85 to 75- The day..but what happened?

I was there and had also been at the Freo game the week before.
All I remember is the Eagles midfield machine. Ben Cousins. Need for quality tall forward. Siren went. Premiership stolen... sorry, still too painful. :(:p

06. Shit what was I doing. My footy season was over with no finals. I must of actually forgotten averything about that day :D.

I remember a barbeque to watch it at my place. Absolutely shattered....what happened? Glenelg lost to South (got pantsed) and missed out on their first finals birth since 92 to add to the day.

Haven't watched it since.

Best mate is a cocky West Coast supporter, we nearly came to blows.

When Biglands went down with his knee, people around us were saying how "it won't matter, because Hudson will be back for the Grand Final next week". I knew that'd come back to us in the arse.

Basically, it was one of the best midfields ever playing against one of the more mediocre midfields. We weren't really going to win it. Not without a fit Ricciuto, Burton and McLeod.

2005 was the year - coming off 10 straight, we had to beat St Kilda at home in that first final and we play a Prelim against Sydney, our whipping boys.

It was the day Van Berlo found out there was another level when he couldn't keep up with RoboCousins

/ thread

Seriously, it still hurts.....

I also remember that bounce which resulted in a key goal late in the game.

But, as others have said. We were very brave in that game and the football gods were against us at all the critical times late in 05 & 06.

Horrible... just Horrible. Two years in a row lost to the weagles in a final...

I nearly had a car accident the first time it happened...

Gutting was an understatement.

Just got outrun in the second half. Couldn't keep up.

I would've gone and sat in one of those gaps under the stairs that lead down onto the concourse if they weren't all full.

The bus on the way home was dead quiet. Not one word spoken. Went and got Subway - ate that and went to bed.

Reckon I was sitting on the bed going over every piece of play for about 4 hours. Especially the bit where we were 4 points down with 30 seconds or so to go - Goodwin free and charging towards the 50, ready to deliver to Bock who already had his opponent beaten on the lead.

Then that maggot just shattered everyone with that shrill, piercing sound of the whistle.

That was a shit call. Sure, Tyson got the guy a bit high, but we had all the momentum, were making a massive comeback, the crowd was going nuts. Less than a goal down with only a few seconds left on the clock. Goody breaks free and Bocky's leading... ******** umpire calls the free (and late, might I add) and ruins the game. It was the kind of free they'd let go all day too.

It would have been epic. Bock lining up for goal from 40 on a slight angle with the game in the balance. Winner takes all. But no, it wasn't to be. The umpire decides to make the day about himself and make a massive call at a massive moment.

Shattered. My old man almost got in a punchup with some other crows fan on the walk to the car (Dad's not a violent bloke either) - had to drag the guy off him. Everybody was just pissed off as hell.

Hell of a game, but a very, very shit end.

Alsocousinswasondrugshowthe****didheburnoffvanberlosoeasilythatwas****edstillcan'tunderstandit

Still hate West Coast for that one. Can't stand losing to them. We deserved at least a grand final appearance in 05/06. ****in Sydney lucked out so badly.

****ing Parvovirus.

2005 was the year - coming off 10 straight, we had to beat St Kilda at home in that first final and we play a Prelim against Sydney, our whipping boys.

'05 is still my nightmare - Friday night match, screaming down after work from Whyalla in the rain and almost missing the start, Roo on suspension and Thompson giving away frees trying to replace him, some new noname (was it Gram or Gwilt? yeah - Gwilt) carving us up and Harvey leaning on his knees as if half dead, then exploding into murderous linking action again and again.
Loose by 8 points, wrong half of the finals draw, smashing Port is almost incidental (I was there and hardly even remember it) then WCE at Subi instead of Sydney at Footy Park or Melbourne. The end.
That's still my nightmare.

Let's not please.

Most painful football experience i've ever experienced after such an epic win against freo two weeks before. Also by recollection the crowd was the loudest its ever been at that Freo game yet it was a smaller than usual finals crowd considering the amount of supporters we had on the bandwagon.

'05 is still my nightmare - Friday night match, screaming down after work from Whyalla in the rain and almost missing the start, Roo on suspension and Thompson giving away frees trying to replace him, some new noname (was it Gram or Gwilt? yeah - Gwilt) carving us up and Harvey leaning on his knees as if half dead, then exploding into murderous linking action again and again.
Loose by 8 points, wrong half of the finals draw, smashing Port is almost incidental (I was there and hardly even remember it) then WCE at Subi instead of Sydney at Footy Park or Melbourne. The end.
That's still my nightmare.

Now that one I remember clearly! :D

This thread makes me want to cry big boy tears.

Was in Rome at the time, probably lucky I didn't see it, Dad kept getting the updates on his mobile, I just kept thinking that it was too good to be true when we were up in the first half, then disaster struck and all the bad reports start coming up, just the worse.

As Dandy noted earlier why the **** did Ricciuto have to get ****ing parvo virus, I'd never even heard of it before that year, never heard of anyone getting it again, now I'll never forget it!

And whilst we're there, ****ing Thomas!

What did we do to the footy gods that year really? Parvo virus, Hentschel's knee, Burton getting injured, Macca's Bursitis, Biglands' knee, a super human Cousins, just what did we do to deserve that?

let me tell you - this day had nothing on 18 September, 1993.

Amen to that. Easily my worst and I was at both that game and the West Coast game.

Things were against us in the WC game with Biglands going down and the other injuries.

The Essendon game we were 7 goals clear at half time and just lost the plot.

Collingwood prelim in 03 was shit also.. drove over Friday night, went to game, cloke hit Edwards, we lost, drove home again.