AAMI Stadium inquiry

• Thread starter Thread starter Beloved

Hey, guys.

I'll be heading over for the Crows vs. Blues this weekend but I've got a bit of a problem - I have absolutely no idea how to get to AAMI Stadium from the airport. I was wondering if I could get a few directions at all? :o

Cheers. :thumbsu:

Hey, guys.

I'll be heading over for the Crows vs. Blues this weekend but I've got a bit of a problem - I have absolutely no idea how to get to AAMI Stadium from the airport. I was wondering if I could get a few directions at all? :o

Cheers. :thumbsu:

Straight from the airport? Just get a cab they should all know how to get there.

Easy as pie.

Exit the airport, turn left onto Sir Donald Bradman Drive.

Turn right at Tapleys Hill Rd (first major intersection)

Take Tapleys Hill Rd and turn left onto Grange Rd. (third major intersection)

Turn right onto Fredericks Rd. (first major intersection)

Take Fredericks Rd along past the golf course on the right, then the golf course on the left, until Brebner Drive, easily spotted by the crowds and giant sign - turn left onto there, and you can see the ground and the entrance to the Max Basheer Reserve Carpark :thumbsu:

Well done for doing his work. Surely if you are capable of making a post on a forum you know how to use google maps.

Anyway as well all know, the hard part isn't getting to AAMI, it is getting out. Here's hoping he has to leave at 3 qtr time.

Except, of course, that Google Maps is giving him directions from the car park of Harbour Town, rather than the Airport entrance.

Cheers, fella's. Helps a bunch. :thumbsu:

I've got another couple of questions, though. Firstly, how's the go with standing room at AAMI? Much of it?

And finally, any ways in by train, as I am only young and have no license? :o

OK, you're best bet is to get a cab. No train. You'd also want to make sure there is plenty of time between the game ending and your flight home.

Standing is not that much and largely discouraged, but out on the outer wing should be OK for a spot.

Cheers, fella's. Helps a bunch. :thumbsu:

I've got another couple of questions, though. Firstly, how's the go with standing room at AAMI? Much of it?

And finally, any ways in by train, as I am only young and have no license? :o

In Adelaide, we don't really have a good train network.

If you really want the go on the cheap, get the bus from the Airport to the City (Currie Street) and then catch the bus from Currie Street to AAMI.

I don't think that there is a bus from the Airport but someone may know.

As cammo84 says, catch the Footy Express. It's free and runs from all over the place, all you need is a ticket to the match. You should be able to get from the airport to the city (ask Information at the airport if you're not sure how to do that) and from there, just follow the sea of red, blue and yellow :D

OK, you're best bet is to get a cab. No train. You'd also want to make sure there is plenty of time between the game ending and your flight home.

Standing is not that much and largely discouraged, but out on the outer wing should be OK for a spot.
Outer Wing. Cheers for that. I'm not one to sit at games - I love standing with the supporters, although it'll be hard to find many standing Blues supporters I'd imagine.

In Adelaide, we don't really have a good train network.

If you really want the go on the cheap, get the bus from the Airport to the City (Currie Street) and then catch the bus from Currie Street to AAMI.

I don't think that there is a bus from the Airport but someone may know.
That sounds like the most likely option for me. Cheers.

Catching a cab would be costly I would imagine, especially as our cabbies have no ****ing idea where anything is. And when they do, they go the longest possible way, travelling at an average speed of 45km/h.

If you know someone in Adelaide just bribe them to take you.
I think I can relate to that in Melbourne.

And unfortunately, I don't. :(

As cammo84 says, catch the Footy Express. It's free and runs from all over the place, all you need is a ticket to the match. You should be able to get from the airport to the city (ask Information at the airport if you're not sure how to do that) and from there, just follow the sea of red, blue and yellow :D
That's a bit of a bugger. My membership covers the entry so I'll have to find another way. :thumbsu:

Cheers guys. Hopefully it's a good game this weekend (with the Blue boys just sneaking in for the win ;)).

Can someone who knows more than I do confirm whether having an opposition season membership will get you free passage on the footy express?

I don't catch the footy express bus because I live in the country, but do the drivers actually check for tickets to the game before you get on the bus??

Behind every bay is a small section for standing room. It's surrounded by a yellow line, and is roughly 2 people deep. Security are very thorough in moving on people who are standing next to but not in the standing room zones, but you only need to have half a foot inside the yellow line and they won't really bother you.

Also, you can now take beer to your seats, but you can't take a beer to a standing room zone.

Well done for doing his work. Surely if you are capable of making a post on a forum you know how to use google maps.

Anyway as well all know, the hard part isn't getting to AAMI, it is getting out. Here's hoping he has to leave at 3 qtr time.

I don't mean to wear out my welcome, but you shouldn't judge others by the standards set by your own supporters.

And if you knew anything about EBIAC (not that I'd imagine you'd care to) you'd know he'd never do that.

I personally have never been cool with people leaving before the finish. 1 - if you can stay for the wins and soak up the glory you can hang around for the pain as well. 2 - you miss last-quarter-comeback wins like we produced against Port last year/essendon produced on anzac day etc etc

Let's hope it's a close enough game that it won't be an issue anyway.

I don't catch the footy express bus because I live in the country, but do the drivers actually check for tickets to the game before you get on the bus??

No they do not, at least not where I live. As long as you have some supporter gear or a scarf on you should be fine.

I've never been checked for a ticket either. As long as you look like you're going to the footy you should be fine. I don't think they even keep change on the bus anymore - they just assume that if you're getting on you're off to the footy and therefore must have a ticket to the game.

If you want to find other Blues supporters - the opposition cheersquad sit behind the goals at the Northern End. Also get a fair few opposition supporters up in the Northern Stand since that's where a lot of General Admission seats get sold.

At Crows games AAMI has reserved seating so you can't just sit anywhere like at the G.

I don't mean to wear out my welcome, but you shouldn't judge others by the standards set by your own supporters.

And if you knew anything about EBIAC (not that I'd imagine you'd care to) you'd know he'd never do that.

I personally have never been cool with people leaving before the finish. 1 - if you can stay for the wins and soak up the glory you can hang around for the pain as well. 2 - you miss last-quarter-comeback wins like we produced against Port last year/essendon produced on anzac day etc etc

Let's hope it's a close enough game that it won't be an issue anyway.

Well never forget the comeback you staged in 2004 where Fev cut lose and was banging them home from all angles (so to speak).

But enough about Ms. Bingle... :o

I take it that these footy bus thingies are also from the airport?

Behind every bay is a small section for standing room. It's surrounded by a yellow line, and is roughly 2 people deep. Security are very thorough in moving on people who are standing next to but not in the standing room zones, but you only need to have half a foot inside the yellow line and they won't really bother you.

Also, you can now take beer to your seats, but you can't take a beer to a standing room zone.
Cheers for that. From the sounds of it, people are pretty up tight in Adelaide.

Don't you guys also have pink taxies for women only? Just out of curiosity. I think I hear something about it a year or two ago.

Nah, we got rid of the pink taxis mate. We do still have the pink buses though.

Nah - taxi drivers in Adelaide attack anyone now, just not women..but then again, a lot of taxi drivers have been attacked as well lately.
Moral of those stories - take a bus ;). I'll never use an Adelaide taxi - I'd rather walk, since they are either really bad drivers, can't speak english, or have no idea where they're going. Good ol' Adelaide :thumbsu::p.