Traded Adam Cerra traded to Carlton for pick #6 and F3

If he leaves (as widely reported), what will Freo get in return?

• Two good 1st round picks

• Top 10 pick and change

• A 1st & a 2nd

• Later 1st rounder

• Two 2nd rounders

• Early 2nd rounder

• Other 2nd round pick

• Less than a 2nd rounder

Results are only viewable after voting.

We want Picks that will help us get Neale. Not Picks around 18 haha! Will be fascinating to see how they can get it done

No doubt.

But if Cerra just wants to get to VIC and hypothetically you won't deal him because its not a fair deal, won't he just walk to one of the drafts and get to VIC anyway?

Why hasn't Cerra nominated a club yet? If Carlton are a sure thing wouldn't it be known by now?

Cerra has the potential to be in the Petracca/Oliver class in a few years time and why were going to struggle to come up with a direct trade which reflects this value. He would take Melbourne's midfield to another level.
Don't think his potential is that high and I really rate him myself.

His ceiling is probably Zac Merrett where he will float around in the top 20 range with a season or two in the top 10. That's probably the best case scenario.

No doubt.

But if Cerra just wants to get to VIC and hypothetically you won't deal him because its not a fair deal, won't he just walk to one of the drafts and get to VIC anyway?

Why hasn't Cerra nominated a club yet? If Carlton are a sure thing wouldn't it be known by now?
I do believe that he actually wants to get to Melbourne but it has to be a trade that suits Fremantle. He maybe out of contract but Regardless he is worth a Pick around 5 and Maybe a second rounder. 2 very low first rounders doesn't cut it. Your talking about a Player here that would play 200 plus games for you guys.

I'm not trying to argue that Freo don't deserve fair compensation because they do no matter where Cerra chooses to go. The issue here how is fair compensation worked out?

If the parties don't act in good faith to get a deal done, what is stopping Cerra from walking all together and there is no compensation?

Even as an example if Cerra nominated Carlton and Carlton refuse to offer pick 6, what would stop Cerra from nominating a draft to get to Vic if after all thats what he wants?

I think you underestimate how crafty we can get at the trade table when swapping picks to get deals done, we do it every year. If Cerra nominates the Dees your going to have to deal with what we offer because he's OOC, players like Jackson, Koz, Rivers are not OOC, we choose if we want to trade them or not, not them or Freo. Melbourne doesn't play around at the trade table and always offer reasonable trade packages, a lot of the time our supporters walk away saying we overpaid for the player at the time. Since your so hell bent on how we can come up with a package here it is:

Dees trade Weideman for a pick 20-30 (from GC, North, or Pies)
Dees package that pick with 33 for Dogs 1st (more points for Darcy)
Dees package Dogs 1st with Future 1st for Cerra

2 Firsts (even though both will be late firsts) is more than enough for Cerra who is a good player and will be a very good player but saying he has elite potential is a stretch. He can be an elite kick yes, but he'd have to pair that with an elite tank, elite explosiveness, elite hands, elite contested player, to really reach a top 10-15 mid in the comp which is what you'd give up that top draft capital for. I don't think it's unreasonable to say you can find a similar player to Cerra in the first round with either those picks. Personally I don't think we need Cerra as I believe we should move Rivers into the midfield who has very similar upside to Cerra, but that's the way it goes every supporter is going to rate players from their club higher than a support from another club.

Players need to agree to being traded mate you can’t just trade them if they are contracted

You could well be right. But tell me the last player that was forced to go to a club not of his choice? When he nominates you have to deal with the club of his choice. If he nominates Melbourne, you cant afford to play chicken like the Gold Coast did in the Jack Martin deal. I think you will complain, moan put on a show for the fans - then the AFL professionals will work out a deal where all are winners.

If he nominates Carlton, you watch the rhetoric change. If he really wanted Carlton he would have nominated them by now. Took Neale all of 60 seconds to say I want to consider my future with the view of going back to WA and being a Docker.

Neale opens the door for Freo to look at the deals holistically - you might lose a bit on Cerra (uncontracted) you might pick a little back up on Neale IF he selects to leave. You playing hardball you so easily could end up with NO Cerra, No Neale No Picks - I cant recall one club prepared to pay any player $1 to play for them if he does not want to be there never mind $400,000+. They all say "we will pick him" then when it comes to the day the player gets to the club of his choice.

Brisbane - Melbourne - Fremantle all sit in a room together all have skin in the game all work out a deal. I merely mentioned it because I dont see it out of the equation we could deliver them 13 - its right in the Fahey dangerzone might be a good pick to dump and get overs for.

I'm not trying to argue that Freo don't deserve fair compensation because they do no matter where Cerra chooses to go. The issue here how is fair compensation worked out?

If the parties don't act in good faith to get a deal done, what is stopping Cerra from walking all together and there is no compensation?

Even as an example if Cerra nominated Carlton and Carlton refuse to offer pick 6, what would stop Cerra from nominating a draft to get to Vic if after all thats what he wants?
If he does that, GC’s 4 would get him and it can be traded for. Maybe someone makes a play for it. Either way, with live trading I don’t think anybody is going into a draft without risk.

Much better to just figure it out like Adults and everybody wins.

I suppose its acting in good faith mate. But I'm sure we can both agree that 2x Picks around 18 are not worthy of a 200 plus gamer. Those picks may even be pushed back due to academy and father sons.

You could well be right. But tell me the last player that was forced to go to a club not of his choice? When he nominates you have to deal with the club of his choice. If he nominates Melbourne, you cant afford to play chicken like the Gold Coast did in the Jack Martin deal. I think you will complain, moan put on a show for the fans - then the AFL professionals will work out a deal where all are winners.

If he nominates Carlton, you watch the rhetoric change. If he really wanted Carlton he would have nominated them by now. Took Neale all of 60 seconds to say I want to consider my future with the view of going back to WA and being a Docker.

Neale opens the door for Freo to look at the deals holistically - you might lose a bit on Cerra (uncontracted) you might pick a little back up on Neale IF he selects to leave. You playing hardball you so easily could end up with NO Cerra, No Neale No Picks - I cant recall one club prepared to pay any player $1 to play for them if he does not want to be there never mind $400,000+. They all say "we will pick him" then when it comes to the day the player gets to the club of his choice.

Brisbane - Melbourne - Fremantle all sit in a room together all have skin in the game all work out a deal. I merely mentioned it because I dont see it out of the equation we could deliver them 13 - its right in the Fahey dangerzone might be a good pick to dump and get overs for.
Yeah but that Pick straight away would be 15. You could imagine there future first will be around 16-18 as well. Im sure most of us Fremantle supporters would say that its under for Cerra. Im trusting Ralph here when he says that Melbourne couldn't really get it done

Cerra has integrity just like Judd who didn’t want West Coast to get rimmed.

Cerra will decide what the best fit for him which includes a club having enough assets to get the trade done.

No worries mate I reckon Weid should look elsewhere I still can’t believe he’s behind Ben Brown in pecking order
Brown has been great, he’s a proven quality player. Weid has had his chance at AFL level this season without Brown in the side and didn’t take it. I still think he can be fairly good player at another club. And he deserves that chance.

Yeah but that Pick straight away would be 15. You could imagine there future first will be around 16-18 as well. Im sure most of us Fremantle supporters would say that its under for Cerra. Im trusting Ralph here when he says that Melbourne couldn't really get it done

Well for your sake i hope he is right too

I suppose its acting in good faith mate. But I'm sure we can both agree that 2x Picks around 18 are not worthy of a 200 plus gamer. Those picks may even be pushed back due to academy and father sons.

This is your story bro, you can demand what you want.

Cerra has integrity just like Judd who didn’t want West Coast to get rimmed.

Cerra will decide what the best fit for him which includes a club having enough assets to get the trade done.

I hope it works out for you. But if Cerra nominates a club, you will have to work out a fair deal with that club.

Get the feeling Melbourne are in play here or else there’d be reports in the media along the lines of “It’s believed that Cerra will nominate Carlton”

Umm, what the hell have you been reading, all the media and journos have been saying Cerra will end up at Carlton , with pick 6 part of the deal.

Yeah done deal.

Not sure why Cerra has nominated Carlton yet.

AFL clubs dont run the deals past Jon Ralph to see if he thinks they can do it. Ralph is giving an opinion. I think Demons are much further down the track than many think. I know they have had discussions with clubs that maybe able to provide some ammo should Freo want picks to secure other players.

The clubs (Freo - Melbourne - maybe Brisbane all have skin in the game) will sit down in a room and work something out.

Umm, He's been reading all the reports that he would prefer to go to Melbourne over Carlton.

Might want to go back and read the last 3 pages of the thread