NikkiNoo

Premium Platinum
Veteran 10k Posts Podcaster Ex-Moderator
panthers, ukraine & broncos
Ok I went to the AGM tonight held by the club. Below are what I remember as being the main points.

Life membership will be given to Ian Perrie and Nathan Bassett at the Season Launch in March next year. Triggy had some great words to say about Perrie and that he is really looking forward to presenting Life Membership to him.

As in the other thread Trigg is not happy with that profit, when you take away the payments from the AFL it is not as healthy as he would like. He did mention that Growth is the aim but it is hard to do when Membership is at it's maximum and the stadium is full each week, they have maximised the returns from the Members that they can. The club will be looking at other options outside of football so that we can maintain Growth.

He is hoping that plans for our new facilities will be released around the start of the season. It will cost around $15m. So that we won't have to take out too big a loan and we don't have the cash available to pay for it, sponsors and members will be asked to assist in raising extra funding for this facility. In light of the board looking at other options to maximise profit, that will be taken into consideration in this new facility that will also not compromise the football department.

Craig introduced each of the new draftees and players into the club. They were not actually there as they were all already at Strathalbyn on their camp. Vision was shown of each of them. Craig did let slip that Brad Symes informed him that his mum, when the trade went through, went and got a crows tattoo. :D NC did mention that he thought about asking where the tattoo was, but he hasn't built up that sort of relationship with Symes as yet. :D

He talked about how everyone is just going to love Jacky. He is a character.

He also said that Armstrong has an infectious smile.

Taylor - he has taken very well to training, better than expected was the impression I got from what was said.

Ed Curnow - said that this boy will do ANYTHING to be an AFL player and will be at the club from tomorrow.

The key words were opportunity for all players and replenishing the list (not the other 'r' word ;) )

Trigg reported that all these boys were lined up in front of him the other day and he felt that he was back teaching again as they are all such babies. He also spoke about walking into the gym the other day and the size of vb's arms, Knights looked ready to play and Ivan looked ready to eat someone! :eek: :D

Questions asked were about the alcohol trial - considering I would have been in the younger 5% of the audience there, I was not surprised at the question. The club stressed that it was a trial and that they would look at it closely.

NSW Scholarship - will we look there at another player? Trigg mentioned Collingwood's focus on Ireland that the club has considered if Ireland is a viable option for a 'free kick' in the draft. The recruiters and the club consider that there is better available in NSW and Victoria at this current time and will look more into those areas.

In terms of 'free kicks' the father / son option was asked in respect of Jessie Aish. He said that Jesse is a late bloomer, he was considered in our ranking but those that were rookied today were ranked higher than him by us. If he puts in another good year and improves again we may look at f/s option for him at next years draft.

Welsh - Trigg reported that there were two things to consider 1. the club shouldn't have still been in the situation that his contract was not tied up earlier but 2. we will not be held over by a player. Hudson and Welsh were still required players but when you are 29 and there are regular behaviour issues that needs to be taken into account. It was always planned that we would phase these players out of the club over time and younger ones take over their spot. This has happened earlier than planned, but was always planned that those players would be gone over the next couple of years. Trigg reported that he had his hair ruffled and copped quite a grilling by the Board in relation to the Welsh contract.

There were other points but that's it for now.

Cheers

Great work Nikki.

Its good to see the club is becoming very business savvy. I hope we will one day become the envy of all the other clubs in relation to our profits and handling of our members.

Perrie is a deserving life member, put up with so much but just kept his chin up and did his job. Congrats Sarge

You're welcome guys.

Another thing I thought of was Trigg saying that we need to listen to Goodwin, Edwards, Burton and McLeod when they say that the vibe around the club is the best that it has ever been and not listen to tabloid journalists (his words) and ex-captains of the club.

Oh the club is looking at rewarding members in terms of years of membership.

The ticketing arrangements for footy park are up for tender and the club is looking at this in conjunction with the SANFL.

There were 4 club 'themed' rounds this past season. Next season every round will have a 'theme' in order to make our days out at the footy the best experience it can be.

Only one of our few membership targets we did not reach and that was in relation to junior membership. Our crows nest member total was around 4,200 and our aim was for 5,000.

71% of auskick participants in SA listed the Crows as their team. The club has 5 full time staff that do the crows in schools visits and we even have a multicultural officer that works with new immigrants into Australia.

Oh the club is looking at rewarding members in terms of years of membership.
Good to see afccomau reads my posts :cool:

There were 4 club 'themed' rounds this past season. Next season every round will have a 'theme' in order to make our days out at the footy the best experience it can be.
Win the game and my day at the footy will be the best experience

Only one of our few membership targets we did not reach and that was in relation to junior membership. Our crows nest member total was around 4,200 and our aim was for 5,000.
Signing young PC up as we speak

You're welcome guys.

Another thing I thought of was Trigg saying that we need to listen to Goodwin, Edwards, Burton and McLeod when they say that the vibe around the club is the best that it has ever been and not listen to tabloid journalists (his words) and ex-captains of the club.

aaagghhaahaahaaaa.........:D:D

Good to see afccomau reads my posts :cool:

Win the game and my day at the footy will be the best experience

Signing young PC up as we speak

I rang yesterday and renewed the lovely Miss Dog.

$40 for free entry to 6 games is a pretty good deal- plus priority purchase to the others - and all the stickers and clinics and back packs and stuff

May sound harsh, but maybe by rewarding members for being staying with the club, maybe they could threaten to strip other members if they do not attend a certain number of games. I for one am still waiting to get a membership. I am young as are all my friends.

I think the club is doing a great job by trying to get lots of junior members along with the Auskick support...but those kids might not ever be able to become members, and may I say it, be turned off by the median age of the crowd.

Radical thinking, but eh.

May sound harsh, but maybe by rewarding members for being staying with the club, maybe they could threaten to strip other members if they do not attend a certain number of games. I for one am still waiting to get a membership. I am young as are all my friends.

I think the club is doing a great job by trying to get lots of junior members along with the Auskick support...but those kids might not ever be able to become members, and may I say it, be turned off by the median age of the crowd.

Radical thinking, but eh.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=397034

Hey Nikki, thats awesome thanks for the update, its great being in Melbourne but having eyes and ears through this board in Adelaide, it makes you feel more a part of the club, so thanks to everyone for the training and the club updates.

In terms of Triggy's comments on membership. I spent the last 4.5 years overseas, getting up in the middle of the night to listen to games on the internet, or getting 1/4 by 1/4 updates via text from friends and family. I often thought it would be great to have an international membership where the club sends text messages during the game, or supporter news and international supporter group info in mags etc. Also whenever there were big games on you usually only got replays the following day, it would have been great to have a pub dedicated to showing games aligned to the club. I know when i was living in Edinburgh, one of the pubs was run by a mad Power supporter and he paid for games to show live during the year for them. It may be another revenue stream. Just a thought, maybe i should email triggy!

Hey Nikki, thats awesome thanks for the update, its great being in Melbourne but having eyes and ears through this board in Adelaide, it makes you feel more a part of the club, so thanks to everyone for the training and the club updates.

In terms of Triggy's comments on membership. I spent the last 4.5 years overseas, getting up in the middle of the night to listen to games on the internet, or getting 1/4 by 1/4 updates via text from friends and family. I often thought it would be great to have an international membership where the club sends text messages during the game, or supporter news and international supporter group info in mags etc. Also whenever there were big games on you usually only got replays the following day, it would have been great to have a pub dedicated to showing games aligned to the club. I know when i was living in Edinburgh, one of the pubs was run by a mad Power supporter and he paid for games to show live during the year for them. It may be another revenue stream. Just a thought, maybe i should email triggy!

Definately should mate. I have emailed Triggy a couple of times, and I find you always get a polite, informative and PROMPT reply

Trigg reported that all these boys were lined up in front of him the other day and he felt that he was back teaching again as they are all such babies. He also spoke about walking into the gym the other day and the size of vb's arms, Knights looked ready to play and Ivan looked ready to eat someone! :eek: :D

I demand more details.

Now that is a brilliant idea... there's only so much you can garner from 4 Pride magazines a year! Put me on that petition!

Great idea mate. I've been living off the text's and badly timed radio broadcasts as well!

International texts might cost a bit more but if it was available and/or part of memberships I reckon a ton of people would sign up for it.

Now that is a brilliant idea... there's only so much you can garner from 4 Pride magazines a year! Put me on that petition!

If you are a Crows member you can receive our members email update, sent out weekly from February through to the end of the season and then occasionally through the rest of the year. You just have to make sure our membership department has your email address. It contains team news, membership info, event detail etc and special offers from the club and sponsors. This is different to the afc.com.au newsletter, sent out during the season from the website and linking back to stories/video etc on the club site.

What beneift does a crows membership offer you when you are overseas? Don't get me wrong, i kept my memberships and gave it to a friend for the duration of my time OS, but most don't or wouldn't. As for the email update with offers from the club and sponsors, i assume they would really only benefit you if you were in Australia?

Fantastic write up Nikki. Really well presented and very informative.

Certainly answered a lot of questions I had always wondered about. My main concern was "why aren't the crows exploring Irish players?" but judging from that I would much rather be hunting the junior VIC & NSW players than Irish ones.

thanks again