AFL 20-team competition

Originally posted by Bomber Spirit
If I were involved in negotiating with the AFL to get a western Sydney team up and running, which I'm not, I would insist that the new team get a crack at those supporters by having Stadium Australia exclusively for the new team and the Swans to play all their home games at the SCG. But the Swans would probably oppose that, because they'd lose half their capacity for their blockbuster games.

Do you realise that the break-even crowd figure at Stade de Oz is over 40,000?

It comes down to economic viability at the end of the day. 16 teams is becoming to hard to manage for some...not naming club names at all. Like it or hate it, the AFL will eventually cull club numbers not increase.

Originally posted by bricon
Do you realise that the break-even crowd figure at Stade de Oz is over 40,000?

But that is when you have a contract to play 6 games there and only play 3. So in actual fact it's about half that.

Originally posted by dj21
But that is when you have a contract to play 6 games there and only play 3. So in actual fact it's about half that.

And stadium running costs can be flexible if you're expecting a smaller crowd. If you only expect 20,000, you can close off parts of the ground (eg. the top decks) and therefore employ less staff. You might find that if a club plays 11 games a year there the rental costs drop as well.

Re: Re: different idea

Originally posted by a fighting fury
The multiple division system has been in place in England for over 100 years and it is the fairest system in giving every registered club in the land a shot at the big time one day. I like the idea, but it could never work in Australia. The English Football Association is such a well-advanced organisation compared to the AFL.

Briefly if you don't know, the English system is as follows:
Premier League - 20 clubs
Nationwide League Division 1 - 24 clubs
Nationwide League Division 2 - 24 clubs
Nationwide League Division 3 - 24 clubs

The 92 clubs in the above leagues are known as 'League Clubs' & operate on a promotion/relegation system based on their performance in their respective leagues or playoffs. League Division 3 clubs are relegated to the Nationwide Conference & Conference clubs promoted to League Division 3 (only if the eligble Conference Clubs satisfy Legaue requirements). League clubs are eligible to play in the League Cup (aka Carling Cup).

There are numerous leagues below the Nationwide Division 3. The English FA are attempting to restructure the National League System (NLS) below the Nationwide Leagues to:

Step 1: Nationwide Conference - 22 clubs (promotion to Nationwide League Division 3, relegation to step 2).

Step 2: Football Conference North - 22 clubs; & Football Conference South - 22 clubs (promotion to Step 1, relegation to step 3)

Step 3: Isthmian Premier League - 22 clubs; Southern Premier League - 22 clubs; & Northern Premier League - 22 clubs (promotion to step 2, relegation to step 4)

Step 4: Isthmian Div 1 - 22 clubs; Southern League East Division - 22 clubs; Southern League West Division - 22 clubs; & Northern Div 1 - 22 clubs (promotion to step 3, relgation to step 5)

Step 5: 12 separate Leagues containing the remaining registered football clubs in England (promotion to step 4).

The current NLS pyramid below the nationwide leagues is in a 1-3-5-15 format. In 2004/05 it will be 1-2-3-4-15. Described above is a 1-2-3-4-12 NLS desired by the FA.

In all there are currently 601 registered football clubs in England. Every one of these clubs takes part in the FA Cup.

The whole idea of this system is to give a club in Step 5 of the structure the chance to become a Premier League club. And it is possible. The Italians use a similar system. Chievo Verona, a town with a population of 16,000 were a non-league club in the early 90's. They are now competitively mixing it with the big boys in Serie A.

The link to the English FA home-page is:
http://www.the-fa.org/

A direct link to their link their NLS page is: http://www.thefa.com/application?or...nationalleaguesystem&pillar=thefa&navMax=true

The FA in England also are the dominant football code and have a population of 70 million to work with -could never work in Australia just pie in the sky dreaming .
IF IT AINT BROKE DONT TRY TO FIX IT = AFL

If you had 20 teams, you would only play each other once (19 rounds) or have 2 divisions of ten, there by having 18 rounds in each & everyone playing each other twice & having Promotion/Relegation but how viable is an extra 4 teams & where do you put them?

Sydney cant make a profit with one team so why would they even consider giving them another.

The Tassie govt. would probably bankroll a side but for how long?

ACT & NZ is there enough support? & you would have to put heaps of money into promotion & both would probably be financial distasters for the AFL.

Southport, already established club. If they had a ground on the Gold Coast big enough than maybe they could enter a 2nd Div.

Maybe give WA & SA another team each??

In conclusion 12 teams is the right number, 22 Rounds, everyone plays each other twice so 4 Melb. teams have to go, (Western Bulldogs, Kangaroos, St Kilda, Melbourne) are the most likely.

Originally posted by muesli
Maybe give WA & SA another team each??

In conclusion 12 teams is the right number, 22 Rounds, everyone plays each other twice so 4 Melb. teams have to go, (Western Bulldogs, Kangaroos, St Kilda, Melbourne) are the most likely.

I'm no fan of St Kilda but why would you kick them out? Would another team in WA or SA be any better than those teams you want to remove. I would think another team in those states would just be another Western Bulldogs sized club (if not smaller) except they don't get to play as many same state teams to boost attendances.

I don’t think Western Sydney could support a new club just yet. If the money spent bailing out the Dogs and Kangaroos (this coming from a Bulldogs supporter) was spent on trying to get a West Sydney club up and running, it MAY prove successful in the long run. Eventually Sydney will need two clubs, that’s for sure, but the chances of it being successful at the moment are in my opinion based on how well the Swans and the new club perform. It would take Sydney winning a premiership to really give it a good chance of success, because the Swans have struggled for so long, its dumb to think that Sydney could support two teams straight away. Like I said, eventually Sydney will be able to support two teams but not now.
Canberra’s own AFL team is a joke. They’d b no better off than the most struggling Melbourne team with no hope IMO of growing. Give up on that idea.
Southport/Gold Coast… why not? Considering Brisbane’s recent success, they’ve grown a considerable fan base, and even if half of their new-found fans fall away once the club hits a rough spot, they’ll still have the fan base to remain financially successful IMO. It would be a rather large punt on the behalf of the AFL, and they’d need to address the problem of a decent Stadium on the gold Coast, but I think it could b successful.
New Zealand is a joke. A team based in Ireland has more chance of a. remaining financially successful and b. winning games. Haha but the travel time’d be a killer!!!!
Tasmania could support on AFL club. When I heard that Hawthorn and then the Saints were playing home games here, I must admit I was a bit disappointed because neither of those clubs would relocate here. Say for instance if the Kangaroos made the initial move down here, then three years down the track they are in serious trouble and need to relocate, so they come down here. Tassie’s VFL team has been okay financially especially because of all the media attention it gets, but a lot of people just arent that interested in the VFL unless their AFL team’s reserves are playing then they’ll go. Personally I’ve never watch a VFL game unless Werribee were playing, but I’d definently go and watch a Tassie AFL Team, and I reckon heaps of other people are like me. Rodney Eade once said that Tasmania would have a guaranteed 20,000 members, and if you add that with state government assistance etc they could really turn into a successful club, but it would take a brave move on the part of the AFL, and York Park and Belerive could prove too small…

Bulldogs in the Western Suburbs For Ever!!! (not on the Dogs we’ll find our feet and so will the Kangas, and both will be around in another ten years)

AFL 20-team competition