Free Agent # 6: Joe Daniher (part 1)

DSC_2803.JPG

joe mark football good

Kicked 2 in 34-point loss to Coburg.

Ranked #16 in VFL goalkicking. Has 10 goals from 4 games, named in best on three occasions. 2 games and 10 goals behind the leader.

Not likely to derpbut until Rd 8 - Brisbane @ Etihad (highly unlikely), Rd 12 - GC Suns @ Etihad, Rd 15 - Port Adelaide @ Etihad, Rd 16 - WBD @ Etihad....etc

Even then, perhaps only where injuries occur. Hard to see him breaking in when Hurls, Ryder, Cram, Gumby, Winders, TBC and even Hille are fit.:(

I suppose that it's a good position to be in:thumbsu:

Why would we only debut him against average sides? He's ready when he is.

Of course. But if the others aren't injured, he might not get a look in unless one of the others is rested with a niggle against an average side...

If the others are fit and playing well, even without dominating, and JD kicks two bags of 5 in consecutive weeks, he might be ready, but won't necessarily get a game.

Kicked 2 in 34-point loss to Coburg.

Ranked #16 in VFL goalkicking. Has 10 goals from 4 games, named in best on three occasions. 2 games and 10 goals behind the leader.

Not likely to derpbut until Rd 8 - Brisbane @ Etihad (highly unlikely), Rd 12 - GC Suns @ Etihad, Rd 15 - Port Adelaide @ Etihad, Rd 16 - WBD @ Etihad....etc

Even then, perhaps only where injuries occur. Hard to see him breaking in when Hurls, Ryder, Cram, Gumby, Winders, TBC and even Hille are fit.:(

I suppose that it's a good position to be in:thumbsu:

reckon he's kicked more than 10 behinds as well.

Him and Hogan tracking about the same

Can't wait to see this kid debut. The video footage and word of mouth suggests that this kid is something special. It would be great to see a complete FF in our ranks, we've been neglected of one since the days of Lloyd (due to injuries with Gumbleton).

On a separate but Joe D related note, did any of you lads see Damian Barret on The Sunday Footy Show last weekend? He likened Darren Jolly's experience at Melbourne (young player with skill/promise who didn't get enough game time, which is one of the reasons why he left) to Joe Daniher not getting game time in 2013. #horrendousjournalism #mindblown #douchebag

I missed this, but I'm not impressed by Barrett's work this year. He increasingly thrives on sensationalism rather than news, and seems to be generating 'stories' based on his own suggestions and opinion, which are aired on TV and the AFL website. Bottom line, who the heck cares what you think, Barrett?

If it got to the point where he's consistently performing and kicking goals in the VFL and plays a handful of games in two or three seasons, the point could potentially be made at that stage. To make the suggestion now, when he has not been played in a total of six possible games, is ridiculous. I hope he was shot down by whoever else was on the panel. Anyway, JD's an Essendon man.:thumbsu:

Can't wait to see this kid debut. The video footage and word of mouth suggests that this kid is something special. It would be great to see a complete FF in our ranks, we've been neglected of one since the days of Lloyd (due to injuries with Gumbleton).

i missed that but wow... its round 6... coming off a year where his workload was managed... comparing us to melbourne...

i dont even know where to start.

I missed this, but I'm not impressed by Barrett's work this year. He increasingly thrives on sensationalism rather than news, and seems to be generating 'stories' based on his own suggestions and opinion, which are aired on TV and the AFL website. Bottom line, who the heck cares what you think, Barrett?

If it got to the point where he's consistently performing and kicking goals in the VFL and plays a handful of games in two or three seasons, the point could potentially be made at that stage. To make the suggestion now, when he has not been played in a total of six possible games, is ridiculous. I hope he was shot down by whoever else was on the panel. Anyway, JD's an Essendon man.:thumbsu:

i missed that but wow... its round 6... coming off a year where his workload was managed... comparing us to melbourne...

i dont even know where to start.
Spot on. JD's just a kid who's only officially been in the system for 1 pre-season and 6 VFL games. Couldn't believe what I was hearing. Agree re Barret's sensationalist ways too; I can't believe i'm saying this, but watching Sam Newman on the footy show last week was a ripper; he tore him a new one, and it was definitely warranted.

It would have gone one of two ways;
1. We don't play JD... He's not getting played enough, won't reach his full potential.
2. We play JD... Played too early, will be the next Jack Watts. Won't reach his full potential.

Watch out, Barrett. With this sort of smarts I'm coming for your job.

Spot on. JD's just a kid who's only officially been in the system for 1 pre-season and 6 VFL games. Couldn't believe what I was hearing. Agree re Barret's sensationalist ways too; I can't believe i'm saying this, but watching Sam Newman on the footy show last week was a ripper; he tore him a new one, and it was definitely warranted.

Any footage of Newman ripping into him? Must have missed that

Did Barrett really say that?

For one, we are six games into the season. There are twenty-two games this year.

Aside from the fact the link is completely tenuous and spurious, he's also completely jumping the gun. We're barely over a quarter of the way through the season (and that's without finals), and he's already pushing this angle?

I hope you read this Damian; you're a muppet.