Ackland for CHF ?

• Thread starter Thread starter waldo48

Lets all remember Acklands call up against Brisbane when Cloke was injured... NO F'IN HEART! How many chances must we give him... throw him in the VFL he does ok.. once he gets a call up to AFL, he acts like he knows he's only in the seniors for a week or two and so doesn't give a flying flark.

In VFL a big bodied mature man may do ok, but who was he opposed to in the last two VFL games? In the AFL he'll be playing on an AFL CHB and this clone of the Lion with no courage from the Wizard of Oz will be a hindrance to our side.

At this moment I think we can all honestly state Ackland will not be our CHF in 2009, 2010 etc etc... so why play him there now? Hartlett has been flagged as a potential player in that spot so lets just see what we can get into him instead.

FFS ackland is no that bad. I suspect most of the posters here hate him b/c he signed for money above his market value and has not delivered. But u cant blame him if the club offered him the money, nobody would turn it down.
I remmeber only a month ago Russell was vilified here as much as Ackland and now nobody is saying anything. I do agree with the poster who said that our obvious deficiency last week was in the ruck as we got absoultely towelled up there and Essendon won virtually every centre clearance in the first half.
Hence i would not be opposed to giving him another go in the ruck. yeah i know he played badly against Brisbane but it was his first senior game of the year. He is probably going to need a few senior games before he plays to his best.

Ackland is very ordinary and he has no future beyond this year at Carlton, he has had many opportunities at senior level and failed to deliver, if you cannot see that then l suggest you go back and watch some replays.

Who??........yourself included!

gouldy_34
BigFooty Member

Other Teams: Man U + Storm + Victory

Re: Carlton Monopoly Game
Quote:
Originally Posted by celtic_pride
Suggestions for properties -

Old Kent Road - Jordan Russell

Mayfair - Chris Judd

Old Kent Road - Cain Ackland

firstly... that is quite sad. you've got far too much spare time. and secondly, that hasnt proved anything! in fact i rated Ackland above MOST others...including the people who made this game. ive placed him on the board, indicating he's in our best 22 or whatever it is on the board. back to the archives mate

Not up to it, highly unlikely that he will be on an AFL list at seasons end. Give Hartlett a go, he has shown glimpses of talent and is a much better chance of doing a decent CHF job than Ackland.

firstly... that is quite sad. you've got far too much spare time. and secondly, that hasnt proved anything! in fact i rated Ackland above MOST others...including the people who made this game. ive placed him on the board, indicating he's in our best 22 or whatever it is on the board. back to the archives mate

whatever mate!

Kicked 15 goals in 2 weeks in the VFL... wow!

Keep him there and lets see him kick another 15 over the next 2 weeks... then maybe we'll give him another chance.

In the meantime persist with Hartlett and let’s see if his body holds up

Settle down puppy

vicious_dog.jpg

Did you read the title of the thread - he is on topic

Treat him with respect or piss off
Save your abuse for baggers or the opposition

good post. who ever gets picked to play gets my support as long as its in a navy blue jumper i dont care who it is

I reckon he should get another go. If he is kicking goals in the seconds then it's time to strike while the irons hot.

Isn't that part of the reason we have the seconds? To build confidence in players. To trail them in different positions. To teach them, and get their heads right for senior footy.

Ackland is only about 26 years old and in much the same mold as Brad Ottens was when he played for the Tigers - and now look at Ottens, once he gained some self belief as a goal kicker he become a hard player to match up. Ackland could become the same.

Plonk him in the goal mouth, put someone like Eddie Betts at his feet, so if Ackland can't catch it, he could at the very least palm it down Eddies' neck.

Let Fevola look after the space from 35 to 55 out, and then let the opposition worry about where to put their tall defenders.