final LOSE was one of the worse moments I've had with the club I didn't write that the 2000 grand final was the worse because it was a great day and a great week... but the ending was disapointing and while I'll always remember that day as a good one, watching them lose was just horrible!

I think the downright thrashing we suffered in the 2000 GF was the disheartening bit. And to think, if the Bombers were more accurate in the first quarter, it could have been an even bigger loss. Then that dirty play.

But no, it was good to get there. It was good to see the GF Parade. The media attention got me a bit carried away, though. I even started thinking we were a chance!

I'm not going to state my worst 5 moments. I don't like to dwell on the bad stuff. The past is over. Just forget it and move on.