Junior boi

Suspended
Saturday was the first time many Hawk supporters, including myself, have had the pleasure of watching Ablett live since he has become elite.

Although I still feel Hodge was the correct choice and a deserved winner of the Norm Smith Medal, Ablett's performance on Saturday was amazing and clearly he is the best player in the comp.

His core strength looked astonashing; the way he was able to baulk and weave through the cluster was fantastic. He's got the skill and the pace - he's got everything. I know he was told to lift his game one pre-season but where did this ability come from? Did he always have it within him but just lacked the ethic?

Let me tell you, if you had 22 guys who had half the skill and work rate of Gary you would have won the GF.

I guess this is nothing new to you guys, but what a talent I saw on Saturday.

watch him next year, he will be taking no prisoners, he will be on top of his game. mid 20's, prime. hodge was 2nd best on field, if geelong won or were 2 or 3 goals closer gaz would had norm smith, his granddad died on sunday, gary ablett snr dad. explains a few things about his reactions after the game.:)

Can I just say, the loss of Nathan Ablett may have cost the cats another premership. He was the tall who could roam between FF and CHF and had the skill on either foot to take an opponent, free up some space and kick 3 himself.

I think his departure meant alot more than a kid moving to quuensland.

Can I just say, the loss of Nathan Ablett may have cost the cats another premership. He was the tall who could roam between FF and CHF and had the skill on either foot to take an opponent, free up some space and kick 3 himself.

I think his departure meant alot more than a kid moving to quuensland.

Thanks captain obvious

love Gaz, just not too sure about the lipstick though :D:o:rolleyes:

His core strength looked astonashing; the way he was able to baulk and weave through the cluster was fantastic. He's got the skill and the pace - he's got everything. I know he was told to lift his game one pre-season but where did this ability come from? Did he always have it within him but just lacked the ethic?

He has always been a good player. He has been earmarked for extra treatment since he started playing. I think it was sheedy who once in a pre season game said he was the best player at the club and tagged him despite him still being very young at the time.

He did not have the ability until last year to play a full game in the midfield and in both those years he has been the favorite to win the brownlow.

Best player in the AFL bar none.

He is absolutely incredibly in practically every single facet of the game. I cannot fathom how far he's come as a player - I always used to think he was an average HFF/FP living off his fathers name... But now I cannot express how much I love watching this guy go about it.

He will get the ball out, to the right option, 9 times out of 10 when being tackled/under extreme pressure. His passing when running at full speed really doesn't miss.

I think he's even better than Judd at his peak. And despite Corey & Bartel being my favourite non-Hawthorn players (since '05, I might add), Ablett's got to be my favourite player to watch.

He has all the attributes to be placed up with his father, once his career is ended, in terms of historically great players.

That would be from one Gary Ablett Snr i would think. They guy you let go, remember.

Don't turn this into a troll thread. You won't win.

And besides, Snr left because he didn't want to play anymore. You guys lured him out of his premature retirement because you were based out near where he was playing bush footy.

After a few seasons back he actually signed for us again, though somehow he stayed at your club.

Either way, we had Dunstall to kick our goals.

Don't turn this into a troll thread. You won't win.

And besides, Snr left because he didn't want to play anymore. You guys lured him out of his premature retirement because you were based out near where he was playing bush footy.

After a few seasons back he actually signed for us again, though somehow he stayed at your club.

Either way, we had Dunstall to kick our goals.

What a load of crap. How old are you?
google Bill Mcmaster and work from there if you need to find the truth

i agree, he was awesome, but i did notice how hawthorn played him.
they didnt have a hard tag on him, just went head to head.
what they did do though was as soon as he got the ball (and any other cats player for that fact), they rushed him. they got up in his face.
he had to handball sideways, or baulk. now when he baulked, he got around most of the time and it looked great but then again another hawk in his face.
i saw a few times when the cats had 2 or 3 loose in the forward line because the hawks pushed up so hard to attack the ball carrier.
it was risky, but it paid off. Ablett was great, but i dont think he was as effective as his usual 34 possession games because he was made to handball sideways, kick sideways and chip over the man in front all day.
i cant remember him taking a running bounce, which i think says alot.

[youtube]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/RoA3Gwzx96I&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/RoA3Gwzx96I&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/youtube]

what a star.

ha ha ha "I can't remember him having a bounce'

Didn't you only have 8 or so for the entire game though? I'm sure I saw a stat on here somewhere saying bounces were 20-odd to single figures (our way). Took me by suprise, but kind of fits with how the game was played.

Good video, Ablett had five bounces in that lot by my count, and whilst most of his possessions didn't achieve a real lot, there were a few that opened up space for teammates to run through.

His real strength is exactly that. Almost impossible to bring down, and he's got "fast feet" when he runs with it - beautiful sidestep.

what a star.

ha ha ha "I can't remember him having a bounce'

not saying he didnt have one, just cant remember a passage of play where ablett ran down the wing having 2-3 bounces and shoving it down mooneys throat ala seasons 2007 and 2008. i think i saw a stat late in the 4th quarter showing the cats only had 8 bounces for the day......have to be their low for a while........
rioli, young, crawford, bateman, all were allowed to run, ablett, chappy, selwood etc werent. thats where the game was won..........oh yeah and hodgey!!!!

not saying he didnt have one, just cant remember a passage of play where ablett ran down the wing having 2-3 bounces and shoving it down mooneys throat ala seasons 2007 and 2008. i think i saw a stat late in the 4th quarter showing the cats only had 8 bounces for the day......have to be their low for a while........
rioli, young, crawford, bateman, all were allowed to run, ablett, chappy, selwood etc werent. thats where the game was won..........oh yeah and hodgey!!!!

yeah fair enough. The whole side seemed to lack that run.

I remember early on that we took the ball through the middle with Ling and I said to a mate 'here we go, the middle has opened up too early, hawks are in strife' But you stopped all our run from there.

The way he puts his opponent off balance and makes them commit to pressuring him is amazing. He puts on a burst to make them committ to going his way, and then baulks and side steps so easily. His fend-offs are amazing, and his ability to get an effective disposal away when under pressure and being tackled is freakish. You can't teach what he's got.

great video.

Personally, I reckon the video of that one game (the GF) contains far better highlights than the other video that was posted a few weeks ago. All in one game!!

Geez he'll be good next year!