A long cold winter awaits.

Tigerheart

A. Whoever thought we could cope with 9 talls is a bad gambler.
Next week we'll field a team with 4 talls.
Otto, Hall, Andy and Gas.

B. Clinton King is an idiot.

C. We were slaughtered at ground level, forget the injured talls. Richo would have caught a cold today. Holland was geting bathed,,,the injury made his game look better.

D. Our mids are a hoax. Where was Bowden ????

E. Rodan is going to be a very good player.

F. Right now I'll be relieved if we scrape into 8th.
:mad: :mad: :mad:

G. Other than that we're a top 4 team :D

Originally posted by Tigerheart
A. Whoever thought we could cope with 9 talls is a bad gambler.
Next week we'll field a team with 4 talls.
Otto, Hall, Andy and Gas.

B. Clinton King is an idiot.

C. We were slaughtered at ground level, forget the injured talls. Richo would have caught a cold today. Holland was geting bathed,,,the injury made his game look better.

D. Our mids are a hoax. Where was Bowden ????

E. Rodan is going to be a very good player.

F. Right now I'll be relieved if we scrape into 8th.
:mad: :mad: :mad:

G. Other than that we're a top 4 team :D
make sure you dont hurt yaself jumping off the bandwagon TH.:rolleyes:
sure we are down to 4 talls maybe 5 if richo comesback.with richo back it will make a huge difference.
sure kings foot skills are not upto afl standard but you think the club didnt know this when they recruited him? his job is in and under i can think of a few players whos,s footskills are 100 times better but 100 times worse when it comes to the crunch ball.

granted holland was getting towelled he needed to play in front simple as that.

tell us somethin we dont know about our midfeild.

rodan will be a good player for us no doubt about that.

my thoughts
*krakour needs to go back to coburg for pure game time.just remeber he,s only a cub but with skill.
*please danny play fiora in the middle we need someoen who can break open play.
*rogers and tivendale are both out of form.
*im convinced cameron,s knee is far worse than the club is telling us.
overall a bad day apart from the 1st qtr we we simply outplayed.
cheers!

Of course I disagree with most of that TH! :p

We have too look at how we cover Hawthorns forwards and rucks which we should be able to manage quite well. As well as the 4 talls you've mentioned, add in Ty Zantuck as well - he is only slightly shorter than Kellaway and Gaspar and can defend against a 3rd tall as well as a small.

What we are going to have to learn to do is play small up forward until the return of Richo. We are not going to have to rely on the big contested mark to win the game for us. What we have to do is concentrate numbers across half foward and score while moving into goal.

All we need is a bit of lateral thinking!

Clinton King didn't have too bad a game. He did kick out on the full twice - if the game had've been played in Melbourne, at least one of those would have been a free kick to him.

We were beaten in the centre clearances - again - this week. But did you notice that we did win these in the last quarter once the centre 4 had Coughlan, Poyas and Rodan in there.

Bowden was OK in the first half but had to be sent back to play as a key defensive player in the second half. Bad move. If anything, Kellaway must be kept up back while Bowden should be made play as a key forward. Poor coaching.

Rodan is an absolute gun! Surely must be close to a Rising Star nomination!

Do not forget that Essendon play their conventional football with only the single genuine tall forward. (Admittedly a very good one!) It is no surprise that Sheedy is also effective at lateral thinking.

Re: Re: A long cold winter awaits.

Originally posted by tiger of old

my thoughts
*krakour needs to go back to coburg for pure game time.just remeber he,s only a cub but with skill.
*please danny play fiora in the middle we need someoen who can break open play.
*rogers and tivendale are both out of form.
*im convinced cameron,s knee is far worse than the club is telling us.

Correct with Krakouer. He is there as an opportunist forward - without big players around him, he is of limited value. In the future he will move into the midfield but he isn't big enough for that yet.

Fiora into the middle and Campbell (where was he in the second half?) to half back. While you are at it Danny, send Chaffey in to middle too!

Rogers will have to play as a permanent forward for the next few weeks. Tivendale needs to be told to take a shot under every circumstance if he is clear within 60m of goal.

As with Rogers, Knights and Cameron should all play as permanent half forwards (see my point above) where they can use there not inconsiderable football brains to bamboozle opposition.

Originally posted by CJH
Of course I disagree with most of that TH! :p

We have too look at how we cover Hawthorns forwards and rucks which we should be able to manage quite well. As well as the 4 talls you've mentioned, add in Ty Zantuck as well - he is only slightly shorter than Kellaway and Gaspar and can defend against a 3rd tall as well as a small.

What we are going to have to learn to do is play small up forward until the return of Richo. We are not going to have to rely on the big contested mark to win the game for us. What we have to do is concentrate numbers across half foward and score while moving into goal.

All we need is a bit of lateral thinking!

Clinton King didn't have too bad a game. He did kick out on the full twice - if the game had've been played in Melbourne, at least one of those would have been a free kick to him.

We were beaten in the centre clearances - again - this week. But did you notice that we did win these in the last quarter once the centre 4 had Coughlan, Poyas and Rodan in there.

Bowden was OK in the first half but had to be sent back to play as a key defensive player in the second half. Bad move. If anything, Kellaway must be kept up back while Bowden should be made play as a key forward. Poor coaching.

Rodan is an absolute gun! Surely must be close to a Rising Star nomination!

Do not forget that Essendon play their conventional football with only the single genuine tall forward. (Admittedly a very good one!) It is no surprise that Sheedy is also effective at lateral thinking.
good point chris on the last bit about lateral thinking and the way essendon do it effectively.
cheers!

Notes that I took while watching today’s game for those that were unable to see or hear any of it.

1St Qtr

* Scrambly start, Freo controlling the ball early and kick the first 2 goals into a 2-3 goal wind.

* Ottens kicks 2 goals from lace out passes from strong leads straight up the ground (why can’t Richo do this)?

* Bowden has 11 possessions but makes makes 4 or 5 skill errors which cause turnovers (T/O’s)

* Gaspar & Croad having a good dual with the points even at this stage

* Leigh Brown is on top of Andrew Kellaway

Richmond by 19 points at qtr time.

Best Players for the qtr:
Torney, Chaffey, Rodan, Poyas, Ottens & Zantuck

Goals: Ottens 2, Rodan, Poyas, Knights.

2nd Qtr

* Zantuck & King’s disposal bad early.

* Freo kicks 2 early goals with the wind through Cunningham & Grover

* Freo in contol early in the qtr getting center clearances (sound familiar)?

* Poyas kicks a goal after an awful T/O by Freo. Strong leg shown by Poyas as his set shot was from 50 into the wind and made it comfortably.

* J Lo goals from a free kick given after Ben Holland applies a sleeper hold in the marking contest. What is he thinking?

* Freo much harder at the ball (T. Cook, P. Bell etc) and look like they want it more.

* Cameron doesn’t look fit.

* Poyas takes a strong mark and slices the ball 45 metres into the wind across the ground to find Knights for a goal. Great kick by Poyas.

* Another Freo clearance – this time via a center square infringement results in a goal.

* Coughlan starting to get a few touches and throw himself into the packs.

* Freo by 5 points at halftime.

Houlihan, Poyas (limited opportunities), Fiora & Knights

Goals: Poyas, Knights.

3rd Qtr

* T Lo kicks 2 goals from Clinton King errors – 1 via a kick out of bounds on the full, the 2nd from a high tackle.

* Campbell pulls one back with a snap after a clever handball from Houlihan – Freo by 11.

* Campbell receives a free kick from resultant center bounce, Croad gives away a 50 metre penalty and Campbell sneaks it home form the set shot.

* Disposal shocking.

* Freo goal to Bell after a desperate scramble forward, Freo going like winners at this stage.

* No forwards to speak of for Richmond. Poyas taken from the ground?

* Gaspar moved to Full Forward.

* Holland is finally getting called for infringing in marking duals and it costs another goal (that’s 2 today).

* Poor T/O from Coughlan – goal to Croad.

* Richmond have stopped running, Farmer lets them off the hook missing running into the open goal.

* Croad outmarks A.K for another goal.

* Holland is hurt looks like his knee. Dale Weightman is interviewed at ¾ time and says it looks like his season is over.

* Farmer goals – we’re screwed.

* Main objective now should be to limit the scoreboard damage to less than 50 points if possible.

* Freo by 39 points at ¾ time.

Tivendale, Chaffey, Cameron, King, Campbell

Goals: Campbell 2

4th qtr

* Great forceful persistent play by Rodan results in a goal to Poyas to start the qtr.

* Croad snaps one out of his arse to finish it.

* Leon Cameron misses an easy one – his kicking has really gone off the last couple of weeks.

* Another T/O from Coughlan – he needs to brush up in this dept.

* Haselby goal – it’s turning into a thumping.

* Goal to Houlihan from a nice piece of play from Coughlan.

* Coughlan, Rodan & Poyas combine out of the middle for a center clearance, I hope we will be saying this for years to come.

* Bad T/O from Fiora after a great mark costs another goal. It is officially a massacre.

* Whoever our helicopter kicking skills coach is; he’s doing a wonderful job!!

* Freo wins by 66 points.

Tivendale, Rogers, Bowden, Fiora

Goals: Poyas, Houlihan

Overall a very ordinary display today but well played by Fremantle, they got a sniff early and didn’t let go all day. Going into this one I knew it was going to be a danger game, infact I picked Freo in my work tips but changed back to Richmond at 4.10pm on Friday arvo to show some loyalty.

I see that Coburg won today so I hope Homewood (God help us) played well as we will need a replacement for Holland. Krakouer needs a spell with Coburg and we need D.K back. Hurry up Richo & Stafford we need you back in a hurry.

I didn't jump off the bandwagon Tiger Of Old (I WAS PUSHED)
But I don't predict us winning a game with 4-5 talls unless our opposition also have that problem...we may not recover.
That is a tragedy, given our list. Modern footy demands 12 talls in the 40.

Rodan will win a Brownlow.

poyas is awesome and so is his pal, Fiora. Coughlan, Krakeour and Zantuck are also looking good.

I was too tough on King but when the game was still in the balance his 2 mistakes (costing goals in a minute) ended our grasp on the contest. He's not a kid anymore.

Diggler is right...some of our seniors go missing when the heat is on. but they look great when we're winning.

We cannot afford to miss the finals this year.
Homewood is injured for the next 2 months OMH.

Originally posted by Tigerheart
poyas is awesome and so is his pal, Fiora. Coughlan, Krakeour and Zantuck are also looking good.
Krakouer has gone off the boil. Sit him down for a while and bring Pettifer back for a run. Hopefully he played well for Coburg today.

Thanks for the news on Homewood. i forgot about that.

Hasnt our club heard of a honourable loss? When was the last time we lost a close game. I think we have serious problems, because when we seem to be in trouble, we capitulate.
I can cop a close loss, but 11 goals against the shockers. Its a disgrace and some serious questions should be asked of our leaders at our club eg senior players. Why do we always get flogged when we loose.
I agree with with Clinton King. He an is ok player who gets alot of the ball. However his physique and kicking is a disgrace for an AFL player. His type will never win us a flag. Why was he rejected by two clubs, before he played for us?
Rodgers has got to go. Has absolutely no influence on a game and is keeping a young guy out of the side.
Who was on McManus, who is a dud. Was it Knights. Whoever played on him should have a good hard look at himself.
I'm sick of getting flogged and it hurts our percentage.

Thanks for the summary OMH, as I haven't seen the game yet it was a very good reason why I shouldn't bother!!!

I saw this happening, I told a few people that I wasn't confident about this week, dont underestimate Freo they are a decent team and we well, at the moment are a disgrace!

Our skill level is one of the worst in the AFL, and we dont have a plan B, C or D! If plan A doesn't work then we are rooted!

I can see us scraping into the eight this year, Im not jumping off, i'll still go to every game and support the boys but Im a realist and I know when something is not good enough, and we my friends are not!

Just something, we need to play the kids, simple as that, they are very good, the likes of Coughlan, Fiora, Rodan, Mills, Newman, Zantuck, Hall, PETTIFER, and Poyas should be the make up of our side (injuries not counting) for the rest of the season.

Overall, not happy and I haven't even seen the game yet, so my anger will only get worst, but there is light at the end of the tunnell, they are our kids!

Expect the Unexceptional

Because having low expectations will postpone the heart- acke they re going to give us the rest of the year.

Im sitting there looking at the masacre unfold before my eyes, and I just can t work out How this trick is being done. So Freo gave us a slightly slower less tornado like run through of the Essendon thing, against a Richmond team who also helped out by never getting in the way, thoughtfully making it a lot easier to see what the Dockers were up to. Tactics are awfully hard to workout watching a TV game, but I suspect people seeing the Croads & Longmuirs mark in space are missing a heap of the picture. Richmond were out of position , too slow, and getting beaten to the ball. I then wasted time sitting there for four quarters seeing this sentence acted out repeatedly.

Like the Tigers of Old, the centimetre perfect recreation of football in the '60s. i.e., bomb it in any old how to that tall guy up front.
This is plan "A",and when this wasn t working the coaching brainstrust put their heads together and came up with a new trump card plan "A".
After some further pummelling, when Freo was disappearing into the horizon like a speeding comet, the coaching department called all the players together and announced their latest brainstorm, look guys we ve been busy nutting this one out and we ve got it right this time, its plan "A".
They then yelled " Woo Hoo" a few times, shook hands all round and settled in to watch the rest of the masacre.

The point being, that after playing one game that made it thuddingly obvious, you could have a "Plugger of Old" in the goal square for you and it means absolutely nothing if "Plugger" gets to stand there for the whole day watching the ball disappear down the other end. Its a game of center breaks and moving the ball through the mid field in numbers, and those that wont or cant play this game might as well hang out in the nose bleed seats come finals time.

Actions speak louder than words, and haven t we been hearing a lot of words lately.
May be we should rework the Tag from another clubs catchy slogan
"We have people who can t play football "