Adam Iacobucci

Dec 20, 2004
SA
West Tigers
Since all the talk is being about Thomas being dropped i say give this young bloke a go i was really impressed when i saw him last year and wondered where he has gone i think should definatly be given a chance will be a good work horse fo you guys in the future.

Adam's form in the VFL, has been dissapointing, and he is the first to admit it. Knowing him personally, he has been told by Mick that they wont just give him a go, maybe if they were 0-9 or 1-8, but they are 7-2, so they aint just gonna give people a go. Especially someone who isnt performing in the VFL. He is working hard, just not getting enough of the pill. And thats his job as a midfielder.

Thanks for your view but he will come good no worries about that i thought he played alright on the weekend for willy or was it the weekend before that.

surely pendles is in with more of a chance to get the call up?

Pendles has been named in the best nearly every week for willly.

some extra skill and speed wouldnt go astray against the lions

Ferga18 said:
Adam's form in the VFL, has been dissapointing, and he is the first to admit it. Knowing him personally, he has been told by Mick that they wont just give him a go, maybe if they were 0-9 or 1-8, but they are 7-2, so they aint just gonna give people a go. Especially someone who isnt performing in the VFL. He is working hard, just not getting enough of the pill. And thats his job as a midfielder.

huh?

from all reports yakka has been awesome over the past month for willy.... :confused:

Drizt said:
surely pendles is in with more of a chance to get the call up?

Pendles has been named in the best nearly every week for willly.

some extra skill and speed wouldnt go astray against the lions

AGREE :)

There are other players aswell that deserve a go before Adam.

Pendles has been the most consistant player at Willy, followed by Jason Cloke. Davies has been really good, although he's played a couple of senior games this year, Adam needs to string a few good games together if he wants to be considered. He is very capable of it.

dids4 said:
huh?

from all reports yakka has been awesome over the past month for willy.... :confused:

sorry dude. Ur reports were wrong. Against Casey Scorpians had 10 poessesions. Not good enough, week before that he had a dog of a game aswell. Last week was ooooooooooooooooook. Not awesome.

We are talking about His form, on whether its good enough to get into Collingwoods team, and frankily its not. He will get there. There is no doubt.
He is very tough and hard it.

i just hope he can get back up into the senior side and start performing well as soon as possible great to watch in action.

Ferga's correct re. form.

I think he's a good kid, but was mature age when drafted, so his time to "show" something is lower than others.

I think he's not a natural inside ball winner, which is not to say he can't get high possession games, or is soft at the contest, just that he is no McGough in this regard (it was McGough's 43 possessions which starved Yakka to just 10 against the Scorpions).

Colin Wisbey mentioned an idea which I actually think sounds interesting, in that he reckons he'd make an ideal back pocket. He works very hard, has good footy smarts, can kick very straight and has reasonable toe without being super quick.

Perhaps my concerns would be that I haven't seen him exhibit aerial strength in a one on one contest, and I have noticed that he can be a bit weak at grabbing and shutting down an opponent in a tackle.

How would he go at shutting down a Milne type? Dunno, but worth considering.

We've had some success in grooming kids in the backline of late. #39 springs to mind!

I could not question Adam's attack on the ball and he generally has crisp nice kicking skills , his downfall at the minute is not getting enough of the pill at VFL level , needs to run smarter .

that would be a good idea maybe put him in the back pocket and see what he can do will give him some experience and will do him the world of good even if you stick him o the worst forward so he can run off his man with confidence .

hmm well i must apologise, i obviously got it wrong.

couldve sworn he had a high possession game a week or so ago?

regardless, i really rate him as a footballer. reminds me a LOT of tony francis.

Drizt said:
delisted.... :D:D:D:D, spose your right if he doesnt crack a game for the pies..

Walker GONE
Hall GONE
Fanning GONE
??
??
Are we committed to Fanning for two years?

I know Walker's got another year to run, but at the minute, you'd cop the hit and flick him.

Hall's gone.

O'Brien will be elevated, and unless Crab can do something amazing, it'd be the likely swap.

Rowey's performing pretty well at Willi, with the ball on a string, but if his disposal doesn't lift, he may be on thin ice.

Wiz reckons that the draft being strong is a half truth (remembering it's still early), in that it's not like the 2001 draft, but has a very strong list of near definite AFL first rounders, but falls away quickly after they've gone.

I reckon we should make minimal changes, and simply move on those players who clearly won't make it, elevate the one who's earned it.

Probably too early to worry about it, but I doubt the likes of Yakka and Rowe aren't worried about it!

Hall: Should get rid of him know for Harry
Walker: skating on very thin ice (if under contract, would have to trade, perhaps to the Dogs who are in desperate need of some strong bodies)
Morrison: Needs a big second half of the season to retain his position on the list. Would be out of contract at years end.
Fanning: Likely to go
Sam Illes: One year or two year contract?

You'd have to think that there's a good possibility that Wakelin and/or Burns will retire at the end of the year. If that's the case, there may be fewer delistings than expected.

Morrison (retire or delist)
Burns (retire?)
Wakelin (retire?)
Hall (delist)
Walker (delist)
Rowe (delist)

That would create six vacancies on our list. Elevate O'Brien. That leaves five picks in the national draft or four, with the remaining pick to be used in the preseason draft. Sounds about right to me. I don't think cutting any deeper into our list makes sense. Too many late picks in the draft becomes counterproductive in my opinion, entangling you in the dreaded 'dud for dud' cycle.

Palmer Stoat said:
You'd have to think that there's a good possibility that Wakelin and/or Burns will retire at the end of the year. If that's the case, there may be fewer delistings than expected.

Morrison (retire or delist)
Burns (retire?)
Wakelin (retire?)
Hall (delist)
Walker (delist)
Rowe (delist)

That would create six vacancies on our list. Elevate O'Brien. That leaves five picks in the national draft or four, with the remaining pick to be used in the preseason draft. Sounds about right to me. I don't think cutting any deeper into our list makes sense. Too many late picks in the draft becomes counterproductive in my opinion, entangling you in the dreaded 'dud for dud' cycle.

U bring up an interesting point about Burns and wakelin retiring. Burns is picking up a fair bit of the ball in recent weeks. I could see him easily stepping back in to the position he played as an 19 year old when he first started in AFL in a back pocket. Pushing a heath Shaw up the ground.
Wakelin isa tough one. Once we get Harry on the list, Wakelin will struggle to keep a spot i think. Thats my opinion.

Dont delist Julian Rowe just yet, gets a ton of the ball, but his disposal does let him down. But at least he gets it 30+ times a game. At willy.

Trade Tex. He is a good player, i think so anyway. Would have a lot to offer at another club, maybe St Kilda who are lacking talls...or he can go home to Freo as the only talls really there are longmuir and Sandilands.

Hall will be delisted. Morrison I think will retire. Fanning will be delisted. Bucci needs to pull his finger out or it could spell danger, Trade Jason Cloke to Richmond, I know for a fact he wants to go there, I dont blame him, he might get a better go there.

What do u guys think about Chris Egan??
I mentioned in a post a couple of weeks ago, about his attitude in the game against Casey scorpians was nothing but disgraceful when he yelled to himself "F***** little ****" after he got dragged, infront of the crowd. What should we do with him?????

Ferga18

Ferga18 said:
U bring up an interesting point about Burns and wakelin retiring. Burns is picking up a fair bit of the ball in recent weeks. I could see him easily stepping back in to the position he played as an 19 year old when he first started in AFL in a back pocket. Pushing a heath Shaw up the ground.
Wakelin isa tough one. Once we get Harry on the list, Wakelin will struggle to keep a spot i think. Thats my opinion.

Dont delist Julian Rowe just yet, gets a ton of the ball, but his disposal does let him down. But at least he gets it 30+ times a game. At willy.

Trade Tex. He is a good player, i think so anyway. Would have a lot to offer at another club, maybe St Kilda who are lacking talls...or he can go home to Freo as the only talls really there are longmuir and Sandilands.

Hall will be delisted. Morrison I think will retire. Fanning will be delisted. Bucci needs to pull his finger out or it could spell danger, Trade Jason Cloke to Richmond, I know for a fact he wants to go there, I dont blame him, he might get a better go there.

What do u guys think about Chris Egan??
I mentioned in a post a couple of weeks ago, about his attitude in the game against Casey scorpians was nothing but disgraceful when he yelled to himself "F***** little ****" after he got dragged, infront of the crowd. What should we do with him?????

Ferga18

dude i dont know where u get yr info from

yakka has been playing well for willy.
been named in the best in 3 games or so
game against Casey he has his eye cut open for the second time in 3 weeks

and he is miles in front of julian rowe in terms of getting a game

rowe has gone backwards massively

ive watched all williamstown games barr one this year.
he's also performed better than Davies who has done nothing to warrant a game for the pies last week.

lets not even compare to Egan
egan is a dud

Murray said:
Assuming we will delist 5 at years end.
Yakka is probably going to be looked at along with Walker, Hall and Cloke(s)
we traditionally give injured players time to prove themselves (eg davidson, richards) so i dont think yakka will be delisted till he has had a chance to prove himself.
C2 wont be delisted, coz i think once he gets over his im a footballer i can do what ever i want problems he will be very good for us!
Walker and hall will be delisted for sure you would think but. Its a shame to see hall not show anything coz everyone rated him very highly when he was first drafted! maybe he is just a late bloomer?!

Adam Iacobucci