AFL 2006 Talk

Re: Fixing up the AFL games

matera_goal said:
be nice to have your job if you get to play AFL games everyday lol! yeah nathan carrolls haircut is silly! just another few questions

1. While your answer is helpful and a good insight, i just want to know how the graphics stack up to afl premiership 2005. better or worse and by how much?

2. what is the working title?

3. are there beards/stubble in the game? ranging from nathan carroll beards to ben cousins beards

thanks

Players look better than the 2005 version. You'll recognise the players...well the majority of them anyway.

Not sure to be honest. It's changed a couple of times but I think it's going to be something similar to last year but with 2006 on it.

No beards or stubble this time around.

Fiery Hawk said:
handling in the wet is affected. Less marks are made for example.

I have played it on Easy for a while now to test tactics and ways to carry the ball up the field. Had a crack at Hard today and held my own in the first quarter playing as West Coast until the Swans blew me away in the next 3 quarters to win by 10 goals. I had a lot of the ball but they kill you on the turnovers and skill errors.
The goal (sorry for the pun) is to setup Hard so that you have a really close contest that could go either way after having played the game for weeks.

Ok, Nick Dal Santo is a top line player so he'll rate somewhere between 75-90. No rookies are in the game but 1st year players who were drafted in the top 10 rate about 45-55. These top ten draft picks will excell in certain areas relating to their position of choice on the field. For example, Marc Murphy is rated about 55 and excells in areas like speed, agility, balance.
Nick Dal Santo is also a chance to be rated a star player in an aread like pace or his capacity to run all day. If this is the case he'll stand out in attributes relating to that star ability.
When Murphy gets to about 75 in rating (through experience and development) he could also achieve a star rating. Star ratings can be achieved as a reward by players who win the Brownlow or Coleman medals. Star ratings are essentially a boost to a player.
Hope that answered your question...kinda distracted watching the Footy Show at the moment.

YOU HAVE TO BE KIDDING ME.

so its no a full 2006 list? ahhhhh bugger... does that mean that rookies who have been promoted to the senior list because of long term injuries (i.e Matt Priddis, Steven Armstrong) wont be in the game? come on you included rookies last year PLEASE put them in the game. be fair. i dont really care if their ratings are a bit wonky but i would be very disappointed if all rookie-listed players arent in the game.

please list West Coast's playing list in the game

the only reason i did that in bold is that you'd see it :D

PLEASE MAN PLEASE READ THE BOLD

i reckon it'd be cool if players slipped over every now and then, eg. in the rain, at the dome etc.

would add a nice bit of realism.

matera_goal said:
YOU HAVE TO BE KIDDING ME.

so its no a full 2006 list? ahhhhh bugger... does that mean that rookies who have been promoted to the senior list because of long term injuries (i.e Matt Priddis, Steven Armstrong) wont be in the game? come on you included rookies last year PLEASE put them in the game. be fair. i dont really care if their ratings are a bit wonky but i would be very disappointed if all rookie-listed players arent in the game.

please list West Coast's playing list in the game

the only reason i did that in bold is that you'd see it :D

PLEASE MAN PLEASE READ THE BOLD

There are a couple of reasons why they aren't included...

1. There is no such thing as long term injury activation of rookie players in the game. We didn't get time to put it in this time around.

2. Each club has a nominated rookie (or rookies in the case of Syd/Bris I think) who remain part of the rookie list and aren't included on the salary cap but can play any amount of senior games throughout the season. We haven't got time to include the nomination capability into the game.

3. There is no rookie draft in the game so they are essentially ordinary players created in the game. You'd never pick them to play as developing rookies would take too long denying other players on your list chances to develop into better players.

4. The team list numbers have been edited in our game to make for a more efficient and better run post-season mode based around the salary cap.

I know it would be ideal to have the exact rules of the AFL competition but time developing this isn't available to us this time around. We have used what little time we had to develop a post-season mode that is more fun and interesting to partake in. Not wanting to make excuses but it's the plain facts of the situation.

dids4 said:
i reckon it'd be cool if players slipped over every now and then, eg. in the rain, at the dome etc.

would add a nice bit of realism.

Will check out the wet weather effects tomorrow and get back to you about how it affects the players...slipping would be an obvious addition wouldn't it...

Fiery Hawk said:
There are a couple of reasons why they aren't included...

1. There is no such thing as long term injury activation of rookie players in the game. We didn't get time to put it in this time around.

2. Each club has a nominated rookie (or rookies in the case of Syd/Bris I think) who remain part of the rookie list and aren't included on the salary cap but can play any amount of senior games throughout the season. We haven't got time to include the nomination capability into the game.

3. There is no rookie draft in the game so they are essentially ordinary players created in the game. You'd never pick them to play as developing rookies would take too long denying other players on your list chances to develop into better players.

4. The team list numbers have been edited in our game to make for a more efficient and better run post-season mode based around the salary cap.

I know it would be ideal to have the exact rules of the AFL competition but time developing this isn't available to us this time around. We have used what little time we had to develop a post-season mode that is more fun and interesting to partake in. Not wanting to make excuses but it's the plain facts of the situation.
lol no no youve missed my point. i just though when you said "No rookies are in the game" i thought you meant rookie listyed players were not part of the game. so rookie listed players ARE in the game just as ordinary palyers right?

Fiery, could you tell me whether you are working on a new Gaelic Football game for this season. I ordered the last one over the net from Ireland and enjoyed it, although it was based on the same game engine as AFL 2005.

Thanks!

Fiery Hawk said:
Yes they do...handballs don't always hit targets. One of the great things about the player ratings this year is categories like accuracy and balance. They are key ingredients in determining whether a player can hit his target especially when under pressure.

There are many more animations this time around. Goal celebrations include celebrations with more than one player. Unfortunately at this stage there are no cutscenes for a won/lost game or a GF victory. Before you go off about it you have to bear in mind that we had no animator for a lengthy time in the development process. Believe it or not there aren't that many hire-able animators out there at the moment. But we have made a heap of improvements in the area of animation in such a short time. We weighed up what areas of animation needed improvement and we figured general gameplay to be of the highest priority especially when a lot of replay and cutscene cameras are close to the action.

I do understand Gameplay to be the big thing but presentation and overall playability is a BIG factor in how the gameplay comes off. For mine it's useless having great gameplay if the rest of the game is half-assed, and vice-versa.

Hey FH, just a couple of questions for ya...

Is there a toss of a coin before the start of the match? can we choose which end we want to kick to?and see which way the wind is blowing etc before the toss? maybe even see the weather conditions before you select your team?

oh and one thing that annoyed me in 2004 was the wind constantly changed the direction it was blowing, it's just not realistic...does this still happen in 2006?

And in the season mode is there practice matches before the season starts?

Fiery Hawk said:
Also if you win the tap the ball will hit your onballers 70-90% of the time.
Does this mean sometimes the ball gets tapped to the ground?

cheers, thanks for giving us info about the game mate. :thumbsu:

Power21 said:
???

He will reply when he is on/has time mate.

Your getting just a little to obsessed with the guy i feel.
i aint gay or a stalker ok get that right :rolleyes: ... at the time i posted that he was online (green light) then when i post = logout. probly logged off a few mins b4 i posted coz bigfooty was glitched and slow etc.

matera_goal said:
i aint gay or a stalker ok get that right :rolleyes: ... at the time i posted that he was online (green light) then when i post = logout. probly logged off a few mins b4 i posted coz bigfooty was glitched and slow etc.

No mate, the way your acting you could easily be mistaken for a stalker and or illiterate 14 year old. Get over it, he will answer you when he wants and the game won't come out any sooner, or of better quality with the more questions you ask.

Power21 said:
No mate, the way your acting you could easily be mistaken for a stalker and or illiterate 14 year old. Get over it, he will answer you when he wants and the game won't come out any sooner, or of better quality with the more questions you ask.
stalker? ROFLCOPTER! and i will bet $200 i am not 14... :D

the reason i am asking questions is

1. to know whether i should buy this or not

2. to find out what i can

3. strike while the iron is hot - probly the only time i get to talk to irgurus

4. because i can :D

Adrian78 said:
Fiery, could you tell me whether you are working on a new Gaelic Football game for this season. I ordered the last one over the net from Ireland and enjoyed it, although it was based on the same game engine as AFL 2005.

Thanks!

Not sure I'm allowed to comment on that.

Power21 said:
I do understand Gameplay to be the big thing but presentation and overall playability is a BIG factor in how the gameplay comes off. For mine it's useless having great gameplay if the rest of the game is half-assed, and vice-versa.

Look we're not trying to make anything half-assed but our main focus is on the gameplay side of things. I'm sure the majority of game players and those who have bought previous versions of the game will appreciate that. That said, we have started on the presentation side of things and that aspect is a work in progress.

sainters said:
Hey FH, just a couple of questions for ya...

Is there a toss of a coin before the start of the match? can we choose which end we want to kick to?and see which way the wind is blowing etc before the toss? maybe even see the weather conditions before you select your team?

oh and one thing that annoyed me in 2004 was the wind constantly changed the direction it was blowing, it's just not realistic...does this still happen in 2006?

And in the season mode is there practice matches before the season starts?

Does this mean sometimes the ball gets tapped to the ground?

cheers, thanks for giving us info about the game mate. :thumbsu:

Yes, there is a toss of the coin (including cutscene) but currently the call of the coin is random and the result random too. We're hoping to allow the User an opportunity to pick an end to kick to by release.

Weather reports are part of the enhanced game design but may be reduced to just commentary as we are running out of dev time. It's unfortunate but it may be the case. The wind won't change direction during the game but the rain may be intermittent.

In Season mode there are no practice matches unless you count the NAB cup.

illnino said:
FH must be workin hard at this game........lol.....

very much so. The guys are working weekends to get all the new features in and working properly. Personally I'm going nuts trying to rate each and every player in a number of areas...quite a feat if you think about it

tried playing the game today, was a bit bored.

I've gotta say nothing has ********ed me off more than this bloody game.

I won't buy this game again until EA sports does it.

Im The Gun said:
tried playing the game today, was a bit bored.

I've gotta say nothing has ********ed me off more than this bloody game.

I won't buy this game again until EA sports does it.

dont like your chances of ever playin another one then:)

ill wait for the 06 version b4 i give up....:eek:

any news on screen shot releases, vids???

any info on a website???

release date (even a guess at a month)?

and sorry to question but how many ppl are helping you with the stats (roughly)???

surly your not on your own.....:confused:

AFL 2006 Talk