Fulham FC, Real Madrid
So 8 years into Dimma's reign and we are seeing a team that has plateaued, and not become the all dominant team that we looked circa 2014-15.
while we have stopped bringing in average recycled players to add depth to the squad while the kids developed, the development of said kids have not improved to the extent that it was worth it. we have garnered 3 finals appearances, for 3 losses, and had journos applauding our play and list just 2 years ago.
Now, the same journalists are gleefully planting daggers into our slide down the table.

a horrible 2016 with a horrible game plan has been replaced with a more attacking style that is less reliant on precise kicking, and reliant on precise handballing, speed and kicking long into a forward line that is patrolled by small forwards, jack and an under developed tall forward.
When you look at where failures have occurred over the years, it is a complete lack of desire from the club to draft big bodied key position players. We are reliant on Jack kicking our goals and Rance stopping them. Astbury hasn't improved much in the last few years, and still looks slow and dodgy with and without pressure. Griff has only taken apart 1 game in the last 3 years, and has now started getting the dreaded concussion issues that destroy careers. We have been left with an underused Elton, and (rookie listed) raw Chol and Moore in the forward line and a raw Garthwaite in defence. we have no one else to come in if we have any further injuries. and none of these players are bash and crash forwards/defenders that are needed in the modern game.

in my opinion, Dimma has done an admirable job in making Richmond relevant again, but hard decisions need to be made, and he has taken the club as far as he can go. This year (unless he makes the prelim or further) needs to be his last. Coaches should get 5-7 years to rebuild a club, and then there needs to be significant strides to winning a premiership - if not, then a rebuild is needed, but that coach shouldnt see it through. If they do - ala Matthews, Clarkson, and they build a list that wins a premiership/s and a rebuild is needed, they get the chance to rebuild again. Dimma has not earned that chance to plan another rebuild.

Big clubs make big decisions, and no-one is bigger than the club. The next 2 years will see us falter back to where we were, or push forward to where we should be. I think that this is the year that Dimma needs to be moved on for a fresh coach, with new ideas, a fresh energy and a strong recruitment policy.

Good luck with this thread.
before it's either hijacked or locked, I think we should have bitten the bullet at the end of last year, even earlier.
But he is contracted for next year as well, which says a lot about the people who made that stupid decision.

After hearing that new Hawthorn CEO chick the other week, I wouldn't mind betting a huge falling out between her and Clarkson. She comes across as having a massive ego, and we all know Clarkson is his own man. Can see a bit of friction happening there.

Bet Cwood are looking at that situation very closely, while we're looking at giving a Hardwick a 3 year extension. :D

Lets not stuff about, he would have been sacked last year if it wasn't for our inept board. He will be sacked at the end of this year unless we can pull off a miracle. Too bad it is far too late.

It's very difficult to see a situation where he isn't senior coach at round 1 next year. If things get really, really bad this year the only way a move would be made is if he lost the players and that seems unlikely.

Okay, all bullshit aside, I said I would reserve judgement until the 8 week mark. It's a conundrum. Personally I blame the inconsistency within the umpiring dept for the last two losses (continual change in philosophy and rule of the week focus with a mixture of assumption on what they think occurred) and Dimma can't do **** all with 20 seconds to go. That's a leadership issue at the time in the heat of battle. But, this is the catch, I also have that feeling deep down in my gut that he has coached to his limit. I said the same thing three years ago as I am saying now. So, have i been wrong all this time? Why do i keep thinking this? He is 6 points off being 6-1. 6 points, yet here we are debating whether he is the man to go forward.
My gut and heart says he has to go, yet the head says give it another month, we will well and truly know by then.

Okay, all bullshit aside, I said I would reserve judgement until the 8 week mark. It's a conundrum. Personally I blame the inconsistency within the umpiring dept for the last two losses (continual change in philosophy and rule of the week focus with a mixture of assumption on what they think occurred) and Dimma can't do **** all with 20 seconds to go. That's a leadership issue at the time in the heat of battle. But, this is the catch, I also have that feeling deep down in my gut that he has coached to his limit. I said the same thing three years ago as I am saying now. So, have i been wrong all this time? Why do i keep thinking this? He is 6 points off being 6-1. 6 points, yet here we are debating whether he is the man to go forward.
My gut and heart says he has to go, yet the head says give it another month, we will well and truly know by then.
Very good post. Level headed.

I walked out of the G like a zombie yesterday. Just stunned. I feel more disengaged with the AFL than the club. The league is a scam. If it wasn't for my kids, i reckon I could easily walk away from AFL. Why drive 2 hours up and back to watch the umps **** us? I'm sure it's a big gag somewhere, but, I coach at a junior level )have for a few years now) and have knocked back senior gigs because I want to coach the kids. More enjoyable. But, when you see the farces which is occurring now, the drug scandals, lies, cover ups, what has the sport really become? The level of journalism reporting on the game is nothing more than troll click bait.
A builder mate I deal with texts me today saying his missus has breast cancer. that's perspective right there. You look at it and think why should i really give a **** about the AFL?

Wish the club would just make the hard decision and sack his ass. No way should he have been coaching us this year.

Like the opening post said, thank him for eveything he has done, but he has taken us as far as he can, and will actually start hurting our longer term future.

Good luck with this thread.
before it's either hijacked or locked, I think we should have bitten the bullet at the end of last year, even earlier.
But he is contracted for next year as well, which says a lot about the people who made that stupid decision.
i have no issue that he was re-signed, he had just come off 3 finals seasons, but the wheels are wobbling, and things have stagnated.

So 8 years into Dimma's reign and we are seeing a team that has plateaued, and not become the all dominant team that we looked circa 2014-15.
while we have stopped bringing in average recycled players to add depth to the squad while the kids developed, the development of said kids have not improved to the extent that it was worth it. we have garnered 3 finals appearances, for 3 losses, and had journos applauding our play and list just 2 years ago.
Now, the same journalists are gleefully planting daggers into our slide down the table.

a horrible 2016 with a horrible game plan has been replaced with a more attacking style that is less reliant on precise kicking, and reliant on precise handballing, speed and kicking long into a forward line that is patrolled by small forwards, jack and an under developed tall forward.
When you look at where failures have occurred over the years, it is a complete lack of desire from the club to draft big bodied key position players. We are reliant on Jack kicking our goals and Rance stopping them. Astbury hasn't improved much in the last few years, and still looks slow and dodgy with and without pressure. Griff has only taken apart 1 game in the last 3 years, and has now started getting the dreaded concussion issues that destroy careers. We have been left with an underused Elton, and (rookie listed) raw Chol and Moore in the forward line and a raw Garthwaite in defence. we have no one else to come in if we have any further injuries. and none of these players are bash and crash forwards/defenders that are needed in the modern game.

in my opinion, Dimma has done an admirable job in making Richmond relevant again, but hard decisions need to be made, and he has taken the club as far as he can go. This year (unless he makes the prelim or further) needs to be his last. Coaches should get 5-7 years to rebuild a club, and then there needs to be significant strides to winning a premiership - if not, then a rebuild is needed, but that coach shouldnt see it through. If they do - ala Matthews, Clarkson, and they build a list that wins a premiership/s and a rebuild is needed, they get the chance to rebuild again. Dimma has not earned that chance to plan another rebuild.

Big clubs make big decisions, and no-one is bigger than the club. The next 2 years will see us falter back to where we were, or push forward to where we should be. I think that this is the year that Dimma needs to be moved on for a fresh coach, with new ideas, a fresh energy and a strong recruitment policy.

Richmond has never done a rebuild, thats the problem!!!

See Carlton.

Too many recycled players for too much like Yarran, Hampson, Prestia etc...

After hearing that new Hawthorn CEO chick the other week, I wouldn't mind betting a huge falling out between her and Clarkson. She comes across as having a massive ego, and we all know Clarkson is his own man. Can see a bit of friction happening there.

Bet Cwood are looking at that situation very closely, while we're looking at giving a Hardwick a 3 year extension. :D

Clarkson just proving its about the players, the cattle, also see Melbourne and Carlton after getting the GWS high draft selections also Pies with Treloar, Hoskin Elliot and the other one who got with Treloars missus

I wanted him gone in the 2013-2014 days and at the end of 2016, but now that he is on until 2018 I am inclined to keep him around if Dusty re-signs regardless of whether we make finals or not this year so that he has one final off-season and season to make it work. Reason why I say that is because I feel like the 2016 off-season and the 2017 off-season is a 2-step plan (fix the midfield/small forward/ruck issues in 2016 and then fix the KPP problems + maybe get one or two tall midfielders in the 2017 off-season). It isn't easy to fix every single issue you have in one off-season due to limited picks and we had A LOT of issues last year. The KPPs (especially the KPFs) department is currently our major flaw, and if we fix that in the off-season then I think we have a decent list AND a decent gameplan that Hardwick + the new coaches have brought.

I actually think that Hardwick has brought out a lot from our list this year but is hampered by the lack of tall targets in our forward line and injuries, so I don't think he is to blame for some of our shortcomings per se. His coaching has largely been fine this year from a tactical and match-up perspective (maybe with the exception of some questionable selections). Little he can do with the shape of our list right now, so once he is given the complete array of depth (in most positions) that he needs to contend, then we can see if we can continue.

I reckon Dimmas a top bloke and did a great job getting us up from the cellar. But facts are facts. Its his 8th year (3rd longest serving coach in our history) and we still havent won a final. If we arent competetive in finals this year he's gone for mine.

I walked out of the G like a zombie yesterday. Just stunned. I feel more disengaged with the AFL than the club. The league is a scam. If it wasn't for my kids, i reckon I could easily walk away from AFL. Why drive 2 hours up and back to watch the umps **** us? I'm sure it's a big gag somewhere, but, I coach at a junior level )have for a few years now) and have knocked back senior gigs because I want to coach the kids. More enjoyable. But, when you see the farces which is occurring now, the drug scandals, lies, cover ups, what has the sport really become? The level of journalism reporting on the game is nothing more than troll click bait.
A builder mate I deal with texts me today saying his missus has breast cancer. that's perspective right there. You look at it and think why should i really give a **** about the AFL?

There's probably a scientific reason to explain that. Apart from it being an awful display of incompetence on behalf of our footballers, the whole emotional ride at the end would cause the brain to struggle processing the loss.

To reach a heightened point of elation, and have all those adrenaline and excitement chemicals released into the bloodstream, then have the shattering loss.. Your brain has already reached it's peak! You can't feel the full effects of the loss because you're still juiced up on the elation of the previous goal! :p

I felt the same though.

i have no issue that he was re-signed, he had just come off 3 finals seasons, but the wheels are wobbling, and things have stagnated.

I do. The signs were crystal clear enough to me at the end of 2014. I suppose it is hard to see the forest when you are in the trees eating bananas!

Too many signals went the wrong colour from there.

I like where we are - better than in the last decade, but we have found a road block, have gone back trying to find a new way. The message gets stale, the ears close up a little more each week, too much depends on comfortable relationships. I can see why Bolton can invigorate after Malthouse. We'll see something similar after Hardwick.

I don't think 1 coach makes a big difference in today's very professional game, Maybe in the VFL day's where you had a coach and an assistant coach.. But now we have a coach for every aspect of the game from Ruck to Forward to how to lace up your boots.

The coach is always the scapegoat.. Look at other clubs who were struggling, Bringing in a new coach doesn't change anything drastically.. It just helps us to start painting a new picture of what may lie ahead..

We need better players, not a better coach. ..

I think our recruiting department are a joke considering the amount of dud picks in drafts, Yarran was a complete disaster.. We had our chance to get it right in 2004 when we had a great position in a draft full of talent, We picked duds... and the Hawks picked the guns.. and look at the difference.. That enabled a flow on effect of winning games, finals, flags and players all wanting to play for Hawthorn...

I think we place too much emphasis on what the coach can really do.. The boys can either play footy or they cant. .

I don't rate Hardwick as a game day coach but I think we have deeper issues than him. Sadly we have a losing mentality and what appears from the outside looking in, a poor culture. It is going to take something/someone special like a Clarkson type to give us that confidence we need to compete with the big boys. I really believe we have a top 4 list fully fit.