Southampton,Victory,Storm
Hi guys,

I'm looking to get back into footy after a long absence (over 10 years) and just wanted to ask a few questions.

As somebody who went through his whole junior career in the WRFL I want to know about the structure of the amateurs.

From what I can see you've got A, B, C, D1, D2, D3, D4 and clubbies.

How much difference is there between the divisions?

Don't worry about the top divisions, more the comparison between the various D grades (and lower). And the comparisons between seniors and reserves too.

I've got a mate who lives in St Kilda who's keen to play so it would probably make sense to play at one of the teams who base themselves at Albert Park or somewhere relatively close to St Kilda.

Also, what's the likelihood of turning up in late February and getting a game?

I know the point of pre-seasons are to get into shape but me and him are probably starting a bit behind everybody else and need to do a bit of training on our own I think.

Anyway that pretty much covers it. My other option is just to play with one of the local division two WRFL teams but I thought I'd investigate other possibilities. If you've got any other information you think I should know that would be great.

I dont know anything about the Victorian grades so looks like someone else will have to answer that but I did take around 5 years off football and went back(when I was 22) so I have some pointers regarding that.

Join Pre-Season as early as possibly
Your going to need to get to know your team if you want to be playing and almost everyone is at different levels with regards to pre-season. Some guys may workout in the off-season and some wont do anything so I would get down as soon as possible. Most of the amateur leagues here in WA start in January.

Try and Do Some Contested Work in Your Preseason Training
Most pre-seasons are all about running fitness with a little skill work(or so I have found at my 3 different clubs). In my first pre-season back, I did an incredible amount of running and skill work and felt like I was really fit. First pre-season game and the first contested ball I ran for I tore my hamstring. You will always put in the extra effort over training when working for contested situations so make sure you do at least a little.

Do It With Your Mate
Will always be more enjoyable with a friend and someone to help you through it. Maybe grab a ball and just go down the park and get used to handling the ball again.

Good luck mate. Hope it turns out well for you

The fitness aspect you mentioned didn't occur to me but you're right. You always hear footy players talking about how fit they are but how it's no substitute for actual match fitness.

I'm playing indoor footy at the moment and it's made me realise how much I want to play proper footy again. And it's getting to the stage where if I don't play now I never will.

Thanks. :thumbsu:

The fitness aspect you mentioned didn't occur to me but you're right. You always hear footy players talking about how fit they are but how it's no substitute for actual match fitness.

I'm playing indoor footy at the moment and it's made me realise how much I want to play proper footy again. And it's getting to the stage where if I don't play now I never will.

Thanks. :thumbsu:

South Melbourne Districts train and play in Albert Park. Where in D1 and its competitve without setting the world on fire. We are located at Oval 11 and we are always welcoming new faces down to the club. We are training Monday and Wednesdays up until christmas. Alot of running at the moment but alot of ball work too. Our coach was an ex Brisbane Bears player back in the day. Vry knowledgeable and a great bloke as well.

Albert Park FC would be a good fit just got promoted to D3 (Oval 20) good team on the way up. Training every Wednesday at the moment. A few ex wrfl boys in the team

www.albertparkfc.com.au

Thanks for the responses.

My mate can't play until February and I'm horribly out of fitness at the moment so we've decided to spend the next couple of months getting fit and will make a final decision early Feb.

I do have to say the three clubs mentioned above sound like a pretty good bet to be honest. The location is great and I was impressed with what they had to say on their websites.

I might ask for a bit more info next month. :thumbsu:

Hi guys,

I'm looking to get back into footy after a long absence (over 10 years) and just wanted to ask a few questions.

As somebody who went through his whole junior career in the WRFL I want to know about the structure of the amateurs.

From what I can see you've got A, B, C, D1, D2, D3, D4 and clubbies.

How much difference is there between the divisions?

Don't worry about the top divisions, more the comparison between the various D grades (and lower). And the comparisons between seniors and reserves too.

I've got a mate who lives in St Kilda who's keen to play so it would probably make sense to play at one of the teams who base themselves at Albert Park or somewhere relatively close to St Kilda.

Also, what's the likelihood of turning up in late February and getting a game?

I know the point of pre-seasons are to get into shape but me and him are probably starting a bit behind everybody else and need to do a bit of training on our own I think.

Anyway that pretty much covers it. My other option is just to play with one of the local division two WRFL teams but I thought I'd investigate other possibilities. If you've got any other information you think I should know that would be great.

So you rate yourself but can't be arsed training. Try Albert Park, powerhouse or South Districts.

If you can train (ie. play) try Collegians or Old Melbournians within Albert Park. A section footy that is miles above this other shyte.

And if you really can play, go and make your fortune at St Killda City or the Port Colt's.

Plenty of options mate, I recommend Elsternwick FC as a good honest footy club where a bloke of your calibre should rack up 30 posetions every week.

I'm not sure why you got the impression that I rate myself but don't want to train. :confused:

I haven't played for so long that I just wanted to get fit on my own so I wasn't completely useless when I turned up.

Any club that welcomes new players and has a good atmopshere would be fine by me.

G'day in a similar position as Sainter. Broke my ankle playing last year and getting back to training. I'm currently doing preseason training with Balwyn but still feel i'm the third worse player on the list behind the two Indian blokes they are training with us. Come from the Eastern suburbs just wondering if theirs any ammo clubs with low numbers that are looking for players. I want to play footy and get game time don't feel i'll get that chance at Balwyn this year.

I'm not sure why you got the impression that I rate myself but don't want to train. :confused:

I haven't played for so long that I just wanted to get fit on my own so I wasn't completely useless when I turned up.

Any club that welcomes new players and has a good atmopshere would be fine by me.

Honestly mate, you should get to pre-season with a new club asap.
Meet the blokes and its easier to train with others than it is on your own, at D1 or D3 your not going to be "useless" there will be plenty down there in the same boat fitness wise.

Several to choose from in the area of Balwyn. Swinburne D4 , St Leo's D2, Old Camberwell C, St Mary's Salesian D2 ,all good clubs.Check out their web sites.

G'day in a similar position as Sainter. Broke my ankle playing last year and getting back to training. I'm currently doing preseason training with Balwyn but still feel i'm the third worse player on the list behind the two Indian blokes they are training with us. Come from the Eastern suburbs just wondering if theirs any ammo clubs with low numbers that are looking for players. I want to play footy and get game time don't feel i'll get that chance at Balwyn this year.

Come try the Manningham Cobras - 5 minutes or so across from Balwyn, great ground (no ankle breaker!) & a club that is going to be heading places this year. We'll start pre-season in mid January - so you won't be too far behind. If you're mad keen, there are blokes running around Princes park every Wednesday...

Cheers mate what were the numbers like last year?? currently working on reconstructing my kick as well trying to get the up and under kicks out of my game.

The numbers were pretty good compared to the last few years - we only played short on the bench in the magoos once or twice.

Historically we've been a team of dwarves, so if you're a 'big fella' you'll go just fine! Most importantly it's a good club..

The numbers were pretty good compared to the last few years - we only played short on the bench in the magoos once or twice.

Historically we've been a team of dwarves, so if you're a 'big fella' you'll go just fine! Most importantly it's a good club..

Dwarf mate look into it though