bushie

10k Posts
Sowfs
1.) Spud Murphy is a gun at FF. Great lead, good hands and a tremendous kick. Has been wasted in the back half for far too long. Put him in the goal square Chris and bloody well leave him there.

2.) McPharlin is and always has been our best option at CHB. Put him there Chris and bloody well leave him there as well. ( Nice mark today eh!!)

3.) Medhurst has forgotten how to play... Seeya Paul...enjoy your new club.

4.) At the risk of sounding like Pav for AA....Mundy is the classiest kid running around in any club today....Yep Mundy>>>>Deledio.

5.) I just love belting the blues:)

TP3_Freo said:
18 points is not a belting.....but i agree with you on points 1,2 and 4

No, we definitely took the foot off the pedal, but I'll take that win. We rested a few in the last quarter. Big month coming up, so we don't want injuries coming in the latter stages of the game.

Big injuries to Melbourne today (Pickett and Davey).

hoss said:
No, we definitely took the foot off the pedal, but I'll take that win. We rested a few in the last quarter. Big month coming up, so we don't want injuries coming in the latter stages of the game.

Quality teams don't let a 47 point lead slip so late in the game. I believe we are a quality team but we have got to run out matches better than we do. I'll also take whatever will help us get to the finals, but what happens if we are in the same situation against the eagles in a few rounds time, only this time there is an extra few minutes to play, a good team would overrun us. You've got to shutdown the scoreboard completely.

hoss said:

Exactly. I reckon they have been putting in some work on the track so as to be fully up for the last few games and running into the finals.

Ripper said:
Exactly. I reckon they have been putting in some work on the track so as to be fully up for the last few games and running into the finals.

Rip, did you see the faces of Shauny Mac and co as they were walking off the ground??

They were filthy on their effort.

I reckon they went to sleep more than took the foot off.

Some of them actually looked tired, especially Peake late in the contest, didn't chase and was being run down by players who he would normally glide away from.

I am hoping we don't need to rely on percentage again to make the finals. We are 2 games clear now in 8th so 2 more wins and we are home (I would prefer more though:thumbsu: )

bushie said:
Rip, did you see the faces of Shauny Mac and co as they were walking off the ground??

That's good in a way. They will feel like they "lost" the game and should come out fired up next week.

Terrible shooting for goal today and we still got away with the 4 points.

Things are falling our way.

How about nostradamus CC's prediction on thursday?

"There will be lots of upsets this weekend and our job is to make sure we are not one of them".

Right up there with the "don't go and do the gardening if we are behind at 3/4 time" one.

TP3_Freo said:
Quality teams don't let a 47 point lead slip so late in the game. I believe we are a quality team but we have got to run out matches better than we do. I'll also take whatever will help us get to the finals, but what happens if we are in the same situation against the eagles in a few rounds time, only this time there is an extra few minutes to play, a good team would overrun us. You've got to shutdown the scoreboard completely.

Should think about how you got to being 48 points was only the final quater which slipped away so its not too bad

I think it was Michael Voss earlier in the season said that the Dome surface was the worst to play on.Said that come the final quarter the legs were gone and took a week or so to get over it.Even the commentators said that the surface was not good and that visiting clubs who play there only a couple of time ayear suffer.
I was not happy witht he last quarter but we won.
I saw the look on Shauns face and he was not a happy camper let me tell you.I don't think it will but could cost us a place in the eight.

bushie said:
2.) McPharlin is and always has been our best option at CHB. Put him there Chris and bloody well leave him there as well. ( Nice mark today eh!!)

So, assuming that at some stage Grover, Haddril and Thornton are one day all fit, and that Polak one day finds form, where do all the tall backmen play? Makes sense to me to try one of them up forward, and the better mark they are the more likely to succeed in the forward line. Fair call to try MacPharlin up there, and I would hope that he'll have a run there in the future, especially as a game breaking shock tactic if match-ups allow.

I can see old man Parks fading into the distance once Grover and Thornton are back.
I like the way we have been structuring up with Spud up forward.
He leads straight and forces the guys to look up instead of sideways.
and if McPharlin can play CHB, Mundy and Johnno on the flanks, Grover Full Back with Thornton and Hayden in the pockets we begin to look really solid.

Lach72 said:
I can see old man Parks fading into the distance once Grover and Thornton are back.
I like the way we have been structuring up with Spud up forward.
He leads straight and forces the guys to look up instead of sideways.
and if McHarlin can play CHB, Mundy and Johnno on the flanks, Grover Full Back with Thornton and Hayden in th pockets we begin to look really solid.

The way Hayden weaves through packs makes me think he might do alright in the middle and actually help get our clearances up a bit! Or is he too small and light?

theGav56 said:
So, assuming that at some stage Grover, Haddril and Thornton are one day all fit, and that Polak one day finds form, where do all the tall backmen play? Makes sense to me to try one of them up forward, and the better mark they are the more likely to succeed in the forward line. Fair call to try MacPharlin up there, and I would hope that he'll have a run there in the future, especially as a game breaking shock tactic if match-ups allow.

Gav all your points are valid and if all those guys are fit at the same time the match committee will have an embarrassment of riches to pick from. Form, match ups and injuries in the forward line will then dictate selection.
In saying that we are developing a very potent forward line with Spud looking the goods and Pavs obvious class. If JLo is fit he drifts forward nicely and we are starting to gat a few midfielders kicking goals.
Out of the four players mentioned, McP is the obvious choice to go forward but IMO he seems much more at home down back where he reads the play a hell of a lot better and can rely on his instinctive kicking skills instead having to rely on his somewhat shaky set shot at goal technique.
Lets hope it happens, because with a full strength squad and a bit of confidence and consistency we are a very, very dangerous team.

stylor said:
The way Hayden weaves through packs makes me think he might do alright in the middle and actually help get our clearances up a bit! Or is he too small and light?

If you compare his current size to his bulk in 03, he's put on a few kilos on, his shoulders look broader and his limbs look a little more developed, and it doesn't seem to have detracted from his agility and speed. In an interview with the worst he said he wouldn't mind helping out in the midfield, so maybe when we got a few more backline players in that could be an option.

Lach72 said:

I have a suspicion that Parks will via sign language, retire at the end of the season. No big fanfare and I doubt a press conference, just quietly clean out his locker.

A good player knows when it is time to go, Parks has really been solid the last month or so, but he can now see some players who "might" be able to cover his duties for 2007 onwards.

masai said:
I have a suspicion that Parks will via sign language, retire at the end of the season. No big fanfare and I doubt a press conference, just quietly clean out his locker.

A good player knows when it is time to go, Parks has really been solid the last month or so, but he can now see some players who "might" be able to cover his duties for 2007 onwards.

If we can keep Schofield as a backup player surely we can keep Parker for the same purpose (ie. if he wants to) for a year. CC is pushing to have him included in the AA. Shows how much regard and or respect he (cc) has for him.
I'd like an honest opinion from some of his opponents what they think about his game.

Next year we (FFC) should take another step toward winning more games having Parker around can only be a good thing.
Considering I dont know the guy but am aware of his scholistic credentials and achievements as well hearing him speak during interviews he is nobody's fool. For his own goals and the Club's aspirations one more year IMO, would be a good thing.

bushie said:

A mate at work said he heard on the radio that the boys were so dissapointed with their last quarter effort that they didn't want to sing the song at the end. I don't know if this is true but if it is I think it's a very good sign. They know they need to play four quarters of good footy and when they don't they aren't just thinking "oh well atleast we won". I think the club is no longer happy with winning 2 or 3 quarters of footy and hopefully they can really finish games off from here on in.