Power Pete

Port Adelaide
PAFC MAGPIES - NRL DRAGONS
To the PAFC members and supporters,

I'm not sure if you are aware but the election process finishes this Wednesday at 5:00pm. I am posting this information about Alex Panas as I am in support of him being re-elected. If you haven't voted as yet please read the following information so you can make an informed decision.

Alex Panas

Profession: Managing Director, Brinz Group

- Director, Port Adelaide Football Club 2006 – current
- Director, The Port Club 2009 – current
- Former Director, Port Adelaide Football Club (SANFL) 2004 – 2006
- Director, Power Future Fund 2008-2010
- Chairman, Magpies Management Committee 2011 - current
- Chairman, PAFC Gala Auction Committee
- Chairman, PAFC Brand and Marketing committee 2011 and 2012

Dear Member,

My name is Alex Panas and I seek your re-election to the board of the Port Adelaide Football Club.

As you would have seen over the past few months, the Club has undergone significant change and renewal both on and off the field. It’s an exciting time. We have a fresh, new and exciting football program headed by Ken Hinkley. Our new board headed by David Koch is in place and rapidly building the momentum into 2013 and Adelaide Oval in 2014. Right now is the time for stability, focus and clarity. Right now is not the time for more change.

I am the longest serving member of the board since I was elected by you the members in 2006. I have and will continue to represent and champion the best interests of the Port Magpies within our Club and will remain as the Magpies SANFL delegate. I was the chair of the reunification committee.

I am proud of my track record in fundraising, heading up the Port Adelaide Gala Auction as the Club’s biggest fundraiser, and numerous other initiatives and projects which have delivered great commercial results. I can speak to you plainly about knowing what it means when we talk about the Port way – and no matter how complex the world of AFL becomes, the Port way is what I am about.

There are a number of very complex and crucial issues which our Club has been dealing with for a numbers of years – including the transferring of the AFL licence and, the biggest of all, our move to Adelaide Oval. I have been involved in these discussions from the outset, and from a continuity point of view, believe it is critical this knowledge and background remains around the board table.

I look forward to serving you and being your voice as the only member-elected member of the Port Adelaide Football Club.

From Greg Boulton

I have known Alex as a fellow Director and Sponsor of our Club for over 15 years and I am delighted to support his re-election to the Board of the Port Adelaide Football Club. Alex has demonstrated outstanding passion for both the Power and Magpies and is always listening to members about their views and concerns.

His high energy and commitment has been to the fore in the past as a prime driver to the success of our Power Goes Auction, Magpies Football Committee and Power Foundation. Has respect of wide range of football people both within our club and beyond". I support Alex so we can maintain experience around the Board table and at the same time have a family man with his prime focus in reestablishing our great Club to win our next Grand Final in the near future.

Greg Boulton

I already voted for Matthew Panos

I'm not sure how this helps us make an informed decision by itself, when there are three other candidates.

how did he vote in regards to:
- choco's contract extension,
- primus' appointment,

- how many dollars he brought in through sponsorship or other activities versus being "involved with" or 'heading up" functions.

Any firm plans for the future? or is he sitting back and letting KT and DK do the heavy lifting?

I don't know the guy, nor do I know if he is good or bad for the club but I want a board that is their for PAFC; not the other way around.

no_u_for_knowyourmeme.jpg

Our board has performed badly since 2006, with some real headscratching decisions. I don't know if I can in good conscience vote for someone who has been there that whole time.

I think I might vote for this guy.

tumblr_lhgab8e7gj1qc63sno1_400.jpg

how did he vote in regards to:
- choco's contract extension,
- primus' appointment,

- how many dollars he brought in through sponsorship or other activities versus being "involved with" or 'heading up" functions.

Any firm plans for the future? or is he sitting back and letting KT and DK do the heavy lifting?

I don't know the guy, nor do I know if he is good or bad for the club but I want a board that is their for PAFC; not the other way around.
I am sure that you would realise that a current board member can't answer a lot of those questions on a public forum.

i too am curious why you support Panos when he was a key member of our board in our most shithouse times and was part of the board that made a host of terrible decisions thst cost us dearly

This is not an endorsement or otherwise of Alex, but the most important person on the board is the Chairman.
Boulton was the chairman Jan 2006 to Dec 2008
Duncanson Dec 2008 to Sept 2012

These are the two leaders along with the CEO's James and Haysman who have to take the greatest responsibilities for our poor 7 years on and off the field with only 2007 providing a respite All these key people are now gone.

You also have 2 coaches and 1 in particular who has to take a fair chunk of the blame as well, but the resources they have at their disposal is determined by the guys mentioned above.

I am worried somewhat about our corporate amnesia.

Just like we had a shit house transition from heaps of experienced guys ie 100 and 200 gamers to the last couple of years where we have played so many inexperienced players, our board has followed suit.

There should have been a smoother transition both on and off the field. But sometimes when those who work really hard but just aren't A grade anymore, have to be cleared out. I guess Alex Panos is the Dom Cassisi or Kane Cornes of our board. The question is should they be given a contract extension? Can Alex turn it round like Kane did in 2012??

Ah the old life/footy analogies!

I think Alex is doing himself a disservice by limiting himself to a single Forum, allowing himself to be trashed on more "PowerFromPort" ones?

Maybe he got banned from there for not being Port Adelaide enough

I voted for George. He's the only one of the mob I have met, and seen drunk. I doubt that is considered executive material, but it works for me.

Just on Boulton's endorsement, I'm not a fan of this 'Port way/next flag' talk.

I honestly couldn't give a shit about flags at the moment. I want to be able to go to games, read a paper, turn on the TV and log onto the Internet without having words like 'financial basketcase', 'cash-strapped' and 'beyond the next TV deal' as the reason for Port Adelaide to be talked about.

Securing our club's future by way of guaranteed revenue streams that aren't siphoned off to a tin-pot league whose most vocal opponents of all things Port Adelaide could fit their entire membership base onto the Popeye should be our #1 priority instead of cheap slogans to numb the base.

Just on Boulton's endorsement, I'm not a fan of this 'Port way/next flag' talk.

I honestly couldn't give a shit about flags at the moment. I want to be able to go to games, read a paper, turn on the TV and log onto the Internet without having words like 'financial basketcase', 'cash-strapped' and 'beyond the next TV deal' as the reason for Port Adelaide to be talked about.

Securing our club's future by way of guaranteed revenue streams that aren't siphoned off to a tin-pot league whose most vocal opponents of all things Port Adelaide could fit their entire membership base onto the Popeye should be our #1 priority instead of cheap slogans to numb the base.
i agree wholeheartedly

This is not an endorsement or otherwise of Alex, but the most important person on the board is the Chairman.
Boulton was the chairman Jan 2006 to Dec 2008
Duncanson Dec 2008 to Sept 2012

These are the two leaders along with the CEO's James and Haysman who have to take the greatest responsibilities for our poor 7 years on and off the field with only 2007 providing a respite All these key people are now gone.

You also have 2 coaches and 1 in particular who has to take a fair chunk of the blame as well, but the resources they have at their disposal is determined by the guys mentioned above.

I am worried somewhat about our corporate amnesia.

Just like we had a shit house transition from heaps of experienced guys ie 100 and 200 gamers to the last couple of years where we have played so many inexperienced players, our board has followed suit.

There should have been a smoother transition both on and off the field. But sometimes when those who work really hard but just aren't A grade anymore, have to be cleared out. I guess Alex Panos is the Dom Cassisi or Kane Cornes of our board. The question is should they be given a contract extension? Can Alex turn it round like Kane did in 2012??

Ah the old life/footy analogies!
Changed your tune REH? Did the Panos get you under his spell?

By the way off field from 2009 to 2012 is the big dip, Panos was there for that one

Changed your tune REH? Did the Panos get you under his spell?

By the way off field from 2009 to 2012 is the big dip, Panos was there for that one

No I haven't changed my tune, just pointing out where the majority of the responsibility lies.

Wasn't Haysman against the re-signing of Williams in 2009?

Supposedly, and supposedly the chairman pushed hard to keep him. According to Duncanson every board decision was unanimous.

If it is mainly Chairman and CEO then why not go for Changeif Panos is not accountable for past 4 years with his Pres mate

I am not arguing one way or the other, but changing 9 out of 10 directors since June last year meets my definition of overwhelming significant change. It's up to every one to work out if they want 90% or 100% change.

There is a fair argument to want to stop the club having corporate amnesia. It happens every time our club is bagged that we put in a bid saying we would get average crowds of 35,000 - which we never did - it was 28,000, yet nobody from the club has read the document to point out its BS and can quote from which page of the original documents the correct facts are stated. That is a form of corporate amnesia.

I haven't made up my mind yet - I wont until tonight and then vote on line.