Strategy A serious thread about Dimma's future

• Thread starter Thread starter tigerz18

And here was I thinking that you and I were having a reasonable and civilized discussion!

To your credit, I tend to think that your views are at least the product of misguided optimism - unlike those of other posters, who get so antsy so quickly and are so prone to running down others that it is reasonable to think they're doing it for unsaid reasons

The serious thread about Dimma's future. Lol.

Speeches about wallet, who knifed his own club to get the Sydney job, then missed when Roos got it. Haha, the only bloke with 22 game plans for a season, none of which were any good except a basketball flood that worked ...once. The players turned on him because he couldn't coach. Simple. Had some fun ideas but that's about it.

Dimmas future hopefully takes him into next year with an even better list than this one, which is much better than last year. And on the whole they are playing pretty good footy. Horrific last few weeks hopefully hardens them up...we'll see, I can't predict which way they'll swing but I reckon there's some strong character there that will emerge. We know the coach has a strong backbone.

Anyway, hi everybody. Just thought I'd add my humble opinion to another "sack Hardwick" thread. Carry on.

After 8 years there are still people discussing the possibility of an individual learning and growing into a role. What a load of pig shit as nobody would get this luxury in any other vocation . Then they try and back it up by saying they have faith in the administration who have employed numpty after numpty. Eight years of this and they have nothing to show for it and one administrator has been there since the departure of Frawley and has not seen a finals win . It's propaganda like Gale spilled out that he felt DH had the attributes of being a premiership coach. Yet the mumbling baffoon couldn't give us one single attribute. They're all incompetent at making the hard calls and this is why we've stagnated since 2012, yet people eat it. It's no wonder they're doing nothing about it as they have the majority of the stakeholders hood winked and it wouldn't surprise me if they gave some brown noses some perks to post propaganda on forums.

You're accusing This Is Anfield of being paid by the footy club to post propaganda on forums?
Seriously?
That's what you're implying, and it's a disgraceful form of argument.
And while I've got you, what's a "mumbling baffoon"?

2014 - you thought Adelaide and West Coast were better than us I'm guessing? We beat both of them in that run, on their turf, and in a virtual elimination final vs Adelaide.
2015 - when there's only 7 other top 8 teams, and those teams are the best in the league, 4/7 is really not poor. And there's no doubting we were good enough given we knocked off 3 of the top 4.
That's actually exactly the reason we shouldn't take any solice or see any hope in close losses to the dogs or gws.

In the past we have shown we can beat the too teams and what has it gotten us??? **** all. We have the same team (probably worse in reality) and the same coach, there's not 1 reason why we should think the latest close losses signal anything new.

People running around posting on forums in defence of those in positions of prominence is definitely a thing that goes on and they never reveal their reasons for doing so but it's often so systematic that it's hard to believe it's being left to chance and I know this from experience on horse racing forums - where, if you ever dare to put your head up and ask questions about one of the leading stables, you're certain to have an army of people come out of the woodwork and take potshots at you
It's always been the thing that has puzzled me on here as these people claim to be RFC supporters yet want failures like DH Gale Peg Casino Blair and co to continue in their destruction of the club from progressing. They also turn later on show how disgusting they are when these people are eventually removed from their duties , by knifing them in the back and snuggling cozily into the next orifice as if nothing ever happened. Now is this love and devotion to the RFC ? Or is it ignorance or is it rent a crowd?
The Chocco thread was the perfect example of their knifing and dirty tactics as he went from the best thing since sliced bread to a dirty trouble making manipulator.
ThE imbeciles allowed DH to run amok when Cotchin Jack Rance Lids and few others were getting ready to go and here they are with nothing to show for it 8 years later and people are supporting their failed attempts.

Totally different circumstances back then. Someone correct me if I'm wrong but didn't Mal Brown stick his bib in and have a blue with Swooper's partner?
Very messy and avoidable.
Really, really enjoyed '95. **apart from the PF**

It's just so weird, I think, that they gave a further five or six years to someone whose winning record in the first three was 36% - yet let someone leave when their first three years produced 47%

It's always been the thing that has puzzled me on here as these people claim to be RFC supporters yet want failures like DH Gale Peg Casino Blair and co to continue in their destruction of the club from progressing. They also turn later on show how disgusting they are when these people are eventually removed from their duties , by knifing them in the back and snuggling cozily into the next orifice as if nothing ever happened. Now is this love and devotion to the RFC ? Or is it ignorance or is it rent a crowd?
The Chocco thread was the perfect example of their knifing and dirty tactics as he went from the best thing since sliced bread to a dirty trouble making manipulator.
ThE imbeciles allowed DH to run amok when Cotchin Jack Rance Lids and few others were getting ready to go and here they are with nothing to show for it 8 years later and people are supporting their failed attempts.

That's exactly right - nothing to show for eight years and still they defend Hardwick and his failed ways and run around talking of "mini-rebuilds" and the like and think (possibly) getting one trade period right in eight years should be a cause for celebration when the fact is we've gone nowhere in five years. They talk about playing an exciting brand of football - seemingly oblivious to the fact that our scores are lower than they were five years ago. They think he's a good coach even when he loses games and our average output, after quarter time, is a miserable 13 points per quarter.

So last year when things were going poorly people who are critical now wanted to see us play the kids and come up with an improved game plan to give us a better chance of winning. So over the summer Hardwick and the assistants implement and new game plan focused on quicker ball movement, harder running, higher intensity, greater forward pressure and more accountability. Along with the change in game plan there has been a change of personnel with a number of older types being removed from the side and younger players being given more opportunity.

So far this year we're 5-4, a record most of us would have gladly taken if offered before the season started. Of the 4 losses that we've had the only unexpected loss would be Fremantle as most would have had us winning that in Melbourne, the other 3 no doubt were pencilled in by many fans as losses before the season even started. Yet because we have lost these 4 games it seems the haters have found a way to fire up the Hardwick needs to go posts.

However lets have a look at the 4 losses. Against Adelaide we went in with a side that was on average 6 months younger and 10 games less experienced per player than Adelaide who were in white hot form. In that side we had Castagna(11th game) Butler (6th game) Markov(11th game) Rioli (23rd game) Short(20th game) Nankervis(18th game). Little wonder we were thumped.

Then we followed up with a game against the reigning premiers on their home deck coming off back to back 6 day breaks. The Richmond of old would have folded like a deck of cards, coming off a demoralising loss, but they didn't. They came out and took the game up to the Dogs with a side that featured Castagna Elton Butler Markov Rioli Short Soldo & C.Ellis who combined struggle to reach 100 games of experience and the side overall was 4 months younger and 9 games per player less experienced. End of the game the first of 3 heart breaking losses as we fall by less than a goal.

Against Fremantle we played like crap for 3 quarter which many would say was Richmond being their typical selves, imploding after losing a couple of big games. Then at 3 quarter time, Hardwick shuffles the side around a little bit, released the shackles and low and behold the side comes within 20 seconds of winning a game they had no right in winning. Again the team featured players in Rioli Elton Castagna Butler Nankervis Short Markov & C.Ellis

Then there was Saturday afternoon against the Giants, heading into the game the majority expected Richmond to get beaten and beaten easily. 3 straight losses after a promising start is usually typical Richmond where they'll give up and the Giants boost their %. But it doesn't happen, unexpectedly Richmond once again show some grit and determination and jump the Giants with a side featuring a debutant in Bolton, a second gamer in Soldo plus Menadue joining Rioli Castagna Short & Nankervis. Again we fell short as we were overran for the second time.

In all 4 of the losses we were playing with younger and less experienced sides yet had we managed to hold on and win the last 3 games we would be sitting 8-1 a game clear on top of the ladder. Despite this the Hardwick has to go bandwagon has once again fired up because we're not, strangely though I don't recall any of them predicting we'd be sitting in the 8 after 9 rounds either in fact I reckon if you dug back through the preseason postings of many of them they would be plenty of posts predicting us to be a bottom 6 side that would struggle all year.

The last 3 weeks are proof enough for me that we're heading in the right direction after the horrors of last year. As of now Hardwick has another 18 odd months to run in his contract and another strong off season recruiting wise where we can address the lack of a quality second tall and add a bit more around the midfield either through the likes of C.Ellis Menadue Markov Graham coming good or adding some fresh talent through trading and/or drafting and I don't think we're too far away. Remember it took the likes of Mick Malthouse a decade to take the Pies from wooden spooners to eventual premiers, not everyone can be fortunate enough to win a flag by peaking at the right time rather than being the best side in the comp.

And how much of that will matter to you if we end up finishing 10th to 13th - noting your final words are "Nor More Excuses. No More Talk. Time For Richmond To Deliver."

So last year when things were going poorly people who are critical now wanted to see us play the kids and come up with an improved game plan to give us a better chance of winning. So over the summer Hardwick and the assistants implement and new game plan focused on quicker ball movement, harder running, higher intensity, greater forward pressure and more accountability. Along with the change in game plan there has been a change of personnel with a number of older types being removed from the side and younger players being given more opportunity.

So far this year we're 5-4, a record most of us would have gladly taken if offered before the season started. Of the 4 losses that we've had the only unexpected loss would be Fremantle as most would have had us winning that in Melbourne, the other 3 no doubt were pencilled in by many fans as losses before the season even started. Yet because we have lost these 4 games it seems the haters have found a way to fire up the Hardwick needs to go posts.

However lets have a look at the 4 losses. Against Adelaide we went in with a side that was on average 6 months younger and 10 games less experienced per player than Adelaide who were in white hot form. In that side we had Castagna(11th game) Butler (6th game) Markov(11th game) Rioli (23rd game) Short(20th game) Nankervis(18th game). Little wonder we were thumped.

Then we followed up with a game against the reigning premiers on their home deck coming off back to back 6 day breaks. The Richmond of old would have folded like a deck of cards, coming off a demoralising loss, but they didn't. They came out and took the game up to the Dogs with a side that featured Castagna Elton Butler Markov Rioli Short Soldo & C.Ellis who combined struggle to reach 100 games of experience and the side overall was 4 months younger and 9 games per player less experienced. End of the game the first of 3 heart breaking losses as we fall by less than a goal.

Against Fremantle we played like crap for 3 quarter which many would say was Richmond being their typical selves, imploding after losing a couple of big games. Then at 3 quarter time, Hardwick shuffles the side around a little bit, released the shackles and low and behold the side comes within 20 seconds of winning a game they had no right in winning. Again the team featured players in Rioli Elton Castagna Butler Nankervis Short Markov & C.Ellis

Then there was Saturday afternoon against the Giants, heading into the game the majority expected Richmond to get beaten and beaten easily. 3 straight losses after a promising start is usually typical Richmond where they'll give up and the Giants boost their %. But it doesn't happen, unexpectedly Richmond once again show some grit and determination and jump the Giants with a side featuring a debutant in Bolton, a second gamer in Soldo plus Menadue joining Rioli Castagna Short & Nankervis. Again we fell short as we were overran for the second time.

In all 4 of the losses we were playing with younger and less experienced sides yet had we managed to hold on and win the last 3 games we would be sitting 8-1 a game clear on top of the ladder. Despite this the Hardwick has to go bandwagon has once again fired up because we're not, strangely though I don't recall any of them predicting we'd be sitting in the 8 after 9 rounds either in fact I reckon if you dug back through the preseason postings of many of them they would be plenty of posts predicting us to be a bottom 6 side that would struggle all year.

The last 3 weeks are proof enough for me that we're heading in the right direction after the horrors of last year. As of now Hardwick has another 18 odd months to run in his contract and another strong off season recruiting wise where we can address the lack of a quality second tall and add a bit more around the midfield either through the likes of C.Ellis Menadue Markov Graham coming good or adding some fresh talent through trading and/or drafting and I don't think we're too far away. Remember it took the likes of Mick Malthouse a decade to take the Pies from wooden spooners to eventual premiers, not everyone can be fortunate enough to win a flag by peaking at the right time rather than being the best side in the comp.
So all i got out of that was dh haters excuses and maybes.
If you bother to look at all our games so far we have played the same way only to win some and lose others. Did we blow anyone out of the water as when i watched even we struggle to flog brisb. West coast was the only one that i can say i enjoyed watching for 4 quarters.
It has been proven in the past that we don't handle pressure and it has proven to be the same this year so apart from the game style changing what else has changed?

And how much of that will matter to you if we end up finishing 10th to 13th - noting your final words are "Nor More Excuses. No More Talk. Time For Richmond To Deliver."
Before the season started I had us finishing around that area of the ladder as I didn't expect Hawthorn and Sydney to fall away so badly. As for my signature these aren't excuses they are reasons why I believe in Hardwick and where we are headed. A side with 1/3 of players having played less than 25 games when the season started are taking it up to genuine contenders and just falling short, all while implementing a change in game plan. Yet according to some it is this that is a reason as to why Hardwick should be moved on.

So all i got out of that was dh haters excuses and maybes.
If you bother to look at all our games so far we have played the same way only to win some and lose others. Did we blow anyone out of the water as when i watched even we struggle to flog brisb. West coast was the only one that i can say i enjoyed watching for 4 quarters.
It has been proven in the past that we don't handle pressure and it has proven to be the same this year so apart from the game style changing what else has changed?

This, but don't forget "the boys are playing with freedom and enjoying their footy again" (paraphrased)..... Oh hang on