Coach Adem Yze

Still think we'd need a pretty bad run of things to go as bad or worse.

Gibcus, Lefau, Young, Smillie, Hotton and potentially McAuliffe played about 20 games between them. Collectively they could add 3-4 best 23 players in 2026 on top of the 2 x top 5 picks we are due to take. And including Hotton and Smillie, a massive 8 players doing their first full pre-season since coming onto the list.

You can't overstate the impact of Gibcus, Lefau, Hotton and Young entering the season rehabbing ACL's, that is a very unusual situation.

Put it another way, if we recruited Gibcus, Lefau, Young, Smillie, Hotton and McAuliffe from other clubs this off-season, with no player losses, would we expect our performance to improve?

The other thing is 79 games were played by players who didn't get to do the full pre-season due to being drafted weeks into the off-season. That figure in 2026 is likely to be closer to 20 games.

Combine those also with players like Ralphsmith(12 games,) Young(7) Lefau(1) McAuliffe(5) Gibcus(1) who had no real pre-season, there were on average 5 players on the field each match who had not done a full pre-season.

So there are two concurrent effects acting here, likely a lot more talent available, and hopefully less of that talent with badly restricted pre-seasons. The combined effect will probably like taking our average team from last year, removing the weakest or worst prepared 5 players and replacing those guys with more talented and better prepared players. As I said in my earlier post, it is not enough to bring us into contention, but should be enough for us to expect a very noticeable improvement.
You might be right. Injuries will probably be key again coz if Vlaus and Nank miss a lot it can really change things. I am generally glass half full so not expecting much

Do some research mate.
Blair said post trade period last year that he expected Bakes to go back 2-3 years ago but he kept signing short term deals because he loved the Tigs. They always knew he'd go back at some point.

Shai was simular. Blair had to convince him numerous times to stay. His 2nd kid was the clincher on going home.

Yeah I still call bullshit. Anyone who thiks their decision wasn't significantly influenced by the team imploding, Dimma leaving, Mini not getting the job & a entire generation of players basically all departing at the same time, often 2-3 years earlier than we expected their retirements to be - got rocks in your head.

Bolton was signed up until the end of 2028.

Baker was vice captain. If they expected him to leave, why the **** make him vice captain, & many had felt he was the clubs longterm preference to be Captain after Toby

Yeah I still call bullshit. Anyone who thiks their decision wasn't significantly influenced by the team imploding, Dimma leaving, Mini not getting the job & a entire generation of players basically all departing at the same time, often 2-3 years earlier than we expected their retirements to be - got rocks in your head.

Baker was vice captain. If they expected him to leave, why the **** make him vice captain, & many had felt he was the clubs longterm preference to be Captain after Toby
Blessing in disguise. Imagine if they were still on our list and we have had no draft haul with an impending Tassie 🤮.

Yze inks contract extention till 2028. On RFC website.

feels a bit premature, there wasn't much of an incentive to extend. Hopefully he is still one of the lowest paid head coaches so we can beef out our footy department

Like it as it removes any pressure to peform now and instead allows him to focus on the long term development of the group.

feels a bit premature, there wasn't much of an incentive to extend. Hopefully he is still one of the lowest paid head coaches so we can beef out our footy department
This is a sound move for a very strong club with good finances. If we don't extend and start the season poorly (a big chance given our age and experience profile), then the pressure mounts and the club potentially destabilises. The young players clearly love Yze, so when wins/losses are secondary to development of our future stars, then stability is vital and a new coach is the last thing we need. And a 1-year extension doesn't scream stability...it screams doubt and a lack of support or direction.

This says to me the club do think Yze is our long-term coach and have supported him accordingly.

Then if by chance it goes pear shaped, and towards the end of 2027 it becomes clear Yze is not our next Premiership coach, we simply cut ties and pay him out early and move on wiht a new coach for 2028.

So I'm not looking at this as any sort of 'blind show of faith' until end of 2028 - I see it as a great show of support and stability for the next vital 1-2 x years whilst our youngsters - who are clearly fully invested in Yze - develop....then we can easily zig right or zag left when the picture becomes clearer.

Them leaving was the best thing that could've happened. In 2024 Rioli had a career best year and won the B&F, Baker played 18 games, Bolton played 22 games and won our goal kicking, Graham was there for 14-games....and we finished bottom of the ladder.

So the team imploded on their watch. 4 x Key players in their absolute football prime age of 25-27yo and we won a spoon with 2 x wins.

But in return we effectively get: Trainor, Smillie, Grlj, Faull & Hotton.

Baker just won Eagles B&F and Graham finished 4th (after missing 5 x games) - they won 1 x game and they collected another spoon. Bolton sh*t the bed in a losing final at home to Gold Coast.

If you believe the club would be closer to a flag with all of those guys still there, Dimma still there and a list without the 5 x young guns listed above then that's what I call BS.....who would our best 26yo & under player if those guys remained? Our future flag chances would genuinely be cooked.

I wont comment
GIF by Christmas FM

Not his biggest fan yet but what choice does the club have? Two years is about right. Players do love him.

He has two years to get this right with a treasure chest of talent now.

It will be pretty clear by his next contract discussion if he can or can’t coach.