Adelaide Training

• Thread starter Thread starter jacqui9

Originally posted by jacqui9
Hi All

just like to know when Crow's training is on during the Summer. A few of my Hawks mates would like me to say hello to Tim Hazell. Was a popular person at Hawthorn.

Cheers

Is Tim Hazell training with the Crows?

Have they released a list of those that will be?

Here ya go: Players Training with AFL Clubs ([url]www.afl.com)[/URL]

Andrew Rowans (Tassie Mariners), Michael Bratton (Norwood), Brad Dabrowski (West Adelaide), Clint Dubieniecki (Glenelg), Tim Hazell (Box Hill), Brad Lang (Glenorchy), Tim Nicholas (Norwood), Craig Parry (Port Adelaide Magpies), Jason Porplyzia (West Adelaide), Jason Whitehead (Woodville West Torrens).

and - just because it's interesting ...

Port Adelaide
Lucas Block (Glenelg), Alex Button (Glenelg), Dale Ellis (Woodville West Torrens), Adam Grocke (North Adelaide), Salem Hassan (West Adelaide), Cameron Ilett (Port Adelaide Mapgies), Matt Illman (West Adelaide), David Kellett (Central District), Peter Mann (Port Adelaide Magpies), Dylan Pfitzner (Central District), Paul Thomas (Central District), Jarrod Wright (Woodville West Torrens).

Sheesh - I actually reckon Port has the better list of players running around there. Damn, I hate how often I'm forced to admire that f***ing side - I HATE it.

Originally posted by Jars458
Doesn't really matter who they are training with, its who drafts them that counts.
So true. It wouldn't be surprising if both sides rookie listed exclusively from the batch of players training at the other club. Grass is always greener and all that.

Did the Tassie Mariners even exist this year?

Who is this Andrew Rowans and come to mention it, who is Brad Lang?

Goalden Hawk was saying on teh Draft board that the guys name is actually Rowan Andrews and not Andrew Rowans.:D

Andrew Rowans
Its actually Rowan Andrews. A 198 cm / 82 kg ruckman from Tassie Mariners who is a very good overhead mark but is poor below his knees. Apparently has improved a great deal this year. I suspected we might invite him to training and wouldn't be surprised if he is rookie listed.

Originally posted by Kristof
Port Adelaide
Lucas Block (Glenelg),
Dale Ellis (Woodville West Torrens),
Adam Grocke (North Adelaide),
Matt Illman (West Adelaide),
David Kellett (Central District),
Dylan Pfitzner (Central District),
Paul Thomas (Central District),
Jarrod Wright (Woodville West Torrens).
Pretty impressive list training with Port. I was hoping we would invite these players to train with us. Lucas Block could turn out to be a very good player.

I tried searching for this Brad Lang chap. The only thing I could find is his photo from the club website and that he wears number 15. I have no idea what position he plays but I think it might be safe to assume that he is a ruckman

Brad%20Lang.jpg

Rowan Andrews (Tassie Mariners)
Brad Dabrowski (West Adelaide),
Tim Hazell (Box Hill),
Craig Parry (Port Adelaide Magpies),
Jason Whitehead (Woodville West Torrens).
I would be rookie listing Dabrowski and Parry ASAP. Hazell would be a good pick as he could play straight away if needed. Would toss up between Whitehead and Andrews.

This way our rookie list would be made up of 2 ruckman, 2 KPP and a utility.

Did the Tassie Mariners even exist this year?

Who is this Andrew Rowans and come to mention it, who is Brad Lang?

They do exist as a U 18 representitive/development side for the Tassie Devils VFL side. They play other U 18 rep sides around the country.

However they are no longer a VFL U 18 club. I think the costs and time involved for the lads to make the commitment to that league got the better of Football Tasmania.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I tried searching for this Brad Lang chap. The only thing I could find is his photo from the club website and that he wears number 15. I have no idea what position he plays but I think it might be safe to assume that he is a ruckman

Very difficult to get any details on him other than that he played for Glenorchy in the Premier League down in Tassie.

Yes, he is a ruckman, who had a pretty good season. I read a report of one of his game's somewhere this year in which he got BOG where it said that he dominated the ruck and got plenty of the ball on the ground.

Don't know his age or his stats though.

Andrew Rowans (Tassie Mariners), Michael Bratton (Norwood), Brad Dabrowski (West Adelaide), Clint Dubieniecki (Glenelg), Tim Hazell (Box Hill), Brad Lang (Glenorchy), Tim Nicholas (Norwood), Craig Parry (Port Adelaide Magpies), Jason Porplyzia (West Adelaide), Jason Whitehead (Woodville West Torrens).

What a ridiculous list!!! True to their word there's 7 giant pelicans (ruckmen) out of 10 running around in that lot!!

I know!! I know!! They can rookie draft anyone from anywhere and all I can hope that is that's exactly what they do. I've had a gutful of this AFC ruckman phobia!!

We have 2 top ruckmen playing. We now have 2 more ruckmen they claim are capable of playing straight away if needed. ONE rookie ruckman with a genuine future would do just fine. There just can't be a multitude of champion undiscovered ruckmen just lying around ignored by the other 15 clubs just when WE decide that we want more ruckmen.

There ARE 17 other positions on the ground.

FWIW Port's list is a terrific mixture of genuine chances covering several positions. There's a couple there certainly worth having.

Once again from Hawksheadquarters

Rowan Andrews

Details:
Club: Clarence, Tas
DOB: 11 May 85 Hgt: 198cm Wgt: 82kg
Position: Ruckman
Natural foot: Right

Honours:
Tasmania 2003
National Draft Camp Invitee 2003

TAC Stats:
2002: 9 games, 1 goal, 7.9 PPG.
2003: N/A

Profile:
Given the lack of ruckman in the crop of 2003, interest in Rowan Andrews is no doubt high. I'm not totally sold myself, he had a very disappointing carnival after showing real promise in the lead-up games. However, anyone who saw his form in the Challenge Cup would agree he has some real potential.

Rowan's main strength is his marking - can take some great grabs, contested as well. I wouldn't say his ruckwork is anything to write home about, but it usually isn't at this level. He was persevered with in the ruck for most of the carnival, but I think he could have done with some time up forward as well.

In a Challenge Cup match against Northern Territory he almost turned the game when moved forward in the final term, kicking a couple of goals and sparking a Mariners revival.

However, there are some things that worry me. His decision-making can be poor, and his kicking can let him down too. He seems to prefer to dispose by hand when possible. He works hard though and is reported to have an excellent attitude.

Like I said I have my doubts, but any ruckman will be a punt this year so you might as punt on him. Late pick.

I asked on Regional Leauges Board about Brad Lang and got some info. Interesting stuff. Another late starter.

Originally posted by footyman
footyman can help! This article was in the Mercury a few weeks ago.

The Mercury
THU 23 OCT 2003
Brad's anxious wait for Crows to call
By BRETT STUBBS

IT helps to have a coach with good contacts -- just ask Glenorchy ruckman Brad Lang.
The Storm's coach John Klug is a former Adelaide player and stays in touch with the club.
He informed the Crows of the 21-year-old ruckman's potential and Lang was a surprise invitee to the AFL screening in Melbourne on October 12, having never represented the Mariners or the Devils.
The screening is similar to a one-day draft camp, where players are put through a series of tests and spoken to by interested clubs.
Lang was put through a beep test, 20m sprint, agility run and vertical leap test before being interviewed by the Crows.
``I think I could have done better in the tests but I am just glad to get the chance,'' Lang said yesterday.
``In the interview, they ask you everything -- if you have any problems moving, how much passion you have and commitment to footy, pretty much everything you can think of. You feel a bit like you are in a meat market.''
Even if his name is not called out at the AFL draft on November 22, the 202cm Lang has committed to taking his football to a new level.
``I am going to have a crack at the Devils for sure,'' he said.
``I have had a chat to [Devils coach] Matty Armstrong and I am pretty keen.
``It is a huge chance there with their ruckman Simon Taylor going interstate.
``I know I have to work on my contested marks for sure, but I think for a big guy I am pretty good at ground level.
``And I definitely have to put on some weight. I'm 95kg now and I want to get up to at least 100kg, but I have never done a serious weight program so hopefully I will get that with the Devils.''
He is a late starter to the game, having played basketball during his high school days.
Lang did not take up football until he was 17 for his home town of Kempton before moving to the Storm two years ago.
``I had a pretty good season this year,'' Lang said.
``I had an ankle injury at the start of the year, but my second half was pretty solid.
``I have been dreaming about getting drafted but when I got to 21 I thought I was too old so this is definitely my last chance.
``I am just keeping my fingers crossed. All I can do now is just wait and see and hope I get an opportunity.''
Originally posted by The Scarecrow
I have heard a lot of good things about him, I saw him against Clarence earlier this seasaon, played pretty well kicked a couple of goals.

Get Parry with the PSD, steal a couple of rookie midfielders off Port, and rookie one of the ruckmen. Simple.

Or nab Gayfer and Surjan!

and - just because it's interesting ...

Port Adelaide
Lucas Block (Glenelg), Alex Button (Glenelg), Dale Ellis (Woodville West Torrens), Adam Grocke (North Adelaide), Salem Hassan (West Adelaide), Cameron Ilett (Port Adelaide Mapgies), Matt Illman (West Adelaide), David Kellett (Central District), Peter Mann (Port Adelaide Magpies), Dylan Pfitzner (Central District), Paul Thomas (Central District), Jarrod Wright (Woodville West Torrens).

As for our lot...Nicholas trained with us last year and wasnt up to it. Tim Hazell couldnt get a game with the Hawks so I dont know what he could provide us with.

From reading the profiles on Lang and Andrews Im not that impressed. Especially with Lang when he states that he needs to work on his contested marking. We dont need another ruckman who drops marks.

I think Parry, Bratton and either Whitehead or Dubieniecki will do us. I also think Port have a much better group - its a far more diverse group of players (good luck to the Centrals boys).